Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

SWM & SWMline general discussion


  • Please log in to reply
1304 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   VegasDen

VegasDen

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 212 posts
  • LocationLas Vegas, NV
Joined: Jul 12, 2007

Posted 05 August 2008 - 11:26 PM

SWM-5 or Slimline-5?


My bad - it says Slimline-5

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   sdlevi27

sdlevi27

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 31 posts
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 06 August 2008 - 08:10 AM

What's the difference between SWM Firmware 1.0.8 and 1.0.11? Mine is 1.0.8 and I'm having major problems getting my H20 to work (D* is sending me out a replacement H20...I asked for an H21 but the clueless rep said he didn't know what that was)

#28 OFFLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,492 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 06 August 2008 - 08:23 AM

What's the difference between SWM Firmware 1.0.8 and 1.0.11? Mine is 1.0.8 and I'm having major problems getting my H20 to work (D* is sending me out a replacement H20...I asked for an H21 but the clueless rep said he didn't know what that was)


The SWM firmware comes from the SWM device. Not the receiver.
H20's are known to be finicky with SWM's. Some work well, some not so well.

Odds are you getting an HR21. H20's are out of production. Depends on what the warehouse grabs off the shelf to fulfill your order. If you get a 20 and it's still a problem, send it back and sooner or later the 21 will show up.

#29 OFFLINE   houskamp

houskamp

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,636 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 06 August 2008 - 09:16 AM

My bad - it says Slimline-5

That's what I was thinking.. I don't think it knows the diff between a SWMline dish and a separate dish and SWM8.. They would both look the same to the reciever..

AKA: SMOKE
MRV was all that's left on my wishlist (wishlist done) :D


#30 OFFLINE   jlancaster

jlancaster

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 752 posts
Joined: Feb 10, 2006

Posted 07 August 2008 - 07:04 AM

Here's a nice installation guide for the SWM.

SWMline
(2)HR20-700 50" Sony dlp hdmi, 50" vizio plasma hdmi...1 HR21-100 to26 Vizio hdmi, R22-100 to sdtv

#31 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,239 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 07 August 2008 - 09:26 AM

Here's a nice installation guide for the SWM.


That's a great find! There is a lot of information I hadn't seen before.

#32 OFFLINE   brownram

brownram

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 89 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 07 August 2008 - 02:22 PM

bought my SWMline lnb with power inserter and 8 way splitter off of ebay for $120 swapped out slimline lnb. was limited to 1 hr20 and 1 h20 with 3 cable runs now i have 1 hr20-700 + 2 hr21-100s + 1 hr20-100 with 4 cable runs. did notice a 5 point drop in signal strength but its ok still 85 to 95. transponders populate 10 times faster now. that tells me the lnb has a faster signal response. i have noticed no more pixulation. all in all i am very happy with the results
i love my hr20 now

#33 ONLINE   dave29

dave29

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,927 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2007

Posted 07 August 2008 - 02:26 PM

bought my SWMline lnb with power inserter and 8 way splitter off of ebay for $120 swapped out slimline lnb. was limited to 1 hr20 and 1 h20 with 3 cable runs now i have 1 hr20-700 + 2 hr21-100s + 1 hr20-100 with 4 cable runs. did notice a 5 point drop in signal strength but its ok still 85 to 95. transponders populate 10 times faster now. that tells me the lnb has a faster signal response. i have noticed no more pixulation. all in all i am very happy with the results


glad it worked out for you and you got a good price too!! not real sure why you got a 5 point drop in signal strength, usually it may go up a point or two

#34 OFFLINE   houskamp

houskamp

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,636 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 07 August 2008 - 03:19 PM

bought my SWMline lnb with power inserter and 8 way splitter off of ebay for $120 swapped out slimline lnb. was limited to 1 hr20 and 1 h20 with 3 cable runs now i have 1 hr20-700 + 2 hr21-100s + 1 hr20-100 with 4 cable runs. did notice a 5 point drop in signal strength but its ok still 85 to 95. transponders populate 10 times faster now. that tells me the lnb has a faster signal response. i have noticed no more pixulation. all in all i am very happy with the results

did you retrim the dish? they are usualy close on a straight swap but may need a little adjustment..

AKA: SMOKE
MRV was all that's left on my wishlist (wishlist done) :D


#35 OFFLINE   Kansas Zephyr

Kansas Zephyr

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,489 posts
Joined: Jun 29, 2007

Posted 07 August 2008 - 03:41 PM

Here's a nice installation guide for the SWM.

Anyone notice the error on page 9?

OTA channels cannot be diplexed down the SWM cable

8 channel has a built-in diplexer on the Module for use on the
Legacy output ports only


Oh, yes they can...and the OTA port on the SWM-8 will not add OTA to the legacy ports, only the SWM ports.

