Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

VIP 211 Hard Drive


  • Please log in to reply
354 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   Lostinspace

Lostinspace

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 60 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2007

Posted 19 November 2008 - 08:53 PM

That drive goes to sleep on my 622 when not accessed for a while.


Maybe I just haven't waited long enough :)

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   puckwithahalo

puckwithahalo

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,286 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2007

Posted 19 November 2008 - 09:52 PM

On the 211/411/211k, i'm wondering if that may not be a problem. I'm guessing that is where it will store the extended guide as well as the buffer among other things, I suspect it will be accessed by the receiver fairly frequently so may never go to sleep. Just a thought. not sure if its valid or not.
The postings on this site are my own and don't represent Dish's positions, strategies, or opinions.

-Puck

#53 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,555 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 19 November 2008 - 10:48 PM

It appears to constantly be buffering data to the drive.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#54 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,555 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 19 November 2008 - 10:51 PM

Another problem, I disconnected my drive while the 211 was running and it would not re-connect to it.

Deleted the partitions with XP 211 reformatted drive but still no DVR functionality.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#55 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,280 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 19 November 2008 - 10:51 PM

It appears to constantly be buffering data to the drive.


If it online, then would agree, but offline shouldn't.

#56 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,280 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 19 November 2008 - 10:52 PM

Another problem, I disconnected my drive while the 211 was running and it would not re-connect to it.

Deleted the partitions with XP 211 reformatted drive but still no DVR functionality.

Bummer !

Well, pioneers always getting surprises, not always pleasant. :(

#57 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,555 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 19 November 2008 - 10:55 PM

Monitoring both forums P Smith?
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#58 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,280 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 20 November 2008 - 12:11 AM

Posting on both ? ;)

#59 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 41,238 posts
  • LocationMichiana
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 20 November 2008 - 12:46 AM

It appears to constantly be buffering data to the drive.

Even when the receiver is "off" (standby)?

Having the drive should add all the DVR features (skip back/pause/etc) and that would require constant buffering while TV is being viewed. This is in addition to actual DVR events and EPG storage (which is extended when the 211 drive is enabled).

I would expect it to not use the drive when the receiver is in standby (other than the guide update and any set DVR events). And I can see why disconnecting the drive would cause an issue.

#60 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,280 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 20 November 2008 - 01:51 AM

If the system written correctly, then it should not be an issue when you disconnect USB device(HDD here) during standby mode. Just commit changes often and wait for that signal from USB driver.

#61 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 41,238 posts
  • LocationMichiana
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 20 November 2008 - 02:21 AM

Disconnecting a drive while data is being written isn't a good idea. Some problems should be expected. I expect any serious ones will be addressed.

Unless the "live buffering" feature of the DVR is turned off or the receiver is turned off (standby) there is always something being written. Perhaps they need a "disconnect USB" option on a menu? They certainly need better recovery for when a drive is disconnected than what Jim5506 reported (if that experience is common).

#62 OFFLINE   dld542004

dld542004

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 20 November 2008 - 08:59 AM

What drive are you using?


Maxtor usb 2.0 500GB

#63 OFFLINE   intrac

intrac

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 114 posts
Joined: Apr 02, 2006

Posted 20 November 2008 - 01:03 PM

With external HD on the 211, some here have reported problems with disconnecting the drive from the 211.

Just wondering what would happen during a power outage with the 211 and EHD losing power. Will the DVR function go nuts?

#64 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,678 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 20 November 2008 - 01:07 PM

If I were trying this, I would have the 211 and the EHD on a very large backup power supply.

#65 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,280 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 20 November 2008 - 01:20 PM

With external HD on the 211, some here have reported problems with disconnecting the drive from the 211.

Just wondering what would happen during a power outage with the 211 and EHD losing power. Will the DVR function go nuts?

According to Jim5506's observation - yes. :(

#66 OFFLINE   Grandude

Grandude

    RichardParker II

  • Registered
  • 896 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2004

Posted 20 November 2008 - 01:53 PM

Does anyone have two VIP211s and successfully activated both EHDs with a phone call to Dish? I have checked my two and they do have the same house key. I would rather not be the tester on this until I hear that someone else has successfully done it.

I'm guessing that when you call for activation they do NOT ask for a receiver number so both should receive activation.

As for going into standby, I plugged a Maxtor Onetouch3 into one of my 211s and it did not go to sleep for two hours of just sitting there and this is without activation. I just now turned off (standby) that 211 and will see if it now goes to sleep.

I'm thinking that since so many people have had troubles with their Seagates going to sleep on their 6/722s and Dish has announced that they will release a new version of software to solve the problem, perhaps that has been incorporated into the 211 software already. All it would take is a simple read from the drive every so many minutes to keep it active. I'm quite sure that this could be done even with the 211 in standby. (Well, at least I'm hoping this is the case)

Brian...reporting from the left coast
 2 Hoppers,1 Joey, 1 VIP211K active receivers
 I still believe in magic
!


#67 OFFLINE   Lostinspace

Lostinspace

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 60 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2007

Posted 20 November 2008 - 01:55 PM

Yesterday I activated the external HD on my 211. At that time I had plugged it in "temporarily" to verify the operation, but today I needed to shut everything down and rearrange equipment.

