Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Pass Native Signal To TV


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   gud1

gud1

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Mar 29, 2008

Posted 27 August 2008 - 09:51 AM

Which cable boxes (current models) of Dish and Direct can pass native signal to TV?
Thanks

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   machavez00

machavez00

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,601 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, Arizona
Joined: Nov 02, 2006

Posted 27 August 2008 - 09:57 AM

All current Directv branded HD boxes do native pass through. You can select native on or off, and select resolutions as well. Samsungs (I'm not sure of the newer sets) do not accept 480i over the HDMI cable, so I have 480i/p turned off. All SD channels are upconverted to 720P (set's native res) and 1080i and 720p are sent native. This way there is no 480i>480p>720p converting.

#3 OFFLINE   BobaBird

BobaBird

    EKB Editor

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,022 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 27 August 2008 - 03:23 PM

Dish doesn't have any cable boxes* ;). Their satellite boxes do not have native pass-through even though it was promised for summer 2006. We don't know if it's still coming (I take the rollout of 1080p for VOD as a good sign) or if it was dropped without explanation.

* With the split of EchoStar and Dish Network into distinct hardware and pay-TV companies, there may someday be an E* cable box.
Charles @dishuser - a dynamic employee of Massive Veridian
Visit the EchoStar Knowledge Base
"The other guys charge $9.95/month to use tapeless record" - Dish Network Tech Forum, 8-6-01
"dual" is NOT the same as "Twin" - here's why

#4 OFFLINE   gud1

gud1

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Mar 29, 2008

Posted 28 August 2008 - 09:42 AM

for "native pass-through update": info for others interested - yes for DirectTV and no for Dish.

Dish doesn't have any cable boxes* ;). Their satellite boxes do not have native pass-through even though it was promised for summer 2006. We don't know if it's still coming (I take the rollout of 1080p for VOD as a good sign) or if it was dropped without explanation.

* With the split of EchoStar and Dish Network into distinct hardware and pay-TV companies, there may someday be an E* cable box.



#5 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,273 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 28 August 2008 - 09:49 AM

It should be noted that "native" doesn't apply to SD and any available "1080i" MPEG2 HD programming from DIRECTV nor DISH Network.

Also curious is that with DIRECTV 1080p VOD content, if your TV doesn't correctly report 1080p support, the receiver will reportedly convert the content to 720p.

#6 OFFLINE   machavez00

machavez00

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,601 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, Arizona
Joined: Nov 02, 2006

Posted 28 August 2008 - 10:00 AM

My HR20's 1080i indicator was lit, but I'll have to confirm that by playing it again and using the TV's OSD




spam firewall