Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

DBSTalk.com First Look: R22-100 Standard Definition DVR


  • Please log in to reply
221 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   daveriv

daveriv

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 200 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2007

Posted 06 May 2008 - 04:23 PM

Does this mean that as an HD subscriber - I'd have access to the HD only channels on this device - i.e. HDNet? Would be great if I could get a downres'd version of these channels (though few) on my SD receiver. For those with the HD plus plan would mean those extra channes on an SD receiver as well.
AT-9, WB6x8 multiswitch

(1) HR20-700, HDMI, Native on, Samsung HL-S6187W, Networked (wired), OTA via Stealthtenna
(1) R22-100, HDMI, Networked (wired), Native on, Samsung 32" LCD
(1) H21, HDMI, Networked (wired), LG 42" LCD
(1) R15-300
(1) Harmony 880 Remote
(1) PS3

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   dodge boy

dodge boy

    R.I.P. Chris Henry

  • Banned User
  • 4,231 posts
Joined: Mar 31, 2006

Posted 06 May 2008 - 04:23 PM

It does have Ethernet (and works with DIRECTV on DEMAND and Media Share). It also has USB, though who knows what that will work with. And, yes, it does have an eSATA port on the back.


USB-possably the AM21
My equipment:
1 HR22-100 leased
1 HR22-100 owned
1 HR23-700 owned
1 R22-100 owned
1 R22-200 owned

Slimline III with a 4X8 multiswitch and an SWM8
18" round dish with a 4X8 switch on the garage

#53 OFFLINE   xmguy

xmguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,937 posts
  • LocationMiddle, TN
Joined: Mar 26, 2008

Posted 06 May 2008 - 04:26 PM

In all reality. How would one go about getting a R22? I tried to get an R-16 because my current R15 is really screwing up random reboots and such. And When the order was placed and I got it it was a R15-300 not R16. What are my odds. I doubt D* will allow me to send this one back and try again.

1 HR44, 2 HR24s, SWiM 16, SL3 LNB, (CCK) Broadband DECA. DirecTV Subscriber since 2008.


#54 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,370 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 06 May 2008 - 04:34 PM

Great job on the First Looks gang! I just knew The Merg would be involved! :up:

#55 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,370 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 06 May 2008 - 04:36 PM

As far as HD upgradeability, what I can tell you, is that it is not "impossible" as in the R15s. This DVR is designed for markets with SD-MPEG4 locals. If the decision is made to offer an HD upgrade in the future then the hardware will allow it. It's not clear how that would go and any decision on that is a ways off.


So this is being sold/leased as an SD receiver... I think that's wise to have an upgrade path to flip a virtual switch and suddenly display HD.

---

The First Look said HD options are disabled. What about HD downloads in DIRECTV On Demand - are they also hidden?

#56 OFFLINE   dodge boy

dodge boy

    R.I.P. Chris Henry

  • Banned User
  • 4,231 posts
Joined: Mar 31, 2006

Posted 06 May 2008 - 04:41 PM

In all reality. How would one go about getting a R22? I tried to get an R-16 because my current R15 is really screwing up random reboots and such. And When the order was placed and I got it it was a R15-300 not R16. What are my odds. I doubt D* will allow me to send this one back and try again.


It might have something to do if your locals are on 72.5, and that satellite going "dark" at some point in the future.
Wait a while and replace your R15 through the PP and see what they send you.
My equipment:
1 HR22-100 leased
1 HR22-100 owned
1 HR23-700 owned
1 R22-100 owned
1 R22-200 owned

Slimline III with a 4X8 multiswitch and an SWM8
18" round dish with a 4X8 switch on the garage

#57 OFFLINE   xmguy

xmguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,937 posts
  • LocationMiddle, TN
Joined: Mar 26, 2008

Posted 06 May 2008 - 04:46 PM

It might have something to do if your locals are on 72.5, and that satellite going "dark" at some point in the future.
Wait a while and replace your R15 through the PP and see what they send you.


What is PP? No, my locals are on 101, BUT my locals offer HD streams. Hopefully soon. Yes I know. I already called D* about getting the correct replacement I requested (r16 or now R22). They told me there was a limit (2) on how many can go out before I will start being charged. Since when is trying to get the DVR I requested a crime?:rolleyes: I guess I'll wait about a few months and see if they are more of them to go around and maybe I'll get ANYTHING but another damn R15-100,300 or 500. Sorry Just so frusterating.

1 HR44, 2 HR24s, SWiM 16, SL3 LNB, (CCK) Broadband DECA. DirecTV Subscriber since 2008.


#58 OFFLINE   tcusta00

tcusta00

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,911 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2007

Posted 06 May 2008 - 04:53 PM

What is PP?


