Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

HD Locals: Tri Cities, TN-VA


  • Please log in to reply
65 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,927 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 17 September 2008 - 08:14 AM

DMA: Tri Cities, TN-VA
Established: 9/17/2008


Edited by Gary Toma, 04 July 2014 - 06:56 PM.

DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   JLester

JLester

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 85 posts
Joined: Sep 24, 2007

Posted 20 September 2008 - 07:10 PM

Guide shows several other channels in this DMA as HD, but they are not (yet?).

Jason

#3 OFFLINE   vfr781rider

vfr781rider

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 144 posts
Joined: Jan 14, 2007

Posted 13 November 2008 - 07:54 AM

I got notification last week via a post card that my HD DNS was going to be cut off in December since we now have HD locals. Reckon they'll do that even if all the stations aren't carried in HD yet?

#4 OFFLINE   uga009

uga009

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2008

Posted 13 November 2008 - 09:01 PM

Any ETA on when Fox 39 WEMT, NBC 5 WCYB, or ABC WKPT will be broadcast in HD?

A network technician told me 3-4 weeks, but that was 3-4 weeks ago:eek2:

Would like to be able to catch the Super Bowl, NCAA BCS Bowl games, and 24 in HD !

Any inside information would be greatly information... helps when planning football parties !!! :D

Thanks for the info...

#5 OFFLINE   Lanthom

Lanthom

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 111 posts
Joined: Aug 06, 2008

Posted 14 November 2008 - 02:04 PM

I've been wondering the same thing. It does seem kind of odd that the guide has the little HD logo next to programs that are actually showing in SD because D* is not transmitting the HD version of that channel.

#6 OFFLINE   LameLefty

LameLefty

    I used to be a rocket scientist

  • Registered
  • 12,138 posts
  • LocationMiddle Tennessee
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 14 November 2008 - 03:27 PM

I've been wondering the same thing. It does seem kind of odd that the guide has the little HD logo next to programs that are actually showing in SD because D* is not transmitting the HD version of that channel.


That's most likely your local's fault for not providing Directv an HD feed at their HD pickup location. I have had that happen in Nashville, but not in a real long while. Usually that indicates problems with the local's own HD signal or in the way they are providing it to Direcv. If your receiver is tuned to the station call letters channel on your receiver, it's CAPABLE of being HD. But Directv does not originate any of those signals.

"Human sacrifice, dogs and cats living together... mass hysteria!"
Directv since 1997
Will Work for Beer


#7 OFFLINE   Lanthom

Lanthom

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 111 posts
Joined: Aug 06, 2008

Posted 14 November 2008 - 07:15 PM

That's most likely your local's fault for not providing Directv an HD feed at their HD pickup location. I have had that happen in Nashville, but not in a real long while. Usually that indicates problems with the local's own HD signal or in the way they are providing it to Direcv. If your receiver is tuned to the station call letters channel on your receiver, it's CAPABLE of being HD. But Directv does not originate any of those signals.


That's what is so weird. NBC actally says NBC not the call letters but the shows have the HD symbol next to them. Its something weird with Tri-Cities who if you look at the list doesn't even show as having HD locals available. It's such a weird situation, almost like we don't exist :)

#8 OFFLINE   vfr781rider

vfr781rider

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 144 posts
Joined: Jan 14, 2007

Posted 06 December 2008 - 09:06 PM

Looks like our HD DNS feeds will continue until Jan. 16 now http://customerinfo....bvJL3kEADsjsgUU. I suppose that's now a good target date for having the rest of the Tri-Cities stations available in HD.

#9 OFFLINE   tonypitt

tonypitt

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 107 posts
Joined: Jul 19, 2007

Posted 30 December 2008 - 08:36 AM

I gather from the posts here that some of you were able to get distant networks activated for HD channels. I'd love to be able to see the SuperBowl in HD. I submitted a DNS request via the DirecTV web site over 3 weeks ago and it still shows the status of the request as "pending".

Those of you that have DNS, how long did that process take? Anyone have any insight on expediting this? (Where I am located, a non-satellite antenna is not an option.)

