Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Self upgrade of D* dish


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   ArtChee

ArtChee

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2008

Posted 01 September 2008 - 07:59 AM

GREETINGS, ALL!
DirecTV was oh so very gracious last year to provide a NEW dish when we moved to our "vacation" home in NC (not so glamous - inherited 68-yr-old house). Since then we have upgraded to HDTV & the NC dish is not adequate for HD programming.

I HAVE an extra dish which appears to be a HD mulit-switch dish that someone gave me, which is labeled "DIRECTV Multi-Satellite KTI". It has the 3 "knobs" on the dish arm extension, BUT has 3 coaxial cables rather than the 2 that my HD set up has. The dish itself is slightly oblong (oval), and has a label that states, "California Amplifier, triple feed, Multi-satellite LNB. Compatible with DirecTV. Model # 150946. There is also a round "sticker" with "REV: 1 12303".

My question is: would I be able to replace the old, standard TV dish at the NC house with this Multi-satellite dish? How difficult is it to "aim" for HD-TV signals??

Thanks in advance!!

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   STEVEN-H

STEVEN-H

    Icon

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 615 posts
  • Location40241
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 01 September 2008 - 08:18 AM

My question is: would I be able to replace the old, standard TV dish at the NC house with this Multi-satellite dish? How difficult is it to "aim" for HD-TV signals??

Thanks in advance!![/QUOTE]


The dish you are asking about will not get you HD. You need a slimline which at this point receives five sattelites. Why not just call Direct and ask them what it would be to upgrade to a HD dish.
HR24-500 AM-21
HR24-200 AM-21
Direct TV Slimline-5S (SWM) DECA
Direct TV since 6/23/96.

#3 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,688 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 01 September 2008 - 08:21 AM

This dish isn't going to get you what you need. There are currently two dishes that are readily available: AT9 (aka sidecar) and AU9 (aka Slimline). Both are much larger than your existing dish and often go by the nickname 5LNB because they see five slots. The "Slimline" dish is 22.5" tall x 32.5" wide and weighs well over 20 pounds.

The dishes have four outputs on them and they are considered much more tedious to aim and require additional support struts for a proper installation. If you aren't as good as you think you are, they can be difficult as well as tedious.

Note also that these dishes use a larger diameter mast than the other dishes, so you'll need to mount a new mast.

#4 OFFLINE   ArtChee

ArtChee

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2008

Posted 01 September 2008 - 08:32 AM

The dish you are asking about will not get you HD. You need a slimline which at this point receives five satellites. Why not just call Direct and ask them what it would be to upgrade to a HD dish.[/QUOTE]

The first thing I did was call DTV, and there is a $70 charge for the HD dish upgrade. Thought that unnecessary IF this extra dish would do the job. Also, will only have my HDTV in NC on extended stays when it worthwhile to "haul" it the 600 miles. Most of the time will not need the HD input.

What's the difference in KTI and Slimline??

#5 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,688 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 01 September 2008 - 08:43 AM

What's the difference in KTI and Slimline??

The Slimline dish will give you the 99W and 103W orbital slots which is where all but a handful of the DIRECTV HD channels are located. The dish you're considering will not give you those slots.

#6 OFFLINE   ArtChee

ArtChee

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2008

Posted 01 September 2008 - 08:53 AM

The dish you are asking about will not get you HD. You need a slimline which at this point receives five sattelites.


Here are the specs on the Cal Amp dish. Could not find a model #: "The Multi-Satellite dish is an 18-by-20-inch reinforced weather-resistant antenna with two dual LNBs, a single LNB and an integrated four-output multi-switch. The third feed location (LNB) affords DIRECTV customers the option of HDTV programming, such as SHOWTIME from the 110 orbital location. The California Amplifier three LNBs and a multi-switch are built into one unit, which minimizes the need for wire and saves installation time."

The dish that I have has the antenna (? the dish itself?); mast and base. It does not have the bracing arms that I have with my DTV provided dish.

#7 OFFLINE   Grentz

Grentz

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,916 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2007

Posted 01 September 2008 - 09:09 AM

The dish you have is for the OLD HD programming (~10 channels, MPEG2, being phased out very soon). To get any HD at all in the coming months, and all the HD channels that are out there, you will need to get the slimline or sidecar 5LNB dish.
-Grentz
Subscriber since Oct. 1996
HR21-700, HR22-100, H24-100 (SWM)
~Detailed Setup~

Directv Signal Strength Posting Tool - Excel Ver. Web Ver.

#8 OFFLINE   ArtChee

ArtChee

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2008

Posted 01 September 2008 - 09:43 AM

The dish you have is for the OLD HD programming (~10 channels, MPEG2, being phased out very soon). To get any HD at all in the coming months, and all the HD channels that are out there, you will need to get the slimline or sidecar 5LNB dish.


Gotcha... makes sense. The ONLY reason I have this KTI dish is that someone discarded it for their own upgrade (presumably). I NOW understand that the dish I NEED is the Slimline KA/KU. Is that the only dish that will provide current DTV HD signals??

