Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

To use SWM-8 (or not)


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   tweaked

tweaked

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 95 posts
Joined: Jul 01, 2008

Posted 13 August 2008 - 08:31 AM

Setup:

-Slim Line5 AU9
-OTA Antenna
-(2) HR-21-200 receivers
-AM21

I'm currently running 3 cables to one room (one of the three for OTA signals) and 2 cables to another room. I was considering an SWM-8 to migrate over to what's supposed to be a true, one wire solution and reduce the number of individual cables.

After reading several threads with respect to (current) SWM technology and its ability to combine OTA signals with same, seems a one wire solution's not so simple or reliable. It's appearing as if that regardless of how (or where) the OTA line's diplexed onto an SWM feed, there's either an RF loss or some sort of signal conflict somewhere in the setup, affecting either OTA quality, DBS function, or both.

Although I would like to reduce my cabling, I am in no way interested in compromising current signal strength or overall system integrity.

Question: Has anyone in a comparable situation had good results (not just acceptable), particularly with regard to OTA signal strength (no measured loss); if so, what’s your setup?

-Thanks in advance

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Kansas Zephyr

Kansas Zephyr

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,489 posts
Joined: Jun 29, 2007

Posted 13 August 2008 - 08:39 AM

Any time you split an OTA feed, you get loss. Whether you are diplexing, or not.

How many times are you splitting now, and how are you strengths?

If you will be splitting the same total number, and have >60% now, I think the SWM-8 diplex will work fine, as it has for me.

Just remember that the OTA is split once already, feeding two SWM outputs on the SWM-8 itself. So, I'd feed each HR21 with its own output.

I've never had an issue.
5 LNB Slimline & SWM-16
SWM1 2 HR20s & HR21 via SWS-4 "green label" 4-way splitter w/power pass one leg for PI - SWM2 2 HR20s & HR21 after SWS-4 "green label" 4-way splitter
2 HR20-700 Wireless network for DoD
HR20-700 eSATA Vantec NexStar CX w/ 2TB WD20EVDS
HR21-100/AM21 Wireless network for DoD
HR21-100/AM21
With diplexed OTA via an "out" on one SWS-4 4-way splitter, using a Winegard YA 1713 - Channel Master 4228 - Channel Master 7777 in the attic.
Yes, my market has HD LiLs...and I'm still not giving up OTA! No rain-fade, and all sub-channels 24/7/365.
Also, with diplexed Cox Internet on one leg, downstream of a SWS-4 4-way splitter, using a SWS-2 2-way splitter, as a combiner.
R10 via SWM-16 Legacy 1
In boxes HR10-250, HDVR2 & (2) D10-300

#3 OFFLINE   dave29

dave29

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,839 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2007

Posted 13 August 2008 - 08:40 AM

my ota works fine as it did before. but, why would you spend the money for a swm system if you already have all the cables there. i would leave it the way you have it

#4 OFFLINE   tweaked

tweaked

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 95 posts
Joined: Jul 01, 2008

Posted 13 August 2008 - 08:56 AM

...why would you spend the money for a swm system if you already have all the cables there...



Aesthetics as well as cable quality. If I'm able to replace all of my current (okay quality) CCS coax runs with just two lengths of a top quality, solid copper core variety while at the same time, improving the look of things (in terms of the number of cables running around my house), it's worth it to me.

#5 OFFLINE   dave29

dave29

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,839 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2007

Posted 13 August 2008 - 08:58 AM

i may be wrong..... but, when using a powered switch, it is not needed to use scc rg6, ccs is just fine

#6 OFFLINE   dave29

dave29

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,839 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2007

Posted 13 August 2008 - 09:00 AM

scc is only needed on passive switches to power the lnb

#7 OFFLINE   tweaked

tweaked

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 95 posts
Joined: Jul 01, 2008

Posted 13 August 2008 - 09:07 AM

Any time you split an OTA feed, you get loss. Whether you are diplexing, or not.

How many times are you splitting now, and how are you strengths?

If you will be splitting the same total number, and have >60% now, I think the SWM-8 diplex will work fine, as it has for me.

Just remember that the OTA is split once already, feeding two SWM outputs on the SWM-8 itself. So, I'd feed each HR21 with its own output.

I've never had an issue.


Currently, my OTA's not split (feeding one TV).

Re:Current signal strength. Per my Sony LCD's OTA signal readings and an HR21's... high 90's or 100% repspectively.

#8 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,859 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 13 August 2008 - 09:12 AM

scc is only needed on passive switches to power the lnb

But you still want it from the powered switch to the dish.
A.K.A VOS

#9 OFFLINE   tweaked

tweaked

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 95 posts
Joined: Jul 01, 2008

Posted 13 August 2008 - 09:20 AM

i may be wrong..... but, when using a powered switch, it is not needed to use scc rg6, ccs is just fine


Thanks Dave. I'm not converting over to SCC for power considerations alone (I think you're right BTW). As I'll require just two lengths of coax, each being <80ft., I might as well go with the finest quality (shouldn't hurt my bank accout :)).

#10 OFFLINE   Kansas Zephyr

Kansas Zephyr

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,489 posts
Joined: Jun 29, 2007

Posted 13 August 2008 - 09:23 AM

Currently, my OTA's not split (feeding one TV).

Re:Current signal strength. Per my Sony LCD's OTA signal readings and an HR21's... high 90's or 100% repspectively.

Then you should be fine.

YMMV
5 LNB Slimline & SWM-16
SWM1 2 HR20s & HR21 via SWS-4 "green label" 4-way splitter w/power pass one leg for PI - SWM2 2 HR20s & HR21 after SWS-4 "green label" 4-way splitter
2 HR20-700 Wireless network for DoD
HR20-700 eSATA Vantec NexStar CX w/ 2TB WD20EVDS
HR21-100/AM21 Wireless network for DoD
HR21-100/AM21
With diplexed OTA via an "out" on one SWS-4 4-way splitter, using a Winegard YA 1713 - Channel Master 4228 - Channel Master 7777 in the attic.
Yes, my market has HD LiLs...and I'm still not giving up OTA! No rain-fade, and all sub-channels 24/7/365.
Also, with diplexed Cox Internet on one leg, downstream of a SWS-4 4-way splitter, using a SWS-2 2-way splitter, as a combiner.
R10 via SWM-16 Legacy 1
In boxes HR10-250, HDVR2 & (2) D10-300

#11 OFFLINE   dave29

dave29

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,839 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2007

Posted 13 August 2008 - 09:49 AM

But you still want it from the powered switch to the dish.


always correcting me arent you:lol: :lol:

#12 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,859 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 13 August 2008 - 09:57 AM

always correcting me arent you:lol: :lol:

"You know" & "I know", but what about those that don't? ;)
A.K.A VOS

#13 OFFLINE   krock918316

krock918316

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,499 posts
Joined: Mar 05, 2007

Posted 13 August 2008 - 10:11 AM

I've had no problems diplexing in OTA to my SWM. I get the big three OTA (and at some pretty good distances - ABC at 5 miles, FOX at 52 miles, and CBS at 59 miles).

I originally had a SWM-5, with OTA diplexed in after the SWM. I have since upgraded to a SWM-8, and use the internal diplexer. No problems at all with either configuration.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...