Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

HD Locals: Raleigh-Durham, NC


  • Please log in to reply
97 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   MattWarner

MattWarner

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 260 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2007

Posted 14 January 2009 - 04:21 PM

According to WRAL, we will have another DTV soft-test on Thursday, Jan 15th at 6:25pm and 7:30pm. While we know the DirecTV HD locals will come in fine, this would be a good chance to see if the SD DirecTV locals have been converted from analog reception to digital. IIRC, the list of SD conversions floating around the forum indicated that Raleigh was scheduled for this week (after being delayed in December).

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   dnelms

dnelms

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 199 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2006

Posted 05 May 2009 - 03:47 AM

Has anyone had problems with ths show 24 on WRAZ (50) showing up with lots of artifacts. Looks like it's being broadcast at 480 instead of 720 or 1080. But when HD commericals come on it shows up nice and clear again. I caught the tail end of House right before 9pm and the start of 24 and it looked clear. This was the 2nd week in a row that it has looked that way.

#28 OFFLINE   MattWarner

MattWarner

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 260 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2007

Posted 05 May 2009 - 06:49 AM

I have 24 recorded but haven't watched it yet. I'll take a look. If you would describe the artifacts as "film grain", that is a change that Fox did a couple of weeks ago nationally. Something called 'edge enhancement'.

Either way, when I get a chance to watch 24 today, I'll check back in.

#29 OFFLINE   dnelms

dnelms

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 199 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2006

Posted 17 June 2009 - 06:04 PM

Seeing if anyone else has serious lip sync issues with WTVD channel 11 especially during Good Morning America. My wife watches it before leaving for work and it's so bad I can't even look at the TV.

#30 OFFLINE   MattWarner

MattWarner

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 260 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2007

Posted 18 June 2009 - 02:45 PM

Seeing if anyone else has serious lip sync issues with WTVD channel 11 especially during Good Morning America. My wife watches it before leaving for work and it's so bad I can't even look at the TV.


I watched WTVD last night and switched to it this morning (around 8am ish) and did not find any sync issues. I speficially waited until the GMA feed came on and everything looked fine to me.

If it happens again, check the SD version of WTVD and see if it has the same issue.

#31 OFFLINE   miketorse

miketorse

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 647 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2008

Posted 30 June 2009 - 01:29 PM

In the local channel lookup feature at DirecTV.com it says that WUNC is in HD now. I'm going home from work soon, and am going to check it out to see if it's accurate. I checked because of a thread re: New Bern, NC market getting their HD PBS.
Mike

My system:

HR21
HR22 w/ AM21
R15
SWM-8
Slimline5 w/ no LOS to 119 Slimline3


#32 OFFLINE   miketorse

miketorse

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 647 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2008

Posted 30 June 2009 - 01:56 PM

Yep. WUNC Channel 4 in HD AND 4-2 UNC Kids in HD!
Mike

My system:

HR21
HR22 w/ AM21
R15
SWM-8
Slimline5 w/ no LOS to 119 Slimline3


#33 OFFLINE   MattWarner

MattWarner

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 260 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2007

Posted 30 June 2009 - 02:36 PM

Oh My oh my! Thanks for posting this! Since I use a favorites' list, I never know when things change.

This is awesome. Nova and Nova Science Now tonight in HD. Makes me very happy.

#34 OFFLINE   SteveInNC

SteveInNC

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 65 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2007

Posted 17 July 2009 - 03:12 AM

WRAL dropping off the air randomly late at night circa mid-July?

I've noticed this for several nights now: beginning somewhere in the span of 0230 to about 0430, WRAL will drop off the air for an extended period. I still get WTVD fine, and the Guide still shows scheduled programming for WRAL's time slot. Is this WRAL, or is DirecTV fumbling the signal somehow? I don't have an antenna hooked up, so I can't check to see if OTA is gone too. I'm not necessarily actively watching the screen at the time, so they could be briefly displaying a message like "we're doing testing and will be back on air in XX minutes". Tonight they were off-air during what would normally be their 0305 rebroadcast of local news, which is what I'm generally trying to watch at that hour.

#35 OFFLINE   dnelms

dnelms

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 199 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2006

Posted 08 August 2009 - 08:19 AM

Also, been getting bad pops in audio on WRAZ 50 between 7:00 and 8:00 (Two and Half Men). This is only on my HR20-700 reciever. All the rest are SD receivers.

#36 OFFLINE   ccsoftball7

ccsoftball7

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 354 posts
Joined: Apr 02, 2003

Posted 10 November 2009 - 07:17 AM

OK...wow, House on WRAZ last night was HORRIBLE...BRRRRRRRIIIIIIIIIIIIIIP, pop, lip synch. I was watching on my HR20-100. Did anybody else have this issue?

#37 OFFLINE   MattWarner

MattWarner

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 260 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2007

Posted 10 November 2009 - 02:52 PM

OK...wow, House on WRAZ last night was HORRIBLE...BRRRRRRRIIIIIIIIIIIIIIP, pop, lip synch. I was watching on my HR20-100. Did anybody else have this issue?


It wasn't just you. Unwatchable last night.

#38 OFFLINE   ccsoftball7

ccsoftball7

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 354 posts
Joined: Apr 02, 2003

Posted 10 November 2009 - 03:30 PM

It wasn't just you. Unwatchable last night.


