Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

HD Locals: Little Rock, AR


  • Please log in to reply
91 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   8th Wonder

8th Wonder

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2008

Posted 09 September 2008 - 03:13 PM

D* receives katv OTA. katv is being broadcast as a sub channel of an Equity station, which has notoriously bad picture quality, due to excessive multicasting. When you take that OTA MPEG2 signal and attempt to decode/re-encode it to MPEG4, then bounce it off a satellite at least a couple of times, you end up with worse junk than you started with. This may not change until katv gets their new channel 22 tower on Shinall Mountain on the air. T

They could run fiber to the D* local receive/uplink facility, but they're too cheap to do that. They did it for comcrap, though.

They were worthless then, too.


This is a response to an email I sent to James Tidwell at KATV:
-----------------------
I did not understand that you had a satellite feed. At this time the satellite providers have the option of picking up the KATV signal from a Ku satellite feed or the channel 42 off air. Channel 42 carries KATV’s digital feed as a third program. KATV is working to provide the satellite providers with a direct microwave feed but at this time do not have FCC approval to install the microwave. Comcast and AT&T ran a fiber feed to the KATV building at their own expense, which is enormous. Bottom line, the weather will have a tremendous affect on the signal quality the satellite providers receive.

---------------------------

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   mauijiminar

mauijiminar

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 264 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2007

Posted 09 September 2008 - 03:19 PM

KATV's problems aside, My contract with Directv is up in 6 months. If they don't have PBS-HD on by then, I'm switching to Comcast. I only watch Networks, espn, tnt/speed (nascar), and PBS. I'm paying lots of money for crap I never watch, and now the local Hd's have as many break ups as ESPN's, and they are missing 3 of the main local channels (pbs,CW,Kwbf). I applaud Directv for getting our locals on, but the quality is horrible. I'd rather just get Comcast and a HD Tivo.


Well I know U Verse is starting in Little Rock, they have all locals in HD even CW and PBS.

#28 OFFLINE   ARKDTVfan

ARKDTVfan

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 624 posts
Joined: May 19, 2003

Posted 10 September 2008 - 04:26 PM

no sound on KATV yet again
pathetic!!!!!!!!!

#29 OFFLINE   mauijiminar

mauijiminar

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 264 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2007

Posted 10 September 2008 - 04:46 PM

no sound on KATV yet again
pathetic!!!!!!!!!


Yes the audio sync is way way off like 2 secs. I am back to using OTA for ABC

#30 OFFLINE   ArkieLad

ArkieLad

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 27 posts
Joined: Mar 02, 2008

Posted 10 September 2008 - 04:52 PM

KATV's problems aside, My contract with Directv is up in 6 months. If they don't have PBS-HD on by then, I'm switching to Comcast. I only watch Networks, espn, tnt/speed (nascar), and PBS. I'm paying lots of money for crap I never watch, and now the local Hd's have as many break ups as ESPN's, and they are missing 3 of the main local channels (pbs,CW,Kwbf). I applaud Directv for getting our locals on, but the quality is horrible. I'd rather just get Comcast and a HD Tivo.


This why I decided to just go with U-Verse. I get the locals in great picture quality, my HD picture quality has not suffered and plus I get a **** load more channels. DirecTV used to be great but this go around I just didn't find them all that fantastic.

#31 OFFLINE   8th Wonder

8th Wonder

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2008

Posted 10 September 2008 - 05:07 PM

Yes the audio sync is way way off like 2 secs. I am back to using OTA for ABC


Where do you live to be able to get KATV's OTA?

#32 OFFLINE   HOAGIEHEAD

HOAGIEHEAD

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 110 posts
Joined: Jan 25, 2006

Posted 10 September 2008 - 06:53 PM

Yes the audio sync is way way off like 2 secs. I am back to using OTA for ABC


I'm not getting any sound at all.

no sound on KATV yet again
pathetic!!!!!!!!!


