Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Dish Letter: Upgrade Receiver (721 etc)


  • Please log in to reply
175 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   kstuart

kstuart

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 643 posts
Joined: Apr 25, 2002

Posted 11 September 2008 - 07:07 PM

I was told it was because of the "Smart Card" issue, but the TiVo case make's more since.

The replacement letter was also sent to owners of 7100/7200 DVRs which are exempt from the TiVo case, so that is not the deciding factor.
Still using Dish 500 production unit #000001 (pictured prior to upgrade to DPPlusTwin)
Olevia 542i fed by ViP622 and 522

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,719 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 11 September 2008 - 07:13 PM

So what is the TV Antenna/Cable In F-Connector on the rear panel for? On my 721 and 5000 it received/tunes OTA channel's from antenna. The way they have been hyping the DTV conversion on every channel, would have thought they put a DTV(ATSC) tuner in these receivers with OTA tuners. So I guess I can use one of my DTV boxes on it....

Steve


It's a passthrough only. There is absolutely NO OTA tuner of any kind in a 625 - trust me - I have one. I don't think your 721 has one either. The 5000 DID have an analog tuner.
You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

#23 OFFLINE   BNUMM

BNUMM

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,078 posts
Joined: Dec 23, 2006

Posted 11 September 2008 - 07:40 PM

It's a passthrough only. There is absolutely NO OTA tuner of any kind in a 625 - trust me - I have one. I don't think your 721 has one either. The 5000 DID have an analog tuner.


You are correct. I have a 721 and it has no OTA tuner.

#24 OFFLINE   mkovacs

mkovacs

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 23 posts
Joined: Nov 26, 2002

Posted 12 September 2008 - 07:50 AM

I also received the same letter, called dish and they offered the 522 as the free replacement. Decided to ask about upgrade to HD and was told it would cost me $100 for the upgrade to HD and the HD programming (gold level) would cost $10 per month for a two year contract. Hemmed and hawed and then decided to go for the upgrade. Then was told that since I was a long time customer (11 years) the installation would only cost me $50 and the DVR fee was waived. I have a TV that is HD ready so now looking forward to getting the new receiver (622) (my 721 is getting very old and finiky). Installation scheduled for 13 Sept (Saturday).
BTW, when I asked when my service would be discontinued I was to 17 Sept!!!! so not much time to think about the upgrade.

I got the same letter. I have a 508, a 2700, and a 7100. Not sure which one they want to replace.

I thought the 7100 was ok and that the 508's software update put it in the clear.

I called Dish up. He wanted to swap my 7100 out for a 508 or 501 at no charge and no contract. Told him I'd
think about it. It would be hard to go from the 90-100 hours available (120 gb upgrade hard drive) on the 7100 to 35 to 60 hours on the 501 or 508 respectively.

But at least the 508 would have Name Based Recording and would map the Local channels down to their two digit numbers instead of to only a 7XXX number. He couldn't guarantee me a 508.



#25 OFFLINE   jgoggan

jgoggan

    Hall Of Fame/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 1,319 posts
Joined: Apr 02, 2002

Posted 12 September 2008 - 08:46 AM

I also received the same letter, called dish and they offered the 522 as the free replacement. Decided to ask about upgrade to HD and was told it would cost me $100 for the upgrade to HD and the HD programming (gold level) would cost $10 per month for a two year contract. Hemmed and hawed and then decided to go for the upgrade. Then was told that since I was a long time customer (11 years) the installation would only cost me $50 and the DVR fee was waived. I have a TV that is HD ready so now looking forward to getting the new receiver (622) (my 721 is getting very old and finiky). Installation scheduled for 13 Sept (Saturday).


I wonder why some people with 721s are being offered the 522 and others are being offered the 625?

Also -- what plan did you have before? I just have the Top-100 plan, but am in the same situation as you (wouldn't be going to an HD package). If I could end up with a 622 and HD for only $150 plus the extra $10/month, I might be interested.

Also -- did they give you the option of installing yourself and save the $50? They did that for me when they offered the 625.

- John...

