Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

HD Locals: Cedar Rapids-Waterloo, IA


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 ONLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,927 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 26 August 2008 - 11:18 PM

DMA: Cedar Rapids-Waterloo, IA
Established: 2/6/2008



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   dornitram

dornitram

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 41 posts
Joined: Jan 31, 2008

Posted 08 October 2008 - 07:28 AM

Has anyone else noticed picture problems with KGAN (CBS 2) in the Cedar Rapids/Iowa City area? The picture quality has been pretty bad. It's hard to describe but it seems to be affecting people's faces. I noticed it on all of the Monday night lineup of CBS shows. I'm going to check OTA tonight, but I was watching the Monday lineup last night on my HD-DVR. All of the other channels looked great on Monday night.
-Rod

#3 OFFLINE   diggerg56

diggerg56

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 220 posts
Joined: Sep 25, 2007

Posted 19 October 2008 - 04:28 PM

I've seen that issue as well on KGAN. The other HD locals are OK. It's almost a little macroblocking that mainly shows up as a reddish looking blocks on faces. They've also had some issues during the day (My wife recordsYoung and the Restless) with audio popping and some picture breakup-not pixelization though.

I can't pull in their OTA signal to check it.

Also- When are KCRG and Directv going to make nice and get the HD picture up on Directv?

#4 OFFLINE   dornitram

dornitram

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 41 posts
Joined: Jan 31, 2008

Posted 20 October 2008 - 08:54 PM

Thanks digger. I didn't think we were going crazy. It seemed better tonight.
I'm with you on the KCRG thing. Last I heard from KCRG was there really weren't any negotiations going on.
By the way is that you on Rivals (hawkeyereport)?

#5 OFFLINE   diggerg56

diggerg56

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 220 posts
Joined: Sep 25, 2007

Posted 20 October 2008 - 09:21 PM

Thanks digger. I didn't think we were going crazy. It seemed better tonight.
I'm with you on the KCRG thing. Last I heard from KCRG was there really weren't any negotiations going on.
By the way is that you on Rivals (hawkeyereport)?


That would be me.
I'm hoping things clear up with this local stuff. Directv is supposed to have the new "local receive facility" equipment online by mid-December which may improve things too.

#6 OFFLINE   scott72

scott72

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 539 posts
Joined: Feb 17, 2008

Posted 27 October 2008 - 05:29 PM

KGAN has been horrible. The picture has been bad and that annoying clicking sound which knocks the sound volume down for 10-30 seconds is almost unbearable. I sure hope this isn't long term as it's so bad I've considered not watching shows on KGAN until it's corrected.

#7 OFFLINE   tsduke

tsduke

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 470 posts
Joined: Mar 20, 2007

Posted 05 November 2008 - 12:12 PM

KGAN is clueless. I had to call the station to get the to flip the Vikes game to HD. All I could get a hold of was the new room. It was halftime before they went to HD.:mad:

#8 OFFLINE   diggerg56

diggerg56

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 220 posts
Joined: Sep 25, 2007

Posted 15 November 2008 - 05:53 PM

KGAN is clueless. I had to call the station to get the to flip the Vikes game to HD. All I could get a hold of was the new room. It was halftime before they went to HD.:mad:



My wife has been fuming because the daytime KGAN programming hasn't been in HD. Almost like they quit even trying to keep it working during the day. We've emailed KGAN twice and left a voice mail but as you might expect with this fine Sinclair operation-No reply.

#9 OFFLINE   dornitram

dornitram

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 41 posts
Joined: Jan 31, 2008

Posted 14 December 2008 - 08:50 PM

Anybody else notice how off the guide data is for PBS in HD? In the morning it seems to be completely wrong. This morning I think for 3 hours the data was completely wrong. What do we need to do to get that fixed?

#10 OFFLINE   tsduke

tsduke

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 470 posts
Joined: Mar 20, 2007

Posted 01 February 2009 - 09:39 PM

I lost KWWL-DT OTA through my AM21 today and can't get it back. Anyone else experience this?

