Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

All Series 2 DirecTivos: 6.4a Issues / Discussion


  • Please log in to reply
151 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   machavez00

machavez00

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,671 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, Arizona
Joined: Nov 02, 2006

Posted 28 May 2008 - 01:29 PM

Is the letterbox/pan and scan option under video new? I haven't played with the SD TiVo for awhile.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   TheDurk

TheDurk

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 166 posts
Joined: Mar 08, 2007

Posted 28 May 2008 - 02:14 PM

I forced the update myself, and got the 6.4a update just fine. Just a few notes from my end....

- What's this Audio DRC in the Audio Settings? Did I miss that in a previous update?


I'm still on 6.3f and I have the AudioDRC setting on 2 SDDirecTivo's. I never noticed it before and it is set wrong for my setup. But it only applies to DD Audio and I never use that on my SD machines anymore.

#28 OFFLINE   TheDurk

TheDurk

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 166 posts
Joined: Mar 08, 2007

Posted 28 May 2008 - 02:18 PM

Is the letterbox/pan and scan option under video new? I haven't played with the SD TiVo for awhile.


I guess it is as my 6.3f has only the old 4:3 and 16:9 options that have always been there.

#29 OFFLINE   Lee L

Lee L

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,134 posts
Joined: Aug 15, 2002

Posted 28 May 2008 - 03:44 PM

I;m pretty sure the 4:3 and 16:9 options have always been there. I don't think they actually do anything either.


DirecTV, please don't make me have to go back to watching March Madness in standard Def! Oh, and the usual begging for AMC and BBC America. You are so close to actually being the HD Leader.

#30 OFFLINE   machavez00

machavez00

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,671 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, Arizona
Joined: Nov 02, 2006

Posted 28 May 2008 - 07:17 PM

this is with 4:3 selected. How long does it take before the receiver shows in the drop down menu. It updated to 6.4 this morning.

#31 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,801 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 28 May 2008 - 07:42 PM

Is this for all DirecTivo's? I have an older one that I would like to use remote scheduling on, but not sure what model it is.


What brand/model Tivo do you have? This update is just for Series 2 DirecTV/Tivos.
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#32 OFFLINE   codespy

codespy

    Go Pack Go!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 737 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Mar 29, 2006

Posted 28 May 2008 - 07:59 PM

What brand/model Tivo do you have? This update is just for Series 2 DirecTV/Tivos.


My SD-DVR40 updated to 6.4a, but the receiver is not listed in DVR Scheduler. Only my HR10's and HR20's are shown, not my SD unit. Anyone else?

Bug still present- clock still flashes when you enter S-P-S-<instant replay>-S.

#33 OFFLINE   iamjemhadar

iamjemhadar

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 75 posts
Joined: Feb 28, 2007

Posted 28 May 2008 - 08:05 PM

I forced a call yesterday and updated my Hughes HDVR2 DirecTivo to 6.4a. All new features are there except the DVR scheduler on the website does not show my tivo for recording. Anybody else have this problem?
Slimline 5 LNB Dish / Zinwell WB68 Multiswitch / OTA antenna w/ amplifier

HR20-700 Living room (0x0235) 2 tuner, OTA, Networked (Netgear XE104 85Mbps wall-plugged ethernet) 720p res HDMI-->DVI Samsung DLP HLM507w
HR20-700 Family room (0x0235) 2 tuner, OTA, Networked (Netgear XE104 85Mbps wall-plugged ethernet) 1080i res Component Sony LCD RPTV
Hughes HDVR2 DirecTivo Bedroom (6.4a) 2 Tuner, CRT
SIR-S300W Bedroom CRT/ SIR-S300W Bedroom CRT

#34 OFFLINE   codespy

codespy

    Go Pack Go!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 737 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Mar 29, 2006

Posted 28 May 2008 - 08:10 PM

I forced a call yesterday and updated my Hughes HDVR2 DirecTivo to 6.4a. All new features are there except the DVR scheduler on the website does not show my tivo for recording. Anybody else have this problem?


See post 32. :)

#35 OFFLINE   RandCfilm

RandCfilm

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 291 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 28 May 2008 - 08:52 PM

See post 32. :)

6 minutes between posts. If iamjemhadar is like me, he was probably still typing his question while you were posting yours. ;) :D

Oh, and my units do show up on the website
(2) UltimateTV - upgraded w/160GB
(1) HR10-250 800GB 6.4a
(1) HR10-250 620GB 6.4a
(1) HR10-250 320GB 6.3f
(3) HR21-100
...(1) with AM21 & internal 2TB Seagate
...(1) with AM21 & internal 1TB Seagate
...(1) Stock
RandCfilm

#36 OFFLINE   machavez00

machavez00

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,671 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, Arizona
Joined: Nov 02, 2006

Posted 28 May 2008 - 09:43 PM

what happened to "refresh receiver? I was going to refresh. my SD TiVo to see if that helped.

#37 OFFLINE   manhole

manhole

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 68 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 28 May 2008 - 10:55 PM

Has anyone received this update on their Samsung DirecTV TiVO?


I'd like to know the same thing considering those of us with Samsung's never received the 6.3f update.