I assume this is a typo. I know OTA diplexing isn't approved by D*. But, I don't think they would intentionally publish incorrect training materials either.
5 LNB Slimline & SWM-16
SWM1 2 HR20s & HR21 via SWS-4 "green label" 4-way splitter w/power pass one leg for PI - SWM2 2 HR20s & HR21 after SWS-4 "green label" 4-way splitter
2 HR20-700 Wireless network for DoD
HR20-700 eSATA Vantec NexStar CX w/ 2TB WD20EVDS
HR21-100/AM21 Wireless network for DoD
HR21-100/AM21
With diplexed OTA via an "out" on one SWS-4 4-way splitter, using a Winegard YA 1713 - Channel Master 4228 - Channel Master 7777 in the attic.
Yes, my market has HD LiLs...and I'm still not giving up OTA! No rain-fade, and all sub-channels 24/7/365.
Also, with diplexed Cox Internet on one leg, downstream of a SWS-4 4-way splitter, using a SWS-2 2-way splitter, as a combiner.
R10 via SWM-16 Legacy 1
In boxes HR10-250, HDVR2 & (2) D10-300

#36 ONLINE   dave29

dave29

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,927 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2007

Posted 07 August 2008 - 04:34 PM

Anyone notice the error on page 9?

OTA channels cannot be diplexed down the SWM cable

8 channel has a built-in diplexer on the Module for use on the
Legacy output ports only


Oh, yes they can...and the OTA port on the SWM-8 will not add OTA to the legacy ports, only the SWM ports.

I assume this is a typo. I know OTA diplexing isn't approved by D*. But, I don't think they would intentionally publish incorrect training materials either.


yeah, i noticed that a couple months ago when VOS sent that doc to me. must have been a mistake by directv:sure:

#37 OFFLINE   Grydlok

Grydlok

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 749 posts
Joined: Mar 31, 2007

Posted 07 August 2008 - 04:36 PM

Anyone notice the error on page 9?

OTA channels cannot be diplexed down the SWM cable

8 channel has a built-in diplexer on the Module for use on the
Legacy output ports only


Oh, yes they can...and the OTA port on the SWM-8 will not add OTA to the legacy ports, only the SWM ports.

I assume this is a typo. I know OTA diplexing isn't approved by D*. But, I don't think they would intentionally publish incorrect training materials either.


DirecTv doesn't support diplexing of any swm installs. It can work good, but Direct says so and that's why it's in training manual.
Hypocrites with fake rumors need not apply.

#38 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 07 August 2008 - 04:42 PM

Anyone notice the error on page 9?

OTA channels cannot be diplexed down the SWM cable

8 channel has a built-in diplexer on the Module for use on the
Legacy output ports only


Oh, yes they can...and the OTA port on the SWM-8 will not add OTA to the legacy ports, only the SWM ports.

I assume this is a typo. I know OTA diplexing isn't approved by D*. But, I don't think they would intentionally publish incorrect training materials either.


Thats their story (stance) and they are sticking too it.
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#39 ONLINE   dave29

dave29

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,927 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2007

Posted 07 August 2008 - 04:46 PM

DirecTv doesn't support diplexing of any swm installs. It can work good, but Direct says so and that's why it's in training manual.


but it says that it will work on the legacy ports(which it doesnt) and thats why it is funny:lol:

#40 OFFLINE   Kansas Zephyr

Kansas Zephyr

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,489 posts
Joined: Jun 29, 2007

Posted 07 August 2008 - 04:47 PM

DirecTv doesn't support diplexing of any swm installs. It can work good, but Direct says so and that's why it's in training manual.

I get that...but it says that the OTA port only works with the legacy ports on the SWM-8, and that's just wrong information. It doesn't.

The materials could simply state that "OTA diplexing is not approved with any SWM installation. The OTA port on the SWM-8 is not supported by D*." That's at least factual.
5 LNB Slimline & SWM-16
SWM1 2 HR20s & HR21 via SWS-4 "green label" 4-way splitter w/power pass one leg for PI - SWM2 2 HR20s & HR21 after SWS-4 "green label" 4-way splitter
2 HR20-700 Wireless network for DoD
HR20-700 eSATA Vantec NexStar CX w/ 2TB WD20EVDS
HR21-100/AM21 Wireless network for DoD
HR21-100/AM21
With diplexed OTA via an "out" on one SWS-4 4-way splitter, using a Winegard YA 1713 - Channel Master 4228 - Channel Master 7777 in the attic.
Yes, my market has HD LiLs...and I'm still not giving up OTA! No rain-fade, and all sub-channels 24/7/365.
Also, with diplexed Cox Internet on one leg, downstream of a SWS-4 4-way splitter, using a SWS-2 2-way splitter, as a combiner.
R10 via SWM-16 Legacy 1
In boxes HR10-250, HDVR2 & (2) D10-300

#41 OFFLINE   Grydlok

Grydlok

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 749 posts
Joined: Mar 31, 2007

Posted 07 August 2008 - 04:51 PM

but it says that it will work on the legacy ports(which it doesnt) and thats why it is funny:lol:


I noticed that.
Hypocrites with fake rumors need not apply.

