Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

SWM & SWMline general discussion


  • Please log in to reply
1301 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   northatlanta

northatlanta

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Dec 19, 2007

Posted 01 August 2008 - 07:02 AM

dish>4 lines>swm(can be mounted at dish)>1line>PI>splitter>lines to recievers..
or better yet would be the SWMLine LNB (should be availible in a month or 2)..
SWMLine>1 cable>pi>splitter>cable to each reciever..


Sounds good, I'll be waiting for the SWMLine LNB. It will make the setup and routing of cabling much easier.

Thanks.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   dbmaven

dbmaven

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 807 posts
Joined: May 29, 2004

Posted 04 August 2008 - 08:25 AM

Installed my SWM-8 yesterday. Smooth as silk - no problems whatsoever.
Using an SWS-2 to split the PI output leg to an existing HR20-100 and a new HR20-700. SWM-2 output goes to an HR20-100 upstairs.

All receivers booted perfectly and signal strengths are a bit better than with the WB68 - probably due to the powered nature of the SWM-8.
HundredNation! DirecTV since 2000 - AU9S - SWM-8 !
HR20-100 - Sony KDS60A2000 - Onkyo TX-DS787 - MK Sound THX Select Speakers // HR20-100 & R15-500 (for PIP) - Vizio GV42LF // R15-500 - Hitachi SD TV // HR20-700 Sony KDL-40XBR6

#23 OFFLINE   protrex

protrex

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 21 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2007

Posted 04 August 2008 - 10:23 AM

Sounds good, I'll be waiting for the SWMLine LNB. It will make the setup and routing of cabling much easier.

Thanks.



I've seen the SWMLine LNB modules along with Power Inserters on eBay. They seem to be a pretty common item. Check it out, just search for SWM.

-Jamie

#24 OFFLINE   VegasDen

VegasDen

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 210 posts
  • LocationLas Vegas, NV
Joined: Jul 12, 2007

Posted 05 August 2008 - 08:39 PM

I installed a SWM-8 today and all went well. Finally able to use 2 tuners!

I did note that the unit is being recognized as a SWM-5 on my box "info". Is this normal? (The actual unit says SWM-8 on it)

#25 OFFLINE   houskamp

houskamp

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,636 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 05 August 2008 - 09:08 PM

I installed a SWM-8 today and all went well. Finally able to use 2 tuners!

I did note that the unit is being recognized as a SWM-5 on my box "info". Is this normal? (The actual unit says SWM-8 on it)

SWM-5 or Slimline-5?

AKA: SMOKE
MRV was all that's left on my wishlist (wishlist done) :D


#26 OFFLINE   VegasDen

VegasDen

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 210 posts
  • LocationLas Vegas, NV
Joined: Jul 12, 2007

Posted 05 August 2008 - 11:26 PM

SWM-5 or Slimline-5?


My bad - it says Slimline-5

#27 OFFLINE   sdlevi27

sdlevi27

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 31 posts
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 06 August 2008 - 08:10 AM

What's the difference between SWM Firmware 1.0.8 and 1.0.11? Mine is 1.0.8 and I'm having major problems getting my H20 to work (D* is sending me out a replacement H20...I asked for an H21 but the clueless rep said he didn't know what that was)

#28 OFFLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,835 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 06 August 2008 - 08:23 AM

What's the difference between SWM Firmware 1.0.8 and 1.0.11? Mine is 1.0.8 and I'm having major problems getting my H20 to work (D* is sending me out a replacement H20...I asked for an H21 but the clueless rep said he didn't know what that was)


The SWM firmware comes from the SWM device. Not the receiver.
H20's are known to be finicky with SWM's. Some work well, some not so well.

Odds are you getting an HR21. H20's are out of production. Depends on what the warehouse grabs off the shelf to fulfill your order. If you get a 20 and it's still a problem, send it back and sooner or later the 21 will show up.

#29 OFFLINE   houskamp

houskamp

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,636 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 06 August 2008 - 09:16 AM

My bad - it says Slimline-5

That's what I was thinking.. I don't think it knows the diff between a SWMline dish and a separate dish and SWM8.. They would both look the same to the reciever..

