Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

My receiver is too far from the dish! HELP!


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   shadough

shadough

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 652 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2006

Posted 14 August 2008 - 07:15 PM

You have to make it look like this. Pretty much take off the Y adapter and place a single LNB straight on the arm.


Posted Image


From My experience, this will not work. Removing the Y adapter effectively brings the DTV LNB closer to the dish itself and limiting its view of the satelites. You won't get good signal, except maybe on the spotbeams.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   Johnnie5000

Johnnie5000

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 452 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2008

Posted 14 August 2008 - 11:00 PM

From My experience, this will not work. Removing the Y adapter effectively brings the DTV LNB closer to the dish itself and limiting its view of the satelites. You won't get good signal, except maybe on the spotbeams.


Works great for the 72.5 sat. Not that I would be lazy and do anything like that...:D

#23 OFFLINE   joe diamond

joe diamond

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,071 posts
Joined: Feb 28, 2007

Posted 15 August 2008 - 08:53 AM

From My experience, this will not work. Removing the Y adapter effectively brings the DTV LNB closer to the dish itself and limiting its view of the satelites. You won't get good signal, except maybe on the spotbeams.


I've done exactly that. Just changed the LNB to an old DTV to match the rounded arm. You do have to retune but I got 90s on all SD xponders.

Didn't try the DISH LNB, just replaced it,,still working.

Joe




spam firewall