Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

OTA Channel Guide Issue Thread


  • Please log in to reply
635 replies to this topic

#141 OFFLINE   scottchez

scottchez

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 929 posts
Joined: Feb 04, 2003

Posted 17 February 2009 - 05:41 PM

* What receivers are affected: HR21-100+AM21 & HR20-100 (2 of them)
* What market you're in: Omaha Ne, with Licoln NE seconardary (I get both)
* What zip code you're using to get guide data: 68501 (seconarday)
* What channels are affected: KOLN 10.2 MyTV (10.1 CBS works OK)
* What's happening currently: 771 Error... no signal
* The resolution of your issue, if any: Rebooted, reset up ant and re authorized, tried many things on all 3 receivers.

The 10.1 main channel works but the 10.2 sub channel does not. It worked before the conversion.

Edited by scottchez, 19 February 2009 - 08:53 AM.

"We need more power Scotty" Kirk

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#142 OFFLINE   flyingtigerfan

flyingtigerfan

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 277 posts
Joined: Feb 16, 2005

Posted 17 February 2009 - 09:44 PM

WZRB Columbia, SC.

Flash cut to digital on 1/21/2009, need 47-1 (virtual and actual) added so that the HR-20 can see the OTA signal.

#143 OFFLINE   HDbruce

HDbruce

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 39 posts
Joined: Jun 30, 2007

Posted 18 February 2009 - 09:05 AM

How do you see the physical channel number (metadata) in zap2it.com?

#144 OFFLINE   sore_bluto

sore_bluto

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 440 posts
Joined: Mar 15, 2007

Posted 18 February 2009 - 09:47 AM

How do you see the physical channel number (metadata) in zap2it.com?


You can't "see" it. It is embedded.

There are typically only two distinct issues in this thread.

1. A physical channel number for a listed virtual channel (x.1, etc.) has changed, most likely as a result of a DTV station completing the digital transition. If this happens, the channel is listed at zap2it.com and appears in the guide, but it no longer tunes. The solution is to contact the station manager or engineer and have them contact Tribune. The contact that worked for us here in New Orleans for this situation is Eamon Foster (518-792-9914 x2281).

2. A new subchannel has been added and does not appear at zap2it.com or in the guide. If this happens, contact the station manager or engineer and have them contact Tribune Media Services and have the new channel listed.

Edited by sore_bluto, 18 February 2009 - 02:07 PM.

HR20-700 + OTA, HR20-700, HR24-200, R15-300, 5LNB Ka/Ku AU9-S

#145 OFFLINE   DavidSho

DavidSho

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Feb 19, 2009

Posted 19 February 2009 - 03:16 PM

WHIO Channel 7.1 Dayton, OH. Had to rescan to find channel this week. They changed the channels name from WHIODT to WHIO-HD. Can tune channel on HR10-250, but no guide data.

#146 OFFLINE   jamieh1

jamieh1

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,394 posts
Joined: May 01, 2003

Posted 21 February 2009 - 08:50 AM

Greenville NC

OVER THE AIR

WEPX DIGITAL CHANNEL 51 REMAPPED TO 38

CH 38.1 ION / MY NETWORK TV
CH 38.2 QUBO
CH 38.3 ION LIFE
CH 38.4 WORSHIP

These channels are missing from the Directv over the air guide on the HD recievers.
These channels came online a few days before the original digital conversion date.

#147 OFFLINE   wjcarpenter

wjcarpenter

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 39 posts
Joined: Jun 04, 2007

Posted 21 February 2009 - 10:56 PM

Location: Seattle
Callsign: KCTS
Channel: 9-5
Issue: The station had separate SD (9-1) and HD (9-5) subchannels (they also have two other subchannels). The main programming today switched to HD on 9-1 and 9-5 no longer exists.


It's worse than that now. 9-5 no longer exists, period, and recently D* removed 9-1 from their idea of local channels for the Seattle area. Grr.

#148 OFFLINE   sarhaynes

sarhaynes

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 79 posts
Joined: Dec 10, 2006

Posted 23 February 2009 - 12:34 PM

I have found that as my local channels have been changing RF transmitters as they turn off their analog transmitters I have had to perform the following operations to get the channels to work properly:

HR20-700: In Antenna Setup select "Reset Antenna Settings". After doing this run the "Initial Setup" selection. After I did this my non-working channels started to work. It is still not 100% as I think they are not reading the data from my local networks properly.