#10 OFFLINE   vfr781rider

vfr781rider

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 144 posts
Joined: Jan 14, 2007

Posted 01 January 2009 - 08:25 PM

I've had DNS since before we had locals available. Back in those days, it was a lot easier. All networks approved my request except for NBC, so I've had the other 3 for maybe 5 years. I contacted WCYB directly a couple of times with pictures and additional requests and they still would not budge. They're a bunch of jerks as far as I'm concerned. Fortunately, the HD signal we get from them is fine (I'm out near Butler). The SD signal had quite a few sparklies and some double imaging.

I filed another request for NBC waivers through the DirecTV site a couple of months ago just to see if maybe I'd get lucky. Nope. It took just over a month before the status changed from pending to rejected.

Since the Superbowl is on NBC, I can guarantee you that you will not get waivers for that network. What you may get now from the other networks I don't know, but since HD from DirecTV is emminent, I'd say near zero. The good news is the HD for all networks should be up and running in plenty of time for the game, at least with the news we know of now.

Good luck!

#11 OFFLINE   BSGman

BSGman

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2008

Posted 08 January 2009 - 10:07 AM

Anybody catch that the descriptions in the guide changed for WCYB, WKPT, WEMT, CYB-WB last night? Does this means the others are finally joining WJHL going HD?

#12 OFFLINE   tonypitt

tonypitt

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 107 posts
Joined: Jul 19, 2007

Posted 08 January 2009 - 10:13 AM

Anybody catch that the descriptions in the guide changed for WCYB, WKPT, WEMT, CYB-WB last night? Does this means the others are finally joining WJHL going HD?


How did the guide change? I'm not noticing anything different.

I continue to hope that HD is coming soon...

#13 OFFLINE   BSGman

BSGman

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2008

Posted 08 January 2009 - 12:02 PM

Go in to edit the channel list in one of your favorite settings. There are still 2 of WCYB, WKPT, CW, WAPK but the 1st listings now have different codes out by them. They're the same codes the single WJHL one has that is HD.

#14 OFFLINE   vfr781rider

vfr781rider

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 144 posts
Joined: Jan 14, 2007

Posted 13 January 2009 - 08:08 AM

I did notice the audio sync was terrible on Two and a Half Men last night. Really, REALLY bad.

#15 OFFLINE   tonypitt

tonypitt

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 107 posts
Joined: Jul 19, 2007

Posted 13 January 2009 - 11:05 AM

I wonder if the January 16 date you cited previously has any significance. I'm really tired of watching shows that could be in HD on low quality SD. Wish we had a better idea of if/when this is going to be transitioned.

#16 OFFLINE   BSGman

BSGman

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2008

Posted 13 January 2009 - 12:55 PM

I hope so. I even notice Sunday night while flipping around channels that Blue Ridge PBS had an HD logo on it, but it wasn't an HD signal yet. If we just get the major ones (WCYB, WKPT & WEMT) would be great. Does Charter or BVU carry CW or WAPK in HD? Are they even available in HD broadcast?

#17 OFFLINE   BSGman

BSGman

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2008

Posted 13 January 2009 - 05:12 PM

WCYB's website has posted this on thier websites.
http://wcyb.com/Dire...Service/3650951

Any updates on this?

#18 OFFLINE   tonypitt

tonypitt

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 107 posts
Joined: Jul 19, 2007

Posted 13 January 2009 - 05:25 PM

Wow. Thanks for bring that to my/our attention BSGman. I don't know what good it will do, but I plan to email DirecTV right now. The page you noted is dated today, so this seems like it may be a "new" thing. (?)

When I lived in Florida I recall a similar situation involving a cable company. The local TV station went to rather significant measures (crawls during shows, commercials, etc.) to let people know what the situation was. I surprised these stations are not doing something similiar.

#19 OFFLINE   cparay@gmail.com

cparay@gmail.com

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Jan 13, 2009

Posted 13 January 2009 - 06:10 PM

What can we do. I have a waiver on the HD, get my network from 390 and up. Will the plug be pulled on that on jan 16

#20 OFFLINE   tonypitt

tonypitt

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 107 posts
Joined: Jul 19, 2007

Posted 13 January 2009 - 07:23 PM

In case people don't see the reply to a message a posted about this in another subforum here, Satelliteracer has indicated that this matter has been settled. We won't be losing service. I'm guessing that this was ironed out just recently.

Hopefully HD was a part of the negotiation and we'll be getting that sometime soon.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...