I agree this has gotten way past ridiculous.
H20-600 latest NR
Samsung 32"
Customer since USSB

#33 OFFLINE   mauijiminar

mauijiminar

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 264 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2007

Posted 11 September 2008 - 07:32 AM

Where do you live to be able to get KATV's OTA?


I live in West Little Rock. KATV is using 42's tower right now until the new one is up. If you can get NBC, CBS, or FOX, you should get ABC but it is on very low power.

#34 OFFLINE   mauijiminar

mauijiminar

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 264 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2007

Posted 11 September 2008 - 07:33 AM

This why I decided to just go with U-Verse. I get the locals in great picture quality, my HD picture quality has not suffered and plus I get a **** load more channels. DirecTV used to be great but this go around I just didn't find them all that fantastic.


Do u have u verse right now? How is it? My sisiter in law can't get sat at her house becasue of the trees.

#35 OFFLINE   arxaw

arxaw

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 609 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2003

Posted 11 September 2008 - 08:42 AM

katv is temporarily on a shorter tower than the other Shinall stations. So that, plus low power, plus multicasting overload = crappy katv reception, until katv's new tower is completed.

#36 OFFLINE   arxaw

arxaw

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 609 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2003

Posted 13 September 2008 - 07:19 PM

KTHV, ch 11 audio is still way too LOUD

#37 OFFLINE   wxguy

wxguy

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 91 posts
  • Locationcentral Arkansas
Joined: Feb 17, 2008

Posted 15 September 2008 - 07:32 AM

KATV Ch 7 is not in sync again this morning. If you pause it for a bit, then play the delayed broadcast, it will be just about right. Somehing about DirecTV not encoding something from this channel so it will sync when live.

Can't really blame Ch7 for this one as best I can tell.

#38 OFFLINE   ARKDTVfan

ARKDTVfan

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 624 posts
Joined: May 19, 2003

Posted 15 September 2008 - 06:37 PM

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

yet again no audio at all on KATV
I'm about the point where I wish the FCC would pull KATV"s license, they are a joke of a station!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I knwo they are using a subchannel of KWBF but dang enough already!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

#39 OFFLINE   HOAGIEHEAD

HOAGIEHEAD

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 110 posts
Joined: Jan 25, 2006

Posted 16 September 2008 - 07:13 AM

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

yet again no audio at all on KATV
I'm about the point where I wish the FCC would pull KATV"s license, they are a joke of a station!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I knwo they are using a subchannel of KWBF but dang enough already!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


:( :( :(
I know exactly of what you speak sir. I don't even bother stopping at that channel any longer. It is so past frustrating it's not even funny. There must be plenty more subscribers out there that feel the same way. It's obvious KATV could give a rats arse they are losing viewers.
H20-600 latest NR
Samsung 32"
Customer since USSB

#40 OFFLINE   arxaw

arxaw

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 609 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2003

Posted 20 September 2008 - 07:21 AM

KATV-DT in Little Rock (abc-hd) is still unwatchable on D*.

Horrible picture quality. Herky-jerky motion with missing frames and blurry, non-hd quality. And the sound won't stay in sync. Really bad.

Fix it or take it down until you can solve the problem.

#41 OFFLINE   Birdieman30

Birdieman30

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 68 posts
Joined: Aug 25, 2008

Posted 20 September 2008 - 03:51 PM

What's the deal with KATV today? The Texas A&M and Miami game and the network scoreboard show in SD. At least the Raycomm game was in
S-HD (Semi-HD). Same song, different verse at KATV.

#42 OFFLINE   ARKDTVfan

ARKDTVfan

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 624 posts
Joined: May 19, 2003

Posted 20 September 2008 - 04:57 PM

What's the deal with KATV today? The Texas A&M and Miami game and the network scoreboard show in SD. At least the Raycomm game was in
S-HD (Semi-HD). Same song, different verse at KATV.