H20-100: This was harder. I could not just scan for new channels as my box got really confused. I actually had to go through the "Reset" - "Reset Everything" to get my channels right. The pain here was that it wiped out your favorite lists. However, after doing this and going through an entire rescan everything is much better.

The problems that I still have:

Charlottesville, VA
16-1 WVAW (RF 16.1) now shows up! Still only in SD, but they have done HD test signals. (Yeah!)

19-1 WCAV (RF 19.1) now shows up in HD! (Yeah!)
19-2 19NOW (RF 40.3) DOES NOT SHOW UP IN THE GUIDE.

27-1 (SD) WAHU (RF 19.3) now shows up. However, the HD version on RF 40.1 should probably be used.
27-1 (HD) WAHU (RF 40.1) DOES NOT APPEAR TO BE USED.
27-2 MyNetTv (RF 40.2) now shows up, but always shows searching for signal.

See http://www.charlotte...plex.tv/digital for this info from the station.

I think the problem is D* can't handle the funky stuff they are doing (27-1 in both SD and HD).

I hope this helps y'all and maybe someday they will fix the channels here in C'Ville. :grin:

HR34-700 (w/AM-21) HDMI to Onkyo TX-SR605 to Philips 42" Plasma (1080i)
HR24-500 (w/AM-21) HDMI to Magnavox 32" LCD (1080i)

C31-700 to 32" Samsung Smart TV (1080p)
H21-200 HDMI to Vizio 32" LED LCD (1080p)
H23-600 HDMI to LG 26" LED LCD (1080p)
Whole-Home DVR Enabled (Wireless Networked via Bridge)
D12-300 to Ancient Magnavox CRT
Sat-Go
Charlottesville, VA - Still waiting for Locals via Sat


#149 OFFLINE   kfcrosby

kfcrosby

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 376 posts
Joined: Dec 17, 2006

Posted 24 February 2009 - 01:04 PM

HR20-700: In Antenna Setup select "Reset Antenna Settings". After doing this run the "Initial Setup" selection. After I did this my non-working channels started to work. It is still not 100% as I think they are not reading the data from my local networks properly.



I had a similar problem with the Memphis locals OTA. When the "big switch" was supposed to happen I got home and noticed that all of the OTA channels had an "off the air" banner attached. I did the OTA antenna resetup and now I have nothing for any of the OTA channels....

Any suggestions?

Kevin

Kevin Crosby
Memphis, TN
DirecTV subscriber since 1996


#150 OFFLINE   sarhaynes

sarhaynes

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 79 posts
Joined: Dec 10, 2006

Posted 25 February 2009 - 03:54 PM

I had a similar problem with the Memphis locals OTA. When the "big switch" was supposed to happen I got home and noticed that all of the OTA channels had an "off the air" banner attached. I did the OTA antenna resetup and now I have nothing for any of the OTA channels....

Any suggestions?


Nope. I just reported what I had to get them working here. Sorry I can't be of more help. :(

Sean

HR34-700 (w/AM-21) HDMI to Onkyo TX-SR605 to Philips 42" Plasma (1080i)
HR24-500 (w/AM-21) HDMI to Magnavox 32" LCD (1080i)

C31-700 to 32" Samsung Smart TV (1080p)
H21-200 HDMI to Vizio 32" LED LCD (1080p)
H23-600 HDMI to LG 26" LED LCD (1080p)
Whole-Home DVR Enabled (Wireless Networked via Bridge)
D12-300 to Ancient Magnavox CRT
Sat-Go
Charlottesville, VA - Still waiting for Locals via Sat


#151 OFFLINE   John4924

John4924

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 606 posts
Joined: Mar 19, 2007

Posted 25 February 2009 - 06:40 PM

I had a similar problem with the Memphis locals OTA. When the "big switch" was supposed to happen I got home and noticed that all of the OTA channels had an "off the air" banner attached. I did the OTA antenna resetup and now I have nothing for any of the OTA channels....

Any suggestions?

