Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

All Series 2 DirecTivos: 6.4a Issues / Discussion


  • Please log in to reply
151 replies to this topic

#76 OFFLINE   O2BRich

O2BRich

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 175 posts
Joined: Nov 08, 2006

Posted 06 June 2008 - 11:28 AM

My S4120R is always plugged in and I've forced daily calls for the past couple of weeks.

It has no trouble making "successful" calls every time.

It never got 6.3f (as most posters have reported their Samsungs never did) and it has yet to get 6.4a.

I haven't seen a single poster, here or elsewhere, report 6.4a on a Samsung yet.

There is clealry an issue.

My R-10 installed it, with just its regular phone call, already.

Both units are stock and unhacked.



Mine is connected as well and I have forced several calls.

I never received 6.3f as well and have the reboot issue and want it fixed.

What is up with DirecTV and Samsung TiVO owners?

DirecTV if you are listening please give us Samsung TiVO owners 6.4a?

Thanks
Bruce
Bruce
Direc TV Customer since 11/98

HR21-100 via HDMI - 60" Sony Bravia 3
HR20-700 via HDMI - 55" Samsung
HR22-100 via HDMI - 37" Toshiba
HR22-100 via HDMI - 32" Sylvania
Slimline 5, SWiM 8, Whole Home over Ethernet.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#77 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,514 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 06 June 2008 - 07:10 PM

Well, I've forced a phone call every day since 6.4a rolled out, and my HR10-250 just doesn't seem to be on the approved list. Both of my HDVR2 DVRs were, but not my HR10! Somebody up there doesn't like this DVR! :P

#78 OFFLINE   jdmaxell

jdmaxell

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Dec 12, 2007

Posted 06 June 2008 - 07:39 PM

I have an actual bug to report! On my HR-10 the recently deleted list only shows the first page (8) of deleted items (there are 24 in the folder), trying to page down or use the down arrow to get to the next page results in the empty folder with "recently deleted folder definition" message. To recover, I must exit using the "left" key as instructed to do, then I can re-enter the folder and repeat. Nothing is lost, but I can only access the last 8 recordings deleted! My HDVR2 works properly when I enter the folder and my other HR-10 will update this evening, so I don't have a comparison to it yet. Any one else have this problem? All my deletions were made after the update. The folders were empty initially.


Me Too! Philips sr80

#79 OFFLINE   manhole

manhole

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 68 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 09 June 2008 - 09:06 AM

I haven't seen a single poster, here or elsewhere, report 6.4a on a Samsung yet.

There is clealry an issue.


I haven't seen a single user report 6.3f on a Samsung.

#80 OFFLINE   man_rob

man_rob

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,439 posts
Joined: Feb 21, 2007

Posted 09 June 2008 - 01:26 PM

Has anyone with an R10 standard definition model been able to use the remote booking on DirecTV.com?

#81 OFFLINE   rawilson

rawilson

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 70 posts
Joined: Oct 09, 2007

Posted 09 June 2008 - 08:24 PM

Has anyone with an R10 standard definition model been able to use the remote booking on DirecTV.com?


Not working for me either

#82 OFFLINE   ktk0117

ktk0117

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 202 posts
Joined: Nov 27, 2006

Posted 10 June 2008 - 07:26 AM

Has anyone with an R10 standard definition model been able to use the remote booking on DirecTV.com?



Tried mine just now, and still nothing.

:(

DTV HR24-700,
DTV HR21-100,
DTV HR21-700
DTV R10 Tivo,
DTV R15

LG 60PB6600 Plasma

Toshiba 57HX83 HD CRT
Vizio VX32L HD LCD
Vizio VP322 HD Plasma


#83 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,514 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 10 June 2008 - 09:56 AM

I've been forcing a daily call every day since 5/27 and my HR10-250 still hasn't been updated.

Two HDVR2 receivers on my account have been updated, however. All receivers are connected to the same phone number.

