Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Advanced SEARCH/AUTORECORD Help & Discussion


  • Please log in to reply
603 replies to this topic

#151 OFFLINE   MercurialIN

MercurialIN

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,448 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2006

Posted 23 October 2008 - 04:34 PM

Good to hear. You could "uninstall" your OTA antenna if you're not routinely using it for space reasons. That would remove those channels from the available pool SEARCH could match. I realize that's a pain though, and then you won't have it as back-up for weather issues.

I'm going to test this and if I get the same results, report NNOT HDTV not being respected by OTA channels as an "issue".

RE: HDTV. Yes, that works. I could have sworn that "HD" used to work, tho. I'm always looking for ways to shave characters where I can, because of the 50 limit. :) /steve

Thank you for the suggestion but I normally leave that particular DVR on the local CBS affiliate's sub channel 8-2 (called LWS) that's a 24/7 local weather channel.

I am a weather "buff" being terrified of thunderstorms I always want to know "where they are". So uninstalling the OTA would definitely not be an option for me. But I do appreciate the suggestion.

I suspect that I will simply "weed out" games it schedules on an OTA channel and just add them from the guide on the SD version. At least it is adding some SD games for me so I think that's something to be happy about at this point. Again, thanks so much! :)

Melody

In Loving Memory Of Manda 8/31/2004-12/29/2008

HR24-100/S-Video/Mitsu SDTV
HR24-100*
HR24-500*
*both hooked HDMI to same Sony Bravia XBR 9


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#152 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 22,767 posts
  • LocationLower Westchester County, NY
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 23 October 2008 - 04:47 PM

I'm going to test this and if I get the same results, report NNOT hdtv not being respected by OTA channels as an "issue".

Well interesting results, here. I enabled "show SD duplicates" and ran some searches.

A SEARCH for giants & Show Type, Events matched 12 shows for Sunday, 5 on HD channels, inlcuding 5 WNYW (MPEG-4 HD), 5-1 WNYWDT (OTA HD) and 5 NY5 (SD).

A SEARCH for giants NNOT hdtv & Show Type, Events matched the 7 shows that were not tagged "HD", including 5 NY5.

So NNOT hdtv worked for me as expected by filtering out all the HD channels, including the OTA channel. Not sure why it's not working for you. As a result, I can't report it as an issue, but you may still want to. Is it possible your GUIDE data for the OTA showing does not include an "HD" tag?

/steve
/steve

#153 OFFLINE   MercurialIN

MercurialIN

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,448 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2006

Posted 23 October 2008 - 04:58 PM

Well interesting results, here. I enabled "show SD duplicates" and ran some searches.

A SEARCH for giants & Show Type, Events matched 12 shows for Sunday, 5 on HD channels, inlcuding 5 WNYW (MPEG-4 HD), 5-1 WNYWDT (OTA HD) and 5 NY5 (SD).

A SEARCH for giants NNOT hdtv & Show Type, Events matched the 7 shows that were not tagged "HD", including 5 NY5.

So NNOT hdtv worked for me as expected by filtering out all the HD channels, including the OTA channel. Not sure why it's not working for you. As a result, I can't report it as an issue, but you may still want to. Is it possible your GUIDE data for the OTA showing does not include an "HD" tag?

/steve

Not near my DVR at the moment so I can't check on that, but I did notice in your searches you went with "Show Types, Events", whereas I go with Show Types, Live. When I had used events it included some other Colts oriented programs that I wasn't interested in. Can't remember specific programs at this moment. But Show Types, Live filtered those out for me.

Melody

In Loving Memory Of Manda 8/31/2004-12/29/2008

HR24-100/S-Video/Mitsu SDTV
HR24-100*
HR24-500*
*both hooked HDMI to same Sony Bravia XBR 9


#154 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 22,767 posts
  • LocationLower Westchester County, NY
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 23 October 2008 - 05:56 PM

Not near my DVR at the moment so I can't check on that, but I did notice in your searches you went with "Show Types, Events", whereas I go with Show Types, Live. When I had used events it included some other Colts oriented programs that I wasn't interested in. Can't remember specific programs at this moment. But Show Types, Live filtered those out for me.

