Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Experimental Small Slimline3 Dish


  • Please log in to reply
462 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   Mertzen

Mertzen

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,682 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2006

Posted 23 September 2008 - 01:25 PM

Next step is to try it with International dish it must work even better than triple sat.


Don't forget you'd have to make an adapter to make the LNB fit on the 95 dish.


Must say this is awesome.
No longer doing DBS work, but missing every moment of it.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 ONLINE   doctor j

doctor j

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,588 posts
  • LocationBirmingham, Al.
Joined: Jun 14, 2006

Posted 23 September 2008 - 01:29 PM

101 for you will be your lowest and leftward KU sat. Bldg or construction to the left of the picture could be a problem.
You need a compass and try an estimate on an inclinometer with an estimate elevation on the 101 line.

www.dishpointer.com might help also.

Doctor j

MFH-2 System : 2 Major Viewing Areas. 2 x HR20-700's & H21 in each area via E2/SWM-8. Hardwire gigabit switch to 30 mb/sec internet.


#53 OFFLINE   ironwood

ironwood

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 673 posts
Joined: Sep 20, 2007

Posted 23 September 2008 - 02:30 PM

Don't forget you'd have to make an adapter to make the LNB fit on the 95 dish.


Must say this is awesome.


I would use good ole plyers and heavy-duty wire cutters. Just cut sides of the dish arm, drill holes for two arm bolts and should be good. You'd actually be surprised how soft new dishes are, in China they dont use regular metals anymore, its more of a soft material that can be easily cut and adjusted with wire cutters.

I actually had to cut piece of KaKu arm once with wire cutters because I put it the wrong way and LNB wouldnt go in all the way.

#54 OFFLINE   kevinm34232

kevinm34232

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 162 posts
Joined: Apr 29, 2008

Posted 23 September 2008 - 07:02 PM

Went back out to the condo where I did the 18x20 and 5LNB. The owner was real picky and wanted it mounted on the wall and not on the bracket I had for the Slimline which extended it out from the wall. Now, clearance was a problem for the dish and the wall. So I had to tilt the mast down out of plumb knowing what a pain it would be. I wound up getting low to mid 80's on 99 and 103 after quite a bit of tweaking. (Mid 90's on 101). It definetely is always a trade off of 99 or 103 though. A couple of transponders would hit 78 sometimes so I wasn't real happy, but it is what it is. They were ready to put the 18" dish back up so I guess the HD is a bonus at this point. All channels were coming in nice weather though.

Also, seemed to lose a couple of points when I tried to use the existing LNB mount holes over pushing it in flush where they don't line up. I just pushed it in completely and secured the wires so it wouldn't pull out.

Anyone know what channels are on the 99 sat? I know our HD locals are on 103 and most every other channel I know of, so I tended to try to favor that sat.

Attached Thumbnails

  • 0923081751.JPG


#55 OFFLINE   ironwood

ironwood

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 673 posts
Joined: Sep 20, 2007

Posted 23 September 2008 - 07:08 PM

Went back out to the condo where I did the 18x20 and 5LNB. The owner was real picky and wanted it mounted on the wall and not on the bracket I had for the Slimline which extended it out from the wall. Now, clearance was a problem for the dish and the wall. So I had to tilt the mast down out of plumb knowing what a pain it would be. I wound up getting low to mid 80's on 99 and 103 after quite a bit of tweaking. (Mid 90's on 101). It definetely is always a trade off of 99 or 103 though. A couple of transponders would hit 78 sometimes so I wasn't real happy, but it is what it is. They were ready to put the 18" dish back up so I guess the HD is a bonus at this point. All channels were coming in nice weather though.

Anyone know what channels are on the 99 sat? I know our HD locals are on 103 and most every other channel I know of, so I tended to try to favor that sat.


I am surprised they let you mount on the wall of a condo. In this situation might be a good solution to use non-penetrating mount.

