Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

HD Locals: Wilkes-Barre-Scranton, PA


  • Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,917 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 26 August 2008 - 10:53 PM

DMA: Wilkes-Barre-Scranton, PA
Established: 1/3/2008


Edited by Gary Toma, 04 July 2014 - 07:01 PM.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   dconfer

dconfer

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 247 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 03 December 2008 - 04:03 PM

Anybody notice that their is audio trouble on wyou. Its out of synch with the video. It has been like this since at least 2 this afternoon and still like it. The recording of as the world turns is out of synch so I check live and yup its out. I rebooted my HR20-700 but it is still out of synch.


It was back to normal this morning 12/4/08

#3 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,917 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 26 February 2009 - 04:17 PM

Added MNT - WQMY (53) to the lineup
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#4 OFFLINE   dvisthe

dvisthe

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 156 posts
Joined: May 26, 2007

Posted 27 February 2009 - 12:34 PM

Added MNT - WQMY (53) to the lineup


Someone on another forum proclaims that WQMY is being uplinked as MPEG4 because there is no room on 119 satellite, and that it isn't the HD feed because they don't have one. (They do have a DT signal) Being MPEG4 would be a good reason to support needing BBC's.

???????


We don't know if this channel is 'HD' or 'SD MPEG4'.

#5 OFFLINE   JJEdwards

JJEdwards

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Jul 04, 2007

Posted 06 March 2009 - 02:36 PM

I have had trouble with my HD signal since I signed on for HD. It is mostly my locals but other national channels have gone out too.
There are no obstructions to my dish at all and somedays the signal goes out when there isn't a cloud in the sky. I had technicians come out twice for adjusments. The most recent time, I lost my local channels the day after he was here. Sometimes the signal will be in the low 30's sometimes it will be in the mid 80's. Like I said this is on a sunny clear day too.
I was told the local HD's in this area come off of satellite 103(a) or (B) for my other receiver. Can anyone verify that so I know what I'm looking at when I check signal strength?
This is a roof mounted dish with no tree or mountain obstructions. it seems pretty solid so I don't think the wind is affecting it. Could it be the heat on my roof?
The are scheduled to return this weekend to check it out. Customer service hooked me up with their case management team this time for a recurring problem. I'll have to admit that their customer service has been good over the phone but I ask myself, why did I buy TV's totaling $3000 and why am I paying over $80 a month for a service that doesn't work when I mainly watch just the HD channels?

#6 OFFLINE   dvisthe

dvisthe

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 156 posts
Joined: May 26, 2007

Posted 13 March 2009 - 11:21 AM

Added MNT - WQMY (53) to the lineup



Not an HD channel. just a mpeg-4 local channel.
http://www.directv.c...requestid=63341

#7 OFFLINE   dvisthe

dvisthe

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 156 posts
Joined: May 26, 2007

Posted 30 March 2009 - 06:55 AM

Need to add PBS - WVIA (44) to the Original Post:)

and remove MNT - WQMY (53) since it is not an HD channel

#8 OFFLINE   wilmot3

wilmot3

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 200 posts
Joined: Jul 24, 2007

Posted 24 May 2009 - 05:04 PM

anybody know what happen .....d* is giveing us the fox out of NY but i guess they don't have a MY out of NY

#9 OFFLINE   Eskimo

Eskimo

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 92 posts
Joined: Aug 02, 2010

Posted 28 October 2010 - 04:03 PM

Anyone know if the SD-looking feed from WBRE for their news broadcast is on the station's side, or what? I can't stand watching WNEP, but their news broadcasts are sooo much sharper.
Rich in PA...

H24-700 - MBR 32" Vizio
HR24-200 - Great Room 50" Panny plasma w/ sound bar
HR24-200 - Theater room 128" 2.35:1 screen, Emotiva UMC-1, Klipsch KLF/KSP 7.1 speakers / Fi subs (18" x2), 3300 watts RMS.
MRV, ICK..

