Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

SWM & SWMline general discussion


  • Please log in to reply
1304 replies to this topic

#1051 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,158 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 13 October 2010 - 07:57 PM

No joy VOS. I pulled the plug for 15 minutes and everything behaves the same as my original post.

Thanks for the suggestion. I guess I go back on the roof in the AM just to verify I have voltage at the SWM. If I do, then it seems the SWM is bad unless there is some failure mode in the PI that screws up the signal path.

I'd still try another receiver if you have one to try.
Another thing to look at in the morning is if one of the legacy ports off the SWM8 has a signal. This would be the same as the WB68, but not have too many HD channels, since the KA-low doesn't pass through it, but the KA-Hi does. You would still need to power the SWM8 "I think" since it has to power the LNBs.
A.K.A VOS

#1052 OFFLINE   billgrayny

billgrayny

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 115 posts
  • LocationIthaca, NY
Joined: Jan 20, 2007

Posted 13 October 2010 - 08:53 PM

I'd still try another receiver if you have one to try.
Another thing to look at in the morning is if one of the legacy ports off the SWM8 has a signal. This would be the same as the WB68, but not have too many HD channels, since the KA-low doesn't pass through it, but the KA-Hi does. You would still need to power the SWM8 "I think" since it has to power the LNBs.


Thanks again VOS. I hooked up the H21 and still have same symptoms, so it is back on the roof in the AM to see if I messed up a cable to the SWM. If not it looks like the SWM.

AU9S SlimLine to SWM8
HR44-700 HDMI to VIZIO VW42LF, Native ON
1.5 TB WD15EARS eSATA HDD
DD5.1 Audio via optical to AV Rcvr
DECA, TVersity
H21-100 HDMI to VIZIO VX37L, Native ON


#1053 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,158 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 13 October 2010 - 09:24 PM

Thanks again VOS. I hooked up the H21 and still have same symptoms, so it is back on the roof in the AM to see if I messed up a cable to the SWM. If not it looks like the SWM.

Yep, look's like it's back up there, but now you've verified it isn't the receiver.
A.K.A VOS

#1054 OFFLINE   billgrayny

billgrayny

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 115 posts
  • LocationIthaca, NY
Joined: Jan 20, 2007

Posted 14 October 2010 - 07:19 AM

Yep, look's like it's back up there, but now you've verified it isn't the receiver.


Ok, mission accomplished. This AM I went back up on the roof and removed the cable from the SWM to the Receiver and measured 28V - so the cable is good. I reinstalled the cable on the SWM and voila! signal.

So I most definitely have a flaky connector (DTV installed) up at the SWM. But things are working for now - including Whole Home Viewing.

Thanks for the help last night VOS.

AU9S SlimLine to SWM8
HR44-700 HDMI to VIZIO VW42LF, Native ON
1.5 TB WD15EARS eSATA HDD
DD5.1 Audio via optical to AV Rcvr
DECA, TVersity
H21-100 HDMI to VIZIO VX37L, Native ON


#1055 OFFLINE   Lije Baley

Lije Baley

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 83 posts
Joined: Dec 07, 2003

Posted 03 November 2010 - 08:11 PM

Need help. I changed over to a SWM 3 in my RV some months ago and, believe it or not, my $11 in-line signal meter worked to align the dish until the 21 volts overcame it. I have since tried other cheap meters but none would work.

Purchased an ASL-1 and worked it with a cheap meter twice to get a successful setup. After that it didn't give me a signal off the SWM 3. The power out side of the ASL-1 is working, giving me around 18 volts out but hooking up the meter to the 101 gives me nothing. The meter still works with a standard SL3 LNB. I have to slip in the SL3, get a signal and then slip in the SWM. Works OK but a lot of effort.

My question: Shouldn't the ASL-1 work with any meter or will I have to spring for an Acutrac Pro? I really don't need the 119, so is the Acutrac a waste of money? I wonder if the ASL-1 has gone bad since it worked originally with the cheap meter. Do I need a new ASL-1 or is the Acutrac the only way to go? I don't know any way to test the "101 out" side of the ASL-1.