Kevin


Don't know exactly what your issues are, but see sore_bluto post #144 above. If you can articulate exactly what your issue is, maybe we can help. We had an issue here in New Orleans that took 2 months to get fixed.

#152 OFFLINE   vikingguy

vikingguy

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 128 posts
Joined: Aug 01, 2005

Posted 26 February 2009 - 12:49 AM

I am not sure which thread this would go.

Zip code 55720 duluth superior locals.

On my hr10-250 the only way to get channel 10.1 and 10.2 local abc and sub chanenel to work is to scan for new channels. Re doing the OTA set up does not work. The issue is now both stations have no guide data. This station changed its frequency from a temporary one to 10.

#153 OFFLINE   kfcrosby

kfcrosby

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 376 posts
Joined: Dec 17, 2006

Posted 26 February 2009 - 08:24 AM

Switched the zip code to 38101 (was using 38135), and re-ran the OTA setup. I now have locals.

Kevin Crosby
Memphis, TN
DirecTV subscriber since 1996


#154 OFFLINE   Herdfan

Herdfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,049 posts
  • LocationTeays Valley, WV
Joined: Mar 18, 2006

Posted 26 February 2009 - 01:05 PM

Since it was brought up in another thread about who to contact, I though I would started a dedicated thread for posting OTA Channel Guide Issues.

Please keep this thread dedicated to posting only issues without commentary.:)

I will start:

Call Sign: WOWK
Location: Charleston, WV
Channel: 13-2
Issue: Channel missing from HR20 guide.


Well, I don't know if this thread had anything to do with it, but 13-2 appeared in my guide. I noticed it yesterday.

:)

#155 OFFLINE   jamieh1

jamieh1

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,394 posts
Joined: May 01, 2003

Posted 03 March 2009 - 04:10 PM

WEPX-DT Greenville NC

38.1 ION
38.2 QUBO
38.3 ION LIFE
38.4 WORSHIP

Are still missing from the directv guide.

#156 OFFLINE   joshjr

joshjr

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,378 posts
  • LocationNE Oklahoma
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 04 March 2009 - 02:03 AM

WEPX-DT Greenville NC

38.1 ION
38.2 QUBO
38.3 ION LIFE
38.4 WORSHIP

Are still missing from the directv guide.


Call Tribune. I called them today and the guy said he would confirm all the needed station information and get it fixed today but that it would take D* a few days to get it all updated on their end. Mine is supposed to be fixed inside a week. In the mean time I found another zip code with 14-1 in it and added them so I can tune to that channel still.

#157 OFFLINE   thelucky1

thelucky1

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 910 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2009

Posted 05 March 2009 - 11:47 AM

all of the Lubbock, TX channels are now fixed.

#158 OFFLINE   johntewart

johntewart

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 19 posts
Joined: May 20, 2007

Posted 05 March 2009 - 05:15 PM

Call Sign: KQCA
Location: Sacramento, CA
Channel: 58-2
Issue: Channel missing from HR20 guide.

AKA "This TV Sacramento," launched on Monday, March 2, 2009 at 5 a.m. on Channel 58.2. Is it reasonable to expect Directv to add this channel to the guide?

#159 OFFLINE   jamieh1

jamieh1

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,394 posts
Joined: May 01, 2003

Posted 06 March 2009 - 11:18 AM

Call Tribune. I called them today and the guy said he would confirm all the needed station information and get it fixed today but that it would take D* a few days to get it all updated on their end. Mine is supposed to be fixed inside a week. In the mean time I found another zip code with 14-1 in it and added them so I can tune to that channel still.


What # did you call?

#160 OFFLINE   gilviv

gilviv

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 359 posts
Joined: Sep 17, 2007

Posted 07 March 2009 - 02:06 PM

Channel 6-3 "Universal Sports" missing from MIAMI/FT. Laud. market, I see it on my OTA input but it does not appear in the "Guide" even after a channel reset.:confused:

DirecTV since July 2006, WholeHome & HDDVR Service
Slimline5 SWM-LNB Dish to:
3x HR24/100s #1 w/AM21N via HDMI to LG 42LH90/240hz Full LED, #2 w/AM21N & #3 both via HDMI to 2-LG 32LK330/60hz LCDs
1x HR23/700 via HDMI> Sharp 26" LCD





Protected By... spam firewall...And...