I tried it again with Show Type, Live and got the same results... when I add NNOT hdtv, no OTA matches show up. I'd check the OTA GUIDE data. If it isn't flagged as "HD", that would explain your results. If it is, then I'd report it as an "issue".

Just my .02. :) /steve
/steve

#155 OFFLINE   Anaisa

Anaisa

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Sep 05, 2008

Posted 23 October 2008 - 06:14 PM

Is the todo list populating faster with this new release? I did a search for fun trying to produce a smart query, pressed autorecord and went to my todo list. At least some of the results I had in the search were already in the todo list, it use to take ages!

I will do some more research before getting too happy...

#156 OFFLINE   tas3986

tas3986

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 105 posts
Joined: Feb 06, 2008

Posted 23 October 2008 - 06:25 PM

For the First time in three weeks, Notre Dame, Illinois and Wisconsin games are not only showing in the Prioritizer lists, but the LIVE EVENT games are scheduled to record. :) :hurah:

It looks to me like 290 has fixed my record problem.

Thanks to all that have helped me with this issue.

It is finally working as I expect.

#157 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 22,767 posts
  • LocationLower Westchester County, NY
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 23 October 2008 - 08:02 PM

Is the todo list populating faster with this new release?

For the First time in three weeks, Notre Dame, Illinois and Wisconsin games are not only showing in the Prioritizer lists, but the LIVE EVENT games are scheduled to record. :) :hurah:

It looks to me like 290 has fixed my record problem.

Yes. I noticed with some of my own searches that SL's and AUTORECORDSa are populating a bit faster with this release, but still not in all cases, so I wouldn't call it fixed just yet. :) That said, it's good to know DirecTV is apparently working on it. I'm hopeful that at some point in the near future, we'll see (or have the option to "force") immediate population of the TODO list with all matches in the current GUIDE data.

/steve
/steve

#158 OFFLINE   Jack_Skellington

Jack_Skellington

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Aug 27, 2008

Posted 24 October 2008 - 01:53 AM

Ugh I hate this. I'm in Utah trying to have this dang DVR auto record Utah Jazz games. This used to be exceedingly easy on TiVo, since I could edit the friggin channels I receive list. Now it looks like I'm going to have to set FIVE separate auto record searches using the CCHAN filter to make sure this stupid DVR records the Utah Jazz games on the channels I ACTUALLY get. If I keep my current search that is not filtered, it will try to record the following channels that I either don't get or will have the games blacked out:
NBA TV 601
Altitude 681
The NBA League Pass channels

I need it to only record the following channels:
KJZZ 14-1
ESPN 206
TNT 245
FSN Utah 684
FSN Utah HD 684-1

I guess I might be able to get away with setting four searches by combining 684 and 684-1 into one search. Maybe even three searches if I combine 206 and 245 into one search. It's still lame that I have to do it this way rather than being able to edit the channels I receive list or use a favorites list as a search filter. I really can't wait to get TiVo back next year.

#159 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 22,767 posts
  • LocationLower Westchester County, NY
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 24 October 2008 - 06:00 AM

Ugh I hate this. I'm in Utah trying to have this dang DVR auto record Utah Jazz games. This used to be exceedingly easy on TiVo, since I could edit the friggin channels I receive list. Now it looks like I'm going to have to set FIVE separate auto record searches using the CCHAN filter to make sure this stupid DVR records the Utah Jazz games on the channels I ACTUALLY get. If I keep my current search that is not filtered, it will try to record the following channels that I either don't get or will have the games blacked out:
NBA TV 601
Altitude 681
The NBA League Pass channels

The GAMESEARCH feature is supposed to take care of that for you. If a recording is scheduled on a channel you don't get or that is blacked-out, it should find the same game on a channel you do get. IIRC, it doesn't happen until the time of the recording, however, so you won't see it in the TODO list in advance. (Others may correct me on this point.)

So in theory, if you don't care which channels get recorded, as long as you get the game, a single search for jazz & Show Type, Events might be all you need. I'd give that a try first, and if it doesn't work, we can go back to the drawing board.