Thanks.


I don't know if the cheaper meters can be made to work. I also have a SWM-3 setup for my fifth wheel. I use the Acutrac Pro-22 with the ASL-1. Like you, I don't worry about 119. I only connect the meter to the 101 port of the ASL-1. While more expensive than the "simple" meter, the Acutrac is a good tool for a quick and easy set up. They can be found, sometimes, a bit cheaper on Ebay.

#1056 OFFLINE   Bob Heymann

Bob Heymann

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 96 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2007

Posted 10 November 2010 - 06:29 PM

Sorry to be such a novice!!

I have a slimline with four wires coming down to my basement which I have connected to four receivers.

I would like to add at least 3 new receivers so I can have a total of seven (or 8) TVs capable of watching DirecTV.

Is there now a way to split one of the four wires from the dish into 4??

Thanks.

#1057 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,158 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 10 November 2010 - 06:37 PM

Sorry to be such a novice!!

I have a slimline with four wires coming down to my basement which I have connected to four receivers.

I would like to add at least 3 new receivers so I can have a total of seven (or 8) TVs capable of watching DirecTV.

Is there now a way to split one of the four wires from the dish into 4??

Thanks.

Not the way you're thinking, but you can go the "non SWiM" route and add a Zinwell WB68 switch.
Connect the four coax drops and then have eight outputs for your tuners.

http://www.allstarwh...ails.php?id=154
A.K.A VOS

#1058 OFFLINE   DrA

DrA

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 107 posts
Joined: Oct 25, 2006

Posted 18 November 2010 - 10:27 PM

Today I called and scheduled to upgrade, my reason: "I want to record and watch another channel at the same time on all my recievers" (currently I only have 2 of my recievers with double cable).
I did not ask for MRV but he insisted and gave me Whole-Home DVR upgrade:
my email shows:
YOUR EQUIPMENT SELECTION
1 Whole-Home Upgrade $199.00
1 DIRECTV® HD - Swap $0.00
Equipment Total $199.00
ADDITIONAL
Installation Fee $49.00
Delivery & Handling Fee $0.00
Tax $19.40
Order Total Paid* $267.40

on the phone csr promised:
1. sidecar to new dish upgrade
2.SWM 16
3.free new DVR(refused to give model#)
4.DECA

Questions
1. I this the only way I can get subsidized swm installed? I mainly wanted to record while watching another.
2.Are there any disadvantages for having MRV. (don't fix it if ain't broken comes to mind)
3. Is this a good deal since I am a"loyal" customer since 90's?
4.I have my DVRs connected to the internet, some wired and some wireless. Are they going to mess all that?
I read"Please do not attempt to connect your HD DVR to the Internet yourself." here
If you have Whole-Home DVR service, you'll need to get the DIRECTV CINEMA™ Connection Kit — a professional installer will provide all the necessary equipment and connect your DIRECTV® System to your home Internet network. Please do not attempt to connect your HD DVR to the Internet yourself. To get the DIRECTV CINEMA™ Connection Kit, click here or call 1-800-531-5000
Please help if I have to cancell some things and keep others.

DrA

Slimline, SWM-16 75' away from power, MRV
HR20-700 to HDMI LG 47LC7DF 100' from SWM
HR20-700 to Component 40XBR800 40" hd tube 50' from SWM
HR20-700 to Dell 22"HDMI /DVI computer monitor 30' from SWM
HR24-500 to HDMI Sharp Aquos 70"TV 90' from SWM
HR24-200 to HDMI Sony PJ 120" screen 100' from SWM
HR22 to HDMI Panasonic AE3000 PJ 86" screen 100' from SWM

H24 to Samsung TV. 25' from SWM
DECA to Netgear 4500 for internet.
D* since 1994


#1059 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,282 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 18 November 2010 - 10:51 PM