#10 OFFLINE   KyL416

KyL416

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,866 posts
  • LocationTobyhanna, PA
Joined: Nov 10, 2005

Posted 04 January 2011 - 07:19 PM

WBRE still produces their news in SD.

WNEP uses digital widescreen

#11 OFFLINE   Eskimo

Eskimo

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 92 posts
Joined: Aug 02, 2010

Posted 04 January 2011 - 07:58 PM

WBRE still produces their news in SD.

WNEP uses digital widescreen



Thanks for the info...
Rich in PA...

H24-700 - MBR 32" Vizio
HR24-200 - Great Room 50" Panny plasma w/ sound bar
HR24-200 - Theater room 128" 2.35:1 screen, Emotiva UMC-1, Klipsch KLF/KSP 7.1 speakers / Fi subs (18" x2), 3300 watts RMS.
MRV, ICK..

#12 OFFLINE   dvisthe

dvisthe

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 156 posts
Joined: May 26, 2007

Posted 12 January 2011 - 08:13 AM

WBRE still produces their news in SD.

WNEP uses digital widescreen


Looks like WNEP newscasts will be going HD soon!

I have no idea when, but they are in the process of constructing a new set to accommodate.

#13 OFFLINE   Eskimo

Eskimo

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 92 posts
Joined: Aug 02, 2010

Posted 12 January 2011 - 08:27 AM

Looks like WNEP newscasts will be going HD soon!

I have no idea when, but they are in the process of constructing a new set to accommodate.


I thought it was already HD.. it just looks SO much better than WBRE! I just can't stand the newscasters... but now that Kristi Capel is gone from WBRE, I might need to change.

P.S. I'm sending an e-mail to WBRE to ask them about their plans to upgrade to HD, in an effort to BEG them to do it quickly..

Edited by Eskimo, 12 January 2011 - 08:34 AM.

Rich in PA...

H24-700 - MBR 32" Vizio
HR24-200 - Great Room 50" Panny plasma w/ sound bar
HR24-200 - Theater room 128" 2.35:1 screen, Emotiva UMC-1, Klipsch KLF/KSP 7.1 speakers / Fi subs (18" x2), 3300 watts RMS.
MRV, ICK..

#14 OFFLINE   Eskimo

Eskimo

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 92 posts
Joined: Aug 02, 2010

Posted 12 January 2011 - 10:37 AM

Got a reply already..

Rich;
Thank you for your input. We do have plans this year to enhance how we display information such as school closing. Below are some details (I don’t have a specific time table but we expect official budget approval very soon). You can also find this info at http://pahomepage.com/dtvanswers
Gary Talkiewicz-Chief Engineer
[FONT="]WBRE-TV[/FONT]
[FONT="]62 South Franklin St.[/FONT]
[FONT="]Wilkes-Barre, PA 18701-1201[/FONT]
[FONT="]570-706-7328[/FONT]
[FONT="]Gtalkiewicz@pahomepage.com[/FONT]
[FONT="][/FONT]

HD Questions:
WBRE and WYOU hope to broadcast more HD shows such as Jeopardy in the future. We pass through any/all HD programming that is supplied to us through our respective Network or national program suppliers. We do not have a firm time-table as to when the various HD shows will occur locally or when we will increase our count of HD shows. We do not offer sub-channels at this time.
We are also planning ways to enhance our delivery of Emergency and Closings information. This type of information is presented by either squeezing program content to make room for additional text , or by covering a portion of the video program with the additional text. Network and Program syndicators specify rigid rules as to what, where, and when we can cover their program content. This cannot always be produced in a way suitable to all. Our commitment to Emergency, Safety, and Public closing content takes precedence over our presentation method. Television facilities are quite complicated. For example, most of our video is in the standard definition digital format, most of our audio is in analog format. We must manage over 128 different such video and audio sources. In order to process and broadcast HD video, we bring in signals either direct from the network via HD satellite receivers or from additional satellite receivers. These receivers cover the case where signals are delivered to us live. We will be working towards acquiring more signals in HD but we must do this concurrent when adding the ability to store these signals on video servers (computer based storage systems). Commercial Broadcaster have been involved with this entire DTV project since the late 1990s. We have expended a great deal of time and money to upgrade our tower sites, transmitters, internal infrastructure as well as to keep current with normal upgrades of equipment. We have not finished adding features and we will continue to do so to provide quality service to our viewers.
We appreciate your input and look forward to offering more HD in the future.
Gary Talkiewicz-Chief Engineer
WBRE-TV
62 South Franklin St.
Wilkes-Barre, PA 18701-1201
Gtalkiewicz@pahomepage.com
If you need any more information please visit pahomepage.com/dtvanswers/.
Rich in PA...

