Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

SONY Incompatible with 501 VOD 1080p?


  • Please log in to reply
46 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   dschneider

dschneider

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 45 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2007

Posted 15 August 2008 - 03:57 PM

I finally got the I Am Legend download today (8/15!) only to find that I flunked the Dish compatibility test, despite the fact that my TV DOES absolutely support 1080/24p as clearly stated in the owners manual. When the test came back as failed, I got a screen that said that it didn't necessarily mean the TV didn't support 1080p, just that it wasn't compatible with "this event." My TV is a one year old Sony KDL-46V3000, hooked up to a 722 via HDMI. Everything works fine at 1080i, just no 1080p VOD. :mad:

Anybody else having problems with Sony HDTV compatibility? Any known compatiblity issues? Any hope of getting it resolved?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   fmcomputer

fmcomputer

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 149 posts
  • LocationYpungstown. Ohio
Joined: Oct 14, 2006

Posted 15 August 2008 - 04:13 PM

I had the same exact problem with a Samsung HLS5687WX/XAA system, hooked up to a 622 via HDMI.



VIDEO - Display Device : Single digital micro mirror device
Pixel Count : 1920 horizontal x 1080 vertical
Segment Color Wheel : 55 mm/5 segment
Resolution : 1080p
Contrast ratio : 10,000:1
Channel Coverage : VHF 2-13
UHF 14-69
CATV 1-125 (up to 181 pre-selected
channels).
ATSC 1-69

I thought I would ask here before calling tech support..

#3 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,890 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 15 August 2008 - 04:21 PM

Did you guys check at AVSforum are your HDTV sets really support of 1080p24 ? Manual is not final judgment.

#4 OFFLINE   Bobby H

Bobby H

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 231 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2008

Posted 15 August 2008 - 05:06 PM

Do you actually have to buy the I Am Legend PPV title just to run the test?

I have the impression the 1080p implementation on ViP series receivers isn't compatible with a number of true 1080p/24 capable televisions. I own a Sony Bravia KDL52XBR4 model. It truly supports 1080p/24, 120Hz and 5:5 pull-down of 1080p/24 content. Something would have to be very wrong if that TV failed the E* 1080p/24 compatibility test.

#5 OFFLINE   dschneider

dschneider

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 45 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2007

Posted 15 August 2008 - 05:15 PM

Did you guys check at AVSforum are your HDTV sets really support of 1080p24 ? Manual is not final judgment.


Browsed around the AVSforum and saw remarks about this tv (sony kdl-46v3000) indicating that it supports 1080/24p input with 3:2 pulldown. Seems to be that it is 1080p native, but not 1080/24p native. Not sure what the implications are with regard to VOD 1080p compatibility. What exactly do you need to have to work with it?

#6 OFFLINE   fmcomputer

fmcomputer

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 149 posts
  • LocationYpungstown. Ohio
Joined: Oct 14, 2006

Posted 15 August 2008 - 05:16 PM

No you don't have to buy it. I just ran the compatible test, and it failed. I called tech support, and they told me to go into HDTV setup and check TV TYPE and 1080P is not listed. According to tech support it should be there if your set supports 1080P. I do not think they are correct. Does anyone have 1080P listed in TV TYPE.

#7 OFFLINE   dschneider

dschneider

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 45 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2007

Posted 15 August 2008 - 05:19 PM

Do you actually have to buy the I Am Legend PPV title just to run the test?.


No -- just hit RENT and it will run the test. If it doesn't work, you will get a screen that allows you to cancel, or rent the movie in "another resolution compatible with your tv." So it doesn't cost anything to try. I ran multiple tests trying different menu settings/whatever else I could think of. Let us know what happens with your Sony!

#8 OFFLINE   dschneider

dschneider

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 45 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2007

Posted 15 August 2008 - 05:21 PM

No you don't have to buy it. I just ran the compatible test, and it failed. I called tech support, and they told me to go into HDTV setup and check TV TYPE and 1080P is not listed. According to tech support it should be there if your set supports 1080P. I do not think they are correct. Does anyone have 1080P listed in TV TYPE.


That is total BS. That is a user-selectable option and there is no selection for 1080p. The highest is 1080i.

#9 OFFLINE   fmcomputer

fmcomputer

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 149 posts
  • LocationYpungstown. Ohio
Joined: Oct 14, 2006

Posted 15 August 2008 - 05:28 PM

That is total BS. That is a user-selectable option and there is no selection for 1080p. The highest is 1080i.


