Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

SWMLine problem, any help?


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   webby_s

webby_s

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,299 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2008

Posted 13 August 2008 - 10:05 PM

Me again with some more SWMLine questions, comments, concerns.

I have a newly installed SWMLine that I have had trouble with on one of my H21 receivers but nothing on my HR21 receiver. I have now all of the sudden been having with my HR receiver. I have had to reset the DVR twice in the last two days and I am worried that this may be a recurring theme. I pretty down right confident that I have installed everything correctly. I was gone for a week and I missed about 3 days of recordings because of the searching for signal/SWM problem.

So I guess I am wondering will this be a continued problem? Should I see about replacing PI, Splitter (SWS4 I can take a pic if you want the exact specific splitter) I have a feeling people will say the splitter may be my problem. Also I have heard people say they have had good luck with the CE program and SWM.

I want this SWMLine to work so bad but I have not had a good run. Please any suggestions.

Edit:
the PI is in a hotter humid climate right now (attic) could that cause something wrong? Cooler dryer area better?
SlimLine 5LNB SWM 16
HR34-700 -->52" Sharp Aquos LED
H25-100 -->32" Philips Master BD
HR21-100 -->19" Vizio LED Kitchen,
HR24-500 --> 50" Panasonic DLP
Hockey is not a sport in Minnesota, it is life.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   Kansas Zephyr

Kansas Zephyr

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,489 posts
Joined: Jun 29, 2007

Posted 13 August 2008 - 10:21 PM

Do you have stable AC?

Unclean power can be a problem.

Is the splitter after the PI? If, so remove it...feed just one IRD and see if you still have the issue. That's one you can quickly eliminate, if the problem persists.

Did you self-install? RG-6...compression connectors...how long is the run from the dish to the PI?
5 LNB Slimline & SWM-16
SWM1 2 HR20s & HR21 via SWS-4 "green label" 4-way splitter w/power pass one leg for PI - SWM2 2 HR20s & HR21 after SWS-4 "green label" 4-way splitter
2 HR20-700 Wireless network for DoD
HR20-700 eSATA Vantec NexStar CX w/ 2TB WD20EVDS
HR21-100/AM21 Wireless network for DoD
HR21-100/AM21
With diplexed OTA via an "out" on one SWS-4 4-way splitter, using a Winegard YA 1713 - Channel Master 4228 - Channel Master 7777 in the attic.
Yes, my market has HD LiLs...and I'm still not giving up OTA! No rain-fade, and all sub-channels 24/7/365.
Also, with diplexed Cox Internet on one leg, downstream of a SWS-4 4-way splitter, using a SWS-2 2-way splitter, as a combiner.
R10 via SWM-16 Legacy 1
In boxes HR10-250, HDVR2 & (2) D10-300

#3 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,991 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 13 August 2008 - 11:09 PM

Edit: the PI is in a hotter humid climate right now (attic) could that cause something wrong? Cooler dryer area better?

Step number 1, get it out of the attic.
They aren't made to be there.
Move it to next to one of your receivers and make sure it's on the power passing port of the splitter.
I have a SWMLine and am using Shywalker splitters and have no problems.
A.K.A VOS

#4 OFFLINE   webby_s

webby_s

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,299 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2008

Posted 13 August 2008 - 11:22 PM

Do you have stable AC?

Unclean power can be a problem.

Is the splitter after the PI? If, so remove it...feed just one IRD and see if you still have the issue. That's one you can quickly eliminate, if the problem persists.

Did you self-install? RG-6...compression connectors...how long is the run from the dish to the PI?


Awesome Thanks Kansas Zephyr I will answer your questions:

As far as I know the power is clean but I suppose I could hook up a strength meter. I have a light after the PI's outlet and that seems to work fine.

Yes the splitter is after the PI

Yes it is a self install. It is all RG6 cabling. The only thing is, I have single splitters as I have added to some lines while removing RG5 cable runs from cable co.

I have compression fittings on all cables.

Another issue I have noticed: The single strength meter goes as such when I have the issues, and this is just examples:
92 0 89 0 0 88 0 90
91 86 0 88 0 93 89 0

Like I said this is just an example not exact numbers. I wrote them to represent the number of zero and in the pattern that I am getting them. Like every other one. Or more less speratic so that is why I may believe it to be a power issue but I can go 6 hours without any issues.
SlimLine 5LNB SWM 16
HR34-700 -->52" Sharp Aquos LED
H25-100 -->32" Philips Master BD
HR21-100 -->19" Vizio LED Kitchen,
HR24-500 --> 50" Panasonic DLP
Hockey is not a sport in Minnesota, it is life.

#5 OFFLINE   webby_s

webby_s

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,299 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2008

Posted 13 August 2008 - 11:30 PM

Step number 1, get it out of the attic.
They aren't made to be there.
Move it to next to one of your receivers and make sure it's on the power passing port of the splitter.
I have a SWMLine and am using Shywalker splitters and have no problems.