I'm glad to know...I wonder if TWC had the same issue. I tried to switch to my cable DVR only to discover it didn't record anything and my play list is GONE...so much for having a backup...

#39 OFFLINE   MattWarner

MattWarner

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 260 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2007

Posted 10 November 2009 - 08:22 PM

I'm glad to know...I wonder if TWC had the same issue. I tried to switch to my cable DVR only to discover it didn't record anything and my play list is GONE...so much for having a backup...


I think it was a DirecTV MPEG4 encoder issue. My R-15 in the bedroom recorded the SD DirecTV feed last night and it was fine.

#40 OFFLINE   ccsoftball7

ccsoftball7

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 354 posts
Joined: Apr 02, 2003

Posted 11 November 2009 - 08:55 AM

I think it was a DirecTV MPEG4 encoder issue. My R-15 in the bedroom recorded the SD DirecTV feed last night and it was fine.


It could be...I have a non-DVR DirecTV box in the bedroom and FOX has the same issue there. Thanks.

#41 OFFLINE   Sgt. Slaughter

Sgt. Slaughter

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,960 posts
Joined: Feb 20, 2009

Posted 13 November 2009 - 08:35 PM

Yeah I had the same issues and it was only Fox having the trouble and even more so if I watched the SD feed it was fine.
I was pretty dang close to calling WRAZ and telling them to get on their crap but I guess with it being HD issue only it was probably a DirecTV problem...

#42 OFFLINE   ccsoftball7

ccsoftball7

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 354 posts
Joined: Apr 02, 2003

Posted 14 November 2009 - 09:35 AM

Yeah I had the same issues and it was only Fox having the trouble and even more so if I watched the SD feed it was fine.
I was pretty dang close to calling WRAZ and telling them to get on their crap but I guess with it being HD issue only it was probably a DirecTV problem...


Who do we need to contact? I would think that at least 1 of the engineers watched the HD feed on DirecTV...any ideas?

#43 OFFLINE   Sgt. Slaughter

Sgt. Slaughter

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,960 posts
Joined: Feb 20, 2009

Posted 14 November 2009 - 03:08 PM

Either direcTV or Jim Gamble - Chief Engineer
(919) 595-5051 – jgamble@fox50.com

#44 OFFLINE   ccsoftball7

ccsoftball7

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 354 posts
Joined: Apr 02, 2003

Posted 14 November 2009 - 03:42 PM

Either direcTV or Jim Gamble - Chief Engineer
(919) 595-5051 – jgamble@fox50.com


Thanks. I'll send him an email now.

#45 OFFLINE   sonex293

sonex293

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2007

Posted 26 November 2009 - 08:34 AM

I'm having problems receiving OTA channel 4.1 in the Raleigh area. This would be the primary HD channel for WUNC. I am using a HR22 w/AM21 and all other local channels are coming in with 95-100% signal strength. I can get channels 4.2, 4.3, and 4.4 without problem and 100% signal strength. When tuned to 4.1 I receive the following message...

Searching for signal on the off-air tuner (771)

In the setup, signal strength is 0, but yet 4.2 - 4.4 is 100%

I called DirecTV Technical Support and after that telephone call, I'm about ready to drop DirecTV. It used to work, but hasn't worked now for a few months and I've just been living with it.

I've tried resetting the receiver multiple times. But nothing I've done has brought back 4.1 (WUNC-HD)

Anyone have any ideas? Anyone with an AM21 successfully receiving 4.1 WUNC-HD?

==
Michael Crowder
in Cary, NC

#46 OFFLINE   spidey

spidey

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,301 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 09 August 2010 - 04:58 AM

Seems like every evening during the nightly news the audio breakups are making channel unwatchable, switch to OTA and do not see same audio breakups, however seems to now be a constant issue on local NBC17.

#47 OFFLINE   MattWarner

MattWarner

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 260 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2007

Posted 10 August 2010 - 05:06 PM

Seems like every evening during the nightly news the audio breakups are making channel unwatchable, switch to OTA and do not see same audio breakups, however seems to now be a constant issue on local NBC17.


I haven't watched much of NBC17 in the past few weeks because everything has been in repeats. However, I did tune across it this evening at 5:30 and heard the audio glitches you were mentioning. I emailed NBC17 engineering and got a message back that he emailed DirecTV this evening to look into the issue. Hopefully, it will be resolved shortly.

#48 OFFLINE   spidey

spidey

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,301 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 11 August 2010 - 01:12 PM

I haven't watched much of NBC17 in the past few weeks because everything has been in repeats. However, I did tune across it this evening at 5:30 and heard the audio glitches you were mentioning. I emailed NBC17 engineering and got a message back that he emailed DirecTV this evening to look into the issue. Hopefully, it will be resolved shortly.


Looks like it is fixed or at least last night didnt notice a blip same this AM during today show seems resolved. Thanx for the followup

#49 OFFLINE   spidey

spidey

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,301 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 01 October 2010 - 07:12 AM

Other HD channels working fine

#50 OFFLINE   spidey

spidey

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,301 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 17 December 2011 - 05:25 PM

More issues with CH 17 bot local OTA as well as the feed on Directv. Started a week or so ago usually during morning and evening news shows




Protected By... spam firewall...And...