Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Expected costs?


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   mattmill

mattmill

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 147 posts
Joined: Aug 10, 2002

Posted 06 August 2008 - 02:00 PM

I want to switch to HD. Will need a pole mount (too many trees) and have NO LOS to 119 and most likely no los for 110 either. I get my SD locals OTA at the moment and I believe they are moving to 99 or 103 for HD.

New HDDVR and use existing DTIVO to replace the current second SD receiver. Two 5 year old buried RG6 lines from 18" dish (pole mount) to switch. 2 runs already to the HDDVR location and one to the new TIVO location.

Any ideas on rough install costs for this? I assume that with the pole mount and no LOS for 119 it won't qualify for the free install.

Portland ME DMA
Zip 04011

matt

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Mertzen

Mertzen

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,682 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2006

Posted 06 August 2008 - 03:47 PM

Normally a pole mount is free to get LOS. Can you get LOS anywhere?
No longer doing DBS work, but missing every moment of it.

#3 OFFLINE   mattmill

mattmill

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 147 posts
Joined: Aug 10, 2002

Posted 06 August 2008 - 04:21 PM

5 years ago we were told we could not keep dish network due to no LOS to 119. The d* dish is pole mounted in the front yard. Maybe LOS by the street but plows will kill in in the winter. We were told the elevation is too low this far north.

matt

#4 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 06 August 2008 - 04:23 PM

Ordering through DirecTV, a pole mount is free IF you can't get LOS anywhere on the house, and IF you CAN get LOS from the pole. Generally, the HSPs won't install you at all if they can't get LOS to all satellites, in fact, the current software includes Installation Verification that prevents activation unless all sats can be seen.

At some point in the near future, there will be a dish without 110 and 119, and the need to see those two orbital locations to complete an install will go away, but the dish isn't out yet nor has the policy been updated.

As an existing customer, you can't go through a retailer unless you pay for everything. Your best bet might be to wait until the Slimline3 is released.

#5 OFFLINE   Phroz

Phroz

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 168 posts
Joined: Jul 03, 2006

Posted 06 August 2008 - 05:09 PM

At some point in the near future, there will be a dish without 110 and 119, and the need to see those two orbital locations to complete an install will go away, but the dish isn't out yet nor has the policy been updated.

As an existing customer, you can't go through a retailer unless you pay for everything. Your best bet might be to wait until the Slimline3 is released.

As far as I know though, the Slimline3 won't be coming to markets that get their (SD) locals from 119, which Portland does.

DirecTech may still install it you can't get LOS to 119, but I wouldn't count on it.

#6 OFFLINE   mattmill

mattmill

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 147 posts
Joined: Aug 10, 2002

Posted 06 August 2008 - 06:20 PM

So they would rather lose a customer who doesn't want the SD locals anyway than do the install? Makes no sense to me.

I also thought the SD locals were going to move off 119 so the could go with 99/101/103 only.

The HDDVR must have LOS to activate? Maybe we can try and if no luck escilate the install.

I'm going to call tomorrow. Should I even mention the LOS?

matt

#7 OFFLINE   Mertzen

Mertzen

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,682 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2006

Posted 06 August 2008 - 06:30 PM

So they would rather lose a customer who doesn't want the SD locals anyway than do the install? Makes no sense to me.


It's more of a ' we don't want a customer who will complain down the line. Especially from a HSP point of view.

I also thought the SD locals were going to move off 119 so the could go with 99/101/103 only.


Existing SD locals will stay on 119 for a long time. Only HD locals and brand new SD locals will go on new sats and even then with space soon available they may even put new SD locals on 110 or 119.

The HDDVR must have LOS to activate? Maybe we can try and if no luck escilate the install.


Yes. The receiver does a diagnostic check on all signals.
No longer doing DBS work, but missing every moment of it.

#8 OFFLINE   joe diamond

joe diamond

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,071 posts
Joined: Feb 28, 2007

Posted 06 August 2008 - 09:07 PM

Matt,

Consider a tower. You are North of many folks in and the LOS i several degrees lower that in Florida. There are towers and poles that will clear your elevation.

What is the EL for NH anyhow?

You also got mountains up there....a local guy will know.

Joe

#9 OFFLINE   Phroz

Phroz

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 168 posts
Joined: Jul 03, 2006

Posted 06 August 2008 - 09:23 PM

There's really very little elevation up here.

I want to say it's about 30 degrees for 101 and 20 degrees for 119.

#10 OFFLINE   joe diamond

joe diamond

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,071 posts
Joined: Feb 28, 2007

Posted 06 August 2008 - 11:55 PM

There's really very little elevation up here.

I want to say it's about 30 degrees for 101 and 20 degrees for 119.


Think trees!

Joe

#11 OFFLINE   mattmill

mattmill

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 147 posts
Joined: Aug 10, 2002

Posted 07 August 2008 - 06:46 AM

There's really very little elevation up here.

I want to say it's about 30 degrees for 101 and 20 degrees for 119.


This sounds correct to me. I recall numbers like that back when the original install was done.

Yes, trees are the problem :(
View from the dish, street is running west in the photo. This was early May for the photo.
Posted Image

and this is a winter view down the street to the west
Posted Image

I guess I am not holding out much hope at this point but will call DirecTV today and try to schedule something.

