Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Compression tool help


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   JoeF

JoeF

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 121 posts
Joined: Aug 20, 2007

Posted 12 August 2008 - 05:55 PM

Well, I bought this compression tool:

http://sadoun.com/Sa...VI/10-CCT21.htm

and these connectors:

http://sadoun.com/Sa...nectors-RG6.htm

and I can't seem to get it to work right. My guess is that some combination of the cable, fittings or tool are not compatible. Any hints?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   dave29

dave29

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,839 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2007

Posted 12 August 2008 - 05:58 PM

what kind of cable did you buy. i dont think that those connectors will work with quad cable

#3 OFFLINE   Johnnie5000

Johnnie5000

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 452 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2008

Posted 12 August 2008 - 06:01 PM

Well, I bought this compression tool:

http://sadoun.com/Sa...VI/10-CCT21.htm

and these connectors:

http://sadoun.com/Sa...nectors-RG6.htm

and I can't seem to get it to work right. My guess is that some combination of the cable, fittings or tool are not compatible. Any hints?


As long as the cable is stripped properly, the braid is twisted back on the cable and the connector is slid all the way on (white dielectric flush with inside of connector, you shouldn't have any problem. I've used comp. tools like that before, they're kind of a pain in the @ss to get the connector to compress down sometimes.

This one would have probably worked better for the same price though:
http://sadoun.com/Sa...-Crimp-Tool.htm

#4 OFFLINE   JoeF

JoeF

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 121 posts
Joined: Aug 20, 2007

Posted 12 August 2008 - 06:09 PM

The cable is off the shelf from Home Depot. It appears as if the tool isn't "grabbing" the cable, so when I squeeze the handle, a whole lot of nuthin' happens. I'll admit I haven't used a compression tool before, so it's possible that it's operator error (although I don't think so).

#5 OFFLINE   Johnnie5000

Johnnie5000

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 452 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2008

Posted 12 August 2008 - 06:11 PM

The cable is off the shelf from Home Depot. It appears as if the tool isn't "grabbing" the cable, so when I squeeze the handle, a whole lot of nuthin' happens. I'll admit I haven't used a compression tool before, so it's possible that it's operator error (although I don't think so).


Pictures?
Can help more if I can see what you're doing.

#6 OFFLINE   JoeF

JoeF

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 121 posts
Joined: Aug 20, 2007

Posted 12 August 2008 - 06:30 PM

Here's a few "action" shots:

1. Stripped cable
2. Cable with fitting positioned
3. Fitting in compression tool.

If I understand the tool correctly, the "jaws" on the left side in pic 3 should grab the cable and press the fitting into place. Those jaws are not grabbing the cable, because the cable diameter is smaller.

Attached Thumbnails

  • 100_0622.jpg
  • 100_0623.jpg
  • 100_0624.jpg


#7 OFFLINE   Johnnie5000

Johnnie5000

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 452 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2008

Posted 12 August 2008 - 06:40 PM

They're not really supposed to grab on, but they do hold it in place. Without seeing the business end of the connection, I'm thinking the connnector isn't being slid far enough down on the coax. Make sure the white part is completely flush with the inside of the connector.
I'll post a pic of what it's supposed to look like in a bit.

#8 OFFLINE   Johnnie5000

Johnnie5000

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 452 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2008

Posted 12 August 2008 - 07:01 PM

The size of these are complete overkill but hope they help
1 2 3

#9 OFFLINE   doctor j

doctor j

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,443 posts
  • LocationBirmingham, Al.
Joined: Jun 14, 2006

Posted 12 August 2008 - 07:15 PM

Connectors seem TOOO small for the cable.
If you have quad 6 cable and the connectors are just RG-6 : no way they will fit

Doctor j

MFH-2 System : 2 Major Viewing Areas. 2 x HR20-700's & H21 in each area via E2/SWM-8. Hardwire gigabit switch to 30 mb/sec internet.


#10 OFFLINE   houskamp

houskamp

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,636 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 12 August 2008 - 07:25 PM

those tools don't grab the cable at all.. they are supposed to push that last ring into the connector..