Today I called and scheduled to upgrade, my reason: "I want to record and watch another channel at the same time on all my recievers" (currently I only have 2 of my recievers with double cable).
I did not ask for MRV but he insisted and gave me Whole-Home DVR upgrade:
my email shows:
YOUR EQUIPMENT SELECTION
1 Whole-Home Upgrade $199.00
1 DIRECTV® HD - Swap $0.00
Equipment Total $199.00
ADDITIONAL
Installation Fee $49.00
Delivery & Handling Fee $0.00
Tax $19.40
Order Total Paid* $267.40

on the phone csr promised:
1. sidecar to new dish upgrade
2.SWM 16
3.free new DVR(refused to give model#)
4.DECA

Questions
1. I this the only way I can get subsidized swm installed? I mainly wanted to record while watching another.
2.Are there any disadvantages for having MRV. (don't fix it if ain't broken comes to mind)
3. Is this a good deal since I am a"loyal" customer since 90's?
4.I have my DVRs connected to the internet, some wired and some wireless. Are they going to mess all that?
I read"Please do not attempt to connect your HD DVR to the Internet yourself." here
If you have Whole-Home DVR service, you'll need to get the DIRECTV CINEMA™ Connection Kit — a professional installer will provide all the necessary equipment and connect your DIRECTV® System to your home Internet network. Please do not attempt to connect your HD DVR to the Internet yourself. To get the DIRECTV CINEMA™ Connection Kit, click here or call 1-800-531-5000
Please help if I have to cancell some things and keep others.


Okay, looking at your setup, due to the number of receivers (tuners) you have, you should get a SWiM-16. You will have 4 cables from the dish to the SWiM-16 and then off of the SWiM-16 you'll have splitters to run a single line to each of your receivers. Even with the single line, you will have use of both tuners for all your receivers.

By going the MRV route, all of your receivers will see each other so you'll be able to play back recordings from any DVR on all your other receivers. Also, with the MRV upgrade, you will get a DECA unit for every receiver that is not a H24/HR24.

If you get the Cinema Connection Kit, you will get an extra DECA and a PI that is used to bridge the coax network for all of your receivers to your home network. This would be as easy as using one of the extra non-used cable runs from when you needed two cables to a DVR and using that cable to connect the Broadband DECA. The ethernet cable that was hooked to that DVR would then connect to the Broadband DECA. With this setup, the receivers communicate over the coax, but are connected to your home network via one ethernet cable.

I would check your on-line account and see exactly what is listed on the order there. If it does not say Internet Connection Kit or Cinema Connection Kit, you might very well not get that with your order. You'll need to call back up and cancel and recreate your order or see if the CSR can get it added.

As for the cost, depending on your account history, CSR's can offer discounts on the Whole Home Upgrade. What you are paying is the full cost: $199 upgrade + $49 service visit.

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#1060 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,158 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 18 November 2010 - 10:59 PM

Today I called and scheduled to upgrade, my reason: "I want to record and watch another channel at the same time on all my recievers" (currently I only have 2 of my recievers with double cable).
I did not ask for MRV but he insisted and gave me Whole-Home DVR upgrade:
my email shows:
YOUR EQUIPMENT SELECTION
1 Whole-Home Upgrade $199.00
1 DIRECTV® HD - Swap $0.00
Equipment Total $199.00
ADDITIONAL
Installation Fee $49.00
Delivery & Handling Fee $0.00
Tax $19.40
Order Total Paid* $267.40

on the phone csr promised:
1. sidecar to new dish upgrade
2.SWM 16
3.free new DVR(refused to give model#)
4.DECA

Questions
1. I this the only way I can get subsidized swm installed? I mainly wanted to record while watching another.
2.Are there any disadvantages for having MRV. (don't fix it if ain't broken comes to mind)
3. Is this a good deal since I am a"loyal" customer since 90's?
4.I have my DVRs connected to the internet, some wired and some wireless. Are they going to mess all that?
I read"Please do not attempt to connect your HD DVR to the Internet yourself." here
If you have Whole-Home DVR service, you'll need to get the DIRECTV CINEMA™ Connection Kit — a professional installer will provide all the necessary equipment and connect your DIRECTV® System to your home Internet network. Please do not attempt to connect your HD DVR to the Internet yourself. To get the DIRECTV CINEMA™ Connection Kit, click here or call 1-800-531-5000
Please help if I have to cancell some things and keep others.