/steve
/steve

#160 OFFLINE   bonscott87

bonscott87

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 9,809 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 24 October 2008 - 08:35 AM

I need it to only record the following channels:
KJZZ 14-1
ESPN 206
TNT 245
FSN Utah 684
FSN Utah HD 684-1

I guess I might be able to get away with setting four searches by combining 684 and 684-1 into one search. Maybe even three searches if I combine 206 and 245 into one search. It's still lame that I have to do it this way rather than being able to edit the channels I receive list or use a favorites list as a search filter. I really can't wait to get TiVo back next year.


Gamesearch should work for you in this case. But you could get away with two autorecord searches for this:

CCHAN 14 245 - This takes care of your local, ESPN and TNT. No other channels in between that might carry the game so you're good to go.

CCHAN 684 - that will take care of FSN Utah and the HD version.

I've got two for my Red Wings.
CCHAN 215 604 - takes care of NHL Network and Versus
CCHAN 663 664 - takes care of FSN Detroit and FSN Plus

#161 OFFLINE   MercurialIN

MercurialIN

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,448 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2006

Posted 24 October 2008 - 04:27 PM

I tried it again with Show Type, Live and got the same results... when I add NNOT hdtv, no OTA matches show up. I'd check the OTA GUIDE data. If it isn't flagged as "HD", that would explain your results. If it is, then I'd report it as an "issue".

Just my .02. :) /steve

Thanks, I did check guide data last night, and lo and behold the game scheduled for 23-1 says absolutely nothing about being "high def" or "hdtv" which is probably why it was added to the TDL instead of the game on SD channel 23. You were correct, thanks again. :)

Melody

In Loving Memory Of Manda 8/31/2004-12/29/2008

HR24-100/S-Video/Mitsu SDTV
HR24-100*
HR24-500*
*both hooked HDMI to same Sony Bravia XBR 9


#162 OFFLINE   xmguy

xmguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,937 posts
  • LocationMiddle, TN
Joined: Mar 26, 2008

Posted 24 October 2008 - 05:16 PM

Hello, I'm new to the Boolean searching system. I'm wanting to make sure my enteries are correct.

FIRST:

I'm wanting to record ALL woodworking shows on tv EXCEPT the national PBS channels I don't get and block VOD.

I entered:

"AALL WOODWORKING NNOT VOD #384

For the may Stargate shows I watch I entered:

AANY STARGATE TTITLE NNOT #380-381 VOD MOVIE

I blocked the CBS nationals and VOD and Movies

Is this all correct?

THANKS!

1 HR44, 2 HR24s, SWiM 16, SL3 LNB, (CCK) Broadband DECA. DirecTV Subscriber since 2008.


#163 OFFLINE   Jack_Skellington

Jack_Skellington

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Aug 27, 2008

Posted 24 October 2008 - 07:56 PM

Gamesearch should work for you in this case. But you could get away with two autorecord searches for this:

CCHAN 14 245 - This takes care of your local, ESPN and TNT. No other channels in between that might carry the game so you're good to go.

CCHAN 684 - that will take care of FSN Utah and the HD version.

I've got two for my Red Wings.
CCHAN 215 604 - takes care of NHL Network and Versus
CCHAN 663 664 - takes care of FSN Detroit and FSN Plus


Here's the problem I've run into during pre-season. I have KJZZ 14 from DirecTV, and KJZZDT 14-1 from OTA. The DirecTV feed is not HD, so I don't want that feed recorded. During pre-season the DVR has recorded the pre and post game shows from both 14 and 14-1, but has not even bothered to attempt to record the actual game. I can't figure that one out. Luckily only 16 of 82 games will be broadcast on KJZZ this year. 60 games will be on FSN Utah, and the remaining 6 games exclusively on TNT. Recording ESPN isn't too vital, though sometimes I like watching on ESPN. Usually it's not blacked out for me on ESPN, so hopefully that continues. I don't trust this gamesearch business. It doesn't seem to have worked too well for recording 49ers games this season, though the DVR may actually be doing me a favor not recording those.

#164 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 22,767 posts
  • LocationLower Westchester County, NY
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 24 October 2008 - 08:32 PM

Hello, I'm new to the Boolean searching system. I'm wanting to make sure my enteries are correct.

