Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

VIP 211 Hard Drive


  • Please log in to reply
354 replies to this topic

#181 OFFLINE   Mighty H

Mighty H

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 16 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2008

Posted 13 January 2009 - 10:15 AM

I'd recommend a unit that DISH has deemed compatible. That includes the Seagate showcase 500GB for $139.99 on the seagate web site http://www.seagate.com/showcase they also have a 1TB unit that's doesn't yet look to have formal compatible if you need more than 500GB.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#182 OFFLINE   newsman

newsman

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 133 posts
Joined: Nov 21, 2006

Posted 13 January 2009 - 10:26 AM

I'd recommend a unit that DISH has deemed compatible. That includes the Seagate showcase 500GB for $139.99 on the seagate web site http://www.seagate.com/showcase they also have a 1TB unit that's doesn't yet look to have formal compatible if you need more than 500GB.

Why spend more than needed? 750gb EHDs are going for $99 on newegg.com and at costco. Those by WD and Maxtor have been reported to work just fine w/ the 211. Just because DN says its compatible doesn't mean we should have to shell out an extra $40 for the drive and get 250gb less space.

#183 OFFLINE   GrumpyBear

GrumpyBear

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,233 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2006

Posted 13 January 2009 - 01:31 PM

Compatible External Hard Drives
While most major manufactured external hard drives are compatible with the ViP 211® and the ViP 211k® HD receivers, a minimum 50GB is required and maximum 750 GB drive is permitted.

Buy a real brand at the best price, you can get. Only real requirements are above.

#184 OFFLINE   Mighty H

Mighty H

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 16 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2008

Posted 13 January 2009 - 02:31 PM

most drives will work...however, I'm using one that DISH has tested with their DVR to be sure it works. I'm hoping that way I minimize the opportunity for problems...more hassle free.

#185 OFFLINE   neljtorres

neljtorres

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 317 posts
Joined: Jul 15, 2004

Posted 14 January 2009 - 01:49 PM

I brought a Western Digital 500gb my book essentials and it records 50 hrs in HD and 200 SD

#186 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,467 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 14 January 2009 - 09:24 PM

I have a cheap Chinese USB to SATA/EIDE converter and an external HDD from an old laptop that works just fine.

Both cost me less than $50.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#187 OFFLINE   Cap'n Preshoot

Cap'n Preshoot

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 452 posts
Joined: Jul 16, 2006

Posted 18 January 2009 - 11:48 AM

most drives will work...however, I'm using one that DISH has tested with their DVR to be sure it works. I'm hoping that way I minimize the opportunity for problems...more hassle free.

I've read where others have mentioned "Dish Approved" so where might this list of "Dish Approved" EHDs be found?

#188 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,853 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 18 January 2009 - 12:23 PM

In Charlie Chat thread(s).

#189 OFFLINE   GrumpyBear

GrumpyBear

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,233 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2006

Posted 18 January 2009 - 01:10 PM

I've read where others have mentioned "Dish Approved" so where might this list of "Dish Approved" EHDs be found?


You can find it here
Dish External Harddrive
As you will see they have a marketing agreement with Seagate, and do point out that most others will work as well.

Edited by GrumpyBear, 18 January 2009 - 05:13 PM.


#190 OFFLINE   blkhouse

blkhouse

    Guest

  • Registered
  • 48 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2005

Posted 18 January 2009 - 01:18 PM

From the brochure on dishnetwork.com [products-hd receivers-211 (learn more), learn more again - conversion user's guide], it doesn't say very much but here is the exact wording on drives. By the way the only one they recommend is Seagate.

Purchase a DISH compatible USB 2.0 external hard drive from your local consumer
electronics store or visit www.dishnetwork.com/DVRconversion for online access to
purchase a DISH Network compatible external hard drive. Look for the red DISH Network compatible sticker:

The External Hard Drive must:
a. Be between 50 GB minimum to 750 GB maximum (external hard drives containing
more than one physical internal disk may not be recognized by the receiver).
b. Have its own external power supply (not powered using the USB connection to the
receiver.)
c. Support USB 2.0.
Note: Most brand-name external hard drives are compatible. Do-it-yourself kits and
expandable racks may not be compatible. Only single-disk hard drive units are supported.
Currently, you can only connect one USB device (such as a hard drive or PocketDISH) to the
receiver at one time. However, you can connect different external hard drives one-at-a-time
(for example, to dedicate one drive for movies and one for sporting events).


#191 OFFLINE   newsman

newsman

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 133 posts
Joined: Nov 21, 2006

Posted 18 January 2009 - 05:08 PM

You can find it here
Dish External Harddrive
As you will see they have a marketing agreement with Seagate, and do point out that most others will work as well.