OK, first MRV with the DECA networking is great. You/I can watch any recording from any receiver, for $3/month.
If you don't feel the need to share your recordings, "then" simply adding another receiver should have them change the dish, because the AT-9 [sidecar] is obsolete and if it fails, it's going bye bye anyway.
The SWiM-16 you'd need anyway, so even without MRV, that puppy needs to be used.
As for the "BS" about the Cinema Connection kit, this is because it "simply" needs a coax drop too, and god help the customer who can do something so complicated as run a length of coax. :lol:

"I see Merg" has been faster. :lol:

From your sig, I see two H20s. is only one being swapped and the other going away? they don't have network functions and should get swapped as part of MRV, but not SWiM.

From the CSR:
3.free new DVR(refused to give model#) where is this on the order???
I only see one H20 being swapped.
A.K.A VOS

#1061 OFFLINE   DrA

DrA

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 107 posts
Joined: Oct 25, 2006

Posted 19 November 2010 - 12:54 PM

Sorry, I have to update my profile signature, I have only one H-20.
I will call today to make sure they add deca and cinema kit. Are they free.
I can't belive the did not give me discount for loyal customer.
Is customer retention still working?

DrA

Slimline, SWM-16 75' away from power, MRV
HR20-700 to HDMI LG 47LC7DF 100' from SWM
HR20-700 to Component 40XBR800 40" hd tube 50' from SWM
HR20-700 to Dell 22"HDMI /DVI computer monitor 30' from SWM
HR24-500 to HDMI Sharp Aquos 70"TV 90' from SWM
HR24-200 to HDMI Sony PJ 120" screen 100' from SWM
HR22 to HDMI Panasonic AE3000 PJ 86" screen 100' from SWM

H24 to Samsung TV. 25' from SWM
DECA to Netgear 4500 for internet.
D* since 1994


#1062 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,282 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 19 November 2010 - 01:25 PM

Sorry, I have to update my profile signature, I have only one H-20.
I will call today to make sure they add deca and cinema kit. Are they free.
I can't belive the did not give me discount for loyal customer.
Is customer retention still working?


If they are swapping out the H20, they will give you a DECA if it is needed. The Cinema Connection Kit is really just a DECA and a PI. There should not be any additional cost if you have it done when the WHDVR upgrade is performed. Just make sure it is a line item on your order.

As for getting a deal, call back and see what they can do. At a minimum, maybe they can waive the tech visit fee.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#1063 OFFLINE   DrA

DrA

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 107 posts
Joined: Oct 25, 2006

Posted 19 November 2010 - 01:35 PM

veryoldschool,The Merg,Thank you again for info that they were trying to charge regular price for MRV and my order was incomplete regarding deca and cinema kit.
I called retention, canceled the old and added extra deca and cinema kit in addition to SWM , new dish and reciever swap + $150 credit for loyalty.

DrA

Slimline, SWM-16 75' away from power, MRV
HR20-700 to HDMI LG 47LC7DF 100' from SWM
HR20-700 to Component 40XBR800 40" hd tube 50' from SWM
HR20-700 to Dell 22"HDMI /DVI computer monitor 30' from SWM
HR24-500 to HDMI Sharp Aquos 70"TV 90' from SWM
HR24-200 to HDMI Sony PJ 120" screen 100' from SWM
HR22 to HDMI Panasonic AE3000 PJ 86" screen 100' from SWM

H24 to Samsung TV. 25' from SWM
DECA to Netgear 4500 for internet.
D* since 1994


#1064 OFFLINE   quik

quik

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 64 posts
Joined: Sep 26, 2007

Posted 03 February 2011 - 01:23 PM

Does anyone know by looking at this pic if this LNB, PI, and splitter would this be all I need to run 3 x HR22-100 dvrs? (sorry I'm new to SWM setups). Don't need to have DECA/MRV installed right now.