AKA: SMOKE
MRV was all that's left on my wishlist (wishlist done) :D


#30 OFFLINE   jlancaster

jlancaster

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 752 posts
Joined: Feb 10, 2006

Posted 07 August 2008 - 07:04 AM

Here's a nice installation guide for the SWM.

SWMline
(2)HR20-700 50" Sony dlp hdmi, 50" vizio plasma hdmi...1 HR21-100 to26 Vizio hdmi, R22-100 to sdtv

#31 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,960 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 07 August 2008 - 09:26 AM

Here's a nice installation guide for the SWM.


That's a great find! There is a lot of information I hadn't seen before.

#32 OFFLINE   brownram

brownram

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 89 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 07 August 2008 - 02:22 PM

bought my SWMline lnb with power inserter and 8 way splitter off of ebay for $120 swapped out slimline lnb. was limited to 1 hr20 and 1 h20 with 3 cable runs now i have 1 hr20-700 + 2 hr21-100s + 1 hr20-100 with 4 cable runs. did notice a 5 point drop in signal strength but its ok still 85 to 95. transponders populate 10 times faster now. that tells me the lnb has a faster signal response. i have noticed no more pixulation. all in all i am very happy with the results
i love my hr20 now

#33 OFFLINE   dave29

dave29

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,826 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2007

Posted 07 August 2008 - 02:26 PM

bought my SWMline lnb with power inserter and 8 way splitter off of ebay for $120 swapped out slimline lnb. was limited to 1 hr20 and 1 h20 with 3 cable runs now i have 1 hr20-700 + 2 hr21-100s + 1 hr20-100 with 4 cable runs. did notice a 5 point drop in signal strength but its ok still 85 to 95. transponders populate 10 times faster now. that tells me the lnb has a faster signal response. i have noticed no more pixulation. all in all i am very happy with the results


glad it worked out for you and you got a good price too!! not real sure why you got a 5 point drop in signal strength, usually it may go up a point or two
HR34-700, HR24-500, HR22-100, HR20-100, R22-100, R16

My Setup

Diagram of my Directv setup by Milkman

#34 OFFLINE   houskamp

houskamp

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,636 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 07 August 2008 - 03:19 PM

bought my SWMline lnb with power inserter and 8 way splitter off of ebay for $120 swapped out slimline lnb. was limited to 1 hr20 and 1 h20 with 3 cable runs now i have 1 hr20-700 + 2 hr21-100s + 1 hr20-100 with 4 cable runs. did notice a 5 point drop in signal strength but its ok still 85 to 95. transponders populate 10 times faster now. that tells me the lnb has a faster signal response. i have noticed no more pixulation. all in all i am very happy with the results

did you retrim the dish? they are usualy close on a straight swap but may need a little adjustment..

AKA: SMOKE
MRV was all that's left on my wishlist (wishlist done) :D


#35 OFFLINE   Kansas Zephyr

Kansas Zephyr

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,489 posts
Joined: Jun 29, 2007

Posted 07 August 2008 - 03:41 PM

Here's a nice installation guide for the SWM.

Anyone notice the error on page 9?

OTA channels cannot be diplexed down the SWM cable

8 channel has a built-in diplexer on the Module for use on the
Legacy output ports only


Oh, yes they can...and the OTA port on the SWM-8 will not add OTA to the legacy ports, only the SWM ports.

I assume this is a typo. I know OTA diplexing isn't approved by D*. But, I don't think they would intentionally publish incorrect training materials either.
5 LNB Slimline & SWM-16
SWM1 2 HR20s & HR21 via SWS-4 "green label" 4-way splitter w/power pass one leg for PI - SWM2 2 HR20s & HR21 after SWS-4 "green label" 4-way splitter
2 HR20-700 Wireless network for DoD
HR20-700 eSATA Vantec NexStar CX w/ 2TB WD20EVDS
HR21-100/AM21 Wireless network for DoD
HR21-100/AM21
With diplexed OTA via an "out" on one SWS-4 4-way splitter, using a Winegard YA 1713 - Channel Master 4228 - Channel Master 7777 in the attic.
Yes, my market has HD LiLs...and I'm still not giving up OTA! No rain-fade, and all sub-channels 24/7/365.
Also, with diplexed Cox Internet on one leg, downstream of a SWS-4 4-way splitter, using a SWS-2 2-way splitter, as a combiner.
R10 via SWM-16 Legacy 1
In boxes HR10-250, HDVR2 & (2) D10-300

#36 OFFLINE   dave29

dave29

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,826 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2007

Posted 07 August 2008 - 04:34 PM

Anyone notice the error on page 9?

