Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR21 Reboot when in A/V or TV mode & press "Power"


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   chezwhiz

chezwhiz

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Jul 04, 2008

Posted 15 September 2008 - 12:57 PM

I was just wondering if anyone else is having this problem? I have my HR21 remote set up to control my Samsung TV (on/off only) and my Sony stereo receiver (on/off and volume up/down). The volume up/down control is "punched through" so it works when the remote is in DirecTV mode too.

If I switch the remote to AV1 or TV and happen to hit the "power" button more than once, the HR21 reboots. This is incredibly annoying as sometimes the TV or stereo receiver doesn't turn on the first time I hit the button and then I have to wait 5-10 minutes for the HR21 to go through the full reboot sequence. It's even more annoying if the HR21 was recording at the time because I lose around 10 minutes of recording.

Is this happening to anyone else? Any ideas if it can be fixed?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   bonscott87

bonscott87

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 9,809 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 15 September 2008 - 05:20 PM

That's a strange one. Is it actually rebooting or just going into standby mode? I'm pretty sure that if you hit the power button it will not only shut off the TV but the DVR as well. I personally don't program my TV into it for this reason. But then I have a universal remote anyway but I do use the original DirecTV remote on occasion.

Calling Edmund?

#3 OFFLINE   RoyGBiv

RoyGBiv

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 609 posts
Joined: Jul 24, 2007

Posted 15 September 2008 - 05:49 PM

If it were indeed truly rebooting every time you do this that would suggest that there is a specific remote code to make the DVR reboot without having to go through the whole menu to do so. I would like to know the code and program that into my remote (somewhere where no one but me would know about it).

SMK

#4 OFFLINE   chezwhiz

chezwhiz

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Jul 04, 2008

Posted 15 September 2008 - 08:46 PM

It's actually rebooting.

Interestingly enough, today I had two shows recording so I switched TV inputs to use another source. I can't do that using the HR21 remote as I have to switch TV inputs (using the TV remote) and stereo receiver inputs (using the stereo remote).

IN OTHER WORDS, I wasn't even using the HR21 remote and guess what? You got it, the HR21 rebooted!

Unfortunately, I didn't notice whether it happened when I switched TV inputs or when I switched the stereo inputs. Either way, this means there's definitely a remote code for rebooting the HR21.

My TV is a Samsung HLN617WX and my stereo receiver is a Sony STR-DE997. When I have more time I'll play around and figure out what the code is and report back.

#5 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,921 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 15 September 2008 - 09:17 PM

Someone on the DirecTV technical forums is reporting the same problem when they power on their Sony TV http://forums.direct...nExpertiseCode=

#6 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,379 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 15 September 2008 - 09:18 PM

I'd change the DVR over to RF mode and see if there is any difference. I'm not sure you've found a reboot code, or simply found a combination that is causing the DVR to crash.
A.K.A VOS

#7 OFFLINE   Edmund

Edmund

    Remote Master

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,747 posts
  • LocationSouthern Ca
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 15 September 2008 - 09:48 PM

If not RF, at least try setting the hr21 to the alternate IR codeset, 00003.

To switch, first program AV1 or AV2 with code 00003:

1. AV1 or AV2
2. press and hold MUTE & SELECT for two blinks
3. enter 0 0 0 0 3

slide back to the directv device on the remote and
enter the menu of the receiver:

1. menu> parental, fav's, & settings> system setup> remote> receiver mode>

2. you will see either Directv or AV1/AV2, click whichever to reveal both

3. choose AV1/AV2, the remote will stop controlling the receiver, slide to av1 or av2 whichever has code 00003

4. press done and exit the menu

Now reprogram the Directv device with code 00003.
aka Tivoburkee

#8 OFFLINE   rahlquist

rahlquist

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,625 posts
Joined: Jul 24, 2007

Posted 16 September 2008 - 06:15 AM

I'd change the DVR over to RF mode and see if there is any difference. I'm not sure you've found a reboot code, or simply found a combination that is causing the DVR to crash.


If such a code for reboot did exist it must be surpressed, imagine the evil that housewives around the world could wreak with such a code during the last 5 mins of a close scoring game!

#9 OFFLINE   DTRJ

DTRJ

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Nov 10, 2008

Posted 10 November 2008 - 11:01 AM

I am having a similair problem but I have a Samsung 56 DLP and a HR-22, and Onkyo receiver. HR-22 reboots most of the time when you turn it on. I have tried the following with no help
1-Plugged HR-22 into a different electric circuit.
2-Turn all 3 units on manually without the remotes
3-hooked up HR-22 directly to the TV and bypassed the Receiver
4-Turned on the 3 units in a different order.
5-Switched the DVR with a regular HD box-now it works fine, and put the DVR in a different room-Dvr works fine in the other room
6-Ready to give up!!!!

It appears the DVR is picking up some type of signal when the TV and or receiver is turned on and causes it to re-boot. If I first turn on the DVR and then manually turn of the TV sometimes I can see the Re-boot start. At other times when I touch the receiver on button you can see the re-boot start. Once everything is running it won/'t reboot to the next start up.

This setup is all running thru a APC smart ups battery backup as well

H E L P

#10 OFFLINE   rahlquist

rahlquist

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,625 posts
Joined: Jul 24, 2007

Posted 10 November 2008 - 11:06 AM

H E L P


Put everything but the HR on regualr power.

Put the HR on the UPS.

Test, if the HR doesnt reboot you have a power dip occurring, the HR may just be more sensitive so it reboots.

#11 OFFLINE   Teststation5

Teststation5

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2006

Posted 19 November 2008 - 03:21 PM

I am also having the same problem. I have a samsung 61 DLP an HR21-100 and a Home Theatre Master Remote. Was getting ready to call it a bad hardware issue, but maybe there is a common problem going on here.

The HR21 is left powered on all the time and the remote button to turn on the TV is not supposed to send any signal to the HR21. Not every time, but most the HR21 reboots when the TV is powered on.

The TV is connected through component cables.

The HR21 is a relatively new replacement for an HR20 that was in the same position and did not have this issue.

I'm not positive but I don't recall the HR21 having this problem when first installed. It either developed or has shown up since software upgrade 29b.

If it matters any, the reciever is connected to an SWM-8 and it is on the line with the power injector. It also has an AM21 connected.

#12 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,379 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 19 November 2008 - 03:30 PM

I am also having the same problem. I have a samsung 61 DLP an HR21-100 and a Home Theatre Master Remote. Was getting ready to call it a bad hardware issue, but maybe there is a common problem going on here.

The HR21 is left powered on all the time and the remote button to turn on the TV is not supposed to send any signal to the HR21. Not every time, but most the HR21 reboots when the TV is powered on.

The TV is connected through component cables.

The HR21 is a relatively new replacement for an HR20 that was in the same position and did not have this issue.

I'm not positive but I don't recall the HR21 having this problem when first installed. It either developed or has shown up since software upgrade 29b.

If it matters any, the reciever is connected to an SWM-8 and it is on the line with the power injector. It also has an AM21 connected.

I would try a UPS to see if it's related to a power [AC] drop.
A.K.A VOS

#13 OFFLINE   NVTanner

NVTanner

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 91 posts
Joined: Apr 03, 2006

Posted 19 November 2008 - 04:15 PM

Buy a Harmony Remote, they work GREAT!!
_____________________

John in LV, NV




spam firewall