ABC didn't do that game in HD
too bad Raycom didn't do their game at all
what a pathetic showing :(

#43 OFFLINE   jangell2

jangell2

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 310 posts
Joined: Apr 06, 2004

Posted 21 September 2008 - 04:19 PM

I've just started watching the channel 11 HD broadcast of the colts/jags game and, jeez, is there ia lot of major blocking going on. Seems related to motion. I don't know if this is DTV's problem or 11's.
johnny
www.teamfurr.org

#44 OFFLINE   mauijiminar

mauijiminar

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 264 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2007

Posted 23 September 2008 - 03:23 PM

KATV-DT in Little Rock (abc-hd) is still unwatchable on D*.

Horrible picture quality. Herky-jerky motion with missing frames and blurry, non-hd quality. And the sound won't stay in sync. Really bad.

Fix it or take it down until you can solve the problem.


It is not Directv's fault. It looks the same way OTA. Until KATV gets their new tower up, it will not look better. OTA looks just as bad.

#45 OFFLINE   HDJulie

HDJulie

    Icon

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 863 posts
Joined: Aug 10, 2008

Posted 30 September 2008 - 12:25 PM

Dancing With the Stars airs on KATV. The picture is horrible & the image cuts out sometimes (pixelates). This is supposed to be broadcast in HD. Anyone know what the deal is? Is it KATV's fault?

#46 OFFLINE   arxaw

arxaw

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 609 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2003

Posted 30 September 2008 - 05:33 PM

It's katv & directv's fault. They shouldn't have added katv to directv until katv's new tower is up and they are broadcasting their own signal, not piggybacking on a two-bit Equity station that doesn't have enough bandwidth to do abc-hd.

Or, they should have run fiber directly to the DirecTV facility on Col. Glenn, like they did for comscat.

It probably won't improve until the end of the year when katv gets their new tower up and running and are broadcasting on their own channel.

#47 OFFLINE   steveken

steveken

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 299 posts
Joined: Sep 15, 2007

Posted 07 October 2008 - 10:57 AM

...not piggybacking on a two-bit Equity station that doesn't have enough bandwidth to do abc-hd.


They don't have enough bandwidth to do their OWN channel properly, much less add another channel onto it. Well, I suppose they do have enough, but only because they rarely show any true HD content. It usually looks like crap on their channel anyway. Tried watching Cardinals games this year on 42-2 and it just looked like a Lego'ized version of the game.

Or, they should have run fiber directly to the DirecTV facility on Col. Glenn, like they did for comscat.


LOL, and spend money? NAH!!! :)

It probably won't improve until the end of the year when katv gets their new tower up and running and are broadcasting on their own channel.


Try like February of next year probably.......can't help but be pessimistic.


Anyway, I will just put in my experiences of 7 over the past times I have tried to watch it. At times it looks like its coming off a severely underpowered computer where the video will lag, then speed up a little only to lag again. It makes the video a good 1 to 2 seconds behind the audio.

Too bad filing a complaint with the FCC would do next to no good.

#48 OFFLINE   Birdieman30

Birdieman30

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 68 posts
Joined: Aug 25, 2008

Posted 18 October 2008 - 07:20 PM

Is it ABC or KATV?

I am watching the Texass/Missouri game and when they change cameras the picture continually goes out of focus. The text and the actual game shots go out of focus. I thought it was me, but my wife confirmed my suspicions. It is very annoying.

#49 OFFLINE   arxaw

arxaw

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 609 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2003

Posted 19 October 2008 - 06:50 AM

Is it ABC or KATV?

It's katv. See post #46.

#50 OFFLINE   ARKDTVfan

ARKDTVfan

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 624 posts
Joined: May 19, 2003

Posted 19 October 2008 - 11:19 AM

:rolleyes: nothing but an outage message on KATV
I don't care if their tower fell or not they still suck




Protected By... spam firewall...And...