Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DirecTV and Dish Network - Through One Cable?


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   ikogan

ikogan

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Jun 29, 2008

Posted 29 June 2008 - 04:59 PM

I am unsuccessfully trying to find answer on how to concurrently pass signals, without any suppression and distortion, from both DirecTV and Dish Network satellite antennas through one cable, one TV wall plug to DirecTV and Dish Network satellite receivers.

Can anybody help?

Thanks!

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   CJTE

CJTE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,345 posts
Joined: Sep 17, 2007

Posted 29 June 2008 - 05:04 PM

I am unsuccessfully trying to find answer on how to concurrently pass signals, without any suppression and distortion, from both DirecTV and Dish Network satellite antennas through one cable, one TV wall plug to DirecTV and Dish Network satellite receivers.

Can anybody help?

Thanks!


The closest thing you would get to is diplexers.
Assuming frequencies from Dish run the same as DirecTV, its not possible.

#3 OFFLINE   Richard King

Richard King

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 21,331 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2002

Posted 29 June 2008 - 05:29 PM

The LNB's of both operate on the same frequency so, it can't be done without bumping one or the other to a different frequency band.
The Pump Don't Work 'cause the Vandals Took the Handles.

#4 OFFLINE   topcat0399

topcat0399

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 39 posts
Joined: Apr 19, 2007

Posted 29 June 2008 - 06:01 PM

The closest thing you would get to is diplexers.
Assuming frequencies from Dish run the same as DirecTV, its not possible.




you are going to have to have separate cables from each dish n matter what at least to the point of entry into your house.

you could stack both recivers there and send only the tv feed up on one cable to the tv.

depends on the type of recivers you have, thier remote control ability, and the channels you have to watch them on.

no way to send two diferent sat signals on the same cable. all recievers would be totally confused.

need more details about your gear.

#5 OFFLINE   AntAltMike

AntAltMike

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,939 posts
  • LocationCollege Park MD (just outside Wash, DC)
Joined: Nov 20, 2004

Posted 29 June 2008 - 06:17 PM

From a practical standpoint, it can't be done. If you wanted to make a science fair project out of this, you could build a $10,000 to $20,000 DISH QAM headend to block convert those transponders to cable TV frequencies, or you might be able to support one DISH tuner and maybe four DirecTV SWM tuners by doing some tricky diplexing with a DPP diplexer which you couldn't even attempt without a spectrum analyzer, but if you were remotely capable of developing something like that, you wouldn't have started this thread. Realistically, you need one coax to simultaneously support up to 8 DirecTV tuners, and one DPP coax to fully support both tuners in a DISH Network dual input receiver.

#6 OFFLINE   topcat0399

topcat0399

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 39 posts
Joined: Apr 19, 2007

Posted 29 June 2008 - 06:26 PM

From a practical standpoint, it can't be done. If you wanted to make a science fair project out of this, you could build a $10,000 to $20,000 DISH QAM headend to block convert those transponders to cable TV frequencies, or you might be able to support one DISH tuner and maybe four DirecTV SWM tuners by doing some tricky diplexing with a DPP diplexer which you couldn't even attempt without a spectrum analyzer, but if you were remotely capable of developing something like that, you wouldn't have started this thread. Realistically, you need one coax to simultaneously support up to 8 DirecTV tuners, and one DPP coax to fully support both tuners in a DISH Network dual input receiver.



i think it could easily be done, depending on the gear he has.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...