For the fun of it yesterday, I plugged in a deactivated HR10-250, connected to the DVR service and believe it or not, the DEACTIVATED HR10 received the authorization to update to 6.4 ... so why won't my activated HR10 get the authorization? :confused:

Can a moderator with a DIRECTV contact please verify if the release is still considered in staggered rollout or if all receivers should have gotten the authorization to update by now?

Thanks.

#84 OFFLINE   TermiNader

TermiNader

    DIRECTV since 1997

  • Registered
  • 141 posts
Joined: Jul 09, 2007

Posted 11 June 2008 - 11:05 PM

Nothing definite, but should be available in Summer 2008.

Tried mine just now, and still nothing.

:(



#85 OFFLINE   KSbugeater

KSbugeater

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 309 posts
Joined: Feb 17, 2005

Posted 12 June 2008 - 03:14 PM

I've been getting daily, sometimes twice daily lockups on my R10 since th upgrade. Picture is frozen, required RBR to get out of it. We've had a lot of bad weather, but it is surge protected and if power was lost, it should have done a power cycle instead of rebooting. Getting pretty annoying.

#86 OFFLINE   bleggett29

bleggett29

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 156 posts
Joined: Feb 02, 2008

Posted 17 June 2008 - 10:48 AM

Mine is connected as well and I have forced several calls.

I never received 6.3f as well and have the reboot issue and want it fixed.

What is up with DirecTV and Samsung TiVO owners?

DirecTV if you are listening please give us Samsung TiVO owners 6.4a?

Thanks
Bruce

I have a Samsung SIR-S4080R. Connected it to the phone line in the first time in 4 or 5 years last night. Did a call home and restart. It now has 6.4a. Previous version was 6.2a.

#87 OFFLINE   dtremain

dtremain

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 71 posts
Joined: Mar 03, 2004

Posted 18 June 2008 - 09:33 PM

I have a Samsung SIR-S4080R. Connected it to the phone line in the first time in 4 or 5 years last night. Did a call home and restart. It now has 6.4a. Previous version was 6.2a.

Yes, it appears to have gone out to Samsungs early last week. That's when I finally got it and a lot of people reported getting it on vairous forums.

I'm relieved.

#88 OFFLINE   O2BRich

O2BRich

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 175 posts
Joined: Nov 08, 2006

Posted 19 June 2008 - 11:10 AM

Yes, it appears to have gone out to Samsungs early last week. That's when I finally got it and a lot of people reported getting it on vairous forums.

I'm relieved.


That figures my Tivo is in storage until my new house is done early Sept:mad:
Bruce
Direc TV Customer since 11/98

HR21-100 via HDMI - 60" Sony Bravia 3
HR20-700 via HDMI - 55" Samsung
HR22-100 via HDMI - 37" Toshiba
HR22-100 via HDMI - 32" Sylvania
Slimline 5, SWiM 8, Whole Home over Ethernet.

#89 OFFLINE   dtremain

dtremain

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 71 posts
Joined: Mar 03, 2004

Posted 19 June 2008 - 01:03 PM

That figures my Tivo is in storage until my new house is done early Sept:mad:

It will be there for you, either still on the satellite or through the phone system.

More importantly, I hope all is well with the new house.

#90 OFFLINE   sacalait

sacalait

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 432 posts
  • LocationWest Palm Beach, FL
Joined: Aug 06, 2007

Posted 19 June 2008 - 01:08 PM

Not working for me either



Nor me, the other new features, i.e. recycle bin and record clip.
SACALAIT

Geaux Saints 2009 Superbowl Champions
LSU Tiger Baseball
National Champs '91, '93, '96, '97, '00, '09

#91 OFFLINE   O2BRich

O2BRich

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 175 posts
Joined: Nov 08, 2006

Posted 19 June 2008 - 07:48 PM

It will be there for you, either still on the satellite or through the phone system.

More importantly, I hope all is well with the new house.



Yeah...I know.

