Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Hughes direcway


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   burdanosul

burdanosul

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Jul 23, 2008

Posted 24 July 2008 - 02:51 PM

Hey guys. I'm pretty new in this bussines. I got a direcway antena from hughes, a body of mine usede'd for internet. I was wandering, can i use the antenna to watch satellite tv?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   paulman182

paulman182

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,838 posts
Joined: Aug 04, 2006

Posted 25 July 2008 - 05:30 AM

I don't know, but if you sign up for DirecTV the proper dish and install are free, anyway.

#3 OFFLINE   Richard King

Richard King

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 21,331 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2002

Posted 25 July 2008 - 06:12 AM

It could possibly be used for FTA stuff, but be sure not to hook up the transmitter. You might cause some problems and have people knocking on your door if you do. :)
The Pump Don't Work 'cause the Vandals Took the Handles.

#4 OFFLINE   FTA Michael

FTA Michael

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,473 posts
Joined: Jul 21, 2002

Posted 25 July 2008 - 10:05 AM

Depends on the size of the dish. If it's less than about 30 inches in diameter, it's not much good for FTA.
Yes, FTABlog is active again. Why do you ask?

#5 OFFLINE   Brandon428

Brandon428

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,129 posts
Joined: Mar 20, 2007

Posted 25 July 2008 - 10:09 AM

They used to be used for both Dway and directv so I assume with the correct LNBs you can,but as paulman182 said if you want Directv service they'll provide a new dish and all other equipment free. As for FTA you probably could use it for FTA.

#6 OFFLINE   davring

davring

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,392 posts
Joined: Jan 13, 2007

Posted 25 July 2008 - 10:15 AM

Years ago, my DirectPC, down link only, had two LNB's, one for TV and the other(strange looking)for the computer. It was similar to the Slimline, but fiberglass.
HR20-700(2.0TB)>Sony XBR-55HX929
HR20-700>Sony KDL40V2500
OTA RS outdoor ant
Hardwire networked to Cysco Router 6.0 AT&T DSL
MRV enabled
R15-500>Samsung LNT2342H
DirecTV customer since 1997

#7 OFFLINE   burdanosul

burdanosul

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Jul 23, 2008

Posted 25 July 2008 - 05:49 PM

what is FTA?

#8 OFFLINE   Brandon428

Brandon428

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,129 posts
Joined: Mar 20, 2007

Posted 25 July 2008 - 05:52 PM

what is FTA?


Free To Air,channels that are broadcast from various satellites for free.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...