Thinking about buying it on ebay... in the auction it mentions SL5S4NR2-02 and

THIS A GREEN LABEL SWM5 LNB WITH GREEN LABEL POWER SUPPLY AND 1X4 SPLITTER GREEN LABEL EVERYTHING IS SWM COMPATIBLE


Posted Image

Thanks!

quick
1 x HR22-100 HD-DVR

1 x HR34-700 Genie


#1065 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,158 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 03 February 2011 - 01:52 PM

Does anyone know by looking at this pic if this LNB, PI, and splitter would this be all I need to run 3 x HR22-100 dvrs? (sorry I'm new to SWM setups). Don't need to have DECA/MRV installed right now.

Thinking about buying it on ebay... in the auction it mentions SL5S4NR2-02 and

Posted Image

Thanks!

Looks to be a complete "kit".
A.K.A VOS

#1066 OFFLINE   quik

quik

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 64 posts
Joined: Sep 26, 2007

Posted 03 February 2011 - 01:55 PM

Looks to be a complete "kit".


Great thanks! :D

quick
1 x HR22-100 HD-DVR

1 x HR34-700 Genie


#1067 OFFLINE   mloiterman

mloiterman

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 30 posts
Joined: Aug 20, 2007

Posted 09 February 2011 - 08:32 PM

I'm converting my system to SWM from the WB68 switch. I have the 5 LNB dish with four cables coming into my basement and home runs to all locations.

Receivers:
1. H21
2. HR21
3. HR20
4. HR24

I understand that the HR DVR receivers will all connect to my SWM splitter which in turn connects to the PI and then the SWM switch which is connected to the dish.

Questions:
1. How do I connect the H21? Can it simply be fed from the SWM splitter as the HR receivers?
2. All BBCs should be removed and only one connection to each receiver should be made, correct?
3. Do I need to change any settings on any of the receivers to get them to see the SWM?
4. I assume the best way to do this is to unplug all receivers, reconfigure their connections (remove BBC, disconnect Sat feed 2), then remove WB68, replace with SWM, make all connections, power up all receivers.

Any potential problems I should watch out for?

#1068 OFFLINE   houskamp

houskamp

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,636 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 09 February 2011 - 09:14 PM

I'm converting my system to SWM from the WB68 switch. I have the 5 LNB dish with four cables coming into my basement and home runs to all locations.

Receivers:
1. H21
2. HR21
3. HR20
4. HR24

I understand that the HR DVR receivers will all connect to my SWM splitter which in turn connects to the PI and then the SWM switch which is connected to the dish.

Questions:
1. How do I connect the H21? Can it simply be fed from the SWM splitter as the HR receivers?
2. All BBCs should be removed and only one connection to each receiver should be made, correct?
3. Do I need to change any settings on any of the receivers to get them to see the SWM?
4. I assume the best way to do this is to unplug all receivers, reconfigure their connections (remove BBC, disconnect Sat feed 2), then remove WB68, replace with SWM, make all connections, power up all receivers.

Any potential problems I should watch out for?

Looks like you got it..
h21 hooks up just like hr..
may take a reboot or two for them to "switch" but nothing needs to be set..

AKA: SMOKE
MRV was all that's left on my wishlist (wishlist done) :D


#1069 OFFLINE   twestrick

twestrick

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Feb 10, 2007

Posted 19 February 2011 - 01:57 PM

I am having trouble with 2 receivers not getting signal from even channels and some local channels (Dallas). I have a slimline 5 with a swm 16. Two boxes are the problem. They are HR22-100 and H23-600. They have worked but seem to fail at the same time. They are on 2 different segments (splitters) on my system. It seems to be temp related. They were working when it was colder, below 40-50 deg. Now its in the 50-60 deg at night 70-80's during the day. I have replaced the cable between splitter and box on the hr22-100. I have shortened my cable lengths as much as I can.
Questions I have about swm system:
1: How warm should they swm16 be? Mine is very warm to hot to the touch.
2: Can the swm16 lose satellite signal on just certain channels on certain boxes?
My System
Slimline 5
Swm16
2 hr20-100 (working)
1 r22-100 (working
1 hr24-500 (working)
1 h23-600 (fail, whole-home working)
1 hr20-200 (fail, whole-home working)
2 8x green label splitters.
Called Directv, they won't be out till Tuesday.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