AKA: SMOKE
MRV was all that's left on my wishlist (wishlist done) :D


#11 OFFLINE   Johnnie5000

Johnnie5000

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 452 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2008

Posted 12 August 2008 - 07:43 PM

those tools don't grab the cable at all.. they are supposed to push that last ring into the connector..


well, they keep the cable from popping out when you compress it

#12 OFFLINE   houskamp

houskamp

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,636 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 12 August 2008 - 07:46 PM

well, they keep the cable from popping out when you compress it

cable shouldn't move at all.. that ring just has to be pressed in to set the compression.. my tool doesn't even touch the cable.. if it pops out it's either on wrong or the wrong fitting size (would expect fitting too large for cable)

AKA: SMOKE
MRV was all that's left on my wishlist (wishlist done) :D


#13 OFFLINE   Johnnie5000

Johnnie5000

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 452 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2008

Posted 12 August 2008 - 07:50 PM

cable shouldn't move at all.. that ring just has to be pressed in to set the compression.. my tool doesn't even touch the cable.. if it pops out it's either on wrong or the wrong fitting size (would expect fitting too large for cable)


I think we may be talking about different parts of the tool... I'm talking about the semi-circle that the bottom (cable-side) of the connector would touch. It essentially keeps the connector from going out the end of the tool when you press down.

#14 OFFLINE   houskamp

houskamp

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,636 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 12 August 2008 - 08:09 PM

Here is my tool and a finished end..
all the tool does is push the blue sleeve into the end..
the fitting sets on the mandrel and the silver part near the end presses against the blue on the fitting..

Attached Thumbnails

  • DSC_3453.JPG
  • DSC_3454.JPG

AKA: SMOKE
MRV was all that's left on my wishlist (wishlist done) :D


#15 OFFLINE   66stang351

66stang351

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,212 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 12 August 2008 - 08:35 PM

Here is my tool and a finished end..
all the tool does is push the blue sleeve into the end..
the fitting sets on the mandrel and the silver part near the end presses against the blue on the fitting..

Not bad...a little more practice and you might be able to pass as a professional. :D

#16 OFFLINE   Tiger62

Tiger62

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 258 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 12 August 2008 - 09:05 PM

Here's a few "action" shots:

1. Stripped cable
2. Cable with fitting positioned
3. Fitting in compression tool.

If I understand the tool correctly, the "jaws" on the left side in pic 3 should grab the cable and press the fitting into place. Those jaws are not grabbing the cable, because the cable diameter is smaller.


How are you stripping the cable? There's no way the braid would extend that far back if it's stripped properly. It looks like you've not cut the braid at the point that the center dielectric is cut. Did you even use a stripper? Also, it looks like you haven't pushed the connector onto the cable before trying to crimp it. The center conductor should extend about a sixteenth of an inch beyond the end of the connector before you even attempt to crimp it. The compression tool doesn't grab the cable at all...it just pushes the two parts of the connector together.

#17 OFFLINE   66stang351

66stang351

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,212 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 12 August 2008 - 10:17 PM

Here's a few "action" shots:

1. Stripped cable
2. Cable with fitting positioned
3. Fitting in compression tool.

If I understand the tool correctly, the "jaws" on the left side in pic 3 should grab the cable and press the fitting into place. Those jaws are not grabbing the cable, because the cable diameter is smaller.


You shouldn't be peeling the wire braid back like that. Just strip the wire wire a coax stripper and the wire braid and foil should be cut at the same place as the dielectric.

#18 OFFLINE   JoeF

JoeF

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 121 posts
Joined: Aug 20, 2007

Posted 13 August 2008 - 05:35 AM

Thanks for all the replies. Looks like I have a few "technique" issues to deal with. I'll play around with it some more tonight and see what happens.

#19 OFFLINE   Lee L

Lee L

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,134 posts
Joined: Aug 15, 2002

Posted 13 August 2008 - 05:52 AM

The easiest way to strip the cable is to buy a stripping tool. I think Lowes and HD sell them for about $15. It will cut the outer sheath, braid and dielectric all at once. Then you slide the connector on without touching the braid beforehand and you are ready to compress.


DirecTV, please don't make me have to go back to watching March Madness in standard Def! Oh, and the usual begging for AMC and BBC America. You are so close to actually being the HD Leader.

#20 OFFLINE   Tiger62

Tiger62

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 258 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 13 August 2008 - 06:06 AM

Then you slide the connector on without touching the braid beforehand and you are ready to compress.


If you don't fold the braid back by hand before you slide the connector on, you're asking for trouble, IMO.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...