Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Check Switch Results


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   pderoo1

pderoo1

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2008

Posted 14 September 2008 - 08:38 AM

We have not had a signal for well over 24 hours now. When I run the check switch test, these are the results:

LNB Drift Detected
0x00, 0xa1, 110 (e -5)
0x00, 0xa1, 119 (e -5)

Any ideas as to what this might mean?

TIA,
Paula

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   verncat05

verncat05

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2008

Posted 14 September 2008 - 08:48 AM

Maybe you dish is out of alignment somehow?

#3 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,251 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 14 September 2008 - 09:03 AM

LNB drift is usually a sign of an impending (or in your case, a terminal) LNB failure.

I'd be on the horn with DISH about getting it replaced. If you have the means and desire to do it yourself, I have some suggestions.

#4 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 14 September 2008 - 09:07 AM

We have not had a signal for well over 24 hours now. When I run the check switch test, these are the results:

LNB Drift Detected
0x00, 0xa1, 110 (e -5)
0x00, 0xa1, 119 (e -5)

Any ideas as to what this might mean?

TIA,
Paula

It means what you already know you have no signal. Were you in the path of IKE? You really haven't give us much information except that for 24 hours you haven't had signal.

#5 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 14 September 2008 - 12:03 PM

LNB drift of "5" is barely, barely out of the "normal" range. Techs are supposed to replace LNBs with 6 or more drift, but you generally don't lose signal (due to drift, anyway) until it hits 9 or 10.

Most likely the LNB is fine and you need a dish alignment.

#6 OFFLINE   pderoo1

pderoo1

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2008

Posted 14 September 2008 - 05:30 PM

Not sure what other info to supply you with.

Dish Network is sending a tech out on Tuesday, but can I try to align it myself before then?

#7 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,160 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 14 September 2008 - 06:14 PM

Not sure what other info to supply you with.

Dish Network is sending a tech out on Tuesday, but can I try to align it myself before then?


You can try if you know what you are doing. If you never pointed a dish before, you could easily make your situation worse.

#8 OFFLINE   pderoo1

pderoo1

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2008

Posted 15 September 2008 - 04:03 AM

You can try if you know what you are doing. If you never pointed a dish before, you could easily make your situation worse.


We have *no* television -- how could I make it worse? =-)

That's alright, I think I'll just see if I can't get someone else out here before tomorrow afternoon. Thank you anyway.

#9 OFFLINE   butters

butters

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 94 posts
Joined: Sep 25, 2007

Posted 16 September 2008 - 07:30 AM

I have a similar issue. I have e -6 and they are sending someone out to fix the issue tomorrow. I still can watch TV and have had no issues other than increased rain fade over the years. I have a Superdish (110, 119, 121) with two 322 receivers. I am not upgrading to HD until my locals are available in HD which was rumored to be in 2008 (I am in the Traverse City DMA) but may not happen anytime soon.
My question is... Is there anything else that I should have the tech do or any upgrades that could be made at this time to alleviate future trips to my house? i.e. Eastern Arc setup, 1000.2 or 1000.4 dish, wing dish at 61.5? I am trying to avoid future trips and expenditures for either me or Dish if something could be changed out during this trip. Any thoughts?

#10 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,251 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 16 September 2008 - 08:52 AM

They are unlikely to install anything you don't need today.

#11 OFFLINE   butters

butters

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 94 posts
Joined: Sep 25, 2007

Posted 17 September 2008 - 12:21 PM

A follow-up to my post above...
Tech came out and replaced both the 110 and 119 lnbs and all the coax ends. After he was done my 121 wouldn't work but since all it has are the internationals and junk I don't care about we just capped off that input and left it unplugged. I have had some trees grow a bit in the 4 years my since dish has been there so we were convinced that the 121 issue was due to a few overgrown branches in the way that I have no way to trim easily.
Drift error is now gone as well. All seems fine.




spam firewall