Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

DBSTalk.com First Look: R22-100 Standard Definition DVR


  • Please log in to reply
221 replies to this topic

#41 OFFLINE   xmguy

xmguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,912 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2008

Posted 06 May 2008 - 04:00 PM

It does have ethernet, and the DOD feature works just fine! I have loved playing with this new toy!!


Ah damn! :lol: When will this be available to the masses? And can people upgrade to this new receiver at no or very little cost?
DirecTV Subscriber Since 3/24/2008 || HR44-500 - SWiM and DECA to Vizio 32" LCD 1080P HDTV (SV320XVT) via HDMI | MY SETUP IN DETAIL UPDATED 3/21/2012 (Q1 2013 | I'm On FACEBOOK! "Originally Posted by xmguy : OK. I need directions. (to Sixto's house) Lol ;) | Originally Posted by Sea bass : Head down to 99c, skip over to 103ca, next over to 103cb and you have arrived.:)":hurah:

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#42 OFFLINE   xmguy

xmguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,912 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2008

Posted 06 May 2008 - 04:02 PM

It does have Ethernet (and works with DIRECTV on DEMAND and Media Share). It also has USB, though who knows what that will work with. And, yes, it does have an eSATA port on the back.


I realize that now. I read the PDF. VERY VERY COOL! I MUST HAVE IT!!
DirecTV Subscriber Since 3/24/2008 || HR44-500 - SWiM and DECA to Vizio 32" LCD 1080P HDTV (SV320XVT) via HDMI | MY SETUP IN DETAIL UPDATED 3/21/2012 (Q1 2013 | I'm On FACEBOOK! "Originally Posted by xmguy : OK. I need directions. (to Sixto's house) Lol ;) | Originally Posted by Sea bass : Head down to 99c, skip over to 103ca, next over to 103cb and you have arrived.:)":hurah:

#43 OFFLINE   Pink Fairy

Pink Fairy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,655 posts
Joined: Dec 27, 2006

Posted 06 May 2008 - 04:05 PM

I realize that now. I read the PDF. VERY VERY COOL! I MUST HAVE IT!!


Hehe!

I just drove through TN too! All the way past Knoxville!!
There are two kinds of Strength: the strength to lead, and the strength to follow; the strength to control, and the strength to yield. There are two kinds of Power: The power to strip another's soul bare, and the power to stand naked.

#44 OFFLINE   zuf

zuf

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 625 posts
  • LocationSouthern Utah
Joined: May 24, 2007

Posted 06 May 2008 - 04:07 PM

I suggest that you re-read this thread. The R22 is first step towards that end, but it will take a minimum of 5-6 years before they could be near having all of the SD-only receivers out of circulation and replaced with HD capable MPEG4 receivers, which would have to happen before the MPEG2 SD signals can be turned off.


Exactly. The focus of the R22 seems to be getting an MPEG4 capable SD receiver out there. Right now the obvious need would be markets where locals are being deployed in MPEG4 instead of MPEG2. Will D* ever move to complete MPEG4 for SD? Your guess is as good as mine. However, my personal opinion is it will probably happen, but as cartrivision says will be sometime out into the future. Just think of all the MPEG2 receivers that are still in use and working just fine (I'll bet there's millions of them!).

#45 OFFLINE   xmguy

xmguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,912 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2008

Posted 06 May 2008 - 04:07 PM

I don't guess anyone has a release date yet?
DirecTV Subscriber Since 3/24/2008 || HR44-500 - SWiM and DECA to Vizio 32" LCD 1080P HDTV (SV320XVT) via HDMI | MY SETUP IN DETAIL UPDATED 3/21/2012 (Q1 2013 | I'm On FACEBOOK! "Originally Posted by xmguy : OK. I need directions. (to Sixto's house) Lol ;) | Originally Posted by Sea bass : Head down to 99c, skip over to 103ca, next over to 103cb and you have arrived.:)":hurah:

#46 OFFLINE   ThomasM

ThomasM

    RF Engineer

  • Registered
  • 4,317 posts
  • LocationMilwaukee, WI
Joined: Jul 20, 2007

Posted 06 May 2008 - 04:11 PM

It's kind of sad, I was hoping DirecTV would get out of the SD end of the signal soon.


