Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HD install question....


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   tuskaloosa25

tuskaloosa25

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 36 posts
Joined: Aug 08, 2008

Posted 13 August 2008 - 12:33 PM

Help would be appreciated....

I am currently going through a fairly extensive renovation leaving me with out HD for 3 months....I want to run a new line into the bedroom, so at least we can watch in there...The dish is probably 75 feet from the room, is that too far? Secondly, does the run from the dish have to be RG-6? I tried running going through the lines that currently feed the older receivers, but I never get a signal.

Thanks!

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,849 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 13 August 2008 - 12:37 PM

Welcome to DBSTalk

You can use up to 125', but it should be RG6.

I was tweaking my dish with a short piece of RG59 and it wouldn't work. The center conductor simply didn't connect as it's smaller.
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   tuskaloosa25

tuskaloosa25

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 36 posts
Joined: Aug 08, 2008

Posted 13 August 2008 - 12:41 PM

Now that I think of it, it was 59....So rg-6 must go from the dish directly to the receiver?

Attic in Florida in August = no fun...

#4 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,849 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 13 August 2008 - 12:48 PM

Now that I think of it, it was 59....So rg-6 must go from the dish directly to the receiver?

Attic in Florida in August = no fun...

Well "try it" and if it doesn't work, you'll know why. :) or would it be :(
A.K.A VOS

#5 OFFLINE   Mertzen

Mertzen

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,682 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2006

Posted 13 August 2008 - 12:56 PM

Sometimes RG59 will work sometimes it won't. If it can be replaced do so. It will save you a big headache down the road.
No longer doing DBS work, but missing every moment of it.

#6 OFFLINE   tuskaloosa25

tuskaloosa25

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 36 posts
Joined: Aug 08, 2008

Posted 14 August 2008 - 04:35 PM

Ran 100' of RG-6, works fine....Thanks for the help...




Protected By... spam firewall...And...