#56 OFFLINE   kevinm34232

kevinm34232

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 162 posts
Joined: Apr 29, 2008

Posted 23 September 2008 - 07:27 PM

Yea, I know. But this isn't the typical condo. It's a $5 million dollar house in a building. We are working with the building mgmt and the builder doing the remodel. The only real issue they had was they didn't want 1/2" holes drilled toward the outside edge of the building for lag shields. It's mounted old school.
I can't imagine ever having a need to do this again, and I read this post the same day the owner's wife had a fit about the Slimline, so I really have to thank DBStalk and Matt9876.

#57 OFFLINE   Matt9876

Matt9876

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,006 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2007

Posted 23 September 2008 - 07:45 PM

I mainly did this to figure out if I could make DirecTV HD portable.

Although the first dish isn't perfect it works and breaks down to almost nothing,very portable.

I'm sure many that have a phase 3 dish on a RV, camper or tailgate rig will find this information useful.:)

#58 OFFLINE   kevinm34232

kevinm34232

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 162 posts
Joined: Apr 29, 2008

Posted 23 September 2008 - 07:57 PM

True, I need to find some of these people :) The people I did it for have no idea what went into it and could care less. I was working for their AV guy who had to TRY to please both of them.

#59 OFFLINE   Matt9876

Matt9876

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,006 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2007

Posted 24 September 2008 - 10:55 AM

OK...I got the LNB in the dish arm, and adjusted the elevation and tilt to the settings for the 5 LNB, but I was unable to get a signal on 101. I think this might be due to the narrow tolerances that I have b/c the window is pretty small. As it stands now, the dish is pointing pretty much straight out the window, but it is keying of 110. The 5 LNB keys off 101, so the dish needs to go to the right, and I think this might be where I am having problems. Here are the numbers for SF

3 LNB set-up

Elevation: 45.8
Azimuth: 145.9
Tilt: 105.1

5 LNB set-up

Elevation: 41
Tilt 115
Azimuth 132

As I mentioned before, my signals are only about 85 for 101 right now. Also, I'm not sure how far over 132 is from 146 (I don't have a compass). Do you guys thunk I need to move the dish foot in order to compensate for the different azimuth?

Here is a picture of the dish using the old 3 LNB


Something is wrong with your numbers the elevation should be higher with the 5lnb head. I would scan for 101 signal by going up 1 degree in elevation and scanning slowly left and right if no signal go up one more degree and scan again.

Once you get 101 to it's highest start fine tuning 99© and 103©

Hint it's 5-6 degrees higher than the old setup and 9-14 degrees different in azimuth.

post #48 contains latest information.

#60 OFFLINE   Rockaway1836

Rockaway1836

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 686 posts
  • LocationMyrtle Beach
Joined: Sep 25, 2007

Posted 24 September 2008 - 11:02 AM

I mainly did this to figure out if I could make DirecTV HD portable.

Although the first dish isn't perfect it works and breaks down to almost nothing,very portable.

I'm sure many that have a phase 3 dish on a RV, camper or tailgate rig will find this information useful.:)


I think you could add vacation home to the list as well. I'm going to try this for my nephew as soon as he gets his hands on an LNB.. Great idea Matt !!!

#61 OFFLINE   tadfad

tadfad

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 37 posts
Joined: Jun 24, 2004

Posted 24 September 2008 - 12:01 PM

Anyone know what channels are on the 99 sat? I know our HD locals are on 103 and most every other channel I know of, so I tended to try to favor that sat.


These links should help:

http://www.lyngsat.c...rectvusa99.html
http://www.lyngsat.c...ectvusa103.html

http://www.dbstalk.c...863&postcount=2

http://www.digitalca...x.php?view=full

#62 OFFLINE   tadfad

tadfad

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 37 posts
Joined: Jun 24, 2004

Posted 24 September 2008 - 12:17 PM

OK...I got the LNB in the dish arm, and adjusted the elevation and tilt to the settings for the 5 LNB, but I was unable to get a signal on 101. I think this might be due to the narrow tolerances that I have b/c the window is pretty small. As it stands now, the dish is pointing pretty much straight out the window, but it is keying of 110. The 5 LNB keys off 101, so the dish needs to go to the right, and I think this might be where I am having problems.