When I powered back up both devices the external HD was not functional, nor did it show as being activated in the system setup screen. I powered down the HD, powered it backup up, and the 211 detected it. A message asking if I wanted to use the drive popped up, and said the 211 would need to restart. At that point the 211 locked up, it would not accept any input from the remote nor did the front panel power button work. However, after a power cord reset the 211 came back up, went through the acquiring satellite sequence, and everything now works, including the external HD. (It did not format the drive again, and the extended program guide was still there without going through the download sequence.)

There appear to be some timing issues in the software that need a bit of work. :) Of course, if Dish would release some notes on how to use this new function, along with any limitations, that would be nice as well.

#68 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,555 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 20 November 2008 - 02:29 PM

I have been able to connect a different EHD to my 211. It did the compatibility check, started a format, rebooted, performed a system integrity check, rebooted, formatted the EHD, rebooted , downloaded the guide data and is now working on an 80 GB EHD.

Now if we can only get the 250 GB drive to work.

Just don't unplug the usb while the 211 is active. I'm a little trepidatious about unplugging it while in standby, but I might - no I wont.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#69 OFFLINE   intrac

intrac

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 114 posts
Joined: Apr 02, 2006

Posted 20 November 2008 - 02:45 PM

Dish really needs to put out a user guide for this and advertise this functionality.

Most users with 211s probably don't even know about this feature.

#70 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 41,238 posts
  • LocationMichiana
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 20 November 2008 - 03:07 PM

Dish really needs to put out a user guide for this and advertise this functionality.

Most users with 211s probably don't even know about this feature.

At the moment that may be a good thing. :)

I'd assume the betas have had this software ... perhaps no one thought to acid test it by unplugging a spinning USB drive. Now as a bleeding edge customer you get to catch the problem.

It would be nice to see if "losing a drive forever" is common or a fluke. Time to get the tests underway.

I'm not going to violate our own support forum "no bash" rule ... but one would think that someone would have tried that acid test. It may be that the focus was on getting the feature to work and not on how a customer might "break" it.

Hopefully DISH will have an answer soon.

#71 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,678 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 20 November 2008 - 04:07 PM

When someone has their ViP211 DVR working (more or less) in the San Francisco Bay Area, St. Louis, or one of the other DMA's that is having the audio dropout problem on the ViP612/622/722's, it would be helpful if you could record the Fox Sunday night animated shows and determine if you are getting the audio dropout.

The best description of the audio dropout was posted as follows:

I can report that the dropouts remain in the same spot when replayed. However, I find that the location of the drops can and do vary slightly. This is what helps me decipher words I cannot understand. My dropouts tend to be very short and may mute only a portion of a word or syllable. One time I might hear "The quick brown f__ jumped over the lazy dogs" Then when played back a second time, I might hear The quick brown _ox jumped over the lazy dogs" A third try might sound like "The quick brow_ fox jumped over the lazy dogs". etc. I find that it sometimes shifts.

When playing back from my ViP722, the dolby on my A/V receiver resets (off/on) causing a significant interruption. The same recording played from my ViP612 does not cause a dolby reset, just a definite instantaneous hickup in the audio.

ABC and Fox HD recorded off the satellite tend to be the worst in most of the affected DMA's, though some of us see it also on CBS and NBC to a lesser extent. OTA has generally not been a problem. The dropout does not occur in "live" viewing, only in HD recordings.

I'll monitor this thread in hopes someone will report back, hopefully that no audio dropout problem exists for ViP211's.

#72 OFFLINE   dkjohn

dkjohn

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 26 posts
Joined: Feb 22, 2006

Posted 20 November 2008 - 04:50 PM

Finally got my hard drive working with my 211 having never having a DVR this is great, one ? if anybody knows can I add a second hard drive on a different system I have a 211 in my bedroom and one in my family would like to have this function on both boxes.

#73 OFFLINE   GravelChan

GravelChan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 222 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2005

Posted 20 November 2008 - 05:00 PM

Just a couple of comments. After reading other comments I was also wondering about what would happen if the power went off so I unplugged the hard drive then unplugged my 211k. Plugged them back in, the receiver booted and all was well. Looks like if you unplug the hard drive you will need to plug it back in and reboot, maybe power plug reboot to get back to normal. This is what really happens with the normal DVR's, that is the DVR is up and running when the receiver boots.

On getting the hard drive recognized to begin with. I called in and by the time the CSR got around to sending the authorizing signal, the acquisition screen that comes on when you first plug the drive in had disappeared. I never did get the formatting screen. I rebooted and still nothing. So I called back in, told the CSR when she was ready to send the authorizing signal to let me unplug the drive so I could plug back in and get the acquisition screen, then she could send it. It worked. It appears that if the acquisition screen is not up when they send the authorizing signal that is will not work. ????
this time.

#74 OFFLINE   puckwithahalo

puckwithahalo

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,286 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2007

Posted 20 November 2008 - 05:06 PM

The activation activates it per account, not per receiver, so yes, you can use it on all 211's on the account, with as many hard drives as you'd like.
The postings on this site are my own and don't represent Dish's positions, strategies, or opinions.

-Puck

#75 OFFLINE   dkjohn

dkjohn

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 26 posts
Joined: Feb 22, 2006

Posted 20 November 2008 - 05:33 PM

Woo Hooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!




Protected By... spam firewall...And...