But I waited all those months dealing with the random reboots and as soon as I move they release it for the Samsung TiVO's :grin:
Bruce
Direc TV Customer since 11/98

HR21-100 via HDMI - 60" Sony Bravia 3
HR20-700 via HDMI - 55" Samsung
HR22-100 via HDMI - 37" Toshiba
HR22-100 via HDMI - 32" Sylvania
Slimline 5, SWiM 8, Whole Home over Ethernet.

#92 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,514 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 19 June 2008 - 08:00 PM

I've been forcing a daily call every day since 5/27 and my HR10-250 still hasn't been updated.

Two HDVR2 receivers on my account have been updated, however. All receivers are connected to the same phone number.

For the fun of it yesterday, I plugged in a deactivated HR10-250, connected to the DVR service and believe it or not, the DEACTIVATED HR10 received the authorization to update to 6.4 ... so why won't my activated HR10 get the authorization? :confused:

Can a moderator with a DIRECTV contact please verify if the release is still considered in staggered rollout or if all receivers should have gotten the authorization to update by now?

Thanks.

Still no joy on my HR10-250 ... it will no upgrade, still stuck on 6.3f

Does anyone have any ideas? This is driving me crazy!

#93 OFFLINE   jims

jims

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 109 posts
Joined: Jan 05, 2008

Posted 19 June 2008 - 08:01 PM

I just got on Directv.com and my two Tivo recievers now show up as being able to remote book.

#94 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,932 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 19 June 2008 - 08:23 PM

I just got on Directv.com and my two Tivo recievers now show up as being able to remote book.


yup .. Just made an announcement :)

http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=131370
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#95 OFFLINE   iamjemhadar

iamjemhadar

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 75 posts
Joined: Feb 28, 2007

Posted 19 June 2008 - 09:24 PM

yup .. Just made an announcement :)

http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=131370


I love remote booking :D
Slimline 5 LNB Dish / Zinwell WB68 Multiswitch / OTA antenna w/ amplifier

HR20-700 Living room (0x0235) 2 tuner, OTA, Networked (Netgear XE104 85Mbps wall-plugged ethernet) 720p res HDMI-->DVI Samsung DLP HLM507w
HR20-700 Family room (0x0235) 2 tuner, OTA, Networked (Netgear XE104 85Mbps wall-plugged ethernet) 1080i res Component Sony LCD RPTV
Hughes HDVR2 DirecTivo Bedroom (6.4a) 2 Tuner, CRT
SIR-S300W Bedroom CRT/ SIR-S300W Bedroom CRT

#96 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,851 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 20 June 2008 - 12:03 AM

yup .. Just made an announcement :)

http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=131370


Verified. Works on my R10 DirecTivo.
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#97 OFFLINE   hiker

hiker

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 507 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2006

Posted 20 June 2008 - 07:28 AM

Still no joy on my HR10-250 ... it will no upgrade, still stuck on 6.3f

Does anyone have any ideas? This is driving me crazy!

About the only thing you can do is drastic since you will lose all your programs, SPs and settings... reimage your drive (InstantCake if still available).

DirecTV customer since 1994
DirecTV H23-600
DirecTV HR22-100
DirecTV HR20-700 (qty 5)
TiVo Series 3 OTA


#98 OFFLINE   man_rob

man_rob

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,439 posts
Joined: Feb 21, 2007

Posted 20 June 2008 - 08:36 AM

Woo Hoo!

I now have TiVo remote scheduling Joy.

#99 OFFLINE   dtremain

dtremain

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 71 posts
Joined: Mar 03, 2004

Posted 20 June 2008 - 08:47 AM

About the only thing you can do is drastic since you will lose all your programs, SPs and settings... reimage your drive (InstantCake if still available).

I think I would wait a while. It's my understanding that the authorizations are staggered throughout the month. You might just be unlucky.

I would at least wait until July 1 before I gave up.

#100 OFFLINE   dtremain

dtremain

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 71 posts
Joined: Mar 03, 2004

Posted 20 June 2008 - 08:48 AM

Woo Hoo!

I now have TiVo remote scheduling Joy.

Same here.:D :D :D




Protected By... spam firewall...And...