Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

MediaTomb Install Instructions Using VMWare For Windows


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   boilerjt

boilerjt

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 908 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2007

Posted 15 July 2008 - 05:37 PM

Attached is a How-To document on how to install MediaTomb in a VMWare virtual machine in Windows (using Ubuntu Hardy linux). This document outlines the steps I took to get this excellent media server up and running. MediaTomb has been running great for me for the past two months using various NR and CE HR2x firmware.

Note: This procedure assumes you have some familiarity with linux and it is not intended to be a linux tutorial. There are many excellent sources on the web to learn linux. Also, this document is only a draft at this point and will be refined along the way.

Attached Files



...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   Spanky_Partain

Spanky_Partain

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,499 posts
Joined: Dec 07, 2006

Posted 15 July 2008 - 09:09 PM

Awesome, anothre great link to include in the network thread. Thanks boilerjt for this instruction sheet.

I guess I just have to install VMware here and be done with it.

-Mark-
"There's no place like 127.0.0.1 or ::127.0.0.1 or 0:0:0:0:0:0:0:1 or ::1!"
Support the DBSTalk forum, become a member, Click Here!
For Networking Help, Click Here!
For my setup, Click Here!
3/98


#3 OFFLINE   boilerjt

boilerjt

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 908 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2007

Posted 15 July 2008 - 09:52 PM

Awesome, anothre great link to include in the network thread. Thanks boilerjt for this instruction sheet.

I guess I just have to install VMware here and be done with it.


I'm feeling sorry for the Windows crowd not getting to enjoy this great media server ;) Hopefully, a couple of people will benefit from this document :)

#4 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,108 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 15 July 2008 - 10:34 PM

Have you made any comparisons between using VMWare in Windows vs. native Linux? I ran Win 98 in VMWare on a Linux host several years ago and it was pretty slow compared to running 98 directly (of course that was on a slower machine with less memory than you typically find now). Win4Lin ran pretty well on the box, however.

#5 OFFLINE   boilerjt

boilerjt

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 908 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2007

Posted 15 July 2008 - 11:13 PM

Have you made any comparisons between using VMWare in Windows vs. native Linux? I ran Win 98 in VMWare on a Linux host several years ago and it was pretty slow compared to running 98 directly (of course that was on a slower machine with less memory than you typically find now). Win4Lin ran pretty well on the box, however.


Since I already had VMWare installed for my job, it was convenient to try MediaTomb in a VM. I had a linux box running Ubuntu Feisty using Twonky at one time, but that box died a while back and I haven't gotten around to building a new one. I'm sure running native Linux will run faster (especially the video transcoding), but I've seen no issues running it in a VM. I am running a Quad Core, but the VM only seems to use one of the cores. I am able to transcode h264 1080p to mpeg2 with no issues using the VM.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...