Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Dish Letter: Upgrade Receiver (721 etc)


  • Please log in to reply
175 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   jgoggan

jgoggan

    Hall Of Fame/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 1,323 posts
Joined: Apr 02, 2002

Posted 12 September 2008 - 09:03 AM

Does anyone have the phone number in the letter handy? I left it at home and want to call them again. Thanks.

- John...

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   jgoggan

jgoggan

    Hall Of Fame/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 1,323 posts
Joined: Apr 02, 2002

Posted 12 September 2008 - 09:30 AM

Nevermind! Called the normal number and just got this taken care of!

I took the 625 deal yesterday, but they are going to send me the 722 and HD Gold package instead. Charged me $125 for the 722 (I could have had the 622 for $100, but took the 722 for the extra $25). Monthly fee will increase by $10 for the HD Gold package. All lease/DVR fees waived. (So, currently, I pay $37.99 for the Top-100 with my 721 and I will be paying $47.99 for the Top-100 with HD Gold with a 722.)

I need a Dish1000 installed, I guess -- and they said that all of the install was included. Couldn't get it scheduled until the first week of October though. I'll use the 625 until then (he said it had already shipped, so just use it until the 722 install).

Sweet!

EDIT: Actually, is what he told me even possible? I only have the Top-100 package, so I assume that, for my $10/month, I'll get the HD BRONZE channels, right? Not the HD GOLD channels since they only come with the Top-250, correct? It doesn't look like it is possible to have Top-100 and get the HD GOLD. I'm fine with that -- probably more of a mis-speak than anything else.

- John...

#28 OFFLINE   euro_boy

euro_boy

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 87 posts
Joined: Jun 20, 2005

Posted 12 September 2008 - 10:44 AM

What I understood from previous posts, is that 721 owners are getting offered 522/625 with a possibility to upgrade to a higher end reciver (622/722) at a discounted price.

Does anyone know what do they offer to 7100/7200 owners?
Thanks,

#29 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 12 September 2008 - 11:53 AM

I wonder why some people with 721s are being offered the 522 and others are being offered the 625?


Officially, 721s are to be replaced with 522s. But... Dish considers 522s and 625s to be functionally identical. The only difference is the hard drive size anyway.

Plus, 625 and 522s have been in very short supply for several months, and we never know what we'll get when we order 625s. Usually we get refurb 522s or refurb 625s; occasionally we get new ones.

I've been told that several of the factories that used to make 625s are now making other receivers, which is why 625s are so hard to get. I have no way to verify if that's true (there certainly could be other reasons), but it does make sense, especially with Eastern Arc rolling out and an overall need for more MPEG4/HD receivers.

#30 OFFLINE   jgoggan

jgoggan

    Hall Of Fame/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 1,323 posts
Joined: Apr 02, 2002

Posted 12 September 2008 - 12:14 PM

So -- with my 722 coming and a Dish1000 install -- does that mean that it will be a 2-dish setup for HD? It looks like the 1000 is for 3 birds -- plus I'll also need 61.5 for my HD locals. So, does that mean I'll have 2 dishes? I currently have a SuperDish that brings in my locals from 121.

- John...

#31 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 41,680 posts
  • LocationMichiana
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 12 September 2008 - 01:42 PM

You don't need a Dish 1000 if you have HD Locals on 61.5 ... You will need a Dish 500 and a wing dish.

Local installers hopefully will know better and bring the right stuff. :)

#32 OFFLINE   jgoggan

jgoggan

    Hall Of Fame/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 1,323 posts
Joined: Apr 02, 2002

Posted 12 September 2008 - 01:54 PM

Weird. I just checked and it says that all of my SD locals are actually on 110. (I had the SuperDish installed because they were on 121.) Is it possible that they were moved? If so, do I have ANY need for 121 any more?

In any case, the two HD channels for my DMA say that they are on 61.5.

