Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

HD Locals: Little Rock, AR


  • Please log in to reply
91 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,904 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 04 September 2008 - 09:06 AM

DMA: Little Rock, AR
Established: 9/4/2008


Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   arxaw

arxaw

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 609 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2003

Posted 04 September 2008 - 10:19 AM

* Channel(s) affected: ALL
* Date: 9/4/08
* Time: 11:00AM
* Description of Issue: Volume is too loud (although not as bad as the SD versions on D*).

Loud volume of the LR SD locals on D* has been an annoying, unresolved problem for several years. Please get it right on MPEG4.

#3 OFFLINE   KTrentLR

KTrentLR

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 134 posts
Joined: Nov 03, 2007

Posted 04 September 2008 - 05:41 PM

My settings before I changed anything:
Hide SD channels when HD channels exist.

None of the SD channels displayed for the new Local HDs. When I tuned to any of the channels (via guide or by typing it in (with the dash)) It was coming via OTA. I know this because I've never gotten good reception on my OTA (I'm too cheap to pay for an antenna install) and it keeps pixelating and displaying Searching for signal on off air antenna.

So, Looked in setup and there's no way to set OTA to OFF, so I told it to Reset the OTA antenna settings. Afterwords I rebooted.

Now NO CHANNELS EXIST LOWER THAN 70. No SDs or HDs. My DTivo shows all my SD locals just fine.

I don't want to go through the OTA setup because that would just setup my OTA antenna again....

***UPDATE****
After waiting a bit, the locals came back in, but I had to go into favorites and turn them all on. And they display as 4, 7, 11, and 16 - not 4-1, 7-1, etc. So my question is: will I not get 11-2 (not that I ever watched it but..)

HR44-500
HR22-100 with eSATA Drive: LaCie d2 Quadra 2tb

Network: Hardwired
TV: Diamond Mitsubishi 73833
Whole-Home: No DECA equipment, Eithernet only


#4 OFFLINE   ARKDTVfan

ARKDTVfan

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 605 posts
Joined: May 19, 2003

Posted 04 September 2008 - 05:55 PM

the audio on KARK is having hiccups, anyone else?

#5 OFFLINE   colebert

colebert

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 106 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2007

Posted 04 September 2008 - 08:28 PM

All the HD locals are buggy. Audio hiccups and picture frames and blocking.

95+ on my spotbeams so it's definitely in the feed.

#6 OFFLINE   arxaw

arxaw

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 609 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2003

Posted 05 September 2008 - 06:23 AM

Audio glitches & macroblocking all channels.

#7 OFFLINE   arxaw

arxaw

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 609 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2003

Posted 05 September 2008 - 06:25 AM

... will I not get 11-2 (not that I ever watched it but..)

NO, you will not get 11-2. DirecTV rarely carries sub channels. You need OTA for those.

#8 OFFLINE   KTrentLR

KTrentLR

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 134 posts
Joined: Nov 03, 2007

Posted 05 September 2008 - 07:48 AM

I have my DVR setup:
Native: Off
Only use 1080i

But, now when I tune to the new HDs Locals it flips my TV into 480p. When I go to any other station, it goes back to 1080i. As minimal as it might be to some; I don't want the wear and tear on my TV flipping back and forth between modes. Also, it's distracting because it takes longer to change channels when going between modes and the picture/graphics on the screen go all screwy for second until the TV turns off the video and then back on in the new mode. Then I get the TV's pop-up displaying the new mode.

Why can't the DVR pipe out 1080i on every channel like it did on OTA? (I understand it's not adding pixels.) I just want everything to be at 1080i so the TV doesn't need to change modes when I flip channels and play recorded shows.

I tried setting Native: On to see if that would keep the DVR in 1080i mode, but it still goes to 480p when I goto to local HDs.

HR44-500
HR22-100 with eSATA Drive: LaCie d2 Quadra 2tb

Network: Hardwired
TV: Diamond Mitsubishi 73833
Whole-Home: No DECA equipment, Eithernet only


#9 OFFLINE   arxaw

arxaw

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 609 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2003

Posted 05 September 2008 - 08:19 AM

This may or may not help, but worth checking:

Go into the Setup Menu and select: HDTV > TV Resolutions tab at the top of the screen.
Make sure all resolutions are deselected except 1080i.

#10 OFFLINE   SnoopHogg

SnoopHogg

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Aug 28, 2008

Posted 05 September 2008 - 09:27 AM

Audio glitches & macroblocking all channels.


I'm seeing the same issues on all channels. Random times that it happens.

#11 OFFLINE   bqlauer

bqlauer

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Jun 30, 2007

Posted 05 September 2008 - 09:56 AM

Audio glitches & macroblocking all channels.


