Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DirecTV On Demand is now available nationwide


  • Please log in to reply
61 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Steve615

Steve615

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,631 posts
  • LocationMiddle TN area
Joined: Feb 05, 2006

Posted 30 June 2008 - 10:44 AM

It appears that DoD is no longer a BETA product.
Press release from DirecTV at the following link.

http://dtv.client.sh...eleaseID=318983

Steve


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   tfederov

tfederov

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,779 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 30 June 2008 - 11:13 AM

Kudos to the DIRECTV team for making this happen! :up:
- Tony

SWiM16, H21-100, H23-600, H21-700 w/AM21, HR24-500, HR24-100 w/AM21, (3) HR20-700
All receivers networked via DECA
MediaShare using TVersity on Win 7 VM over Mac Snow Leopard

#3 OFFLINE   Thaedron

Thaedron

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,886 posts
Joined: Jun 29, 2007

Posted 30 June 2008 - 11:14 AM

Good stuff!

I haven't looked at the beta in a while, does anyone recall if Starz on-demand was added?
Main viewing system HR20-100 via SWM-8, using HDMI, networked, using DirecTV on Demand and MRV!
Samsung HLT-5689S | Oppo DV-981HD | Denon AVR-4306 | QNAP TS-219P NAS and Media Server

Full Setup


Proud supporter of the HR20 Wish List Survey

#4 OFFLINE   D*HR-20

D*HR-20

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 229 posts
Joined: Jan 07, 2007

Posted 30 June 2008 - 11:16 AM

Good stuff!

I haven't looked at the beta in a while, does anyone recall if Starz on-demand was added?


Starz On-Demand has been there since the very beginning of beta process.

#5 OFFLINE   PoitNarf

PoitNarf

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,880 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 30 June 2008 - 11:18 AM

Nice.
Receivers: HR20-700, H20-600, H21-200, D12-300, RCA DRD486
Dish: AT9 | Multiswitch: WB68
TV: Sony KDF50WE655

My Setup


Author of CE Slinger

#6 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,514 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 30 June 2008 - 11:19 AM

I'm happy to see this national and congratulate DIRECTV and all the Cutting Edge Testers!

#7 OFFLINE   Thaedron

Thaedron

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,886 posts
Joined: Jun 29, 2007

Posted 30 June 2008 - 11:23 AM

Good stuff!

I haven't looked at the beta in a while, does anyone recall if Starz on-demand was added?


I must have missed it, thanks!
Main viewing system HR20-100 via SWM-8, using HDMI, networked, using DirecTV on Demand and MRV!
Samsung HLT-5689S | Oppo DV-981HD | Denon AVR-4306 | QNAP TS-219P NAS and Media Server

Full Setup


Proud supporter of the HR20 Wish List Survey

#8 OFFLINE   hankjr

hankjr

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 56 posts
Joined: Sep 30, 2006

Posted 30 June 2008 - 11:43 AM

Does anyone know if they are going to add HBO????

#9 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,255 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 30 June 2008 - 12:04 PM

Does anyone know if they are going to add HBO????


That would really be nice. I was hoping that once it ended Beta status that HBO would pop up, I was wrong again:(

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#10 OFFLINE   Goldlexus

Goldlexus

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 97 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2002

Posted 30 June 2008 - 12:12 PM

How do I get to the On Demand feature? In the past I've gone to Menu>On Demand but now when I do I get a message that says '1000 (DTV) is currently not available.' I no longer get the On Demand screen with menus.

#11 OFFLINE   mcbeevee

mcbeevee

    97% Complete

  • Registered
  • 1,283 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2006

Posted 30 June 2008 - 12:24 PM

I must have missed it, thanks!

Starz DOD is on Channel 1520. How long have the DOD listings been on the Directv website? That is the feature I've been waiting on!

:)

#12 OFFLINE   mcbeevee

mcbeevee

    97% Complete

  • Registered
  • 1,283 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2006

Posted 30 June 2008 - 12:26 PM

How do I get to the On Demand feature? In the past I've gone to Menu>On Demand but now when I do I get a message that says '1000 (DTV) is currently not available.' I no longer get the On Demand screen with menus.

Can you see the channels between 1000 and 2000 in the program guide (all channels filter)? If not, try restarting your DVR.

:)

#13 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 37,051 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 30 June 2008 - 12:28 PM

Goldlexus, if all else fails, reset your network settings and then test them... if the test succeeds, On Demand should show up within 24 hours.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#14 OFFLINE   MikeW

MikeW

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,553 posts
Joined: May 16, 2002

Posted 30 June 2008 - 12:33 PM

Starz DOD is on Channel 1520. How long have the DOD listings been on the Directv website? That is the feature I've been waiting on!