In either case -- looks like I will have 2 dishes then when the HD is installed? Do they mount to the same pole or will they be adding yet another pole to my yard? I think that they charge me if they add another pole, right? That would suck.

- John...

#33 OFFLINE   mkovacs

mkovacs

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 23 posts
Joined: Nov 26, 2002

Posted 12 September 2008 - 02:32 PM

I wonder why some people with 721s are being offered the 522 and others are being offered the 625?

Also -- what plan did you have before? I just have the Top-100 plan, but am in the same situation as you (wouldn't be going to an HD package). If I could end up with a 622 and HD for only $150 plus the extra $10/month, I might be interested.

Also -- did they give you the option of installing yourself and save the $50? They did that for me when they offered the 625.

- John...

I had the Top 150 plan. Not sure why I was selected. My brother has a 721 and so far they have not
contacted him for the replacement (he received no letter). Well as I said in original post they first said
it would cost me $100 to install the HD receiver (and new dish) but when I asked for the upgrade it dropped to $50 and the DVR fee was waived. I did not want to do a self install because I will need an additional dish to get the HD channels and did not want to try this my self. I will keep the 721
I was offered $10 for it but we still have some recorded programs to watch which I will be able to
do even if it not connected to a dish. Well call dish and ask. $50 seemed a reasonable fee. The
tech will also install the receiver.

Marty

#34 OFFLINE   kb9lfr

kb9lfr

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Sep 11, 2008

Posted 12 September 2008 - 03:54 PM

I was told that 7200 people will get a 311...which isn't right at all since a 311 isn't a dvr box. I've been trying to gather more info on my options before I call them back and bargain.

#35 OFFLINE   pjmrt

pjmrt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,939 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2003

Posted 12 September 2008 - 04:00 PM

Same here, only its my ancient 7200 (which still works). Overall I can't complain as they are swapping it for a 625 - at no extra cost to me, including the install. But then I have been with Dish for several years so they (said) they were taking that into account. Still, the 7200 is working - but apparently they are getting ready to pull the plug on all the old gear. BTW - I thought the 7200 was not part of the TiVo lawsuit offending gear, too early?

#36 OFFLINE   pjmrt

pjmrt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,939 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2003

Posted 12 September 2008 - 04:02 PM

I was told that 7200 people will get a 311...which isn't right at all since a 311 isn't a dvr box. I've been trying to gather more info on my options before I call them back and bargain.


didn't see your post. I explained to the customer rep what the 7200 was and they swapped it for a modern DVR model.

#37 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 41,680 posts
  • LocationMichiana
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 12 September 2008 - 05:24 PM

Still, the 7200 is working - but apparently they are getting ready to pull the plug on all the old gear. BTW - I thought the 7200 was not part of the TiVo lawsuit offending gear, too early?

It should be a smartcard issue (3G coming soon and already in some homes).

#38 OFFLINE   neljtorres

neljtorres

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 317 posts
Joined: Jul 15, 2004

Posted 12 September 2008 - 05:47 PM

I got the same letter today, and I was surprised because when I called the told me since I am in Puerto Rico I have to go to a retailer and buy a new receiver. That's a bull I have been with dish since 1999 and the CSR treat me if I was worth crap and I said hell no! I ask for a supervisor and he could not help either!. I am so mad! Well I am going to have and keep on watching the 721 and when it dies, I don't know what I am going to do!:nono2:

#39 OFFLINE   kb9lfr

kb9lfr

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Sep 11, 2008

Posted 12 September 2008 - 07:31 PM

So you were able to get a 625 at no cost to replace your 7200?
Any pvr fees?
Any lease charges?
We have AT250 and Locals and have been with dish for about 7 years...I wonder if we could get the same deal.
Does the 625 have anything to do with HD?

#40 OFFLINE   kstuart

kstuart

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 643 posts
Joined: Apr 25, 2002

Posted 13 September 2008 - 12:36 PM

So you were able to get a 625 at no cost to replace your 7200?
Any pvr fees?
Any lease charges?
We have AT250 and Locals and have been with dish for about 7 years...I wonder if we could get the same deal.
Does the 625 have anything to do with HD?