#9 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,978 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 01 September 2008 - 10:01 AM

Gotcha... makes sense. The ONLY reason I have this KTI dish is that someone discarded it for their own upgrade (presumably). I NOW understand that the dish I NEED is the Slimline KA/KU. Is that the only dish that will provide current DTV HD signals??


Yes. There are both 5 and 3 LNB versions, but the 3 LNB type is not widely available yet (it does not have LNBs for the 110 and 119 satellites). If Directv will supply and install it for $70, that is probably the way to go as you would pay more than that to buy a dish and then you would still need to install and align it.

#10 OFFLINE   Grentz

Grentz

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,916 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2007

Posted 01 September 2008 - 10:50 AM

and for the technical reasoning:

The standard 18" dish sees 101
The triple LNB (old-HD dish) sees 101,110,119
The sidecar 5LNB sees 99,101,103,110,119
The Slimline 5LNB sees 99,101,103,110,119
The Slimline 3LNB sees 99,101,103

Those are the orbital slots. All the standard SD programming and more popular DMAs (local channels) are on 101, so everyone gets that. With the old HD package (~10 channels, MPEG2) the signals came from 110 so you needed to see that to get HD. Also some locals are on 110 and 119 for some DMAs.

Currently and in the future, Directv has moved and is using 99 and 103 for HD programming. 110 and 119 will be used for international and some local channels. So for many people in the future they will only need to see 99,101,103 which is what the Slimline 3 dish is designed to see.


Another note, feed horns are the white caps you see on the LNB arm. The number of LNBs does not always line up with the number of feed horns as some feed multiple LNBs.

The standard 18" dish = 1 Feed Horn
The triple LNB (old-HD dish) = 3 Feed Horns
The sidecar 5LNB = 3 Feed Horns
The Slimline 5LNB = 3 Feed Horns
The Slimline 3LNB = 1 Feed Horns
-Grentz
Subscriber since Oct. 1996
HR21-700, HR22-100, H24-100 (SWM)
~Detailed Setup~

Directv Signal Strength Posting Tool - Excel Ver. Web Ver.

#11 OFFLINE   ArtChee

ArtChee

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2008

Posted 01 September 2008 - 09:33 PM

THANKS, ALL for the "education". Gone are the days when I turn the antennae and holler into the house to ask the wife, "How's it look now?"

#12 OFFLINE   Grentz

Grentz

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,916 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2007

Posted 02 September 2008 - 08:47 AM

THANKS, ALL for the "education". Gone are the days when I turn the antennae and holler into the house to ask the wife, "How's it look now?"


Those days are still here, just you get quite a few less channels with it :lol:
-Grentz
Subscriber since Oct. 1996
HR21-700, HR22-100, H24-100 (SWM)
~Detailed Setup~

Directv Signal Strength Posting Tool - Excel Ver. Web Ver.

#13 OFFLINE   flipptyfloppity

flipptyfloppity

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,073 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2007

Posted 02 September 2008 - 07:03 PM

The standard 18" dish = 1 Feed Horn
The triple LNB (old-HD dish) = 3 Feed Horns
The sidecar 5LNB = 3 Feed Horns
The Slimline 5LNB = 3 Feed Horns
The Slimline 3LNB = 1 Feed Horns


"para todos dish" = 2 feed horns, hits 101 and 119 I think. 3 LNBs?
room 1:
HR34-700 through Sony STR-DA5300ES amp to LG 55" LE8500 LCD flat panel via HDMI. Discrete OTA.

room 2:
On break. I thought I'd get something in time for baseball, but...

AU9 SWM dish. Channel Master 4228 for UHF + big yagi for VHF w/CM7777 combiner/amplifier.

Connected via wired GigE to Apple Time Capsule base station.

#14 OFFLINE   curt8403

curt8403

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,481 posts
Joined: Dec 27, 2007

Posted 02 September 2008 - 07:06 PM

"para todos dish" = 2 feed horns, hits 101 and 119 I think. 3 LNBs?



the two horn dish no longer exists now they use the 3 lnb 101, 110, 119
I am no longer connected with Directv or any other satellite provider

#15 OFFLINE   curt8403

curt8403

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,481 posts
Joined: Dec 27, 2007

Posted 02 September 2008 - 07:07 PM

Those days are still here, just you get quite a few less channels with it :lol:

antennaweb.org works better
I am no longer connected with Directv or any other satellite provider

#16 OFFLINE   flipptyfloppity

flipptyfloppity

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,073 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2007

Posted 03 September 2008 - 12:43 AM

the two horn dish no longer exists now they use the 3 lnb 101, 110, 119


Two other of the dishes in the list are no longer used either (AT9, old 3LNB). I thought the list was supposed to be exhaustive, regardless of obsolescence. So I tried to make it so.
room 1:
HR34-700 through Sony STR-DA5300ES amp to LG 55" LE8500 LCD flat panel via HDMI. Discrete OTA.

room 2:
On break. I thought I'd get something in time for baseball, but...

AU9 SWM dish. Channel Master 4228 for UHF + big yagi for VHF w/CM7777 combiner/amplifier.

Connected via wired GigE to Apple Time Capsule base station.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...