Nice window setup. Here are some ideas/ things to try.

Think you said you're in San Francisco, try using the signal meters for Sat 101, transponder 20 to initially point the dish. Transponder 20 is a spot beam and should give you the strongest signal from 101. Plus, transponder 20 doesn't exist on 119 nor 110, so you won't be getting false reads. From there you can fine tune and peak the signal.

Also dishpointer.com will draw a line of sight to the 101 on a satellite view. Use the Directv 5 lnb selection option. That should give you a good idea of what buildings to aim toward in the distance, i.e. the right azimuth. Once you have it pointed in the general right direction, try adjusting the elevation +/- quite a bit and you should find 101 if you're looking on transponder 20.

#63 OFFLINE   tadfad

tadfad

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 37 posts
Joined: Jun 24, 2004

Posted 24 September 2008 - 12:26 PM

The 5 LNB keys off 101, so the dish needs to go to the right, and I think this might be where I am having problems.


Read your post again and this might be the issue: 101 should be about 13 degrees to the left (not right) from where you had your phase III aimed (at 110). In other words, point the phase III dish with the 5lnb further to the left from where you had it pointed with the original triple head (101/110/119).

#64 OFFLINE   Matt9876

Matt9876

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,006 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2007

Posted 25 September 2008 - 12:35 PM

Post #48 updated with:

EDIT:The highest Ka signal numbers so far is when the LNB is fully inserted and flush in the arm tube.

Drilling new holes in the tube arm at the correct place and using the normal hardware to secure the LNB is a great option.:)

Edited by Matt9876, 23 September 2009 - 10:56 AM.
more information


#65 OFFLINE   james2006

james2006

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 129 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2004

Posted 26 September 2008 - 09:57 AM

Thanks to all those who made suggestions, I was able to get the minislimline working for the most part.

It turns out one of my elevation nuts was too lose, which was throwing everything off, It also didn't help that I was under the mistaken belief that 101 was to the right of 110...shows you how stupid I can be without a compass.

Anyway, I was able to get signals on the 101 between 80 and 90 (remember with the old three lnb I was getting mid 80-90's). The catch is that I was able to get 103 in the 70's and 99 in the high 60's, but only one at a time. Given that I only use the dish for Sunday Ticket (Comcrap for day-to-day viewing) this doesn't really matter that much. It appears that most Sunday ticket games are on 99, and if I need to move over to 103 I can walk the 5 feet to the dish and adjust the tilt

I might be able to get higher signals if I work at it a bit more, but the end result is that I'm really excited that I won't have to watch the Red Zone channel or Chargers games in horrific SD anymore!

PS...an interesting note...it's true that the elevation for the slimline is LOWER than the 3LNB here in SF. I got the numbers straight off an HR21, and they appear to be correct.

#66 OFFLINE   Matt9876

Matt9876

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,006 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2007

Posted 26 September 2008 - 11:47 AM

Glad you have it working! I also found out the slimline setup numbers were correct.

Maybe a sheet of plastic could block some of that winter air.

hope you enjoy all that HD football.:)

#67 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,873 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 26 September 2008 - 03:30 PM

I did not work very hard at trying, but I took an old Phase III dish and stuck a Slimline LNB on it. Was able to get either 99 and 101, or 101 and 103. Could not find a sweet spot where I got all 3. Didn't have time to play with it any further though.

Carl

#68 OFFLINE   Matt9876

Matt9876

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,006 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2007

Posted 26 September 2008 - 07:28 PM

I did not work very hard at trying, but I took an old Phase III dish and stuck a Slimline LNB on it. Was able to get either 99 and 101, or 101 and 103. Could not find a sweet spot where I got all 3. Didn't have time to play with it any further though.

Carl


A true balance between 99 and 103 is hard to achieve,I really have been busy lately but plan to invest more time in finding an adjustment that will help with this issue,also think Doctorj is working on the same thing.