You should be able to get that deal.

There is no difference between 522 and 625 other than drive size, and orders for one often end up with the other one being delivered.

They do not have anything to do with HD.
Still using Dish 500 production unit #000001 (pictured prior to upgrade to DPPlusTwin)
Olevia 542i fed by ViP622 and 522

#41 OFFLINE   jclewter79

jclewter79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,833 posts
Joined: Jan 08, 2008

Posted 13 September 2008 - 02:26 PM

With dvr advantage, basically anybody can get the DVR fee waived as it makes your AT package with locals cost the same as you AT package plus locals and DVR fee. At least until next February.
Dish Customer since 12/13/03
Leased 722 DVR (Under contract until 08/02/10?)
(The installer had me sign an exsisting customer 18 month agreement!)
Owned 301 (Purchased at Wal-Mart 12/12/03)

#42 OFFLINE   jgoggan

jgoggan

    Hall Of Fame/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 1,323 posts
Joined: Apr 02, 2002

Posted 13 September 2008 - 02:40 PM

With dvr advantage, basically anybody can get the DVR fee waived as it makes your AT package with locals cost the same as you AT package plus locals and DVR fee. At least until next February.


This appears to be incorrect. When I did this deal, he started to add DVR Advantage to my account and it INCREASED my monthly fee. So he removed it and said that, because of the fee(s) being waived for having a 721, it was cheaper without DVR Advantage.

Just to confirm this, I just went to Dish Network and did the wizard as a new customer for exactly what I will have (Top-100, HD Bronze, 722) for $47.99/month (I currently pay $37.99/month for Top-100 with locals with my 721 and it will be $10 more after my swap to the 721 for the HD Bronze). The wizard's calculation, even after doing the DVR Advantage, came to $49.99.

The wizard calculated, before I added the DVR, that the programming would cost me $32.99 for Top-100 plus $5 for locals plus $10 for HD Bronze -- for a total of $47.99. Then it added another $4.60 for the DVR fee after I put that in. That would be $52.59. Then it said that that qualifies for the DVR Advantage, made that change, and adjusted the monthly fee to $49.99 total.

So, sure, what I am getting in the end is only $2/month less with their fee waiving (so I'm not REALLY getting the full fees waived) -- but it is still incorrect to say that anyone can get the same fees waived by going to DVR Advantage. Those of us with 721s going to 722s are getting it for $2/month less than what "anyone" doing the DVR Advantage thing would be getting, I believe.

- John...

#43 OFFLINE   CABill

CABill

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,113 posts
Joined: Mar 20, 2005

Posted 13 September 2008 - 03:55 PM

This appears to be incorrect.
...
Those of us with 721s going to 722s are getting it for $2/month less than what "anyone" doing the DVR Advantage thing would be getting, I believe.

- John...

Repeat your steps if you are anything above AT100 (where DishDVR Advantage saves only $3.98) and you'll see what jclewter79 was saying. He should have said any AT package except AT100, but nobody can include all the "excepts" in a brief post. DISH has quite a few "excepts".

#44 OFFLINE   jgoggan

jgoggan

    Hall Of Fame/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 1,323 posts
Joined: Apr 02, 2002

Posted 13 September 2008 - 04:20 PM

Interesting. I likely should have upgraded from my 721 long ago then. I had been avoiding it because I didn't want to start paying a "DVR" fee that I think is lame. Had I known that I could have done it with either just a $2/month increase or none at all if I was Top-150, I likely would have done it long ago. Oh well...

- John...

#45 OFFLINE   kstuart

kstuart

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 643 posts
Joined: Apr 25, 2002

Posted 13 September 2008 - 04:34 PM

DVR Advantage only waives one DVR fee.

I have two DVRs, one is a 721 and the other would have a fee where it not for DVR Advantage.