FIRST:

I'm wanting to record ALL woodworking shows on tv EXCEPT the national PBS channels I don't get and block VOD.

I entered:

"AALL WOODWORKING NNOT VOD #384

For the may Stargate shows I watch I entered:

AANY STARGATE TTITLE NNOT #380-381 VOD MOVIE

I blocked the CBS nationals and VOD and Movies

Is this all correct?

THANKS!

Both the channel parts of those SEARCHES need a bit of work before they'll work as expected. :) Also, it is not necessary to use AANY and AALL with a single keyword in the first part of the SEARCH statement. You only need them when you have multiple keywords and either all must be in the matched show, or any single one of them. That said, the searches will still work, but why go through the extra typing if you don't have to? :)

For the first SEARCH, try woodworking NNOT VOD. See if that matches the expected shows. The HR shouldn't ultimately schedule a recording on a channel you don't subscribe to, even if it matches it.

For the second search, try stargate TTITLE NNOT vod movie and see what matches you get with that. I'm not in front of an HR right now, and I'm not sure if it's movie or movies, so you may have to try both. If the show is on a national channel, it will also be on your local channel, and that should be the one the HR chooses to record.

Unfortunately, AUTORECORDS are slow to populate the TODO list, so it may be a day or two before you see what actually gets scheduled, if the initial matches look right, you should be OK.

Check back in if you get unexpected results! :)

/steve
/steve

#165 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 22,767 posts
  • LocationLower Westchester County, NY
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 24 October 2008 - 10:13 PM

Here's the problem I've run into during pre-season. I have KJZZ 14 from DirecTV, and KJZZDT 14-1 from OTA. The DirecTV feed is not HD, so I don't want that feed recorded. During pre-season the DVR has recorded the pre and post game shows from both 14 and 14-1, but has not even bothered to attempt to record the actual game.

What search string were you using?

When I get AUTORECORD matches on 5 and 5-1, e.g., my HR always schedules 5-1. And if I "hide SD duplicates" in system prefs, it will only record the HD channel, if there is a choice.

Given that experience, if you have "SD dupes hidden" and OTA, I'm not sure why jazz & Show Types, Events isn't all you need to get just the games in HD. You could further insure only HD if you said AALL jazz HDTV & Show Types, Events, but then you run the risk of missing the 14 and 14-1 games if the 14-1 data isn't tagged properly as HD, the problem MercurialIN had above with her Colts games.

Under no circumstances should it be autorecording games on channels that aren't part of your subscription package. If it does, that's an "issue" that needs to be reported loudly. And if you do get a channel and the game is blacked-out, GAMESEARCH is supposed to handle that. What I don't know is if GAMESEARCH favors HD over SD if there's a choice. My guess is it would favor HD, just like it favors OTA over MPEG-4 for my locals.

/steve
/steve

#166 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 17,333 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 25 October 2008 - 01:20 PM

Here's the problem I've run into during pre-season. I have KJZZ 14 from DirecTV, and KJZZDT 14-1 from OTA. The DirecTV feed is not HD, so I don't want that feed recorded. During pre-season the DVR has recorded the pre and post game shows from both 14 and 14-1, but has not even bothered to attempt to record the actual game. I can't figure that one out. Luckily only 16 of 82 games will be broadcast on KJZZ this year. 60 games will be on FSN Utah, and the remaining 6 games exclusively on TNT. Recording ESPN isn't too vital, though sometimes I like watching on ESPN. Usually it's not blacked out for me on ESPN, so hopefully that continues. I don't trust this gamesearch business. It doesn't seem to have worked too well for recording 49ers games this season, though the DVR may actually be doing me a favor not recording those.


What search string were you using?

When I get AUTORECORD matches on 5 and 5-1, e.g., my HR always schedules 5-1. And if I "hide SD duplicates" in system prefs, it will only record the HD channel, if there is a choice.

Given that experience, if you have "SD dupes hidden" and OTA, I'm not sure why jazz & Show Types, Events isn't all you need to get just the games in HD. You could further insure only HD if you said AALL jazz HDTV & Show Types, Events, but then you run the risk of missing the 14 and 14-1 games if the 14-1 data isn't tagged properly as HD, the problem MercurialIN had above with her Colts games.

