Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Lost OTA Locals


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   SE_Sooner

SE_Sooner

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 52 posts
Joined: Aug 12, 2008

Posted 03 September 2008 - 05:36 PM

Anyone else lose their locals after 6.13? I have a 622 and have no signal on any OTA channel, even channels that were 100 percent. I called Dish and jumped thru the hoops but no workie. Tech dude said he'd send it to engineering and wanted me to call back in 3 or 4 days.

If anyone has any suggestions, I'd sure try-em. I've done all the hard/soft reboots, replaced cable to antenna, rebooted with the OTA cable disconnected. Also did a factory reset.

When you do the add local channel scan, it scans all channels in 2 seconds... that's way to fast!

Thanks
Definition of Broke - Worked yesterday, doesn't work today!
VIP 622 L6.18 RBGD-N Bootstrap 1718RBGD
Dish Customer since Nov. 1997

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,164 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 03 September 2008 - 08:54 PM

Remove them all, do a hard reset, then try adding them again.

#3 OFFLINE   wil-1

wil-1

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Feb 15, 2006

Posted 05 September 2008 - 05:09 PM

Hey Sooner, I also lost my OTA as well as my sister when we both got the L612 upgrade for the 622. I finnaly got the L613 but that didn't do anything. I tried everything from a hard reset to deleting the channels and rescan. No luck. I know it's the receiver because I also have a 722 and put that one where the 622 was and I scan and get 43 digital channels. I put the 622 back and rescan and get 1 digital channel. This is not the first time this has happened. DishNetwork screwed up the codes in the software once again.

#4 OFFLINE   SE_Sooner

SE_Sooner

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 52 posts
Joined: Aug 12, 2008

Posted 05 September 2008 - 08:47 PM

Yeah, I called tech support and he had me unplug the OTA coax, do a reboot. Had me reconnect the cable and still no luck. He said he'd sent the ticket to engineering and for me to call back in 3 or 4 days.

So I'm stuck w/o OTA locals til they figure it out. It really is frustrating because I can't get HD locals, Tulsa market is still SD. I had just installed an antenna 4 days before 6.13 trashed my system. But I had it Long enough to know that OTA HD blows away any HD signal dish puts out.

The best HD signal I've seen on Dish was the Democratic National Convention coverage.

I really wish they'd get all their new sats up and running so just maybe they could quit compressing the quality out of their HD.
Definition of Broke - Worked yesterday, doesn't work today!
VIP 622 L6.18 RBGD-N Bootstrap 1718RBGD
Dish Customer since Nov. 1997

#5 OFFLINE   GOHAWKS

GOHAWKS

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 26 posts
Joined: Dec 20, 2005

Posted 15 September 2008 - 05:52 AM

Has anybody figured out what to do?
I received 6.13 and lost my OTA as well.

#6 OFFLINE   SE_Sooner

SE_Sooner

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 52 posts
Joined: Aug 12, 2008

Posted 15 September 2008 - 07:47 PM

Has anybody figured out what to do?
I received 6.13 and lost my OTA as well.


I called dish and had them swap boxes. They kept telling me to wait to see if they could fix the problem but I insisted it was broken and they should fix it. I got the new (refurb) 622 and OTA works fine now.

When you scan for locals does it scan all the channels in 2-3 seconds? This is what mine did and no matter how many reboots, unhooking cables etc. didn't fix the problem.

If they don't want to swap 622's, insist, then insist to talk to a supervisor then insist more.

Good Luck.:)
Definition of Broke - Worked yesterday, doesn't work today!
VIP 622 L6.18 RBGD-N Bootstrap 1718RBGD
Dish Customer since Nov. 1997

#7 OFFLINE   GOHAWKS

GOHAWKS

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 26 posts
Joined: Dec 20, 2005

Posted 15 September 2008 - 09:14 PM

I called dish and had them swap boxes. They kept telling me to wait to see if they could fix the problem but I insisted it was broken and they should fix it. I got the new (refurb) 622 and OTA works fine now.

When you scan for locals does it scan all the channels in 2-3 seconds? This is what mine did and no matter how many reboots, unhooking cables etc. didn't fix the problem.

If they don't want to swap 622's, insist, then insist to talk to a supervisor then insist more.

Good Luck.:)

I just tried to rescan after a couple of days and worked fine. Not sure what changed this time but hope it works for good.
Thanks for the reply

#8 OFFLINE   wil-1

wil-1

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Feb 15, 2006

Posted 18 September 2008 - 03:43 PM

My OTA is back up again too. It's a good thing I waited.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...