Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

HD User, Dish destroyed by falling Tree this past Sunday, will I get moved to Eastern


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Stephen J

Stephen J

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 164 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2006

Posted 16 September 2008 - 09:27 AM

During a wind storm this past Sunday my 110/119 dish was destroyed. I have a tech support coming out on Saturday. Anyone know wheter or not they are allowing current HD customers in EA markets to get an EA dish if their original setup was destroyed? I hope he doesn't just replace the D500. The D500 for 61.5 is OK, but the switch that it is hooked into in the 110/119 D500 is toast.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,704 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 16 September 2008 - 09:34 AM

They'll likely replace the busticated Dish500 with one that has a DPP Twin and be done.

#3 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 16 September 2008 - 09:56 AM

EA is still restricted to NEW customers.

#4 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 16 September 2008 - 10:32 AM

EA is still restricted to NEW customers.


Correct.

Aside from that policy, most folks couldn't use it anyway. In order for it to work, you must have ONLY ViP-series receivers, and those receivers must all have the latest (purple) SmartCard that have just started going out.

New customers with EA automatically get compatible configurations, but nearly all existing customers will be incompatible right now. Over time, as the new SmartCards are set out, more people will be compatible, but even then, it isn't likely that Dish would replace the dish for no reason.

#5 OFFLINE   Michael P

Michael P

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,929 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2004

Posted 16 September 2008 - 04:44 PM

Correct.

Aside from that policy, most folks couldn't use it anyway. In order for it to work, you must have ONLY ViP-series receivers, and those receivers must all have the latest (purple) SmartCard that have just started going out.

New customers with EA automatically get compatible configurations, but nearly all existing customers will be incompatible right now. Over time, as the new SmartCards are set out, more people will be compatible, but even then, it isn't likely that Dish would replace the dish for no reason.

What does the smart card have to do with getting an eastern arc dish? I currently have a 622 with no card in the slot. It was a refurb replacement for my "infringing" 942/921 series of DVR's (I had 10 different 921's and a short-lived 942 before the 622 showed up on my doorstep).

72 & 77 show up on the aiming screen (they began showing up back on my 921 earlier this year). Icurrently have a Dish 500 + a Dish 300 aimed at 61.5. If I could get ahold of a Dish 1000.4 pan and put it up where my 61.5 dish is mounted and use my DPP Dual + DP LNB's wouldn't that work? I have always done my own set-up - i never had a E* tech over to the house in all the years I've been a subscriber. I've been a sub since back in '97 when they sold self installation kits. I even did installs for friends back then.
An E* subscriber continuously since February 1997.

#6 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 16 September 2008 - 05:26 PM

What does the smart card have to do with getting an eastern arc dish?


Eastern Arc is not only MPEG4-only, but also uses Nagravision v3, which is the latest version of the "Conditional Access" security. Dish's current security for most folks is Nagravision v2, which was compromised several years ago, and is subject to high levels of piracy. Dish is trying to transition to v3 by the end of the year for everyone, but Eastern Arc is v3 out of the gate.

You must have the new purple access card to decode a Nagra v3 signal. Dish is slowly swapping everyone's cards out, but the vast majority haven't gotten them yet.

Many folks are using receivers that don't currently have a separate smart card (the slot is empty) and are using an internal one. When a smartcard is inserted, the internal smartcard is bypassed.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...