#42 OFFLINE   Grydlok

Grydlok

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 749 posts
Joined: Mar 31, 2007

Posted 07 August 2008 - 04:54 PM

I get that...but it says that the OTA port only works with the legacy ports on the SWM-8, and that's just wrong information. It doesn't.

The materials could simply state the "OTA diplexing is not approved with any SWM installation. The OTA port on the SWM-8 is not supported by D*." That's at least factual.


Hey it's Directv's rule not mine. They say No. That is their official response. Do what you like.
Hypocrites with fake rumors need not apply.

#43 OFFLINE   Kansas Zephyr

Kansas Zephyr

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,489 posts
Joined: Jun 29, 2007

Posted 07 August 2008 - 04:58 PM

Hey it's Directv's rule not mine. They say No. That is their official response. Do what you like.

I get that. (Did you see that phrase in my last post?)

My point was that they can state "their rule" and not mention that the equipment is capable of OTA diplexing. Fine, understood. Got it.

But, why provide incorrect information, too? Is that necessary?
5 LNB Slimline & SWM-16
SWM1 2 HR20s & HR21 via SWS-4 "green label" 4-way splitter w/power pass one leg for PI - SWM2 2 HR20s & HR21 after SWS-4 "green label" 4-way splitter
2 HR20-700 Wireless network for DoD
HR20-700 eSATA Vantec NexStar CX w/ 2TB WD20EVDS
HR21-100/AM21 Wireless network for DoD
HR21-100/AM21
With diplexed OTA via an "out" on one SWS-4 4-way splitter, using a Winegard YA 1713 - Channel Master 4228 - Channel Master 7777 in the attic.
Yes, my market has HD LiLs...and I'm still not giving up OTA! No rain-fade, and all sub-channels 24/7/365.
Also, with diplexed Cox Internet on one leg, downstream of a SWS-4 4-way splitter, using a SWS-2 2-way splitter, as a combiner.
R10 via SWM-16 Legacy 1
In boxes HR10-250, HDVR2 & (2) D10-300

#44 OFFLINE   houskamp

houskamp

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,636 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 07 August 2008 - 04:59 PM

That maybe an old copy.. any installers want to check the latest?

AKA: SMOKE
MRV was all that's left on my wishlist (wishlist done) :D


#45 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 07 August 2008 - 05:11 PM

That maybe an old copy.. any installers want to check the latest?


No change in V2.2
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#46 OFFLINE   Stephens24

Stephens24

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 48 posts
Joined: Dec 13, 2007

Posted 10 August 2008 - 11:42 AM

I managed to get the SWMline with PI and sws-4 on ebay for $70. I finally convinced my local installer to install it without them going to training, however looking at the training manual I didnt realize they would need the ASL1 for peaking. Is that something they really will need? Where could I find one? Thanks

#47 OFFLINE   houskamp

houskamp

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,636 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 10 August 2008 - 11:57 AM

I managed to get the SWMline with PI and sws-4 on ebay for $70. I finally convinced my local installer to install it without them going to training, however looking at the training manual I didnt realize they would need the ASL1 for peaking. Is that something they really will need? Where could I find one? Thanks

You can aim it with an old LNB and then swap in the swm one..

AKA: SMOKE
MRV was all that's left on my wishlist (wishlist done) :D


#48 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,239 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 10 August 2008 - 01:16 PM

If the installer has a Birddog meter with the latest firmware, the ASL1 won't be required.

#49 OFFLINE   sp44

sp44

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 118 posts
Joined: Dec 02, 2005

Posted 12 August 2008 - 02:26 PM

Hi, I have a SWM-8 currently with 2 HR20's. I got another and now need a splitter. Do I need to get a SWS-2, SWS-4, or SWS-8 or can I use the Zinwell WB68?
(1) HR20-700 (Living Room) HDMI to Samsung HPT-5054 50" Plasma
(1) HR20-700 (Basement) HDMI to Epson Powerlite 400 w/106" Screen
(1) HR21-100-so slow!(Bedroom) HDMI to Olevia 332H 32" LCD

#50 OFFLINE   Michael D'Angelo

Michael D'Angelo

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 10,839 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2006

Posted 12 August 2008 - 02:28 PM

Hi, I have a SWM-8 currently with 2 HR20's. I got another and now need a splitter. Do I need to get a SWS-2, SWS-4, or SWS-8 or can I use the Zinwell WB68?


SWS-2 will work. Run one of the units off of SWM1 output after the PI and run the other two off of SWM2 after the splitter.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...