Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

ViP612 - Any Input Appreciated


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,314 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 06 September 2008 - 10:40 AM

1. Is the ViP612 having the momentary audio dropout problems on ABC and Fox in many locations currently being experienced on the 622/722?

2. How does the ViP612 differ from the ViP722 other than the size of the drive and the 2nd TV output?

3. The thread for the latest software release on the ViP612 is incredibly quiet. Does the current software release (L6.01) have no significant glitches?

In a week I'll be eligible to upgrade my 508's to an HD DVR, which would be my second HD DVR. I added a ViP722 a year ago. I had put off going to HD because there were so many initial problems with the ViP622 and, more importantly, my equipment and home theater color scheme is black-on-black and until the ViP722 that wasn't available. Now both the ViP722 and the ViP612 are available.

Simple logic says that I should get a ViP612. I don't need a second TV output. I don't need the larger drive as I have 3 EHD's. And, as I understand it, with the ViP612 I'll be replacing the two extra receiver charges currently on my two 508's with one extra receiver charge and a lease fee while a second ViP722 would get me two extra receiver charges and a lease fee.

Additionally, I'm having the audio dropout problem on my ViP722. I see no mention of it on the ViP612 threads, so I could record Bay Area ABC and Fox shows on a ViP612.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.:)

"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup
My Slingbox Pro HD Experience
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   DBS Commando

DBS Commando

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 435 posts
Joined: Apr 06, 2006

Posted 06 September 2008 - 04:18 PM

I've got a 612 for my main TV viewing room and after the recent updates, I've had 0 problems. Keep in mind that the 612 doesn't have PiP, so if you used your 722 in single mode and enjoyed pip, you won't get it here.

I've never had any of the audio dropout issues that you're referring too, not even on my 622. So I couldn't answer honestly on that.

#3 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 13,314 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 06 September 2008 - 04:37 PM

I've got a 612 for my main TV viewing room and after the recent updates, I've had 0 problems. Keep in mind that the 612 doesn't have PiP, so if you used your 722 in single mode and enjoyed pip, you won't get it here.

I've never had any of the audio dropout issues that you're referring too, not even on my 622. So I couldn't answer honestly on that.

Thanks. It's good to see that the recent updates appear to have solved most problems with the 612. PIP is not an issue for me. And the audio dropout appears to be specific to ABC and Fox locals in certain DMA's. I'm hoping to hear from someone who has both a 622 or a 722 with the audio dropout and a 612 without it, but hearing from 612 owners that the problems have been mostly solved with recent releases is really reassuring.

#4 OFFLINE   mattydork

mattydork

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 16 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2003

Posted 06 September 2008 - 04:54 PM

i love my 612 and have not noticed any issues with the recent software update. i do notice that the menus tend to get a little glitchy if i move around in them too fast but other than that, everything is good.

#5 OFFLINE   kstevens

kstevens

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 533 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2003

Posted 07 September 2008 - 05:57 AM

I've been having issues with audio and video on HD content. I've experienced it on USA HD, ESPN2HD, ABC Family HD. I don't know if it is just my receiver, but if they continue, I'm calling dish agian. If they can't fix it, it will be another issue to drive me to Direct TV, since D* just released HD locals in Augusta, GA and it is not on the radar yet for dish.

Ken

#6 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 13,314 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 07 September 2008 - 01:20 PM

I've been having issues with audio and video on HD content. I've experienced it on USA HD, ESPN2HD, ABC Family HD. I don't know if it is just my receiver, but if they continue, I'm calling dish agian. If they can't fix it, it will be another issue to drive me to Direct TV, since D* just released HD locals in Augusta, GA and it is not on the radar yet for dish.

Ken

Unfortunately, I have "issues" with audio and video HD programming through my 722. (Of course, apparently so do the folks on the DirecTV threads.) What kinds of problems do you have on your 612?

(And I do think not having HD locals could be a deal-breaker for me though the HD locals are the source of more problems than the cable channels.)

#7 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 13,314 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 07 September 2008 - 01:23 PM

i love my 612 and have not noticed any issues with the recent software update. i do notice that the menus tend to get a little glitchy if i move around in them too fast but other than that, everything is good.

Thanks for the comment. There really doesn't seem to be serious complaints about the 612 now.

#8 OFFLINE   Mokanic

Mokanic

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 83 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2007

Posted 07 September 2008 - 05:34 PM

Have a leased 622 and a purchased 612.
I haven't noticed any issues, audio or otherwise, with my 612. (Except for the carbon based problem of allowing the digital binary storage medium to acheive a high grade fever) :)

#9 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 13,314 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 07 September 2008 - 11:24 PM

Have a leased 622 and a purchased 612.
I haven't noticed any issues, audio or otherwise, with my 612. (Except for the carbon based problem of allowing the digital binary storage medium to acheive a high grade fever) :)

Thanks for information. It appears that I have a chance that when I get a 612 and record ABC and Fox HD on it I won't be getting the disgusted looks from the family because of audio dropouts.:)

#10 OFFLINE   kstevens

kstevens

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 533 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2003

Posted 08 September 2008 - 04:26 AM

Unfortunately, I have "issues" with audio and video HD programming through my 722. (Of course, apparently so do the folks on the DirecTV threads.) What kinds of problems do you have on your 612?

(And I do think not having HD locals could be a deal-breaker for me though the HD locals are the source of more problems than the cable channels.)


Every so often the video will just freeze for a second or so or I'll get an audio drop. This is my second 612, the first had issues with the ota tuner.


Ken

#11 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 13,314 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 08 September 2008 - 12:39 PM

Every so often the video will just freeze for a second or so or I'll get an audio drop. This is my second 612, the first had issues with the ota tuner.


Ken

Well, we watched recorded programming from ABC Family HD last night on our 722 and had some minor video glitches. In fact, we watched recorded programming on AMC which is SD and for a couple of minutes the scan seemed to be "fuzzy." I've given up expecting perfection and much of the time I'm surprised at how good the quality is. On the other hand, the audio dropout from HD locals that we're experiencing frequently makes the program unwatchable unless you can read lips.

Based on what has been reported about the 612, or rather what has not been reported about the 612, I think I'm going to order one to replace my two 508's and see what happens.

"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup
My Slingbox Pro HD Experience
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian


#12 OFFLINE   forya

forya

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 34 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2008

Posted 08 September 2008 - 01:51 PM

I noticed on yesterday during the football games some dropouts on The FOX and NBC Philadelphia stations I thought it was just the network feeds dropping out

#13 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 13,314 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 08 September 2008 - 03:03 PM

I noticed on yesterday during the football games some dropouts on The FOX and NBC Philadelphia stations I thought it was just the network feeds dropping out

It appears from a random check of your other posts that you have a 722. If that is true, would you mind repeating your post on this thread ViP622/ViP722 - L5.12/L6.10/L6.12 Audio Related Issues Discussions as we are repeatedly directing Dish Tech and Dish Quality to that thread?

#14 OFFLINE   BR7

BR7

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Oct 14, 2008

Posted 14 October 2008 - 02:28 AM

I have had the Vip612 for about a week now and I am very displeased.

All recorded HD programs have audio drops and picture skips.What's the point of having a DVR if you can not get a proper recording ?

Question.
When the receiver shuts down to find updates, the blue led HDTV light and the green light comes back on.Does that mean it's downloading?

Thanks




spam firewall