I will be back in 2 or three days with more info.

#69 OFFLINE   kevinm34232

kevinm34232

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 162 posts
Joined: Apr 29, 2008

Posted 26 September 2008 - 07:34 PM

Me aswell..

#70 ONLINE   doctor j

doctor j

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,588 posts
  • LocationBirmingham, Al.
Joined: Jun 14, 2006

Posted 26 September 2008 - 08:31 PM

Still working.
Agree getting all 3 > 60's at the same time has been difficult.
Am working on focal length, angle of lnb and even angle of dish attachment.
Also an RV mod to "fine tune " elevation may be of some help.
Will report substantial changes.
By the way , have 2 SL3 lnb's that I am going to throw into the mix.

Doctor j

MFH-2 System : 2 Major Viewing Areas. 2 x HR20-700's & H21 in each area via E2/SWM-8. Hardwire gigabit switch to 30 mb/sec internet.


#71 OFFLINE   kevinm34232

kevinm34232

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 162 posts
Joined: Apr 29, 2008

Posted 27 September 2008 - 02:24 AM

If there was a way to fine tune/dither it would be I think mid 80's on 99 and 103 would be typical.

#72 OFFLINE   dacoop2

dacoop2

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 67 posts
Joined: Feb 06, 2007

Posted 27 September 2008 - 09:07 AM

Noob question here...

Would it be possible to tie in two Phase III dishes (one getting the 99/101, and the other 101/103) via a multi-switch?

I have a phase III up now but have another one just lying around. I won't go into details of my situation at my apartment but a slimline is pretty much out of the question for me. If getting all three to work at once is quite a chore maybe that's an alternative?

Just throwing an idea out there (not a good one, but an idea nonetheless). :lol:

#73 OFFLINE   curt8403

curt8403

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,481 posts
Joined: Dec 27, 2007

Posted 27 September 2008 - 12:57 PM

Noob question here...

Would it be possible to tie in two Phase III dishes (one getting the 99/101, and the other 101/103) via a multi-switch?

I have a phase III up now but have another one just lying around. I won't go into details of my situation at my apartment but a slimline is pretty much out of the question for me. If getting all three to work at once is quite a chore maybe that's an alternative?

Just throwing an idea out there (not a good one, but an idea nonetheless). :lol:


sorry, not possible, both sats are on the same lnb assembly, and use the same type of signal.
I am no longer connected with Directv or any other satellite provider

#74 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,873 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 28 September 2008 - 08:46 AM

Noob question here...

Would it be possible to tie in two Phase III dishes (one getting the 99/101, and the other 101/103) via a multi-switch?

I have a phase III up now but have another one just lying around. I won't go into details of my situation at my apartment but a slimline is pretty much out of the question for me. If getting all three to work at once is quite a chore maybe that's an alternative?

Just throwing an idea out there (not a good one, but an idea nonetheless). :lol:


Actually yes, you may be able to do this. Both would have to use a 3 or 5 LNB KaKu LNB assembly. Feed the 13V/18V no tone inputs from one LNB to the mutliswitch, and the 13V/18V 22KHz inputs from the other LNB to the multiswitch.

99 and 101 will come from the no-tone and 103 from the 22KHz tone feeds.

Carl

#75 OFFLINE   kevinm34232

kevinm34232

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 162 posts
Joined: Apr 29, 2008

Posted 28 September 2008 - 12:54 PM

Noob question here...

Would it be possible to tie in two Phase III dishes (one getting the 99/101, and the other 101/103) via a multi-switch?

I have a phase III up now but have another one just lying around. I won't go into details of my situation at my apartment but a slimline is pretty much out of the question for me. If getting all three to work at once is quite a chore maybe that's an alternative?

Just throwing an idea out there (not a good one, but an idea nonetheless). :lol:


Would kind of defeat the purpose though of a smaller dish.

Just received a Slimline 3 LNB, will post back changes if any when I use this over the 5LNB, but the smaller size is the real gain.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...