:)


DoD showed up on the website on Friday.

My opinion is...we should see HBO and MAX at about the same time as the HD channels get lit up in September.

#15 OFFLINE   ApK

ApK

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 760 posts
Joined: Mar 06, 2006

Posted 30 June 2008 - 12:55 PM

Nice. Are there any good upgrade deals fro R15 owners?

ApK

#16 OFFLINE   dcowboy7

dcowboy7

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,684 posts
  • LocationPequannock, NJ
Joined: May 22, 2008

Posted 30 June 2008 - 12:58 PM

great....another thing to go wrong. :D

#17 OFFLINE   Steve Robertson

Steve Robertson

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,664 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2005

Posted 30 June 2008 - 01:27 PM

great....another thing to go wrong. :D


LMAO

#18 OFFLINE   Jon D

Jon D

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 254 posts
Joined: Oct 12, 2006

Posted 30 June 2008 - 01:44 PM

great....another thing to go wrong. :D


Is your glass half full or half empty? :lol:

#19 OFFLINE   Goldlexus

Goldlexus

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 97 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2002

Posted 30 June 2008 - 04:41 PM

Goldlexus, if all else fails, reset your network settings and then test them... if the test succeeds, On Demand should show up within 24 hours.



Thanks! That did it.

#20 OFFLINE   bgottschalk

bgottschalk

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 578 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2007

Posted 30 June 2008 - 04:51 PM

That would really be nice. I was hoping that once it ended Beta status that HBO would pop up, I was wrong again:(



Me 2.

Waiting on HBO and Max - Mediacom had them, so I know those channels do on demand.
HR20-700 (7Mb DSL hardwired)
HR24-100 (7Mb DSL hardwired)
HR24-500 (7Mb DSL hardwired)
Samsung LCD LN55C650 (HDMI)
Panasonic Plasma TC-P50G10 (HDMI)
Panasonic Plasma TH-42PX60U (HDMI)

#21 OFFLINE   glorman

glorman

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 55 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2008

Posted 30 June 2008 - 05:44 PM

One thing I just noticed MHD on demand is listed online but not on my receiver. vice versa for Big Ten Network.

#22 OFFLINE   Fenway

Fenway

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 111 posts
Joined: Aug 24, 2007

Posted 30 June 2008 - 06:13 PM

Humor me - am I understanding this correctly. With Direct on Demand, we have to connect through our HSI - and then wait for the show to download?

When we had Charter Cable for TV, all we had to do was check out what was available On Demand, and watch. No downloads, no other connections - just click the right button and there it was.

#23 OFFLINE   trekologer

trekologer

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 125 posts
Joined: Jun 30, 2007

Posted 30 June 2008 - 06:25 PM

Humor me - am I understanding this correctly. With Direct on Demand, we have to connect through our HSI - and then wait for the show to download?

When we had Charter Cable for TV, all we had to do was check out what was available On Demand, and watch. No downloads, no other connections - just click the right button and there it was.


Yes, DirecTV on Demand operates over your broadband internet connection. You do not have to wait for the entire show to download. I am able to begin watching on demand programs right away, of course YMMV.

Cable company on demand is the same thing... the cable box is essentially a cable modem. Its just that its hidden from the end user.

#24 OFFLINE   Clark143

Clark143

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 46 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 30 June 2008 - 06:34 PM

Hooked mine up today. The guide shows me the channels I have and all the DOD are there. But when selecting a channel, it tells me its not available. Internet connection shows active in the setup menu. Any ideas?

#25 OFFLINE   Blurayfan

Blurayfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,756 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 30 June 2008 - 06:52 PM

Hooked mine up today. The guide shows me the channels I have and all the DOD are there. But when selecting a channel, it tells me its not available. Internet connection shows active in the setup menu. Any ideas?


The receiver needs to acquire the DirecTV on Demand channels (graphics, style sheets, listings data) before they will be accessable. Sometimes this can take 24 hours. You could try selecting and forcing a download from DirecTV on Demand before the data is loaded.

Slimlin-5 with SWM16
HR44-700 with AM21 OTA tuner and eSATA 4.0 TB
HR24-500 with AM21 OTA tuner and eSATA 2.0 TB
HR21-700 with DECA adapter for network
Network: Netgear R7000
Internet: Comcast 105/20





Protected By... spam firewall...And...