Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Multiple EHD's on one Receiver


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   tyree91

tyree91

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Sep 20, 2007

Posted 20 June 2008 - 06:06 PM

Can you keep multiple EHD's to be run on a single receiver? Can you use a USB switch for access?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,721 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 20 June 2008 - 06:09 PM

NO. Not now. Dish told they are working on that.

Only one by one. If you have true USB switch what connect a host to only one device [HDD].

#3 OFFLINE   tyree91

tyree91

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Sep 20, 2007

Posted 25 June 2008 - 05:07 PM

NO. Not now. Dish told they are working on that.

Only one by one. If you have true USB switch what connect a host to only one device [HDD].


If I follow your answer correctly, it means that multiple discs cannot be connected at the same time, but they can be exchanged either with a USB switch or simply by disconnecting and exchanging. Do I read you right? Anyone else have input on this clarification? Thanks

#4 OFFLINE   Ron Barry

Ron Barry

    622 Tips & Trick Keeper

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,879 posts
Joined: Dec 10, 2002

Posted 25 June 2008 - 05:12 PM

Yes this is correct. If you plan is to connect Multiple USB drives via a USB hub that will not work. Currently Dish only supports one USB drive at a time though there is no limitation on how many different drives you can have, but only one can be connected at a given time.

I do know of one person that has multiple drives and a switch and has reported that it works, but I am not aware of a lot of people having such a configuration.
<strong class='bbc'>New Member of the 9K club & 922/612 User<br /></strong><span style='font-size: 8px;'>"A release is not a release until it is released." - Me. <br />"To the true believer, no proof is necessary. To the non believer, no proof is sufficient." - Peter James (Derived from a Stewert Chase Quote)</span>

#5 OFFLINE   tyree91

tyree91

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Sep 20, 2007

Posted 25 June 2008 - 05:30 PM

Yes this is correct. If you plan is to connect Multiple USB drives via a USB hub that will not work. Currently Dish only supports one USB drive at a time though there is no limitation on how many different drives you can have, but only one can be connected at a given time.

I do know of one person that has multiple drives and a switch and has reported that it works, but I am not aware of a lot of people having such a configuration.


Thanks Ron. That's what I was looking for. I figured a hub would not work, but there are some USB switches out there that should do the trick.

#6 OFFLINE   Tulsa1

Tulsa1

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 255 posts
Joined: Oct 15, 2003

Posted 26 June 2008 - 10:29 AM

FWIW:
I am using USB hubs on both my 622 and 722.
As long as ONLY one EHD has power on each hub there is no conflict.
I have 3 EHDs connected to each DVR by way of a cheap 4 port USB hub.
Now that we have the household key I can move the EHDs from one hub to the other at will.:)

#7 OFFLINE   4HiMarks

4HiMarks

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,310 posts
  • LocationLaurel, MD
Joined: Jan 21, 2004

Posted 26 June 2008 - 01:51 PM

Has anyone tried using a NAS device via a USB ethernet "card"?
Dish subscriber since 2000, HD since 2004.




spam firewall