H24-700 - MBR 32" Vizio
HR24-200 - Great Room 50" Panny plasma w/ sound bar
HR24-200 - Theater room 128" 2.35:1 screen, Emotiva UMC-1, Klipsch KLF/KSP 7.1 speakers / Fi subs (18" x2), 3300 watts RMS.
MRV, ICK..

#15 OFFLINE   dvisthe

dvisthe

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 156 posts
Joined: May 26, 2007

Posted 08 July 2011 - 08:33 PM

WNEP Newscast to be in HD for the first time 6pm tomorrow (Saturday July 9th).

#16 OFFLINE   dconfer

dconfer

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 247 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 07 December 2011 - 06:19 AM

Last night and this morning I noticed that the HD feed for fox is now SD. Wonder if D* lost the rights to the hd feed. Tv says is SD and the picture is really small in the center of the screen.

#17 OFFLINE   captaink5217

captaink5217

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 155 posts
Joined: Sep 20, 2011

Posted 07 December 2011 - 11:26 AM

Mine is still hd, I really wish they would add cw and my in hd watching vampire diaries in horrible sd stinks.
Genie HR34-700
H24-200
C31-700

#18 OFFLINE   dconfer

dconfer

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 247 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 07 December 2011 - 04:56 PM

All three of my boxes HR24 and h24 when I tune to 56 go to 480i and now 53 has a banner saying they know their is a problem.

#19 OFFLINE   dconfer

dconfer

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 247 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 07 December 2011 - 05:03 PM

This is posted on the fox 56 web site.
Guess there high def signal is out for D*.


Transmission Line Failure at FOX56 WOLF-TV


Posted: Dec 05, 2011 3:40 PM EST Updated: Dec 07, 2011 3:52 PM EST


PLAINS, PA - WOLF-TV, Northeast and Central Pennsylvania’s FOX station experienced a transmission line failure on Sunday, December 4th. This failure also affected CW and My Net coverage in parts of the viewing area.



The tower’s transmitter facilities are located on Penobscot Mountain; the damage to the transmission line was initially caused by three high powered bullets piercing the 5” Heliax transmission line causing a catastrophic failure.



Ninety percent of Northeast Pennsylvania continues to see FOX, The CW and My Network TV without interruption. Over-the-air viewers affected by the problem can view the FOX signal on the Me-TV Network channel 38.2.



“We are outraged at this pointless criminal act and we are working diligently to restore all of our signals to Northeast PA for our free over-the-air television viewers and cables systems affected by the outage,” commented Jon Cadman, General Manager FOX56 WOLF-TV.



The FOX56 SD signal was restored to Direct TV and Dish Network earlier in the week. Most cable systems continue to receive the Fox56, CW and My Network signals via fiber and therefore were not affected

#20 OFFLINE   crcucb

crcucb

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 30 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2007

Posted 12 December 2011 - 09:27 PM

This is posted on the fox 56 web site.
Guess there high def signal is out for D*.


Transmission Line Failure at FOX56 WOLF-TV


Posted: Dec 05, 2011 3:40 PM EST Updated: Dec 07, 2011 3:52 PM EST


That would explain why my Fox 56 hasn't been in HD for the past week.




spam firewall