Your link is 404. Here is a better one:
http://www.dishnetwo...VR/default.aspx

#192 OFFLINE   GrumpyBear

GrumpyBear

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,233 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2006

Posted 18 January 2009 - 05:16 PM

Your link is 404. Here is a better one:
http://www.dishnetwo...VR/default.aspx


Fixed it. Its the same link too.

#193 OFFLINE   peano

peano

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 747 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2004

Posted 21 January 2009 - 05:02 PM

For the three of us Dish subs that have both a 411 and 211............if you activate your 211, the 411 gets activated automatically. No emails to CEOs or anything. You don't even mention the 411.

#194 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,853 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 21 January 2009 - 06:41 PM

Perhaps owners of 411 should tell CSR it is 211 ? ;)

#195 OFFLINE   peano

peano

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 747 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2004

Posted 21 January 2009 - 09:45 PM

Perhaps owners of 411 should tell CSR it is 211 ? ;)



I meant to try that first. I bet it will work. ($1.00)

#196 OFFLINE   poyzin

poyzin

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Jan 19, 2009

Posted 23 January 2009 - 06:29 PM

Just an opinion . . . I own a VIP622, VIP612, DVR-501(non HD) and a "converted" VIP-211. Putting aside issues such as number of tuners and number of outputs, The VIP211 with the added hard drive is BY FAR the most bug free of the four. Who would of thought that Dish would have done a better job of adding DVR functionality to a non DVR receiver than they did with building one that was supposed to be a DVR in the first place? BTW, the 612 is the worst. You can't even skip forward without it hanging 50% of the time plus it's loaded with audio problems. I love my 211 + hard drive. Now I wish they would come up with a way of using the ethernet ports to view content on the other DVRs on my home LAN or FINALLY implement the web based scheduling. Direct is really hawking this feature in their marketing (great commercial BTW).

#197 OFFLINE   Rduce

Rduce

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 306 posts
Joined: May 15, 2008

Posted 27 January 2009 - 10:13 AM

Twice in the last week I have awoken to find that my 211 doesn't even know there is an EHD hooked to it. It has taken a power button reboot before it all works properly again any ideas on what might be going on? I'm guessing it has something to do with the 3 am update...

#198 OFFLINE   opus74

opus74

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Mar 07, 2006

Posted 06 February 2009 - 07:41 PM

So after reading all the great things about a 211k & an EHD...my EHD arrived today from NewEgg (I ordered it 2 days ago with free shipping!).

Plugged it in decided to use online chat as suggested here.....Vanessa came on and said she could activate the EHD feature on both of my 211k boxes for $39.99 per month per box....would I like her to do that?

I asked her if that was correct almost $80/month every month.

"Yes sir, you shouldn't have bought the 200 series box for DVR, you should have got a 600 or 700 series, then it's only 5$/month."

Are you sure about this.....????

Yes sir.

Thanks..Good bye.

Immediately logged back in. A guy named Israel said $ 39.99 for the account, gave me the HD specs and asked if it's a go. I said yes. Done in less than 5. HDs activate and reboot in another 5...done.:)

I wonder if Vanessa knows how to pocket the extra $$$?

I'm a new sub (Monday) but it took 3 sales folks before I got the package I wanted, now 4 days later it takes 2 to add a feature. It seems like telephone roulette is the rule, not the exception. :D

#199 OFFLINE   blkhouse

blkhouse

    Guest

  • Registered
  • 48 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2005

Posted 07 February 2009 - 09:50 AM

I had our EHD activated two weeks ago, and Wow it works amazing well. This is the 1st time we have had a DVR and we have had no glitches while recording or replaying.

It also took me 3 tries to get it activated (accidentally charged twice), and an insistence that the 211 is now DVR capable. The tech support department did state that if your hard drive has a sleep mode you may have a problem.

We need something real quiet, because for right now we are sleeping 6' away from the hard drive while we renovate the bedroom. Thanks for the people who made suggestions because this combination works real well.

Thermaltake BlacX eSATA Hard Drive USB/Esata Docking Station
[I got one with an esata interface in case it didn't work out I could put it on my PC]

Western Digital WD 750GB SATA Greenpower Bulk/OEM Hard Drive WD7500AACS

approx $120

It is kind of fun to wake at 3AM. The 211 actually powers on (green light) while it is getting the guide.

#200 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,743 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 07 February 2009 - 06:19 PM

It is kind of fun to wake at 3AM. The 211 actually powers on (green light) while it is getting the guide.

The reboot time can be changed. I have mine set for 7am but it can be any time of day.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...