Thanks VOS. I should admit that the PI is in a location with a lot of temp fluctuations and right now humid as it has rain some the last couple of days.

Also I didn't mention that from the LNB ODU cable run is about 6 feet.
SlimLine 5LNB SWM 16
HR34-700 -->52" Sharp Aquos LED
H25-100 -->32" Philips Master BD
HR21-100 -->19" Vizio LED Kitchen,
HR24-500 --> 50" Panasonic DLP
Hockey is not a sport in Minnesota, it is life.

#6 OFFLINE   Kansas Zephyr

Kansas Zephyr

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,489 posts
Joined: Jun 29, 2007

Posted 13 August 2008 - 11:33 PM

Step number 1, get it out of the attic.
They aren't made to be there.
Move it to next to one of your receivers and make sure it's on the power passing port of the splitter.

+1

Yes...remove the PI and replace it with the splitter. Use the power pass leg to feed one IRD and have the PI near that IRD.
5 LNB Slimline & SWM-16
SWM1 2 HR20s & HR21 via SWS-4 "green label" 4-way splitter w/power pass one leg for PI - SWM2 2 HR20s & HR21 after SWS-4 "green label" 4-way splitter
2 HR20-700 Wireless network for DoD
HR20-700 eSATA Vantec NexStar CX w/ 2TB WD20EVDS
HR21-100/AM21 Wireless network for DoD
HR21-100/AM21
With diplexed OTA via an "out" on one SWS-4 4-way splitter, using a Winegard YA 1713 - Channel Master 4228 - Channel Master 7777 in the attic.
Yes, my market has HD LiLs...and I'm still not giving up OTA! No rain-fade, and all sub-channels 24/7/365.
Also, with diplexed Cox Internet on one leg, downstream of a SWS-4 4-way splitter, using a SWS-2 2-way splitter, as a combiner.
R10 via SWM-16 Legacy 1
In boxes HR10-250, HDVR2 & (2) D10-300

#7 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,991 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 14 August 2008 - 01:19 AM

Also I didn't mention that from the LNB ODU cable run is about 6 feet.

#2 would be to use at least 15'.
The SWM8 to PI should have 15', and the SWMLine is really just the SWM8 "at the dish", so your 6' seems a bit short.
A.K.A VOS

#8 OFFLINE   webby_s

webby_s

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,299 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2008

Posted 14 August 2008 - 08:56 AM

Thanks all. It is in like a garage area that is not climate controlled. And right now I don't have the air on in the house so there is not much climate difference between the garage and house.

I hope to put up some pics here to show somewhat of my setup.

Posted Image

Posted Image
(SWS4 2-2150mhz)
If you want any more info I can easily get. I have had to reset all three boxes this morning.:mad:
SlimLine 5LNB SWM 16
HR34-700 -->52" Sharp Aquos LED
H25-100 -->32" Philips Master BD
HR21-100 -->19" Vizio LED Kitchen,
HR24-500 --> 50" Panasonic DLP
Hockey is not a sport in Minnesota, it is life.

#9 OFFLINE   webby_s

webby_s

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,299 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2008

Posted 14 August 2008 - 09:12 AM

#2 would be to use at least 15'. so your 6' seems a bit short.


I guess I just think it's weird that having a 'shorter' run is not recommended. I was always under the impression that the shorter the better so I maxed it out at about 6ft from dish to PI (garage).
SlimLine 5LNB SWM 16
HR34-700 -->52" Sharp Aquos LED
H25-100 -->32" Philips Master BD
HR21-100 -->19" Vizio LED Kitchen,
HR24-500 --> 50" Panasonic DLP
Hockey is not a sport in Minnesota, it is life.

#10 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,991 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 14 August 2008 - 09:17 AM

I guess I just think it's weird that having a 'shorter' run is not recommended. I was always under the impression that the shorter the better so I maxed it out at about 6ft from dish to PI (garage).

"While shorter IS better", with the SWM5/8, they found a bad RF match off the PI, and this is where the 15' minimum came from.
Do you think the PI is getting over 110 degrees?
A.K.A VOS

#11 OFFLINE   teebeebee1

teebeebee1

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 413 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2006

Posted 14 August 2008 - 09:50 AM

Me again with some more SWMLine questions, comments, concerns.

I have a newly installed SWMLine that I have had trouble with on one of my H21 receivers but nothing on my HR21 receiver. I have now all of the sudden been having with my HR receiver. I have had to reset the DVR twice in the last two days and I am worried that this may be a recurring theme. I pretty down right confident that I have installed everything correctly. I was gone for a week and I missed about 3 days of recordings because of the searching for signal/SWM problem.

So I guess I am wondering will this be a continued problem? Should I see about replacing PI, Splitter (SWS4 I can take a pic if you want the exact specific splitter) I have a feeling people will say the splitter may be my problem. Also I have heard people say they have had good luck with the CE program and SWM.