Under no circumstances should it be autorecording games on channels that aren't part of your subscription package. If it does, that's an "issue" that needs to be reported loudly. And if you do get a channel and the game is blacked-out, GAMESEARCH is supposed to handle that. What I don't know is if GAMESEARCH favors HD over SD if there's a choice. My guess is it would favor HD, just like it favors OTA over MPEG-4 for my locals.

/steve


Not sure about this one... Have youy tried CCHAN 14-1? Are the games on 14-1 labeled HD? Out of curiosity, when your in the guide, what are the call signs of 14 and 14-1? For example, in LA CBS has the follwing call signs... sd Sat feed... LA2 The HD sat feed is listed as KCBS and the OTA HD feed is KCBSDT.... I wonder if the different call signs have anything to do with what the unit recognizes as the same channels or not.... ANd if so, how does one adjust for it? I will ponder...

#167 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 22,767 posts
  • LocationLower Westchester County, NY
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 25 October 2008 - 02:06 PM

Not sure about this one... Have youy tried CCHAN 14-1? Are the games on 14-1 labeled HD? Out of curiosity, when your in the guide, what are the call signs of 14 and 14-1? For example, in LA CBS has the follwing call signs... sd Sat feed... LA2 The HD sat feed is listed as KCBS and the OTA HD feed is KCBSDT.... I wonder if the different call signs have anything to do with what the unit recognizes as the same channels or not.... ANd if so, how does one adjust for it? I will ponder...

In NY, F0X 5 SD is NY5, Fox 5 MPEG-4 is WNYW and Fox 5-1 OTA is WNYWDT. With "SD dupes off", and matches for 5 and 5-1, my HR21-700 schedules 5-1. /steve
/steve

#168 OFFLINE   Jack_Skellington

Jack_Skellington

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Aug 27, 2008

Posted 25 October 2008 - 09:56 PM

Not sure about this one... Have youy tried CCHAN 14-1? Are the games on 14-1 labeled HD? Out of curiosity, when your in the guide, what are the call signs of 14 and 14-1? For example, in LA CBS has the follwing call signs... sd Sat feed... LA2 The HD sat feed is listed as KCBS and the OTA HD feed is KCBSDT.... I wonder if the different call signs have anything to do with what the unit recognizes as the same channels or not.... ANd if so, how does one adjust for it? I will ponder...


The search I tried originally was just a keyword search for Jazz filtered by category for Sports/Basketball. One of the problems with this that I'm not sure I touched on, is that it was recording games off NBA TV. I don't subscribe to NBA TV. I just recently decided to try the CCHAN filter to see if it would provide better results. In the guide there are two listings for the channel. The first is 14 SC14 (DirecTV feed with no HD), followed by 14-1 KJZZDT (OTA feed with HD).

So far the only HD programming from KJZZ has been the the Jazz games in the playoffs last year. I have heard that they plan to broadcast all 16 of their regular season games in HD this year. It looks like there is no HD label in the guide for the games. The search I have set for CCHAN 14-1 is only showing that it will record the pre and post game shows on both 14 and 14-1, but not the actual games. Just like happened during pre-season.

This is starting to frustrate me. It was so much easier to accomplish this task on TiVo. I was able to edit my Channels I Receive list, set the AutoRecord WishList, and forget it. So incredibly simple. Now look at all this work and hassle I'm going through to try to set it up. At this point I think I'd be better off forgetting the autorecord search, and manually recording the games this season. Hopefully I'll have the new HD TiVo by next season, and can forget this annoying HR-21.

#169 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 22,767 posts
  • LocationLower Westchester County, NY
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 26 October 2008 - 03:34 AM

The search I tried originally was just a keyword search for Jazz filtered by category for Sports/Basketball. One of the problems with this that I'm not sure I touched on, is that it was recording games off NBA TV. I don't subscribe to NBA TV. I just recently decided to try the CCHAN filter to see if it would provide better results. In the guide there are two listings for the channel. The first is 14 SC14 (DirecTV feed with no HD), followed by 14-1 KJZZDT (OTA feed with HD).