Protection Plan

#59 OFFLINE   dodge boy

dodge boy

    R.I.P. Chris Henry

  • Banned User
  • 4,231 posts
Joined: Mar 31, 2006

Posted 06 May 2008 - 04:54 PM

PP=Protection Plan
My equipment:
1 HR22-100 leased
1 HR22-100 owned
1 HR23-700 owned
1 R22-100 owned
1 R22-200 owned

Slimline III with a 4X8 multiswitch and an SWM8
18" round dish with a 4X8 switch on the garage

#60 OFFLINE   vgsantiago

vgsantiago

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 42 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2006

Posted 06 May 2008 - 04:54 PM

maybe i missed something, but what is the difference between this and a hr21. i guess what i am asking is....... can hd be enabled on the r22


I'm assuming they save money in production costs. Use all the same parts but turn off HD capability.

I like the idea, use that saved money towards R&D.
-------------------

HR20-700
HR20-100
R15
2 D11's

#61 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,370 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 06 May 2008 - 04:58 PM

For sure this is a transitional receiver on the way to the Whole Home Solution, discussed in the Investor Day Presentation on 2/28/08...

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1204408767

#62 OFFLINE   xmguy

xmguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,937 posts
  • LocationMiddle, TN
Joined: Mar 26, 2008

Posted 06 May 2008 - 04:58 PM

PP=Protection Plan


Thanks. I have that. I got that on sign up. Paying $200 if both my DVR's go out was crazy. Maybe D* will offer this upgrade before the year is up WITHOUT using the PP?! I hope.

1 HR44, 2 HR24s, SWiM 16, SL3 LNB, (CCK) Broadband DECA. DirecTV Subscriber since 2008.


#63 OFFLINE   xmguy

xmguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,937 posts
  • LocationMiddle, TN
Joined: Mar 26, 2008

Posted 06 May 2008 - 05:00 PM

For sure this is a transitional receiver on the way to the Whole Home Solution, discussed in the Investor Day Presentation on 2/28/08...

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1204408767


Makes since. But for people like me who are fine with SD. I'm glad us SD users won't be in the dark as the future comes.

1 HR44, 2 HR24s, SWiM 16, SL3 LNB, (CCK) Broadband DECA. DirecTV Subscriber since 2008.


#64 OFFLINE   kevinwmsn

kevinwmsn

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,349 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 06 May 2008 - 05:10 PM

Would the OTA external box work on this?
my setup here

#65 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,641 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 06 May 2008 - 05:16 PM

What is PP? No, my locals are on 101, BUT my locals offer HD streams. Hopefully soon. Yes I know. I already called D* about getting the correct replacement I requested (r16 or now R22). They told me there was a limit (2) on how many can go out before I will start being charged. Since when is trying to get the DVR I requested a crime?:rolleyes: I guess I'll wait about a few months and see if they are more of them to go around and maybe I'll get ANYTHING but another damn R15-100,300 or 500. Sorry Just so frusterating.



DirecTV cannot guarantee what they send out from their warehouse.The only way to make sure you get the Receiver you want is to pickup one at BB or CC or find a local installer that has one.;)

#66 OFFLINE   tcusta00

tcusta00

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,911 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2007

Posted 06 May 2008 - 05:18 PM

DirecTV cannot guarantee what they send out from their warehouse.The only way to make sure you get the Receiver you want is to pickup one at BB or CC or find a local installer that has one.;)


I thought the same thing until I got sent two bad HR20s in a row - then they escalated it to another department and specifically requested a "new HR21". I guess first level can't do it, but it is possible.

#67 OFFLINE   Smuuth

Smuuth

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,341 posts
Joined: Oct 04, 2005

Posted 06 May 2008 - 05:18 PM

In the first look document, it was stated that the front resolution light indicated 480P, though output via component or Svideo worked fine on TVs requiring 480i input.

Did anyone try connecting this receiver to an HD TV via HDMI or component to see if it actually is outputting 480P?

:)
Eschew Obfuscation!


Patriot Guard Riders

#68 OFFLINE   xmguy

xmguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,937 posts
  • LocationMiddle, TN
Joined: Mar 26, 2008

Posted 06 May 2008 - 05:29 PM

I thought the same thing until I got sent two bad HR20s in a row - then they escalated it to another department and specifically requested a "new HR21". I guess first level can't do it, but it is possible.


I wish I knew what level. I just want an R16 or R22 anything but another R15.