I just called tech support again, and they old me this time that a new software version 6.14 will fix the problem. If I call 6 more times I bet I get 6 different answers. What a bunch of crap !!!!!!!!!!!

#10 OFFLINE   Taco Lover

Taco Lover

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 719 posts
Joined: Jan 08, 2007

Posted 15 August 2008 - 05:37 PM

No -- just hit RENT and it will run the test. If it doesn't work, you will get a screen that allows you to cancel, or rent the movie in "another resolution compatible with your tv." So it doesn't cost anything to try. I ran multiple tests trying different menu settings/whatever else I could think of. Let us know what happens with your Sony!

So are you stuck with the movie if you hit RENT and it passes the test?
_________________________
The Taco Lover

#11 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,431 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 15 August 2008 - 05:46 PM

Oh good. Let's roll out 1080p beginning July 31 with release 6.10 and start discussing 6.14 by August 15 as the solution to making it work. Note, these are not fixes for some unanticipated side effect. On July 31 after receiving 6.10 on my 722 the "Movies on demand" was giving me a smart card error. So I called Tech Support and I was advised they were aware of the problem.

It's no big deal, but what? Marketing had the advertising ready, so even though programming didn't have time to test the software out it came?:nono2:

#12 OFFLINE   dschneider

dschneider

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 45 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2007

Posted 15 August 2008 - 06:21 PM

So are you stuck with the movie if you hit RENT and it passes the test?


Would love to know the answer to that one, but I never managed to get that far!

#13 OFFLINE   sgt940

sgt940

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 131 posts
Joined: Jan 09, 2004

Posted 16 August 2008 - 07:35 AM

I have a one year old sony SXRD2, same issue. Currently plays Blue Ray in 1080p, as well I have a PC with a 1080P gaming card and is supports it as well, I assume this is another Dishnetwork almost capatable issue, all about marketing.

#14 OFFLINE   Taco Lover

Taco Lover

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 719 posts
Joined: Jan 08, 2007

Posted 16 August 2008 - 09:21 AM

Would love to know the answer to that one, but I never managed to get that far!

According to the Help screen for this rental:

If your TV is compatible, the receiver automatically outputs 1080p

Not sure if you still get a "do you want to continue" screen, though.
_________________________
The Taco Lover

#15 OFFLINE   tcatdbs

tcatdbs

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 567 posts
Joined: Jul 10, 2008

Posted 16 August 2008 - 10:37 AM

Mine was incompatable, but I hit rent anyway. Output 1080i, and I was very happy... I doubt you can "see" the difference... But, yeah Dish should get their crap together with all this 1080P marketing and not being able to provide it but to 1 in 10000 TV sets.

#16 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 18 August 2008 - 11:33 AM

Here is AVS Forum's list of TVs that properly support 1080/24p:

http://www.avsforum....ad.php?t=997138

#17 OFFLINE   lwien

lwien

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2008

Posted 18 August 2008 - 11:41 AM

Here is AVS Forum's list of TVs that properly support 1080/24p:

http://www.avsforum....ad.php?t=997138


That list doesn't mean squat. My TV, a Sony A3000, is on that list, and yet is incompatible with 1080p on Dish.

#18 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,473 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 18 August 2008 - 08:26 PM

Dish appears to be still working out the spec for 1080p. Direct has it in beta also.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#19 OFFLINE   lwien

lwien

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2008

Posted 18 August 2008 - 09:48 PM

Dish is constantly working out the spec on one thing or another, and in a way, that's a good thing, but when I talked to 3rd tier support, they told me that I was the only one having this issue and that I should take it up with Sony.

Arggggg........................

#20 OFFLINE   dschneider

dschneider

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 45 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2007

Posted 19 August 2008 - 08:45 AM

Dish is constantly working out the spec on one thing or another, and in a way, that's a good thing, but when I talked to 3rd tier support, they told me that I was the only one having this issue and that I should take it up with Sony.

Arggggg........................



In addition to the posts here, I see on other forums a general consensus that the Dish 1080p will not work with Sony 1080p equipment, period. Haven't been able to find a single instance of a Sony TV working with the Dish 1080p VOD. Anybody out there with a Sony that has gotten this to pass the test?




Protected By... spam firewall...And...