Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

HD Locals: Cincinnati, OH


  • Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,929 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 26 August 2008 - 10:54 PM

DMA: Cincinnati, OH
Established: 9/27/2006



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   dkeeton09

dkeeton09

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Sep 10, 2008

Posted 10 October 2008 - 09:30 AM

ABC - WCPO (9), NBC - WLWT (5), FOX - WXIX (19); are all missing the closed captioning. Captioning for every other HD channel is fine, and the SD channels for each are fine as well, but ABC HD has had no captioning since at least 10/03/08, NBC and FOX have been missing since at least 10/06/08.

We reported it to DirecTV who first said we didn't have the captioning turned on properly, but we do since it works on every other station. Then stated it was because we have On-Demand setup on the receiver, but we have a 2nd HD receiver that is not networked and it has the exact same problem. They then said it is the station's fault, which seemed odd since those same stations have captions from our OTA inputs.

As of this morning, all 3 were still missing captions.

#3 OFFLINE   LazyRiver

LazyRiver

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Jul 16, 2007

Posted 13 October 2008 - 12:33 AM

ABC - WCPO (9), NBC - WLWT (5), FOX - WXIX (19); are all missing the closed captioning. Captioning for every other HD channel is fine, and the SD channels for each are fine as well, but ABC HD has had no captioning since at least 10/03/08, NBC and FOX have been missing since at least 10/06/08..



Same problem for me...:(

Is anyone looking in to this?

LR
--

#4 OFFLINE   dkeeton09

dkeeton09

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Sep 10, 2008

Posted 14 October 2008 - 07:14 AM

On 10/13, captioning returned for all but NBC - WLWT (5) HD.

#5 OFFLINE   cadet502

cadet502

    FHNSAB

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 846 posts
Joined: Jun 17, 2005

Posted 21 October 2008 - 06:47 PM

Awful amount of pixellation on WKRC tonight during NCIS. We're about a half hour behind actual, so I can't stop and check signal strenght. Is anyone else seeing this?

#6 OFFLINE   bschroed

bschroed

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Oct 05, 2005

Posted 21 October 2008 - 07:42 PM

Yes, my wife is just now watching NCIS, and I have heard the complaints about how bad it is. Any way to find out what's going on?

#7 OFFLINE   LazyRiver

LazyRiver

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Jul 16, 2007

Posted 28 October 2008 - 06:48 PM

Channel 9 (ABC) is terrible tonight between 8:00 and 8:40. Pixellation and breakup. It looks as if there is a bad storm (there is not). The other locals look fine. It made the Great Pumpkin "not so great".

LR
--

HR20-100

#8 OFFLINE   jleupen

jleupen

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 120 posts
Joined: Jul 26, 2007

Posted 28 November 2008 - 01:44 PM

Channel 9 (ABC) is terrible today during the West Virginia - Pittsburgh game. Tons of pixelation and breakup. Having the same problem on both DirecTV and OTA.

Wish DirecTV would open up the National Feed...
5 LNB Dish & Zinwell WB68 Multiswitch
OTA Antenna in Attic

Family Room: HR22-100 > Samsung 46" UN46B6000 LED
Media Room: HR20-100 > Samsung 55" UN55C6300 LED
Bedroom: H20-100 > Samsung 22" LN22B360 1080p LCD

#9 OFFLINE   MarkN

MarkN

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 258 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2007

Posted 28 November 2008 - 06:18 PM

I am receiving a black screen on the local CBS HD channel with sound from the local ABC HD channel....the standard channel is fine

#10 OFFLINE   cadet502

cadet502

    FHNSAB

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 846 posts
Joined: Jun 17, 2005

Posted 14 December 2008 - 01:06 PM

Significant audio delay on Fox 19 HD from Directv today during the Bengals game. I've tried all the pause, rewind tricks, still there. The delay does not exist on OTA direct to the TV or through the HR20-700.