#1070 OFFLINE   rwny1

rwny1

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2011

Posted 27 April 2011 - 02:03 PM

hi everybody
need some expertise if anyone can help.
i have one wire coming in from the roof, i can currently connect it to the slimline hd one wire lnb and to the 24v power supply and 8 way splitter and everything works.
i have the swm8 switch/module with the 29v powersupply. i was told i could connect my international 95 dish with the swm hd dish and bring it all in the house via that one line. i need to hook up an hr 22 and an old legacy dtv receiver.
can someone please let me know how i can connect everything? i dont want to risk frying anything if i wire the wrong way
thank you in advance.

#1071 OFFLINE   erpbridge

erpbridge

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2009

Posted 10 May 2011 - 07:21 PM

I moved into a house, already has a Slimline dish with SL5S SWM LNB attached, a single line (probably 50 feet) running from it to the house, which connects to a SWS-STR4 4-way splitter. I have a HR21 and a HR24. I'm coming from an old setup where I used a Zinwell multiswitch with an old 4-wire dish.

They can't see the dish even when I choose Slimline 5 SWM in Setup... is this because the legacy install is just missing a PI-29 power inverter between the dish and the 4-way splitter?

Is that the only component I need to get, or do I need a SWM-8 as well (I don't think I need it, looks like that's to convert a non-SWM LNB to a SWM system, right?) Am I right about the location of the Power inserter, one side connects straight to dish, other side connects to 4-way switch?

(PS: Don't need DECA... use Ethernet for that already, since my receivers are already close to ethernet switches anyways.)

Edited by erpbridge, 10 May 2011 - 07:25 PM.
(Deca note)


#1072 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,158 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 10 May 2011 - 07:29 PM

I moved into a house, already has a Slimline dish with SL5S SWM LNB attached, a single line (probably 50 feet) running from it to the house, which connects to a SWS-STR4 4-way splitter. I have a HR21 and a HR24. I'm coming from an old setup where I used a Zinwell multiswitch with an old 4-wire dish.

They can't see the dish even when I choose Slimline 5 SWM in Setup... is this because the legacy install is just missing a PI-29 power inverter between the dish and the 4-way splitter?

Is that the only component I need to get, or do I need a SWM-8 as well (I don't think I need it, looks like that's to convert a non-SWM LNB to a SWM system, right?) Am I right about the location of the Power inserter, one side connects straight to dish, other side connects to 4-way switch?

(PS: Don't need DECA... use Ethernet for that already, since my receivers are already close to ethernet switches anyways.)

If you're not powering the SWiM, then it doesn't work, or can't be "found". ;)
A.K.A VOS

#1073 OFFLINE   gomezma1

gomezma1

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 461 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2006

Posted 10 May 2011 - 07:29 PM

Call and get movers setup advertised on TV all the time.

#1074 OFFLINE   erpbridge

erpbridge

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2009

Posted 10 May 2011 - 07:40 PM

Thanks VOS, just wanted to confirm my understanding.

Gomez... did schedule movers a few days ago, turns out earliest timeframe is June 2. Figure since just about everything is already in place, if I can just order the PI from Weaknees, get it in a couple days, I can be up and running by this time next week rather than having a black screen for a few weeks.

#1075 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,158 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 10 May 2011 - 08:33 PM

Thanks VOS, just wanted to confirm my understanding.

Gomez... did schedule movers a few days ago, turns out earliest timeframe is June 2. Figure since just about everything is already in place, if I can just order the PI from Weaknees, get it in a couple days, I can be up and running by this time next week rather than having a black screen for a few weeks.

You might look here too: http://www.solidsign...ku=874409000844
A.K.A VOS




Protected By... spam firewall...And...