So far the only HD programming from KJZZ has been the the Jazz games in the playoffs last year. I have heard that they plan to broadcast all 16 of their regular season games in HD this year. It looks like there is no HD label in the guide for the games. The search I have set for CCHAN 14-1 is only showing that it will record the pre and post game shows on both 14 and 14-1, but not the actual games. Just like happened during pre-season.

This is starting to frustrate me. It was so much easier to accomplish this task on TiVo. I was able to edit my Channels I Receive list, set the AutoRecord WishList, and forget it. So incredibly simple. Now look at all this work and hassle I'm going through to try to set it up. At this point I think I'd be better off forgetting the autorecord search, and manually recording the games this season. Hopefully I'll have the new HD TiVo by next season, and can forget this annoying HR-21.

If your jazz & sports, basketball is picking up the pre- and post-game shows ans isn't picking up the game, then most likely the GUIDE data for the game isn't tagged "basketball". Take a look at the games INFO screen and see what categories they're using. Most games are usually tagged "events", among other things.

If so, I would try running a SEARCH for jazz & Show Type, Events. If you like the matches, then select AUTORECORD. /steve
/steve

#170 OFFLINE   JACKIEGAGA

JACKIEGAGA

    N.Y. FOOTBALL GIANTS

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,549 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Dec 11, 2006

Posted 27 October 2008 - 05:06 PM

I tried searching AALL 24 DAY 4 search results netted nothing when in deed there is

JACK,
 
 


#171 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 22,767 posts
  • LocationLower Westchester County, NY
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 27 October 2008 - 07:19 PM

I tried searching AALL 24 DAY 4 search results netted nothing when in deed there is

I'm not at home, but I checked directv.com and the only thing I could find were six episodes of 24 Day 5 on channel 275, 2 each on the 28th, 29th and 30th. If those should be "Day 4", maybe a GUIDE data issue? /steve
/steve

#172 OFFLINE   LI-SVT

LI-SVT

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 649 posts
Joined: May 18, 2006

Posted 29 October 2008 - 05:55 AM

I just submitted this issue for v290:

http://www.dbstalk.c...7&postcount=193

Has anyone else had this problem? The hockey searches are the only ones I use
cchan for and they populate the todo list out of priority.

#173 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 22,767 posts
  • LocationLower Westchester County, NY
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 29 October 2008 - 07:26 AM

I just submitted this issue for v290:

http://www.dbstalk.c...7&postcount=193

Has anyone else had this problem? The hockey searches are the only ones I use
cchan for and they populate the todo list out of priority.

Fascinating issue. So if I understand it, what's not happening is that when the Islanders and Devils games are finally "found", the TODO list is not being re-prioritized and previously scheduled lower priority shows are not being bumped. No excuse for that, IMO. A flat out bug. /steve
/steve

#174 OFFLINE   LI-SVT

LI-SVT

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 649 posts
Joined: May 18, 2006

Posted 29 October 2008 - 10:46 AM

Yes, that's it exactly. Last year I did not have this problem because I manually programmed the games from VS Network and didn't record much from NHL Network. I also did not have an auto record for the Devils. With 4 total DVRs in the house I would like them to be more automated.

#175 OFFLINE   t_h

t_h

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 818 posts
Joined: Mar 07, 2008

Posted 29 October 2008 - 12:32 PM

Fascinating issue. So if I understand it, what's not happening is that when the Islanders and Devils games are finally "found", the TODO list is not being re-prioritized and previously scheduled lower priority shows are not being bumped. No excuse for that, IMO. A flat out bug. /steve


I reported that problem a while back to explain why some people didnt get the shows they expected to be recorded.

Someone will be along shortly to explain why this is a beneficial feature...

Of course, the good question is what to do when someone has scheduled something and the recording slot is available, and then an autorecord materializes that invalidates that recording. I know the to-do list will show it with a red circle with an 'x' in it, but since autorecords seem to populate not very far out and on an unpredictable schedule. I guess you'd need to check your to-do list every day just to be sure.

Complain about that 'please wait' when you redid your tivo to-do list, but that long look ahead through 12-14 days of recordings to make sure everything was set to record properly and you knew about conflicts maybe wasnt such a bad thing.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...