Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

DBSTalk.com First Look: R22-100 Standard Definition DVR


  • Please log in to reply
221 replies to this topic

#81 OFFLINE   dodge boy

dodge boy

    R.I.P. Chris Henry

  • Banned User
  • 4,231 posts
Joined: Mar 31, 2006

Posted 06 May 2008 - 06:57 PM

No, they are going to simply give them HD MPEG4 capable receivers and DVRs (like the R22) that are locked to only output SD resolution video..

DirecTV doesn't have to maintain SD satellite feeds to keep SD customers. Just like what all the major OTA networks will be doing after February 2009, DirecTV will eventually only provide a way for SD customers to view their HD signals on SD TVs instead of providing both SD and HD feeds.


No RF connection on these either, there goes that theory......

Locals on the 72.5 will be shufflled to MPEG4 eventually and they will need a solution for receiving them. That's all this is about at this point. Sometime in the future they "may" have the ability to be upgraded to HD. I still want an answer as to wether or not the AM21 will work withg these in SD mode, and also if they are going to restrict the HD access. If not I am considering a "good sized" external eSata drive.
My equipment:
1 HR22-100 leased
1 HR22-100 owned
1 HR23-700 owned
1 R22-100 owned
1 R22-200 owned

Slimline III with a 4X8 multiswitch and an SWM8
18" round dish with a 4X8 switch on the garage

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#82 OFFLINE   gulfwarvet

gulfwarvet

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,205 posts
Joined: Mar 07, 2007

Posted 06 May 2008 - 06:58 PM

as always guys, great job on the first look. :D
DBSTalk Chat Room Moderator

#83 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,926 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 06 May 2008 - 07:16 PM

But let me get clear on this. The R22, for the present time anyhow, will be receiving the legacy Ku band SD MPEG-2 signals as with the other standard definition DVRs. With the possible exception of any Ka band SD MPEG-4 LiLs assigned to a users market?

And the channels which appear in the guide are only the usual Ku band SD MPEG-2 ones plus any Ka band SD MPEG-4 locals?

#84 OFFLINE   bjflynn04

bjflynn04

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,025 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2004

Posted 06 May 2008 - 07:25 PM

Great Job Guys on the First look.
Primestar Subscriber 97 to 99, Directv Subscriber since 1999, XM Subscriber since 12/18/2004.
My Setup updated March 2010

#85 OFFLINE   zuf

zuf

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 597 posts
  • LocationSouthern Utah
Joined: May 24, 2007

Posted 06 May 2008 - 07:57 PM

In the first look document, it was stated that the front resolution light indicated 480P, though output via component or Svideo worked fine on TVs requiring 480i input.

Did anyone try connecting this receiver to an HD TV via HDMI or component to see if it actually is outputting 480P?

:)


I think that's an error in the "first look" document. And it meant *composite* or S-video. The component or HDMI outputs are locked at 480P.


Component is locked at 480p? What about SDTVs that have Component inputs, and only accept a 480i signal?


You know, it doesn't matter how many times you proofread a document I guess you miss something. HoTat2 is correct: that's an error in the document. The correct statement is that the composite and s-video outputs appear to be 480i. The component and HDMI appear to be 480p.

R22's were connected with each of the connections, but necessarily with every possible combination.

For example, even though the resolution light on the front says 480p, the R22 connected just fine to older TVs (like mine) that only have composite connections. Same for those with composite and s-video. Since my TV that is connected to the R22 is an old CRT that only supports 480i (my understanding is composite and s-video only do 480i), the fact that I get a picture tells me that it must be getting output at 480i.

Others in the trial connected via component (it worked) and HDMI (it also worked). So, all the connections on the back seem to work.

#86 OFFLINE   dodge boy

dodge boy

    R.I.P. Chris Henry

  • Banned User
  • 4,231 posts
Joined: Mar 31, 2006

Posted 06 May 2008 - 07:57 PM

But let me get clear on this. The R22, for the present time anyhow, will be receiving the legacy Ku band SD MPEG-2 signals as with the other standard definition DVRs. With the possible exception of any Ka band SD MPEG-4 LiLs assigned to a users market?

And the channels which appear in the guide are only the usual Ku band SD MPEG-2 ones plus any Ka band SD MPEG-4 locals?


If there are any MPEG4 SD locals yet, but yes, your clear. Of course you will need the new dish.
My equipment:
1 HR22-100 leased
1 HR22-100 owned
1 HR23-700 owned
1 R22-100 owned
1 R22-200 owned

Slimline III with a 4X8 multiswitch and an SWM8
18" round dish with a 4X8 switch on the garage

#87 OFFLINE   zuf

zuf

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 597 posts
  • LocationSouthern Utah
Joined: May 24, 2007

Posted 06 May 2008 - 08:00 PM

But let me get clear on this. The R22, for the present time anyhow, will be receiving the legacy Ku band SD MPEG-2 signals as with the other standard definition DVRs. With the possible exception of any Ka band SD MPEG-4 LiLs assigned to a users market?

