Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

HD Locals: Detroit, MI


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,929 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 26 August 2008 - 11:06 PM

DMA: Detroit, MI
Established: 10/20/2005



...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   erict

erict

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 210 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2008

Posted 16 September 2008 - 06:34 PM

I am in the Detroit area and was wondering if anyone else is having a problem with their local NBC channel. The past couple of days there is an audio breakup about every couple minutes and once or twice a day slight pixelation. This is the only local channel it’s happing on.
Panasonic 50PZ85U
Vizio VO32L
Sony HT-CT100
D* 5LNB Slimline
HR21-100
H23-600
ALL CONTROLLED BY A HARMONY ONE

#3 OFFLINE   wolverine318

wolverine318

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 59 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2007

Posted 16 September 2008 - 08:10 PM

I am in the Detroit area and was wondering if anyone else is having a problem with their local NBC channel. The past couple of days there is an audio breakup about every couple minutes and once or twice a day slight pixelation. This is the only local channel it’s happing on.


I am in the detroit area too. I was having some issues last night with NBC, but it is fine now.

#4 OFFLINE   erict

erict

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 210 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2008

Posted 17 September 2008 - 05:30 AM

I did notice it on channel 7 (ABC) last night as well. I did not check the other locals though. It’s like an audio hiccup and sometimes the picture will freeze for a split second or is slightly pixilated but not all the time. It’s the audio hiccup that is always present. Now this morning I had channel 4 (NBC) local news on and it was not doing it at all. Hopefully it’s fixed. I will see tonight.
Panasonic 50PZ85U
Vizio VO32L
Sony HT-CT100
D* 5LNB Slimline
HR21-100
H23-600
ALL CONTROLLED BY A HARMONY ONE

#5 OFFLINE   erict

erict

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 210 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2008

Posted 18 September 2008 - 05:30 AM

Problem is still present. I sure hope they fix this soon. It’s very annoying:nono:
Panasonic 50PZ85U
Vizio VO32L
Sony HT-CT100
D* 5LNB Slimline
HR21-100
H23-600
ALL CONTROLLED BY A HARMONY ONE

#6 OFFLINE   PCampbell

PCampbell

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,438 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2006

Posted 18 September 2008 - 09:58 AM

I have had it on 4 and 7 from time to time.

DirecTV since 1996

Slimline 5 SWM 16
HR24-100
HR24-500
HR24-500

HR44-500
ATT uverse internet


#7 OFFLINE   erict

erict

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 210 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2008

Posted 19 September 2008 - 01:19 PM

Still having issues as of last night and this morning.
Panasonic 50PZ85U
Vizio VO32L
Sony HT-CT100
D* 5LNB Slimline
HR21-100
H23-600
ALL CONTROLLED BY A HARMONY ONE

#8 OFFLINE   erict

erict

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 210 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2008

Posted 20 September 2008 - 07:40 AM

Well so far last night and this morning everything is fine on my locals. I’m hoping they resolved this issue:rolleyes:
Panasonic 50PZ85U
Vizio VO32L
Sony HT-CT100
D* 5LNB Slimline
HR21-100
H23-600
ALL CONTROLLED BY A HARMONY ONE

#9 OFFLINE   erict

erict

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 210 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2008

Posted 01 October 2008 - 05:13 PM

ABC sound but no picture. NBC pixilated and jittery.
Panasonic 50PZ85U
Vizio VO32L
Sony HT-CT100
D* 5LNB Slimline
HR21-100
H23-600
ALL CONTROLLED BY A HARMONY ONE

#10 OFFLINE   Kenkong586

Kenkong586

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 160 posts
Joined: Apr 03, 2007

Posted 04 December 2008 - 10:08 AM

WMYD broadcasts 720P yet Directv broadcasts it at 1080I
Living Room-Mitsu. WD-62531 62"
Comcast HD DVR, PS3(networked, wired), Xbox 360(networked, wired) connected via Octava 4x1 HDMI switch with Toslink Routing
Philips DVDR 3400(HDMI, Coaxial)
Wii(Component, networked, wireless)
Sony STR-K660P Dolby/DTS Reciever
Bedroom-Panasonic 36" CRT - Comcast HD DVR (Component)

#11 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,929 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 10 December 2008 - 10:03 AM

Added PBS - WTVS (56) to the lineup
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#12 OFFLINE   gcd0865

gcd0865

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 128 posts
Joined: Jul 23, 2008

Posted 10 December 2008 - 01:26 PM

Hi All:

Noticed that WFUM-28 (PBS) was added in HD by DirecTV to the Flint-Saginaw market, and was wondering if there was any chance that WFUM could be added to DirecTV's HD lineup for metro Detroit as well, under the "significantly viewed" provision that I believe is allowed now for satellite tv.