Fortunately for me and millions and millions of other DirecTV customers who cannot afford HDTV this will not happen anytime soon.

3LNB Phase III Dish * 2-R15-300 * R22-200 * D12-100 * DirecTV Subscriber since Y2K


#47 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,638 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 06 May 2008 - 04:14 PM

I don't guess anyone has a release date yet?



http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=127829 ;)

#48 OFFLINE   ThomasM

ThomasM

    RF Engineer

  • Registered
  • 4,317 posts
  • LocationMilwaukee, WI
Joined: Jul 20, 2007

Posted 06 May 2008 - 04:16 PM

:eek2::eek2::eek2::eek2::):):):) OHHH!!! <drools> I wish it had ethernet or usb. Is that a SATA port on the back? VERY COOL THOUGH!! When ever this is out. My R15 WILL fail!


My two R15's won't. :D

3LNB Phase III Dish * 2-R15-300 * R22-200 * D12-100 * DirecTV Subscriber since Y2K


#49 OFFLINE   dodge boy

dodge boy

    R.I.P. Chris Henry

  • Banned User
  • 4,231 posts
Joined: Mar 31, 2006

Posted 06 May 2008 - 04:19 PM

shoot mr R10 (son's) still works good.
My equipment:
1 HR22-100 leased
1 HR22-100 owned
1 HR23-700 owned
1 R22-100 owned
1 R22-200 owned

Slimline III with a 4X8 multiswitch and an SWM8
18" round dish with a 4X8 switch on the garage

#50 OFFLINE   xmguy

xmguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,912 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2008

Posted 06 May 2008 - 04:19 PM

My two R15's won't. :D


:(
DirecTV Subscriber Since 3/24/2008 || HR44-500 - SWiM and DECA to Vizio 32" LCD 1080P HDTV (SV320XVT) via HDMI | MY SETUP IN DETAIL UPDATED 3/21/2012 (Q1 2013 | I'm On FACEBOOK! "Originally Posted by xmguy : OK. I need directions. (to Sixto's house) Lol ;) | Originally Posted by Sea bass : Head down to 99c, skip over to 103ca, next over to 103cb and you have arrived.:)":hurah:

#51 OFFLINE   daveriv

daveriv

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 200 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2007

Posted 06 May 2008 - 04:23 PM

Does this mean that as an HD subscriber - I'd have access to the HD only channels on this device - i.e. HDNet? Would be great if I could get a downres'd version of these channels (though few) on my SD receiver. For those with the HD plus plan would mean those extra channes on an SD receiver as well.
AT-9, WB6x8 multiswitch

(1) HR20-700, HDMI, Native on, Samsung HL-S6187W, Networked (wired), OTA via Stealthtenna
(1) R22-100, HDMI, Networked (wired), Native on, Samsung 32" LCD
(1) H21, HDMI, Networked (wired), LG 42" LCD
(1) R15-300
(1) Harmony 880 Remote
(1) PS3

#52 OFFLINE   dodge boy

dodge boy

    R.I.P. Chris Henry

  • Banned User
  • 4,231 posts
Joined: Mar 31, 2006

Posted 06 May 2008 - 04:23 PM

It does have Ethernet (and works with DIRECTV on DEMAND and Media Share). It also has USB, though who knows what that will work with. And, yes, it does have an eSATA port on the back.


USB-possably the AM21
My equipment:
1 HR22-100 leased
1 HR22-100 owned
1 HR23-700 owned
1 R22-100 owned
1 R22-200 owned

Slimline III with a 4X8 multiswitch and an SWM8
18" round dish with a 4X8 switch on the garage

#53 OFFLINE   xmguy

xmguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,912 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2008

Posted 06 May 2008 - 04:26 PM

In all reality. How would one go about getting a R22? I tried to get an R-16 because my current R15 is really screwing up random reboots and such. And When the order was placed and I got it it was a R15-300 not R16. What are my odds. I doubt D* will allow me to send this one back and try again.
DirecTV Subscriber Since 3/24/2008 || HR44-500 - SWiM and DECA to Vizio 32" LCD 1080P HDTV (SV320XVT) via HDMI | MY SETUP IN DETAIL UPDATED 3/21/2012 (Q1 2013 | I'm On FACEBOOK! "Originally Posted by xmguy : OK. I need directions. (to Sixto's house) Lol ;) | Originally Posted by Sea bass : Head down to 99c, skip over to 103ca, next over to 103cb and you have arrived.:)":hurah:

#54 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,049 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 06 May 2008 - 04:34 PM

Great job on the First Looks gang! I just knew The Merg would be involved! :up:

#55 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,049 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 06 May 2008 - 04:36 PM

As far as HD upgradeability, what I can tell you, is that it is not "impossible" as in the R15s. This DVR is designed for markets with SD-MPEG4 locals. If the decision is made to offer an HD upgrade in the future then the hardware will allow it. It's not clear how that would go and any decision on that is a ways off.


So this is being sold/leased as an SD receiver... I think that's wise to have an upgrade path to flip a virtual switch and suddenly display HD.

---

The First Look said HD options are disabled. What about HD downloads in DIRECTV On Demand - are they also hidden?

#56 OFFLINE   dodge boy

dodge boy

    R.I.P. Chris Henry

  • Banned User
  • 4,231 posts
Joined: Mar 31, 2006

Posted 06 May 2008 - 04:41 PM

In all reality. How would one go about getting a R22? I tried to get an R-16 because my current R15 is really screwing up random reboots and such. And When the order was placed and I got it it was a R15-300 not R16. What are my odds. I doubt D* will allow me to send this one back and try again.


It might have something to do if your locals are on 72.5, and that satellite going "dark" at some point in the future.
Wait a while and replace your R15 through the PP and see what they send you.
My equipment:
1 HR22-100 leased
1 HR22-100 owned
1 HR23-700 owned
1 R22-100 owned
1 R22-200 owned

Slimline III with a 4X8 multiswitch and an SWM8
18" round dish with a 4X8 switch on the garage

#57 OFFLINE   xmguy

xmguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,912 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2008

Posted 06 May 2008 - 04:46 PM

It might have something to do if your locals are on 72.5, and that satellite going "dark" at some point in the future.
Wait a while and replace your R15 through the PP and see what they send you.


What is PP? No, my locals are on 101, BUT my locals offer HD streams. Hopefully soon. Yes I know. I already called D* about getting the correct replacement I requested (r16 or now R22). They told me there was a limit (2) on how many can go out before I will start being charged. Since when is trying to get the DVR I requested a crime?:rolleyes: I guess I'll wait about a few months and see if they are more of them to go around and maybe I'll get ANYTHING but another damn R15-100,300 or 500. Sorry Just so frusterating.
DirecTV Subscriber Since 3/24/2008 || HR44-500 - SWiM and DECA to Vizio 32" LCD 1080P HDTV (SV320XVT) via HDMI | MY SETUP IN DETAIL UPDATED 3/21/2012 (Q1 2013 | I'm On FACEBOOK! "Originally Posted by xmguy : OK. I need directions. (to Sixto's house) Lol ;) | Originally Posted by Sea bass : Head down to 99c, skip over to 103ca, next over to 103cb and you have arrived.:)":hurah:

#58 OFFLINE   tcusta00

tcusta00

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,911 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2007

Posted 06 May 2008 - 04:53 PM

What is PP?


Protection Plan

#59 OFFLINE   dodge boy

dodge boy

    R.I.P. Chris Henry

  • Banned User
  • 4,231 posts
Joined: Mar 31, 2006

Posted 06 May 2008 - 04:54 PM

PP=Protection Plan
My equipment:
1 HR22-100 leased
1 HR22-100 owned
1 HR23-700 owned
1 R22-100 owned
1 R22-200 owned

Slimline III with a 4X8 multiswitch and an SWM8
18" round dish with a 4X8 switch on the garage

#60 OFFLINE   vgsantiago

vgsantiago

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 42 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2006

Posted 06 May 2008 - 04:54 PM

maybe i missed something, but what is the difference between this and a hr21. i guess what i am asking is....... can hd be enabled on the r22


I'm assuming they save money in production costs. Use all the same parts but turn off HD capability.

I like the idea, use that saved money towards R&D.
-------------------

HR20-700
HR20-100
R15
2 D11's




Protected By... spam firewall...And...