And the channels which appear in the guide are only the usual Ku band SD MPEG-2 ones plus any Ka band SD MPEG-4 locals?


If I understand your question correctly, then the answer is yes. I see the exact same channel list on the R22 as on my R15-500's. (My locals are MPEG2, but I presume that if you were in an MPEG4 local area you would see them--that's the whole point of this unit!)

Now, I am not an HD customer, so I can't say for certain, but I don't *think* the R22 will show HD channels and down-convert them to 480p. I do not think that is the intention here.

#88 OFFLINE   drx792

drx792

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 773 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2007

Posted 06 May 2008 - 09:11 PM

hmmm does this thing have the same specs as the HR21 as well? (as in CPU and what not) if so then i can see it being upgradeable to HD in the future.

As of now id love to get it for one of the bedrooms in my hour to replace an HR10. Itd be on an SDTV and then quite possibly when i choose to upgrade it, the reciver might be able to do the same. And i really want DOD and media share in more rooms too.

#89 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,247 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 06 May 2008 - 09:18 PM

Great job on the First Looks gang! I just knew The Merg would be involved! :up:


And what little birdie told you that?

Thanks. Coming from a CEE'er, much appreciated (although I appreciate the compliments from everyone else as well, too). :)

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#90 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 06 May 2008 - 09:19 PM

hmmm does this thing have the same specs as the HR21 as well? (as in CPU and what not) if so then i can see it being upgradeable to HD in the future.

The video decoder is the same, and that's all that really matters. The CPU is probably the same as well. It's fairly obvious that DirecTV intends for this unit to be upgradeable in the future, even if they don't have plans for it now.

#91 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,247 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 06 May 2008 - 09:20 PM

The First Look said HD options are disabled. What about HD downloads in DIRECTV On Demand - are they also hidden?


When I looked in DoD, I didn't notice any flag next to the downloads that they were HD. Is there a flag/icon on your HR series that delineates that a show is in HD? The only icon I would see next to a listing was the dollar sign indicating that you have to pay for that download.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#92 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 06 May 2008 - 09:21 PM

Is there a flag/icon on your HR series that delineates that a show is in HD?

Yes, it's a rectangle with "HD" inside it. There should also be a "High-Def" category on some channels, like 1000 and 1101.

#93 OFFLINE   drx792

drx792

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 773 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2007

Posted 06 May 2008 - 09:22 PM

When I looked in DoD, I didn't notice any flag next to the downloads that they were HD. Is there a flag/icon on your HR series that delineates that a show is in HD? The only icon I would see next to a listing was the dollar sign indicating that you have to pay for that download.

- Merg


it should be an option on the main DOD Page Ch 1000.
And If you have smithsonian on demand that entire channel is HD.

#94 OFFLINE   kevinturcotte

kevinturcotte

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,942 posts
  • LocationOutside Portland, ME
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 06 May 2008 - 09:26 PM

See if you can tune to channel 76 or channel 267.

#95 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,247 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 06 May 2008 - 09:27 PM

In the first look document, it was stated that the front resolution light indicated 480P, though output via component or Svideo worked fine on TVs requiring 480i input.

Did anyone try connecting this receiver to an HD TV via HDMI or component to see if it actually is outputting 480P?

:)


I had mine connected via component to a HD-ready TV on an input that only allows 480p and 1080i and it worked fine. I believe someone else did have it hooked up via HDMI.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#96 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 06 May 2008 - 09:28 PM

See if you can tune to channel 76 or channel 267.

No HD channels can be tuned.

#97 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,247 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 06 May 2008 - 09:32 PM

Yes, it's a rectangle with "HD" inside it. There should also be a "High-Def" category on some channels, like 1000 and 1101.


Didn't see that, so they must be omitting them for users of the R22.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#98 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,247 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 06 May 2008 - 09:33 PM

it should be an option on the main DOD Page Ch 1000.
And If you have smithsonian on demand that entire channel is HD.


I don't remember seeing the Smithsonian on Demand channel when I cycled through all the DoD channels. I can check it again tomorrow though.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#99 OFFLINE   wismile

wismile

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 165 posts
Joined: Jul 19, 2006

Posted 06 May 2008 - 09:44 PM

Does the R22 come with an RF Remote?
Panasonic TH-58PZ850u
Toshiba 32AV502u
Sony KV-40XBR800
Yamaha VX-861 AV Receiver
Sony PS3
(1) HR10-250
(2) HR20-700
(2) HR22-100
Netgear Powerline AV Ethernet Adapters (XAV101)
Ka/Ku 5 LNB Dish w/(2) Zinwell WB68 6x8 Multi-Switches
Channel Master 4228 w/CM-7777 Preamp

#100 OFFLINE   kevinturcotte

kevinturcotte

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,942 posts
  • LocationOutside Portland, ME
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 06 May 2008 - 09:48 PM

No HD channels can be tuned.


I was wondering if they were even showing up, like they would an an HD receiver that doesn't have HD Access (Yeah, I know you can't do that, HAVE to have HD Access, but you know what I mean).




spam firewall