Had this last night on KARK as well.

Didn't watch the other channels.

#12 OFFLINE   KTrentLR

KTrentLR

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 134 posts
Joined: Nov 03, 2007

Posted 05 September 2008 - 12:24 PM

This may or may not help, but worth checking:

Go into the Setup Menu and select: HDTV > TV Resolutions tab at the top of the screen.
Make sure all resolutions are deselected except 1080i.


Yeah, I already have 1080i as my only valid resolution, but it's still feeding my TV 480p.

HR44-500
HR22-100 with eSATA Drive: LaCie d2 Quadra 2tb

Network: Hardwired
TV: Diamond Mitsubishi 73833
Whole-Home: No DECA equipment, Eithernet only


#13 OFFLINE   ARKDTVfan

ARKDTVfan

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 605 posts
Joined: May 19, 2003

Posted 06 September 2008 - 12:21 PM

raycom's SEC game isn't even watchable on katv
freezing up and no sound
\so far I've been not so impressed with the HD
looks good when it works but too many problems
KTHV and KLRT seem fine but Kark and katv are a mess right now

#14 OFFLINE   bqlauer

bqlauer

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Jun 30, 2007

Posted 06 September 2008 - 02:10 PM

raycom's SEC game isn't even watchable on katv
freezing up and no sound
\so far I've been not so impressed with the HD
looks good when it works but too many problems
KTHV and KLRT seem fine but Kark and katv are a mess right now


Same with the Ole Miss/Wake game.

#15 OFFLINE   arxaw

arxaw

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 609 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2003

Posted 06 September 2008 - 04:31 PM

Yeah, I already have 1080i as my only valid resolution, but it's still feeding my TV 480p.

How do you have the box connected to your TV? HDMI or component connection?

#16 OFFLINE   jangell2

jangell2

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 276 posts
Joined: Apr 06, 2004

Posted 06 September 2008 - 09:13 PM

Does anyone know if or when PBS HD for LR will be carried by DTV?
johnny
www.teamfurr.org

#17 OFFLINE   arxaw

arxaw

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 609 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2003

Posted 07 September 2008 - 05:44 AM

PBS-HD is planned for D* subscribers and carriage was announced earlier this year in a press release. When it actually happens is anyone's guess. DirecTV has the satellite capacity, so it must be contractual issues.

In the meantime, you still need an OTA antenna connected to your DTV (Digital Television), to watch PBS-HD on KETS-DT 5. KETS-DT reception is not easy or reliable, but that's AETN's fault for choosing to be on VHF. They were originally assigned UHF channel 47.

#18 OFFLINE   KTrentLR

KTrentLR

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 134 posts
Joined: Nov 03, 2007

Posted 07 September 2008 - 10:25 AM

How do you have the box connected to your TV? HDMI or component connection?


HDMI

HR44-500
HR22-100 with eSATA Drive: LaCie d2 Quadra 2tb

Network: Hardwired
TV: Diamond Mitsubishi 73833
Whole-Home: No DECA equipment, Eithernet only


#19 OFFLINE   HOAGIEHEAD

HOAGIEHEAD

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 110 posts
Joined: Jan 25, 2006

Posted 08 September 2008 - 01:44 PM

Posted this on another forum forgot about this one here. Sorry for the repeat. I have been and continue to have audio problems on KATV 7. Hours upon hours of no sound. On many occasions picture is out of focus. Has anyone here spoken to or written them about this situation. I have written but have not heard from them yet. Good game this weekend to bad it was unwatchable and unheard. Even switched out my HDMI for component thinking that was the problem but obviously it wasn't.
H20-600 latest NR
Samsung 32"
Customer since USSB

#20 OFFLINE   ARKDTVfan

ARKDTVfan

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 605 posts
Joined: May 19, 2003

Posted 08 September 2008 - 03:51 PM

Posted this on another forum forgot about this one here. Sorry for the repeat. I have been and continue to have audio problems on KATV 7. Hours upon hours of no sound. On many occasions picture is out of focus. Has anyone here spoken to or written them about this situation. I have written but have not heard from them yet. Good game this weekend to bad it was unwatchable and unheard. Even switched out my HDMI for component thinking that was the problem but obviously it wasn't.


KATV just blows, the management sucks!!! So good luck getting anything done.
while the rest of the big 4 affiliates in LR have a good signal KATV alway looks like a steaming pile of Longhorn sh*t ;)

it's obvious that Dale Nicholson won't spend one red cent to improve anything there :nono2: at 1950s picture in 2008? :mad:




Protected By... spam firewall...And...