Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Is VHF harder to pick up than UHF?


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   thestaton

thestaton

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Aug 14, 2008

Posted 09 September 2008 - 03:38 PM

According to antenna web these are the color codes for the digital channels.
Fox - Green. VHF 56.1. Compass 245 Miles. 22.6
CBS - Red. VHF 27.1 Compass 274 Miles. 23.8
NBC - Red. UHF 18.1 Compass 273 Miles 23.4
ABC - RED. UHF 36.1 Compass 273 Miles 23.4

My antenna I currently have has no problem picking up both UHF channels. ABC & NBC. They come in great, with a very high signal strength. However, for the life of me I can not get the VHF channels to come in with my current antenna which is the RCA ANT 706A. It says it's supposed to pick up both UFH & VHF. I've tried doing the dance around the roof pointing every way I can and I'm having no love with the VHF.

Today I ordered the Antennas Direct DB4, and it says tt will pull in all UHF frequencies and most higher level VHF frequencies with a range of about 55 miles.

What is considered a high level VHF signal? Does FOX 56.1 or CBS 27.1 qualify as being high?

If this antenna does not work out do you have any suggestions?

Thanks.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,771 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 09 September 2008 - 04:04 PM

VHF channels = 2-13, with the split between high / low at 7 -13 high/ 2-6 low.
UHF channels are 14- 69, with that upper limit going down to 51 Feb 19,2009 .

With digital - their "old analog channel" number may or may not be a good indication of their actual RF channel number. If you could give us a zip code, I could give you a better answer with a better tool than antennaweb.org .
You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

#3 OFFLINE   BNUMM

BNUMM

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,079 posts
Joined: Dec 23, 2006

Posted 09 September 2008 - 04:05 PM

According to antenna web these are the color codes for the digital channels.
Fox - Green. VHF 56.1. Compass 245 Miles. 22.6
CBS - Red. VHF 27.1 Compass 274 Miles. 23.8
NBC - Red. UHF 18.1 Compass 273 Miles 23.4
ABC - RED. UHF 36.1 Compass 273 Miles 23.4

My antenna I currently have has no problem picking up both UHF channels. ABC & NBC. They come in great, with a very high signal strength. However, for the life of me I can not get the VHF channels to come in with my current antenna which is the RCA ANT 706A. It says it's supposed to pick up both UFH & VHF. I've tried doing the dance around the roof pointing every way I can and I'm having no love with the VHF.

Today I ordered the Antennas Direct DB4, and it says tt will pull in all UHF frequencies and most higher level VHF frequencies with a range of about 55 miles.

What is considered a high level VHF signal? Does FOX 56.1 or CBS 27.1 qualify as being high?

If this antenna does not work out do you have any suggestions?

Thanks.


Are you using a pre-amp? If you are is it for both UHF and VHF?

#4 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,166 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 09 September 2008 - 04:14 PM

First off, you are listing the mapped channel numbers, not the transit numbers. But to answer your question, it depends on the antenna you are using. A lot of the antenna's out there that are marked as HD are UHF only. Also, some the preamps block VHF or UHF signals, if not entirely at least to the point of an unusable signal.

#5 OFFLINE   thestaton

thestaton

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Aug 14, 2008

Posted 09 September 2008 - 04:30 PM

Right now the RCA has a inline power adapter that I am using. If I disconnect the power I get no UHF at all.

#6 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,694 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 09 September 2008 - 06:41 PM

As others have suggested... some "HD antennas" are optimized for UHF band, and may or may not pick up VHF reliably. Also some splitters/amplifiers target certain ranges as well... so either could be your problem.

I also noted that some of the channels were in different directions... so if you are using directional vs omnidirectional that will change things... and your elevation + any potential obstructions between you and the broadcast tower can make a difference.

I, for example, am several miles farther away from my local PBS than my father... but I can get it nicely with an indoor antenna while he cannot get it at all unless he puts up an outdoor antenna even if we use the same equipment (receiver) to try.

Lots of factors... but generally speaking, a VHF signal will travel farther than the same power UHF signal.

-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.


#7 OFFLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,771 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 09 September 2008 - 06:53 PM

Ok - according to www.tvfool.com, your local stations are on REAL RF channels 21, 39, 40, 4, 13, 15, 42, and 7 pre transtion , corresponding to channels 67.1, 18.1, 36.1, 56.1, 27.1, 38.1, 46.1, and 65.1. Post transition channels 21, 39, 40, 4, 13, 15, 42, and 7

So you need a combination VHF and UHF antenna.
You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

#8 OFFLINE   thestaton

thestaton

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Aug 14, 2008

Posted 09 September 2008 - 07:21 PM

Ok - according to www.tvfool.com, your local stations are on REAL RF channels 21, 39, 40, 4, 13, 15, 42, and 7 pre transtion , corresponding to channels 67.1, 18.1, 36.1, 56.1, 27.1, 38.1, 46.1, and 65.1. Post transition channels 21, 39, 40, 4, 13, 15, 42, and 7

So you need a combination VHF and UHF antenna.


Thanks. Do you think this DB4 will work, or am I going to have to get something else?

#9 OFFLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,771 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 09 September 2008 - 09:08 PM

Thanks. Do you think this DB4 will work, or am I going to have to get something else?


I think you need to consider another antenna with that spread of channels.
You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

#10 OFFLINE   wreck

wreck

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 139 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2007

Posted 09 September 2008 - 09:28 PM

I think you need to consider another antenna with that spread of channels.


I'm dealing with this now myself. Keep your DB4 and get a stand alone VHF antenna (perhaps an indoor might even work) and combine them. Use this combiner/separator
http://www.solidsign...y.asp?PROD=UVSJ

Run your DB4 off the "UHF" side and your "VHF" (rabbit ears) off the VHF side.

#11 OFFLINE   thestaton

thestaton

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Aug 14, 2008

Posted 11 September 2008 - 09:32 AM

DB4 for the WIN!!! Maybe I'm an OTA noob, but when I had the DB4 straight up and down it wouldn't pick up any VHF for my life. However something came over me and I decided to put it at about a 45 degree angle and it started beasting the LO VHF & High.

Can't wait to get the SWM8 in so I can get this diplexed into the receiver!

#12 OFFLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,771 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 11 September 2008 - 01:25 PM

The important thing is that it works .
You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

#13 OFFLINE   dishlover2

dishlover2

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 127 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2008

Posted 19 September 2008 - 08:31 PM

Right now the RCA has a inline power adapter that I am using. If I disconnect the power I get no UHF at all.

the amplifer has to be on and theres a built in a/b switch to allow to switch between cable and antenna

#14 OFFLINE   arxaw

arxaw

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 609 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2003

Posted 20 September 2008 - 07:28 AM

DB4 for the WIN!!! Maybe I'm an OTA noob, but when I had the DB4 straight up and down it wouldn't pick up any VHF for my life. However something came over me and I decided to put it at about a 45 degree angle and it started beasting the LO VHF & High.


Thank god for beginners' luck.

The DB4 usually sucks for lowband VHF channels 2 thru 6. Glad you got it working.

#15 OFFLINE   thestaton

thestaton

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Aug 14, 2008

Posted 22 September 2008 - 08:27 PM

Thank god for beginners' luck.

The DB4 usually sucks for lowband VHF channels 2 thru 6. Glad you got it working.


You are correct, the only way I could get the DB4 to pick up the low band VHF was to lay it flat on my roof which kept it at a 40 degree angle, and in the long term that just can't happen. I ended up picking up a Terrestrial Digital V15 for my low & high band VHF channels, and I'm using the DB4 for the UHF signals.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...