Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Using OTA tuner


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Scott C. Edwards

Scott C. Edwards

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Mar 02, 2005

Posted 17 July 2008 - 05:13 AM

I got the 722 replacement and kept my owned 942 in order to watch previously recorded programming. The 942 is off the account and only hooked to an OTA antenna. Is there any way to access the OTA tuner and set manual timers to record OTA? When I try it tells me I can't. I assume this is because I'm not paying the fees for the program guide for this box. Anyone know of any work arounds for this?
Boomer

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   worldtrvlr

worldtrvlr

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Sep 24, 2006

Posted 19 July 2008 - 06:05 PM

I got the 722 replacement and kept my owned 942 in order to watch previously recorded programming. The 942 is off the account and only hooked to an OTA antenna. Is there any way to access the OTA tuner and set manual timers to record OTA? When I try it tells me I can't. I assume this is because I'm not paying the fees for the program guide for this box. Anyone know of any work arounds for this?


Good luck. I had a 942 and for the last year and a half had to subscribe to the local channels in my area to even set a manual timer, on any channel, due to a software glitch that Dish never fixed. Once I subscribed to local channels, the problem went away. Fortunately I got them credited fr 6 months.

#3 OFFLINE   jergenf

jergenf

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 425 posts
Joined: Mar 31, 2005

Posted 04 February 2009 - 02:26 PM

You can set manual timers for OTA channels. You would have to pay $5 for guide to show up but if your unit is deactivated you won't even get guide for OTA regardless.

#4 OFFLINE   Michael P

Michael P

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,929 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2004

Posted 01 June 2009 - 03:27 PM

A deactivated receiver will not have the correct time, even if you kept the receiver connected to an active LNB. So a DVR would never get even manual timers right. There is no way to manually set the clock.
An E* subscriber continuously since February 1997.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...