The justifications would be as follows:

1 - WFUM is now carried in HD by DirecTV already;

2 - WFUM's transmitting tower is actually right near the intersection of Oakland, Genesee and Lapeer counties, such that the OTA signal serves at least the northern half of the metro Detroit market;

3 - Many cable systems in the northern half of the metro Detroit market already have WFUM on their lineups, so this would put DirecTV on an even footing competitively with local cable systems;

4 - WFUM shows some different programming from WTVS, and/or shows some of the same programming at different times;

5 - (Perhaps) adding WFUM to the metro Detroit channel listing for DirecTV would not necessarily require adding WFUM to the Detroit spotbeam, if metro Detroit is still sufficiently within the Flint-Saginaw spotbeam (not sure if a DirecTV receiver can be authorized to receive from more than one spotbeam at a time, though);

6 - (Alternatively to #5) perhaps there is sufficient space on the Detroit spotbeam to duplicate WFUM there, without adversely affecting overall satellite capacity.

Just wondering about this. I'd appreciate hearing anyone's comments about whether it might be possible, and who to contact at DirecTV to ask...

#13 OFFLINE   cb7214

cb7214

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 798 posts
Joined: Jan 25, 2007

Posted 10 December 2008 - 01:34 PM

IMHO probably not as there is a PBS already available and broadcast by Directv for that DMA
Directv Subscriber since 1999

XM Subscriber since June 2005

#14 Guest_hunter65_*

Guest_hunter65_*
  • Guests
Joined: --

Posted 02 January 2009 - 01:11 PM

Why we cannot get 5.1 DD on WTVS

Here is the response from our Head Engineer to your question about 5.1 Dolby Digital.

"We are not equipped to transmit 5.1 audio at this time. We were able to pass through 5.1 from PBS a couple of years ago. Changes in FCC rules for PSIP, closed captioning and the addition of Create and datacasting in our DTV channel forced us to process and switch all program streams through our MCR and that only gives us stereo audio output. The ability to process 5.1 (Dolby Digital) will be part of a future upgrade when we have funding to do so"

I hope this answers you inquiry.

#15 OFFLINE   erict

erict

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 210 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2008

Posted 28 January 2009 - 07:40 AM

Anybody else have local issues this morning? Local nbc & abc was hit and miss but fox was ok:confused:
Panasonic 50PZ85U
Vizio VO32L
Sony HT-CT100
D* 5LNB Slimline
HR21-100
H23-600
ALL CONTROLLED BY A HARMONY ONE

#16 OFFLINE   erict

erict

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 210 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2008

Posted 06 September 2011 - 09:42 AM

Anyone else having a stuttering issue with NBC local channel? It happens on all my TV's and is only this channel. This is the Detroit area.
Panasonic 50PZ85U
Vizio VO32L
Sony HT-CT100
D* 5LNB Slimline
HR21-100
H23-600
ALL CONTROLLED BY A HARMONY ONE

#17 OFFLINE   Kentstater

Kentstater

    Godfather

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 430 posts
  • LocationSE Michigan
Joined: Jun 18, 2004

Posted 06 September 2011 - 09:45 AM

I am also seeing the stuttering on Detroit 4.
I have the AM21 and use it for Toledo OTA,although I am in the Detroit DMA for Satellite.
I was comparing the PGA tournament yesterday but gave up on the satellite.
You can keep the change

#18 OFFLINE   erict

erict

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 210 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2008

Posted 06 September 2011 - 10:08 AM

I am also seeing the stuttering on Detroit 4.
I have the AM21 and use it for Toledo OTA,although I am in the Detroit DMA for Satellite.
I was comparing the PGA tournament yesterday but gave up on the satellite.


Well at least I'm not alone. I knew something was up as this issue is on all my TV's. There was also a lip sync issue but that seems fixed.
Panasonic 50PZ85U
Vizio VO32L
Sony HT-CT100
D* 5LNB Slimline
HR21-100
H23-600
ALL CONTROLLED BY A HARMONY ONE

#19 OFFLINE   timf

timf

    Legend/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 254 posts
Joined: Apr 21, 2002

Posted 06 September 2011 - 08:14 PM

Yes, there is definitely an issue. I noticed it over the weekend and am still seeing it right now.

#20 OFFLINE   PCampbell

PCampbell

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,438 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2006

Posted 07 September 2011 - 10:36 AM

I have it to but not when I use my AM21 or OTA. Only from the sat.

DirecTV since 1996

Slimline 5 SWM 16
HR24-100
HR24-500
HR24-500

HR44-500
ATT uverse internet





Protected By... spam firewall...And...