Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Darn all the Pixelation on Football games


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Msguy

Msguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,572 posts
Joined: May 22, 2003

Posted 30 August 2008 - 07:36 PM

On Every game i've tried watching today on my Local ABC Channel or on ESPN or ESPN 2 the Pixelation is out of control. The Play will start and all of a sudden the Screen will Freeze for a second or two and that is Sooooo Frustrating. Who can I write to at DirecTv to express my displeasure. This is getting to be a bunch of BULL$*it!!!!!!:mad:

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Msguy

Msguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,572 posts
Joined: May 22, 2003

Posted 30 August 2008 - 07:37 PM

I'm sorry for the Cussing. But this is not what I'm paying $10 a month extra for to get HD Service!!

#3 OFFLINE   vgsantiago

vgsantiago

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 42 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2006

Posted 30 August 2008 - 07:57 PM

On Every game i've tried watching today on my Local ABC Channel or on ESPN or ESPN 2 the Pixelation is out of control. The Play will start and all of a sudden the Screen will Freeze for a second or two and that is Sooooo Frustrating. Who can I write to at DirecTv to express my displeasure. This is getting to be a bunch of BULL$*it!!!!!!:mad:


Might need you dish realigned. Not having the same problems, as I am also a D* subscriber. Are you watching channels, 206 & 209? If so switch to their MPEG-2 equivalent 72 & 73, do you still have bad pixelation?

I've just recently had pixelation problems with my MPEG-4 channels. I have the 'protection plan' and someone came out yesterday and realigned my dish and all is well.
-------------------

HR20-700
HR20-100
R15
2 D11's

#4 OFFLINE   Msguy

Msguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,572 posts
Joined: May 22, 2003

Posted 30 August 2008 - 08:20 PM

Might need you dish realigned. Not having the same problems, as I am also a D* subscriber. Are you watching channels, 206 & 209? If so switch to their MPEG-2 equivalent 72 & 73, do you still have bad pixelation?

I've just recently had pixelation problems with my MPEG-4 channels. I have the 'protection plan' and someone came out yesterday and realigned my dish and all is well.


No!! I have great reception my dish is aligned. I get 100% Reception when i check my reception. It happens whenever there is a game on. And it never happens on any of my movie channels. It also does it for FOX Saturday Baseball games every gosh darn saturday on the HD Feed. I can go all week long and never see it. But when the weekend comes Low and Behold this crap starts. Yes I watch 206 and 209 also. it doesn't do it all the time but it does it enough to where it's too noticable.

#5 OFFLINE   Norm

Norm

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 81 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2008

Posted 30 August 2008 - 08:39 PM

It seems to only be happening on ABC for me I was recording the Clemson/Alabama game on ABC and the Illiinos/Missouri game on ESPN and then switching between the two. On the ESPN recording no problems with 30 sec bump on ABC when I try to bump it would freeze up both during bumps and normal playback. I also saw the pixelization on ABC and I thiink that is what is causing the problem. This was happening on both HR21's so I know it is not a problem there and like Msguy signal strength is great.

#6 OFFLINE   Msguy

Msguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,572 posts
Joined: May 22, 2003

Posted 30 August 2008 - 08:53 PM

I can watch shows on my local channels all week long. Then when the weekend gets here i can watch a game on the network like FOX or ABC and It Never Fails. The Freezing of the screen starts, the Pixelation starts. Every Week. I am seriously beginning to believe DirecTv is doing that crap. I love DirecTv but I wish they'd stop the Screen from Freezing and Pixelating or whatever it is that they do when games are on so they'd be shown smoothly. :confused:

#7 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,468 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 31 August 2008 - 01:38 PM

I presume these are your HD locals through DirecTV.

Can you get them OTA?

OTA HD picture is always better than through satellite.

Does DirecTV have a picture quality email line?
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#8 OFFLINE   Norm

Norm

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 81 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2008

Posted 31 August 2008 - 01:56 PM

I presume these are your HD locals through DirecTV.

Can you get them OTA?

OTA HD picture is always better than through satellite.

Does DirecTV have a picture quality email line?


Yes these are my locals. OTA won't work for me I am about 80 miles away

#9 OFFLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,746 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 31 August 2008 - 02:11 PM

But north Florida is all flat. What's your Zip and what locals are you trying to get ?
You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

#10 OFFLINE   Norm

Norm

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 81 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2008

Posted 31 August 2008 - 02:19 PM

But north Florida is all flat. What's your Zip and what locals are you trying to get ?


Not all flat plus I live in the woods on 4.5 heavily treed acres I can bearly get cellphone signal except in the winter when all the leaves fall off the trees. There are locals about 30 miles away in Gainesville but I can't even get those due to the trees.

#11 OFFLINE   Tower Guy

Tower Guy

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 450 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2005

Posted 13 October 2008 - 07:36 AM

Not all flat plus I live in the woods on 4.5 heavily treed acres I can bearly get cellphone signal except in the winter when all the leaves fall off the trees. There are locals about 30 miles away in Gainesville but I can't even get those due to the trees.


Trees are not the problem. Cellphone coverage has nothing to do with TV signals.

Forget everything that you think you know and start over.

#12 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 13 October 2008 - 10:03 AM

I'm 60 miles from the Dallas broadcast towers and can pick up their signals with a 2 bay bow tie UHF antenna. I use a Channel Master 4228 8bay for my real reception antenna but don't count the Digital Broadcasts out because of ANALOG experience. At 30 miles from Gainsville you should have some signal. Go to www.antennaweb.org and www.tvfool.com and see what you may be able to receive.

#13 OFFLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,746 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 13 October 2008 - 10:37 AM

I'm 22 miles from most of my stations (also in a hole in a forest), but there are a couple stations that are close to 40 miles that I can receive. Go to www.antennaweb.org and www.tvfool.com and see what you may be able to receive. IMO - tvfool is better.
You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

#14 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 01 November 2008 - 11:02 PM

Also, when you see the picture freeze or pixellate, hit replay a few times and see if it skips in the same spot on the second time through. I've found on my DVRs, they both glitch on high motion 720p video playback (live or recorded), but the same spot plays fine the second time. That tells me there is a software bug that hasn't been fixed yet. If it does screw up twice in the same place, its the source as you suspect. BTW, attenuation from trees at UHF is negligable. An outdoor antenna and a channel master 7777 preamp will pull in Gainsville. I'm getting a low power digital at 25 miles on the other side of a ridge that's 100' higher than my house, with signals in the 90's...Without the amp, it barely flashes off the "no signal on tuner" message.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...