#26 OFFLINE   jgoggan

jgoggan

    Hall Of Fame/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 1,319 posts
Joined: Apr 02, 2002

Posted 12 September 2008 - 09:03 AM

Does anyone have the phone number in the letter handy? I left it at home and want to call them again. Thanks.

- John...

#27 OFFLINE   jgoggan

jgoggan

    Hall Of Fame/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 1,319 posts
Joined: Apr 02, 2002

Posted 12 September 2008 - 09:30 AM

Nevermind! Called the normal number and just got this taken care of!

I took the 625 deal yesterday, but they are going to send me the 722 and HD Gold package instead. Charged me $125 for the 722 (I could have had the 622 for $100, but took the 722 for the extra $25). Monthly fee will increase by $10 for the HD Gold package. All lease/DVR fees waived. (So, currently, I pay $37.99 for the Top-100 with my 721 and I will be paying $47.99 for the Top-100 with HD Gold with a 722.)

I need a Dish1000 installed, I guess -- and they said that all of the install was included. Couldn't get it scheduled until the first week of October though. I'll use the 625 until then (he said it had already shipped, so just use it until the 722 install).

Sweet!

EDIT: Actually, is what he told me even possible? I only have the Top-100 package, so I assume that, for my $10/month, I'll get the HD BRONZE channels, right? Not the HD GOLD channels since they only come with the Top-250, correct? It doesn't look like it is possible to have Top-100 and get the HD GOLD. I'm fine with that -- probably more of a mis-speak than anything else.

- John...

#28 OFFLINE   euro_boy

euro_boy

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 87 posts
Joined: Jun 20, 2005

Posted 12 September 2008 - 10:44 AM

What I understood from previous posts, is that 721 owners are getting offered 522/625 with a possibility to upgrade to a higher end reciver (622/722) at a discounted price.

Does anyone know what do they offer to 7100/7200 owners?
Thanks,

#29 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 12 September 2008 - 11:53 AM

I wonder why some people with 721s are being offered the 522 and others are being offered the 625?


Officially, 721s are to be replaced with 522s. But... Dish considers 522s and 625s to be functionally identical. The only difference is the hard drive size anyway.

Plus, 625 and 522s have been in very short supply for several months, and we never know what we'll get when we order 625s. Usually we get refurb 522s or refurb 625s; occasionally we get new ones.

I've been told that several of the factories that used to make 625s are now making other receivers, which is why 625s are so hard to get. I have no way to verify if that's true (there certainly could be other reasons), but it does make sense, especially with Eastern Arc rolling out and an overall need for more MPEG4/HD receivers.

#30 OFFLINE   jgoggan

jgoggan

    Hall Of Fame/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 1,319 posts
Joined: Apr 02, 2002

Posted 12 September 2008 - 12:14 PM

So -- with my 722 coming and a Dish1000 install -- does that mean that it will be a 2-dish setup for HD? It looks like the 1000 is for 3 birds -- plus I'll also need 61.5 for my HD locals. So, does that mean I'll have 2 dishes? I currently have a SuperDish that brings in my locals from 121.

- John...

#31 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,332 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 12 September 2008 - 01:42 PM

You don't need a Dish 1000 if you have HD Locals on 61.5 ... You will need a Dish 500 and a wing dish.

Local installers hopefully will know better and bring the right stuff. :)

#32 OFFLINE   jgoggan

jgoggan

    Hall Of Fame/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 1,319 posts
Joined: Apr 02, 2002

Posted 12 September 2008 - 01:54 PM

Weird. I just checked and it says that all of my SD locals are actually on 110. (I had the SuperDish installed because they were on 121.) Is it possible that they were moved? If so, do I have ANY need for 121 any more?

In any case, the two HD channels for my DMA say that they are on 61.5.

In either case -- looks like I will have 2 dishes then when the HD is installed? Do they mount to the same pole or will they be adding yet another pole to my yard? I think that they charge me if they add another pole, right? That would suck.

- John...

#33 OFFLINE   mkovacs

mkovacs

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 23 posts
Joined: Nov 26, 2002

Posted 12 September 2008 - 02:32 PM

I wonder why some people with 721s are being offered the 522 and others are being offered the 625?