I want this SWMLine to work so bad but I have not had a good run. Please any suggestions.

Edit:
the PI is in a hotter humid climate right now (attic) could that cause something wrong? Cooler dryer area better?



I've had to rest my HDDVR 3 times in the last couple days, keeps getting stuck on the 750/olympic channels, i'm sure it's not your swm just the transition of channels

When you turn on the dvr is it all black ? that's what mine has been doing

#12 OFFLINE   webby_s

webby_s

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,299 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2008

Posted 14 August 2008 - 10:20 AM

Do you think the PI is getting over 110 degrees?


No not at all. 90degrees max and today probably 75 right now.

I have bi-passed my splitter right now. I have my IRD out of the PI right to my HR 21. I will keep the DVR and TV on while working around the house and see if I have any issues. While passing through the living room I will turn the channel as much as possible and do things that have caused the problem in the past two days.:grin:

Thanks all again for helping.
SlimLine 5LNB SWM 16
HR34-700 -->52" Sharp Aquos LED
H25-100 -->32" Philips Master BD
HR21-100 -->19" Vizio LED Kitchen,
HR24-500 --> 50" Panasonic DLP
Hockey is not a sport in Minnesota, it is life.

#13 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,991 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 14 August 2008 - 10:53 AM

No not at all. 90degrees max and today probably 75 right now.

I have bi-passed my splitter right now. I have my IRD out of the PI right to my HR 21. I will keep the DVR and TV on while working around the house and see if I have any issues. While passing through the living room I will turn the channel as much as possible and do things that have caused the problem in the past two days.:grin:

Thanks all again for helping.

Attics can get much hotter than either the room/house or the outside temp.
This is the concern with having the PI up there.
A.K.A VOS

#14 OFFLINE   webby_s

webby_s

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,299 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2008

Posted 14 August 2008 - 12:06 PM

Thanks VOS. I should have not said Attic as it isn't really an attic. It is in the garage that is obviously well ventilated but not climate controlled. I said attic because it is right below the garage ceiling and there is no insulation as you can tell from the pics.

Now on to what I have done; Like I said I bi-passed my splitter and I have not had any issues what-so-ever with my HR. I must have to get a different splitter as this one must not work in my setup. I will look into approved splitters and go and get one from my local Radio Shack. Any recommendations?
SlimLine 5LNB SWM 16
HR34-700 -->52" Sharp Aquos LED
H25-100 -->32" Philips Master BD
HR21-100 -->19" Vizio LED Kitchen,
HR24-500 --> 50" Panasonic DLP
Hockey is not a sport in Minnesota, it is life.

#15 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,991 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 14 August 2008 - 12:14 PM

Thanks VOS. I should have not said Attic as it isn't really an attic. It is in the garage that is obviously well ventilated but not climate controlled. I said attic because it is right below the garage ceiling and there is no insulation as you can tell from the pics.

Now on to what I have done; Like I said I bi-passed my splitter and I have not had any issues what-so-ever with my HR. I must have to get a different splitter as this one must not work in my setup. I will look into approved splitters and go and get one from my local Radio Shack. Any recommendations?

I and many others have had ZERO problems with Skywalker splitters. I use a 2-way before the PI and a 4-way after.
I should have bought stock in here :lol: : http://www.a1compone...?search=steered
A.K.A VOS

#16 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 14 August 2008 - 12:16 PM

These guys have the full line of approved splitters at what seems like a reasonable cost. Also the SWM8 for $139

http://www.techtoolsupply.com/
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#17 OFFLINE   MIAMI1683

MIAMI1683

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,570 posts
Joined: Jul 11, 2007

Posted 14 August 2008 - 12:21 PM

I and many others have had ZERO problems with Skywalker splitters. I use a 2-way before the PI and a 4-way after.
I should have bought stock in here :lol: : http://www.a1compone...?search=steered


I am using skywalkers also. For what its worth. My H21 had problems remember? I moved the PI on front of the H21 and it works perfectly now.
Sometimes it just is what it is :nono2:

#18 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,991 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 14 August 2008 - 12:24 PM

I am using skywalkers also. For what its worth. My H21 had problems remember? I moved the PI on front of the H21 and it works perfectly now.

Didn't you also have some hardware changed/swapped/replaced?
A.K.A VOS

#19 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 14 August 2008 - 12:24 PM

:lol: :lol: :lol:
SWM9
:lol: :lol: :lol:


:rolleyes:

Proud graduate of the HDTVSportsfan schol of speeling adn tiping. :lol:
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#20 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,991 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 14 August 2008 - 12:26 PM

:rolleyes:

Proud graduate of the HDTVSportsfan schol of speeling adn tiping. :lol:

And knowing this my post count is now down by one. ;)
A.K.A VOS




Protected By... spam firewall...And...