Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

VIP 211 Hard Drive


  • Please log in to reply
354 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   amahdi

amahdi

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 143 posts
Joined: Sep 30, 2002

Posted 16 May 2008 - 02:44 PM

One question - my friend has a VIP 211 with no hard drive. Is there a way to get a new hard drive and install it. Can anyone let me know.....

Thanks.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   CoriBright

CoriBright

    Legend/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 749 posts
Joined: May 30, 2002

Posted 16 May 2008 - 03:47 PM

Not yet. Wait a couple of months and there will be the option to add an external hard drive (for a fee of course) and get the appropriate firmware and software upgrade.
Cari
www.coribright.com
www.juganet.com
www.jaredletochat.com
www.doausa.com

#3 OFFLINE   amahdi

amahdi

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 143 posts
Joined: Sep 30, 2002

Posted 19 May 2008 - 07:18 AM

Not yet. Wait a couple of months and there will be the option to add an external hard drive (for a fee of course) and get the appropriate firmware and software upgrade.



Thanks - so right now there is no external hard drive for the 211? If not - are they going to roll one out for it?

Thanks.

#4 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,460 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 19 May 2008 - 08:47 PM

It will be a USB hard drive, probably the same as works as External Hard Drive on the 622/722.

Hopefully, no guarantees, it will be swapable with the 622/722.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#5 OFFLINE   blooker68

blooker68

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 97 posts
Joined: May 11, 2008

Posted 04 July 2008 - 04:16 PM

Any word on when this option will be available?

#6 OFFLINE   snowcat

snowcat

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 236 posts
Joined: May 29, 2007

Posted 09 July 2008 - 02:44 PM

Since the 211 is not a DVR, what would you need a hard drive for? :confused:

Never mind. I saw the other thread that showed that the 211 might be able to be converted to a DVR.

#7 OFFLINE   tcatdbs

tcatdbs

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 565 posts
Joined: Jul 10, 2008

Posted 14 July 2008 - 03:53 PM

I would want to archive with the 722 to EHD, then play back on the 211. If you had two EHD's that were swappable, that would eliminate the need for a second DVR, and be very nice to just plug in a HD to the 211 to watch arhived programs. Hopefully they won't "force" you to pay another DVR fee to turn on the EHD of the 211 (when it happens)

#8 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,460 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 14 July 2008 - 05:16 PM

I don't believe they will require a second activation fee, but might add a DVR fee, and I've also heard that the 722/622 EHD and the 211 EHD might not be swappable.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#9 OFFLINE   PAdishuser

PAdishuser

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 15 July 2008 - 07:22 AM

It has been another couple of months forever. Last time around it was July. Do we now have a new timeframe? While on the phone with a customer service rep on another matter I asked about the functionalty...he said it doesn't exist and has never heard about the functionality. I thought we were being told that the delay was in training the reps. Sounds like it will not happen this year.

#10 OFFLINE   kstevens

kstevens

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 533 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2003

Posted 04 August 2008 - 02:05 PM

Still no news on the Hard drive?


Glor

#11 OFFLINE   tcatdbs

tcatdbs

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 565 posts
Joined: Jul 10, 2008

Posted 04 August 2008 - 02:46 PM

I don't care about DVR ability, just be nice to plug a 722 HD into the 211 USB port. It can't be a difficult software upgrade, why else would they have put the USB port there?

#12 OFFLINE   kstevens

kstevens

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 533 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2003

Posted 05 August 2008 - 03:36 AM

That is all I want also. I'd be happy with the capability of playing shows I recorded off my 612 on my 211.

Ken

#13 OFFLINE   Adam368

Adam368

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Dec 03, 2004

Posted 13 October 2008 - 08:00 AM

Bump -- when will this be active?

#14 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,769 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 13 October 2008 - 09:49 AM

Soon. December perhaps ? As promised year ago ;).

#15 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,545 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 26 October 2008 - 12:05 PM

I'm trying to talk someone into getting Dish... and getting a ViP722 for the main room + activating the External Hard Drive feature. He would be going with one of the TurboHD HD-only packages as a new customer, and isn't sure if he needs DVR capability in another room or just a 2nd receiver.

I know the ViP211 doesn't have the external hard drive support yet... but am curious myself as to if there has been any new traction on this (if anyone knows). Also, the hope would be that it would fall into the "household" situation where if he activates for the ViP722, then whenever they do activate it for the ViP211 then he could take an already-being-used archive drive and just plug-n-play from that point.

Reason I ask is because there had been some initial concern that Dish might treat their non-DVR models (when activated) differently from the DVR ones... i.e. charge a separate activation fee, add a DVR monthly fee, not be swappable with other DVRs on the account. So I'm also wondering about that scenario.

The ideal situation is to be able to take recorded content from the main room into another room for viewing (not necessarily needing to record from that location) for the added convenience factor.

-- I like to go fast (not really)


#16 OFFLINE   Jazba

Jazba

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2008

Posted 06 November 2008 - 09:28 PM

Guys this is now available you can add an external Hard drive which will make it a DVR. There is a one time fee of $39.99 activation fee and the good thing is there is no monthly DVR fee..!!

#17 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,769 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 06 November 2008 - 09:54 PM

So much excitement for first post. ;)


Would be interesting to see a link to official announce.

Guys this is now available you can add an external Hard drive which will make it a DVR. There is a one time fee of $39.99 activation fee and the good thing is there is no monthly DVR fee..!!



#18 OFFLINE   puckwithahalo

puckwithahalo

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,286 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2007

Posted 06 November 2008 - 10:12 PM

...beat me to it
The postings on this site are my own and don't represent Dish's positions, strategies, or opinions.

-Puck

#19 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,769 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 06 November 2008 - 10:36 PM

L5.21

#20 OFFLINE   HDdude24

HDdude24

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 52 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2006

Posted 07 November 2008 - 07:59 PM

Nice is there a way to activate it with out calling in?




spam firewall