Also -- what plan did you have before? I just have the Top-100 plan, but am in the same situation as you (wouldn't be going to an HD package). If I could end up with a 622 and HD for only $150 plus the extra $10/month, I might be interested.

Also -- did they give you the option of installing yourself and save the $50? They did that for me when they offered the 625.

- John...

I had the Top 150 plan. Not sure why I was selected. My brother has a 721 and so far they have not
contacted him for the replacement (he received no letter). Well as I said in original post they first said
it would cost me $100 to install the HD receiver (and new dish) but when I asked for the upgrade it dropped to $50 and the DVR fee was waived. I did not want to do a self install because I will need an additional dish to get the HD channels and did not want to try this my self. I will keep the 721
I was offered $10 for it but we still have some recorded programs to watch which I will be able to
do even if it not connected to a dish. Well call dish and ask. $50 seemed a reasonable fee. The
tech will also install the receiver.

Marty

#34 OFFLINE   kb9lfr

kb9lfr

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Sep 11, 2008

Posted 12 September 2008 - 03:54 PM

I was told that 7200 people will get a 311...which isn't right at all since a 311 isn't a dvr box. I've been trying to gather more info on my options before I call them back and bargain.

#35 OFFLINE   pjmrt

pjmrt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,939 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2003

Posted 12 September 2008 - 04:00 PM

Same here, only its my ancient 7200 (which still works). Overall I can't complain as they are swapping it for a 625 - at no extra cost to me, including the install. But then I have been with Dish for several years so they (said) they were taking that into account. Still, the 7200 is working - but apparently they are getting ready to pull the plug on all the old gear. BTW - I thought the 7200 was not part of the TiVo lawsuit offending gear, too early?

#36 OFFLINE   pjmrt

pjmrt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,939 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2003

Posted 12 September 2008 - 04:02 PM

I was told that 7200 people will get a 311...which isn't right at all since a 311 isn't a dvr box. I've been trying to gather more info on my options before I call them back and bargain.


didn't see your post. I explained to the customer rep what the 7200 was and they swapped it for a modern DVR model.

#37 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,332 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 12 September 2008 - 05:24 PM

Still, the 7200 is working - but apparently they are getting ready to pull the plug on all the old gear. BTW - I thought the 7200 was not part of the TiVo lawsuit offending gear, too early?

It should be a smartcard issue (3G coming soon and already in some homes).

#38 OFFLINE   neljtorres

neljtorres

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 317 posts
Joined: Jul 15, 2004

Posted 12 September 2008 - 05:47 PM

I got the same letter today, and I was surprised because when I called the told me since I am in Puerto Rico I have to go to a retailer and buy a new receiver. That's a bull I have been with dish since 1999 and the CSR treat me if I was worth crap and I said hell no! I ask for a supervisor and he could not help either!. I am so mad! Well I am going to have and keep on watching the 721 and when it dies, I don't know what I am going to do!:nono2:

#39 OFFLINE   kb9lfr

kb9lfr

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Sep 11, 2008

Posted 12 September 2008 - 07:31 PM

So you were able to get a 625 at no cost to replace your 7200?
Any pvr fees?
Any lease charges?
We have AT250 and Locals and have been with dish for about 7 years...I wonder if we could get the same deal.
Does the 625 have anything to do with HD?

#40 OFFLINE   kstuart

kstuart

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 643 posts
Joined: Apr 25, 2002

Posted 13 September 2008 - 12:36 PM

So you were able to get a 625 at no cost to replace your 7200?
Any pvr fees?
Any lease charges?
We have AT250 and Locals and have been with dish for about 7 years...I wonder if we could get the same deal.
Does the 625 have anything to do with HD?


You should be able to get that deal.

There is no difference between 522 and 625 other than drive size, and orders for one often end up with the other one being delivered.

They do not have anything to do with HD.
Still using Dish 500 production unit #000001 (pictured prior to upgrade to DPPlusTwin)
Olevia 542i fed by ViP622 and 522




spam firewall