1 HR44, 2 HR24s, SWiM 16, SL3 LNB, (CCK) Broadband DECA. DirecTV Subscriber since 2008.


#69 ONLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,637 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 06 May 2008 - 05:49 PM

In the first look document, it was stated that the front resolution light indicated 480P, though output via component or Svideo worked fine on TVs requiring 480i input.

Did anyone try connecting this receiver to an HD TV via HDMI or component to see if it actually is outputting 480P?

:)


I think that's an error in the "first look" document. And it meant *composite* or S-video. The component or HDMI outputs are locked at 480P.

#70 OFFLINE   daveriv

daveriv

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 200 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2007

Posted 06 May 2008 - 05:57 PM

Does this mean that as an HD subscriber - I'd have access to the HD only channels on this device - i.e. HDNet? Would be great if I could get a downres'd version of these channels (though few) on my SD receiver. For those with the HD plus plan would mean those extra channes on an SD receiver as well.


BUMP
AT-9, WB6x8 multiswitch

(1) HR20-700, HDMI, Native on, Samsung HL-S6187W, Networked (wired), OTA via Stealthtenna
(1) R22-100, HDMI, Networked (wired), Native on, Samsung 32" LCD
(1) H21, HDMI, Networked (wired), LG 42" LCD
(1) R15-300
(1) Harmony 880 Remote
(1) PS3

#71 OFFLINE   dodge boy

dodge boy

    R.I.P. Chris Henry

  • Banned User
  • 4,231 posts
Joined: Mar 31, 2006

Posted 06 May 2008 - 06:05 PM

Thanks. I have that. I got that on sign up. Paying $200 if both my DVR's go out was crazy. Maybe D* will offer this upgrade before the year is up WITHOUT using the PP?! I hope.


You won't pay $200 if they go out and you leased them.... The reoplacements would be free but you would have to pay the $19.99 shipping fee without the PP.
My equipment:
1 HR22-100 leased
1 HR22-100 owned
1 HR23-700 owned
1 R22-100 owned
1 R22-200 owned

Slimline III with a 4X8 multiswitch and an SWM8
18" round dish with a 4X8 switch on the garage

#72 OFFLINE   kevinturcotte

kevinturcotte

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,942 posts
  • LocationOutside Portland, ME
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 06 May 2008 - 06:06 PM

I think that's an error in the "first look" document. And it meant *composite* or S-video. The component or HDMI outputs are locked at 480P.


Component is locked at 480p? What about SDTVs that have Component inputs, and only accept a 480i signal?

#73 OFFLINE   dodge boy

dodge boy

    R.I.P. Chris Henry

  • Banned User
  • 4,231 posts
Joined: Mar 31, 2006

Posted 06 May 2008 - 06:08 PM

Makes since. But for people like me who are fine with SD. I'm glad us SD users won't be in the dark as the future comes.


Nice find..... I always said that they would go to one receiver that could do it all based on programming options.....
Just makes sense to "mass produce" one piece of hardware for all subs.
My equipment:
1 HR22-100 leased
1 HR22-100 owned
1 HR23-700 owned
1 R22-100 owned
1 R22-200 owned

Slimline III with a 4X8 multiswitch and an SWM8
18" round dish with a 4X8 switch on the garage

#74 OFFLINE   K4SMX

K4SMX

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,433 posts
Joined: May 19, 2007

Posted 06 May 2008 - 06:08 PM

I think that's an error in the "first look" document. And it meant *composite* or S-video. The component or HDMI outputs are locked at 480P.

Nice write-up. And curious re: the composite/S-video PQ comments in the First Look. The original signal is 480i, which is de-interlaced for the HDMI/component outputs to 480p. I don't understand why some reviewers would be seeing poorer PQ on the composite/S-video outputs of the R22 versus the same outputs on the R15/16, unless there's some problem with the signal processing circuitry unrelated to the subsequent HDMI/component output de-interlacing. I'll have to check for any SD PQ difference with my HR21-100 using the composite/S-video outputs versus my HR20-700's.
Stew in Florida

HR21-100 (eSATA: Seagate Barracuda 750gb/Antec MX-1), Mitsubishi LT-46131 (HDMI), Onkyo A/V (optical), Slingbox Pro/WLI-TX4-G54HP
HR20-700 (eSATA: FreeAgent Pro 750gb), Mitsubishi LT-46131 (HDMI), Pioneer A/V (optical)
HR20-700, Mitsubishi LT-37132 (HDMI), Sony A/V (optical)
HR20-700, Mitsubishi WD-65731 (HDMI)
H20-600 (x 2)

#75 OFFLINE   dave29

dave29

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,930 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2007

Posted 06 May 2008 - 06:29 PM

I like the front panel of the R16 better.


i think that the r16 is the bestlooking receiver that they have




Protected By... spam firewall...And...