Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Starmate ST2


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   oldschnor

oldschnor

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Nov 21, 2005

Posted 03 June 2008 - 11:23 AM

Yesterday, my Starmate ST2 was docked in a boombax on my deck floor. The box was tipped and the display on the ST2 cracked and nothing is visible. I was surprised to discover that the ST2 is no longer available and the boombox is not compatible with any other model.

I assume that the display is not repairable. I was on hold with Sirius for 20 minutes before I gave up.

Is there any market where an ST2 might be available?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 03 June 2008 - 01:22 PM

Yesterday, my Starmate ST2 was docked in a boombax on my deck floor. The box was tipped and the display on the ST2 cracked and nothing is visible. I was surprised to discover that the ST2 is no longer available and the boombox is not compatible with any other model.

I assume that the display is not repairable. I was on hold with Sirius for 20 minutes before I gave up.

Is there any market where an ST2 might be available?



My ST2 gave up the ghost yesterday as well. Actually it had been a POS since I got in December 07. It would cut out every now and then, sometimes for a whole day. Always had great signal levels. When it worked, it was great, just getting it to work was a challenge.

Anyway, to get it to work, I had to plug/unplug a lot of times then it would finally kick in. Or, had to take it out of the cradle and bang it on the dash. :grin: I banged a bit too hard yesterday, now it just power cycles. :( Dead.

They are replacing it under warranty. Not sure if they are sending a ST2 or not. Will have to wait to see what surprise the FedEx guy brings.

See if they will replace it, or you can always try ebay.
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#3 OFFLINE   Garry L

Garry L

    Cool Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13 posts
Joined: Feb 07, 2004

Posted 08 June 2008 - 08:26 AM

Ebay usually has several at any given time.

#4 OFFLINE   deraz

deraz

    Daydreamer

  • Gold Members
  • 722 posts
Joined: Sep 25, 2004

Posted 23 July 2008 - 01:16 PM

They are on Sirius' on-line store site under "clearance" for $29.99.

Refurbished.
"But don't ask me what I think of you
I might not give the answer that you want me to."
Peter Green - Fleetwood Mac




spam firewall