#38 OFFLINE   RandCfilm

RandCfilm

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 291 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 29 May 2008 - 02:26 AM

what happened to "refresh receiver? I was going to refresh. my SD TiVo to see if that helped.

go to "customer service" on the left side of web site.
then troubleshooting
then on screen messages
then click a message link.
(2) UltimateTV - upgraded w/160GB
(1) HR10-250 800GB 6.4a
(1) HR10-250 620GB 6.4a
(1) HR10-250 320GB 6.3f
(3) HR21-100
...(1) with AM21 & internal 2TB Seagate
...(1) with AM21 & internal 1TB Seagate
...(1) Stock
RandCfilm

#39 OFFLINE   dstager

dstager

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Dec 01, 2004

Posted 29 May 2008 - 08:02 AM

One of the listed improvements is "Fixes for Service Labels". What are service labels and what was broken/fixed?

#40 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 36,976 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 29 May 2008 - 08:56 AM

I'm not sure I know, but the wording came directly from the source.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#41 OFFLINE   mstenbrg

mstenbrg

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 94 posts
Joined: Oct 02, 2006

Posted 29 May 2008 - 09:05 AM

What brand/model Tivo do you have? This update is just for Series 2 DirecTV/Tivos.


It is a DVR80. Not sure if it is a series 2. I would like to upgrade it to another HR-20 anyway.

#42 OFFLINE   Paul_PDX

Paul_PDX

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: Apr 02, 2008

Posted 29 May 2008 - 04:08 PM

Received the update and everything is working fine on my HR10 (way smoother than my recent HR21 updates).


Service label fix probably has to do with the brand logos by the channel numbers in the playlist etc. Occassionally they would diappear for some people (I never saw that issue_

#43 OFFLINE   whitepelican

whitepelican

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 291 posts
Joined: May 09, 2007

Posted 29 May 2008 - 05:12 PM

Question: Can anyone with a SD DirecTivo (w/ 6.4a) verify that they can use the online DVR scheduler? I ask because only my HR10-250 is showing up in the online scheduler and not my SD units.

#44 OFFLINE   tadtam

tadtam

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 86 posts
Joined: Apr 01, 2008

Posted 29 May 2008 - 05:44 PM

Question: Can anyone with a SD DirecTivo (w/ 6.4a) verify that they can use the online DVR scheduler? I ask because only my HR10-250 is showing up in the online scheduler and not my SD units.


I checked and still says my equipment does not have that ability :nono2:

They will give me a free update to D* DVR which has this ability...

Is it worth it??
“There are 10 kinds of people in this world,
those who know binary and those who don't."

#45 OFFLINE   sacalait

sacalait

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 432 posts
  • LocationWest Palm Beach, FL
Joined: Aug 06, 2007

Posted 30 May 2008 - 05:27 AM

Question: Can anyone with a SD DirecTivo (w/ 6.4a) verify that they can use the online DVR scheduler? I ask because only my HR10-250 is showing up in the online scheduler and not my SD units.


I cannot use the scheduler on a R-10 model. I verified the software and the other features, i.e. the recently deleted folder, but the receiver doesn't show up on my list for online scheduling. Do they need a network connection for this feature to work. If so, I guess I am out of luck because from what I can see, the R-10 doesn't have one.:confused:
SACALAIT

Geaux Saints 2009 Superbowl Champions
LSU Tiger Baseball
National Champs '91, '93, '96, '97, '00, '09

#46 OFFLINE   jal

jal

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 761 posts
Joined: Mar 03, 2005

Posted 30 May 2008 - 05:42 AM

I checked and still says my equipment does not have that ability :nono2:

They will give me a free update to D* DVR which has this ability...

Is it worth it??


Not at all. Stick with the TIVO. I returned my R15 after a few months. Anyway, the scheduling is done over the satellite, so my guess is Directv just has to update its systems for the R10.

#47 OFFLINE   whitepelican

whitepelican

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 291 posts
Joined: May 09, 2007

Posted 30 May 2008 - 07:40 AM

Do they need a network connection for this feature to work. If so, I guess I am out of luck because from what I can see, the R-10 doesn't have one.:confused:


You don't need a network connection to use the scheduler. It works fine for HR2x and HR10-250 units that aren't networked. It seems that even though they are updating the software for the SD DirecTivos to be capable of remote scheduling, that they haven't actually given any of them the permission from DirecTV's end yet.

#48 OFFLINE   newsposter

newsposter

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,429 posts
Joined: Nov 12, 2003

Posted 30 May 2008 - 07:45 AM

i'm still confused as to if suggestions or deleted items will be deleted first for space. I currently use suggestions to monitor space
57 inch Hitachi 57F710S
Tivo Premiere
Panasonic E80 Dvd recorder
HR10-250 63 hrs w/DB8 antenna (parts :))
1/2 full Sony T60 (historical value)

#49 OFFLINE   Baconbeard

Baconbeard

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 35 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2007

Posted 30 May 2008 - 08:39 AM

I forced a call last night, but it did not update the software. I have a Series 2 RCA DVR80.

#50 OFFLINE   JohnDG

JohnDG

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 216 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 30 May 2008 - 09:40 AM

i'm still confused as to if suggestions or deleted items will be deleted first for space. I currently use suggestions to monitor space


The best explanation I saw was "nothing has changed."

That is, TiVo has simply giving you access to see deleted programs that have not yet been reclaimed for space when new programs (scheduled or suggestions) are recorded. The deleted programs always go first.

jdg




Protected By... spam firewall...And...