OTA channels cannot be diplexed down the SWM cable

8 channel has a built-in diplexer on the Module for use on the
Legacy output ports only


Oh, yes they can...and the OTA port on the SWM-8 will not add OTA to the legacy ports, only the SWM ports.

I assume this is a typo. I know OTA diplexing isn't approved by D*. But, I don't think they would intentionally publish incorrect training materials either.


yeah, i noticed that a couple months ago when VOS sent that doc to me. must have been a mistake by directv:sure:
HR34-700, HR24-500, HR22-100, HR20-100, R22-100, R16

My Setup

Diagram of my Directv setup by Milkman

#37 OFFLINE   Grydlok

Grydlok

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 749 posts
Joined: Mar 31, 2007

Posted 07 August 2008 - 04:36 PM

Anyone notice the error on page 9?

OTA channels cannot be diplexed down the SWM cable

8 channel has a built-in diplexer on the Module for use on the
Legacy output ports only


Oh, yes they can...and the OTA port on the SWM-8 will not add OTA to the legacy ports, only the SWM ports.

I assume this is a typo. I know OTA diplexing isn't approved by D*. But, I don't think they would intentionally publish incorrect training materials either.


DirecTv doesn't support diplexing of any swm installs. It can work good, but Direct says so and that's why it's in training manual.
Hypocrites with fake rumors need not apply.

#38 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 07 August 2008 - 04:42 PM

Anyone notice the error on page 9?

OTA channels cannot be diplexed down the SWM cable

8 channel has a built-in diplexer on the Module for use on the
Legacy output ports only


Oh, yes they can...and the OTA port on the SWM-8 will not add OTA to the legacy ports, only the SWM ports.

I assume this is a typo. I know OTA diplexing isn't approved by D*. But, I don't think they would intentionally publish incorrect training materials either.


Thats their story (stance) and they are sticking too it.
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#39 OFFLINE   dave29

dave29

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,826 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2007

Posted 07 August 2008 - 04:46 PM

DirecTv doesn't support diplexing of any swm installs. It can work good, but Direct says so and that's why it's in training manual.


but it says that it will work on the legacy ports(which it doesnt) and thats why it is funny:lol:
HR34-700, HR24-500, HR22-100, HR20-100, R22-100, R16

My Setup

Diagram of my Directv setup by Milkman

#40 OFFLINE   Kansas Zephyr

Kansas Zephyr

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,489 posts
Joined: Jun 29, 2007

Posted 07 August 2008 - 04:47 PM

DirecTv doesn't support diplexing of any swm installs. It can work good, but Direct says so and that's why it's in training manual.

I get that...but it says that the OTA port only works with the legacy ports on the SWM-8, and that's just wrong information. It doesn't.

The materials could simply state that "OTA diplexing is not approved with any SWM installation. The OTA port on the SWM-8 is not supported by D*." That's at least factual.
5 LNB Slimline & SWM-16
SWM1 2 HR20s & HR21 via SWS-4 "green label" 4-way splitter w/power pass one leg for PI - SWM2 2 HR20s & HR21 after SWS-4 "green label" 4-way splitter
2 HR20-700 Wireless network for DoD
HR20-700 eSATA Vantec NexStar CX w/ 2TB WD20EVDS
HR21-100/AM21 Wireless network for DoD
HR21-100/AM21
With diplexed OTA via an "out" on one SWS-4 4-way splitter, using a Winegard YA 1713 - Channel Master 4228 - Channel Master 7777 in the attic.
Yes, my market has HD LiLs...and I'm still not giving up OTA! No rain-fade, and all sub-channels 24/7/365.
Also, with diplexed Cox Internet on one leg, downstream of a SWS-4 4-way splitter, using a SWS-2 2-way splitter, as a combiner.
R10 via SWM-16 Legacy 1
In boxes HR10-250, HDVR2 & (2) D10-300




spam firewall