So, the 721 replacement program including a waiver of the DVR fee for the 522/625 replacement is certainly a help for me.

Only the "America's Everything Package" waives DVR fees for all the DVRs on an account - which is why most people with 4 or 5 DVRs have that package.
Still using Dish 500 production unit #000001 (pictured prior to upgrade to DPPlusTwin)
Olevia 542i fed by ViP622 and 522

#46 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 13 September 2008 - 04:35 PM

Weird. I just checked and it says that all of my SD locals are actually on 110. (I had the SuperDish installed because they were on 121.) Is it possible that they were moved? If so, do I have ANY need for 121 any more?


No one needs 121 anymore; there hasn't been any (non-commercial) content on it for almost a year. Yes, your locals were moved to 110 at some point. The Superdish is obsolete.

In any case, the two HD channels for my DMA say that they are on 61.5.

In either case -- looks like I will have 2 dishes then when the HD is installed? Do they mount to the same pole or will they be adding yet another pole to my yard? I think that they charge me if they add another pole, right? That would suck.


If you need 61.5, then you will need two Dish 500 dishes, one pointing at 119/110 and one in "wing" configuration pointing at 61.5.

If your existing pole is a 2" or 2 3/8" (Superdishes came in both sizes), then it will need to be replaced or adapted to allow a 1 5/8" dish to fit on it, and, yes, you'd need a second one for the wing dish.

#47 OFFLINE   pjmrt

pjmrt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,939 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2003

Posted 13 September 2008 - 06:36 PM

So you were able to get a 625 at no cost to replace your 7200?
Any pvr fees?
Any lease charges?
We have AT250 and Locals and have been with dish for about 7 years...I wonder if we could get the same deal.
Does the 625 have anything to do with HD?


Maybe, its worth a try. I've been with them about the same and that's my package. I have a DVR fee waiver on my 7200 (part of the deal when I originally bought it, temporarily lost it, then got it back when I contacted ceo@echostar). My other DVR was a 721 which died and was replaced w/ a 522 no charge and no DVR fees. On the phone anyway, the deal is no lease charges, no DVR fees, just pay what I'm paying now. The only catch is that the 625 is officially leased, I won't own it like I do my 7200 and 522. But neither do I have to return the 7200. Not sure what I will do with it though, as it will shortly be a paperweight. I would get a modest credit on my bill if I return it (I think it was $20). I thought about eBaying it, but it would be useless as a functional reciever - only good as a collector's item. Which is the one reason I have to hang on to it - the first DVR reciever and the only (so far as I know) reciever w/ webTV.

#48 OFFLINE   jgoggan

jgoggan

    Hall Of Fame/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 1,323 posts
Joined: Apr 02, 2002

Posted 13 September 2008 - 09:58 PM

If you need 61.5, then you will need two Dish 500 dishes, one pointing at 119/110 and one in "wing" configuration pointing at 61.5.

If your existing pole is a 2" or 2 3/8" (Superdishes came in both sizes), then it will need to be replaced or adapted to allow a 1 5/8" dish to fit on it, and, yes, you'd need a second one for the wing dish.


Ok -- thanks for the info. So, now I'm curious if my "free install" is going to include that second pole (and replacement of my existing pole). Last time I had a "free install", the installer got here and told me that I had to pay because it was on a pole and not on the roof. Now I'm afraid he's going to show up and tell me that I have to not only pay -- but pay for TWO poles... Hmmm...

Anyone know the official word on this sort of thing?

- John...

#49 OFFLINE   BNUMM

BNUMM

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,079 posts
Joined: Dec 23, 2006

Posted 14 September 2008 - 09:11 AM

It is "Free Basic Installation" which does not include pole mounts.

#50 OFFLINE   AppliedAggression

AppliedAggression

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 425 posts
Joined: Aug 15, 2003

Posted 14 September 2008 - 10:09 AM

I have a 721 as well.
Will the 522 or 625 I receive be owned by me, or is it leased from them for free?




Protected By... spam firewall...And...