Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

622 vs 722


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   mmpotash

mmpotash

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: Nov 11, 2005

Posted 13 June 2008 - 03:54 PM

I'm upgrading from a 942. They said it would be a 622 instead of a 722 receiver, but I've heard on this forum that the installers don't install 622's anymore. I told the Dish rep but she insisted I was wrong. I tried to get her to change, but since I was getting a great deal she said no. What's up?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Larry Kenney

Larry Kenney

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 110 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2005

Posted 13 June 2008 - 04:05 PM

According to the Charley Chat Monday night, they were replacing all old receivers with 622's. It's all free of charge, including any antenna and set up changes needed. They need to get all of the old MPEG2 receivers out of service so that they can drop the MPEG2 channels. All of the HD on Dish is going to be MPEG4 within the next few months.

If you want a 722 you'll probably have to pay for it. The only difference between the 622 and 722 is the size of the hard drive. The 722's is larger.

Larry
SF

#3 OFFLINE   Ron Barry

Ron Barry

    622 Tips & Trick Keeper

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,879 posts
Joined: Dec 10, 2002

Posted 13 June 2008 - 05:02 PM

Actually Larry there is some other internal differences and the 722 is black but other than that from a functional point of view the 722 and 622 contains the same features.
<strong class='bbc'>New Member of the 9K club & 922/612 User<br /></strong><span style='font-size: 8px;'>"A release is not a release until it is released." - Me. <br />"To the true believer, no proof is necessary. To the non believer, no proof is sufficient." - Peter James (Derived from a Stewert Chase Quote)</span>

#4 OFFLINE   mmpotash

mmpotash

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: Nov 11, 2005

Posted 14 June 2008 - 12:00 AM

So is it true that the 622 vs the 722 are the same as far as problems? I read where the 622 has HDMI jack problems. Has this been fixed in the later manufactured 622's or in the 722's.

#5 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,473 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 14 June 2008 - 07:06 AM

So is it true that the 622 vs the 722 are the same as far as problems? I read where the 622 has HDMI jack problems. Has this been fixed in the later manufactured 622's or in the 722's.


No.

The 722 has minor structural improvements, such as a more robust HDMI connector.

They are hardware similar enought that they do share the same software.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#6 OFFLINE   TulsaOK

TulsaOK

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,469 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2004

Posted 14 June 2008 - 08:07 AM

So is it true that the 622 vs the 722 are the same as far as problems?


No, it isn't true. Some of the ViP622 receivers have problems with the external hard drive as well as, more recently, the problems with the L5.10 firmware update. The ViP722 seemed to be immune to those problems. My guess is that the internal differences, mentioned earlier, would be the explanation for this.
<span style='font-size: 10px;'>“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.”<br /> - John Wayne</span><br /><br />Avatar: Tanner 1992 - 2009

#7 OFFLINE   mmpotash

mmpotash

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: Nov 11, 2005

Posted 14 June 2008 - 08:46 AM

Thanks all. I called Dish but they repeated that since I'm not signing any time committment, ( I will be moving in 1.5 years), there is no choice but the 622. Hopefully the installer will not have any on the truck and I'll get a 722.

#8 OFFLINE   TulsaOK

TulsaOK

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,469 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2004

Posted 14 June 2008 - 09:29 AM

Thanks all. I called Dish but they repeated that since I'm not signing any time committment, ( I will be moving in 1.5 years), there is no choice but the 622. Hopefully the installer will not have any on the truck and I'll get a 722.


Even with a commitment, after 18 months you would only owe the remainder of 6 months. I believe the charge would be $60 (6 x $10/mo.)

Are you not going to continue with Dish after a year and a half?
<span style='font-size: 10px;'>“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.”<br /> - John Wayne</span><br /><br />Avatar: Tanner 1992 - 2009

#9 ONLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,801 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 14 June 2008 - 11:14 AM

According to the Charley Chat Monday night, they were replacing all old receivers with 622's. It's all free of charge, including any antenna and set up changes needed.

It is NOT free of charge. There are charges anywhere from $99 on up depending on what you do.

#10 OFFLINE   fredp

fredp

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 113 posts
Joined: Jun 02, 2007

Posted 14 June 2008 - 01:02 PM

So is it true that the 622 vs the 722 are the same as far as problems? I read where the 622 has HDMI jack problems. Has this been fixed in the later manufactured 622's or in the 722's.

Gees, I must be one of the lucky ones then as far as a 622 goes. My 622 has been flawless since March 2007. HDMI works just fine, currently hooked to my Panny 42PZ700U. I have a WD 500 ext HD as well. :) The 622 is connected to a Buffalo wireless ethernet converter as well.

#11 OFFLINE   Ron Barry

Ron Barry

    622 Tips & Trick Keeper

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,879 posts
Joined: Dec 10, 2002

Posted 14 June 2008 - 01:51 PM

I guess I never said the bottom line.. With me if it was a 622 free or a 722 and some cash it all would depend on how much cash. I would be willing to go up to 100 bucks for the extra storage but no more. Each one of us price point I am sure it is different, but the 622 still is an excellent box .
<strong class='bbc'>New Member of the 9K club & 922/612 User<br /></strong><span style='font-size: 8px;'>"A release is not a release until it is released." - Me. <br />"To the true believer, no proof is necessary. To the non believer, no proof is sufficient." - Peter James (Derived from a Stewert Chase Quote)</span>

#12 OFFLINE   SaltiDawg

SaltiDawg

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,375 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2004

Posted 14 June 2008 - 02:43 PM

Gees, I must be one of the lucky ones then as far as a 622 goes. My 622 has been flawless since March 2007. HDMI works just fine, currently hooked to my Panny 42PZ700U. I have a WD 500 ext HD as well. :) The 622 is connected to a Buffalo wireless ethernet converter as well.

My two 622's have been trouble free for over a year. People post about problems - the folks with no problems are certainly a "Silent Majority." :lol:

#13 OFFLINE   mmpotash

mmpotash

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: Nov 11, 2005

Posted 14 June 2008 - 03:37 PM

I am not being charged anything. They had to get a supervisor's OK for this since I'm not committing to any time frame, but I have been a Dish customer for 11 years.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...