Fingers crossed...


matt

#12 OFFLINE   paulman182

paulman182

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,833 posts
Joined: Aug 04, 2006

Posted 07 August 2008 - 07:22 AM

Our first installer put in my original 3-LNB dish with no 119 LOS because my wife said it was OK to not have our locals and I was not home at the time. They activated it.

Guess what? I came home and called them back in. He moved the dish and found LOS to 119 and did not even need a pole mount.

I would assume this is one reason installers are reluctant to, or maybe now even prevented from, completing the install without full LOS. A customer can change his mind, or the spouse can come home, and either the install has to be redone, or DirecTV has one very dissatisfied customer on its hands.

Even though she approved the bad install, I knew that my wife would have been very unhappy without her locals, which I hardly ever watch.

Equipment includes a buncha stuff that I no longer have interest in detailing


#13 OFFLINE   mattmill

mattmill

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 147 posts
Joined: Aug 10, 2002

Posted 07 August 2008 - 07:52 AM

I guess I am not holding out much hope at this point but will call DirecTV today and try to schedule something.


Scheuled for Next Friday. Directech is the installer and the CSR told me I would be getting a HR22 or HR23 DVR, what are those? Have not seen mention of them just the 20/21.

matt

#14 OFFLINE   Mertzen

Mertzen

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,682 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2006

Posted 07 August 2008 - 11:02 AM

Scheuled for Next Friday. Directech is the installer


The best of luck and let us know how it goes. And if they refuse I'll come up and do it for you. :) :)
No longer doing DBS work, but missing every moment of it.

#15 OFFLINE   mattmill

mattmill

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 147 posts
Joined: Aug 10, 2002

Posted 07 August 2008 - 11:04 AM

DirecTech may still install it you can't get LOS to 119, but I wouldn't count on it.


How much would it cost to tip help change the mind of the installer if I run into troubles? I want to be fair to everyone but also be prepared in the event of troubles.

matt

#16 OFFLINE   mattmill

mattmill

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 147 posts
Joined: Aug 10, 2002

Posted 07 August 2008 - 11:06 AM

The best of luck and let us know how it goes. And if they refuse I'll come up and do it for you. :) :)


I'll call you on 8-16 :D

#17 OFFLINE   Mertzen

Mertzen

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,682 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2006

Posted 07 August 2008 - 11:10 AM

How much would it cost to tip help change the mind of the installer if I run into troubles? I want to be fair to everyone but also be prepared in the event of troubles.

Maybe 20-40. Who knows; he might have 5 kids and a bitchy wife :lol:
No longer doing DBS work, but missing every moment of it.

#18 OFFLINE   mattmill

mattmill

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 147 posts
Joined: Aug 10, 2002

Posted 07 August 2008 - 11:21 AM

Maybe 20-40. Who knows; he might have 5 kids and a bitchy wife :lol:


Seems reasonable enough. I was thinking double that.

matt

#19 OFFLINE   mattmill

mattmill

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 147 posts
Joined: Aug 10, 2002

Posted 15 August 2008 - 08:34 AM

The best of luck and let us know how it goes. And if they refuse I'll come up and do it for you. :) :)



Well, I was scheduled for today 12-4 and got a call at 8:30, can we come early the last job was a no install. So I said sure come on up.

Two trucks got to the house and started to look around at all the trees and started to scratch their heads. One asked me how the hell do I get 101 with all the trees?

They keep looking and find a spot on the roof (yea! no more pole in the front yard), but we need to have a few branches trimmed first. So they have to cancel the order for today and after we get the trees trimmed back a little we should be good to go.

Tree guys are coming tomorrow to take a look and hopefully be able to help me out without making the trees look too funny. Wife doesn't care just wants me to make this work somehow. She is ready to switch to Comcast if this won't work.

The techs were both great, explained everything and spent time really looking for a location. Said some others would have just driven down the road and said never. Tried to tip them for the trip since the didn't get paid but they refused and gave me the end of a spool of coax to do my own inside wiring to fish my walls ahead of the revisit. Hopefully I can get the same guys when I call back. The only problem was they didn't believe that ESPN and TNT have moved off 119 yet.

matt

#20 OFFLINE   tkrandall

tkrandall

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,795 posts
Joined: Oct 03, 2003

Posted 15 August 2008 - 09:26 AM

In the long run, try and get a Slimeline 3 dish if you have LOS to 99/101/103, but not LOS to 119. you won't have your sd locals off of 119 anyway, and the slimeline 3 will work better as far as getting the guide data off of 101 all the time instead of sometimes looking for it on 119 with the slimline 5. Slimline 3's should be available from retailers like solidsignal in a month or so.

Another option for you is to for you to consider DISH's new eastern arc service. I don't think Portland, ME is one of the initial launch markets on 8/20, but I would think it would be available soon enough as I see Portland Maine's HD locals are already on 61.5W. Your DISH look angle to the new DISH service would be pretty much due south with a 33 degree elevation versus SW and a 25 degree elevation for 99/101/103 and DirecTV.

The Eastern Arc service is launching this month and will have ALL of their core programming (non ethnic/latino) and sd locals for eastern markets available off of sats at 61.5w, 72.7w, and 77w using a new 1000.4 dish and all mpeg-4 equipment This mirrors their 110/119 services and is meant for eastern markets. This should greatly improve LOS for markets like Maine, much less Georgia where I live. check out the dish forum if interested.




spam firewall