#11 OFFLINE   dornitram

dornitram

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 41 posts
Joined: Jan 31, 2008

Posted 04 February 2009 - 04:04 PM

Man I sure with DirecTv and KCRG could come to an agreement. I see that on the 19th of this month Dish is launch Cedar Rapids locals in HD and KCRG is included in there. So apparently Dish paid what KCRG wanted.

#12 OFFLINE   diggerg56

diggerg56

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 220 posts
Joined: Sep 25, 2007

Posted 04 February 2009 - 04:52 PM

It sounds like they're willing to "play ball" with Directv (now) but there's now a shortage of spot beam transponder space as Directv has continued to rollout other markets. There is another Sat going up later this year so maybe something will change.

I'm not sure that I really buy that explaination since there aren't that many channels in this market but I suppose it could be true.

KCRG might have waited too long and lost out on the opportunity for now.

#13 OFFLINE   ericmylad

ericmylad

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 52 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 18 February 2009 - 09:38 AM

KCRG HD is coming!!!!

I'm new here so I can't post links but over in the Programming forum there's a thread about KCRG. Click it and scroll to post #12.

Sounds like it may take a few weeks but at least it's FINALLY coming.

#14 OFFLINE   diggerg56

diggerg56

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 220 posts
Joined: Sep 25, 2007

Posted 18 February 2009 - 10:07 AM

This was confirmed by John Phelan, KCRG Manager as well. He's pushing for them to get it done ASAP but they told him up to three weeks.

#15 OFFLINE   ericmylad

ericmylad

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 52 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 20 February 2009 - 08:40 AM

KCRG HD up and running this morning when I turned on the morning news!!!!!!!!!:)

#16 OFFLINE   Balestrom

Balestrom

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 214 posts
Joined: Jan 12, 2007

Posted 20 February 2009 - 08:43 AM

Yes,

I received an email from John yesterday that this was to happen. I confirmed this morning as well.

#17 OFFLINE   ericmylad

ericmylad

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 52 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 20 February 2009 - 09:21 AM

So, now that we fnanlly have KCRG HD, anyone want to place any bets on KWKB???

#18 OFFLINE   willis134

willis134

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 61 posts
  • LocationIowa
Joined: Jul 25, 2007

Posted 21 February 2009 - 10:44 AM

Anyone else in eastern Iowa having problems with KFXA-28? It seems like every other week the prime time fox shows are not in HD. This week we recorded both of the American Idol shows and they were 4:3. I also recorded Lie To Me and it was center cut. But House and 24 on Monday night were fine. The same thing happened two weeks ago and i called KFXA and talked to the engineer there and he said everything was fine on their end and it must be a Directv problem. He had several other complaints and said he was working with Directv to fix the problem. Last week everything was good. This week, same crap. Is any one else experiencing this? I have two HR20-700's and the problem is on both receivers.

#19 OFFLINE   diggerg56

diggerg56

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 220 posts
Joined: Sep 25, 2007

Posted 21 February 2009 - 11:20 AM

I don't remember if it was Tuesday or Wednesday but on one of those nights I wasn't getting HD OTA either. I was messing with the attic antenna so I was running OTA rather than the Directv signal. I don't think it's always a Directv /Local receive facility problem.

#20 OFFLINE   ericmylad

ericmylad

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 52 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 10 March 2009 - 05:48 PM

Unless my eyes are deceiving me, it appears we suddenly have this tonoght. I watch Smallville and was able to add it to my To Do List. Didn't see that coming at all, but AWESOME!!!!!!!!!! We have them all now.:)

Edit: Ok, so I had a chance to really look at this and while we do have 2 listings for KWKB in the guide now, the HD channel is not "HD". Some of the programs have the HD symbol after them but are clearly not HD. So I guess this means once, or if, KWKB gets their HD signal going, Directv is ready to air it?

Edited by ericmylad, 10 March 2009 - 09:27 PM.
Update





Protected By... spam firewall...And...