#11 OFFLINE   dorfd1

dorfd1

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 969 posts
Joined: Jul 15, 2008

Posted 17 December 2008 - 09:54 AM

every channel is out.

#12 OFFLINE   MarkN

MarkN

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 258 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2007

Posted 16 January 2009 - 03:53 PM

anyone know whats going on with wlwt-hd?...its been out for the last 6 hrs

#13 OFFLINE   dmoney_70

dmoney_70

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2008

Posted 10 February 2009 - 08:23 AM

The audio sync is so far off it's unwatchable. I DVR'd 24 last night and when I went to watch it, it was unbearable. I simply deleted the recording and will catch it online. It is Fox 19 and only on the DirecTV feed.

#14 OFFLINE   MarkN

MarkN

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 258 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2007

Posted 10 February 2009 - 09:59 AM

seems like this happens w/wxix quite often

#15 OFFLINE   L2BENGTREK

L2BENGTREK

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 283 posts
Joined: May 31, 2006

Posted 10 February 2009 - 05:17 PM

I'm experiencing bad audio delay also on FOX 19. Direct TV feed only. OTA going thru DVR's and directly to TV's are fine. Just the Direct TV supplied feed.
Scott

Slimline 3/SWiM

Sony SXRD KDS-50A2000
HR34-700 via HDMI, Whole Home, Native On, 480p, 720p, 1080i
2 TB external eSATA
Harmony 700

Sony Bravia KDL-40W4100
HR20-700 via Component (Damn HDCP!), Whole Home, Native On, 480i, 480p, 720p, 1080i
OTA

Hooked to regular TV's:
HR20-700, Whole Home, patiently waiting for a new TV!
2 R16-300's (1 SlingBoxed)
1 D12 standard receiver
.

#16 OFFLINE   cadet502

cadet502

    FHNSAB

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 846 posts
Joined: Jun 17, 2005

Posted 10 February 2009 - 07:08 PM

Wow that was awful. 24 is about the only thing we watch on Fox, so it gets recorded on the HR21 without OTA, guess I'll have to move it over the the HR20 and get it OTA.
BTW, Hulu has yesterdays episode up already.

#17 OFFLINE   PlanetBill

PlanetBill

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 582 posts
Joined: May 08, 2006

Posted 11 February 2009 - 07:39 AM

The audio sync is so far off it's unwatchable. I DVR'd 24 last night and when I went to watch it, it was unbearable. .


same here, Fox 19 is the only station I see repeated lip sync issues with.

Its not like it just started happening either, Football games, 24, the 10:00 news, etc.:nono2:
HR20-700 (DECA), HR24, HR22 (DECA),
HR21(DECA),H23(DECA),R15

#18 OFFLINE   haggis444

haggis444

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 137 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2004

Posted 11 February 2009 - 05:20 PM

This has been happening on and off for some time, I remember the Thanksgiving NFL game on 19 having bad lip-sync issues. Point is I have no hope it is going to get fixed because it should have been by now, I have an antenna that can get Fox out of Dayton, I am going to change my SPs on 19 to the Dayton station.


(1) HR44-700 | (2) HR24-500 | (2) C41 | My Setup


#19 OFFLINE   Justin23

Justin23

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,212 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 08 April 2009 - 09:07 PM

Anyone have issues with the HD Fox19 feed during the local news? Someone told me that they have seen a black box that appears only during the SD live local news broadcasts but not during the HD feed and not when commercials air during that time. She said if she pushes the play button that it disappears, then reappears. Any ideas?

J

#20 OFFLINE   APorter

APorter

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 58 posts
Joined: May 31, 2007

Posted 18 May 2009 - 05:12 PM

Anyone else lose the local channels tonight?

My Set-up:
Slimline Swm
Family Room: HR44-500 - Samsung LN52A630
Master Bedroom: C41-700 - Samsung UN40EH5300FXZA

Media/Bar Room: C41-700 - Epson 8100 102" screen 
Kids Room: H25-700





Protected By... spam firewall...And...