Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

The Tech Thread: Show your work and face the heat.


  • Please log in to reply
264 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Mertzen

Mertzen

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,682 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2006

Posted 17 September 2008 - 08:17 AM

Just a small space for the installer here to post pics of their work and most likely face some serious critique no matter how good it all looks or how it will pass a QC.

I'll start off. Note: all the work below the siding in from our good friend the cable guy. :lol:

Attached Thumbnails

  • Picture0057.jpg

No longer doing DBS work, but missing every moment of it.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   BK EH

BK EH

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 168 posts
Joined: Oct 03, 2005

Posted 17 September 2008 - 08:36 AM

That's a WB68, right? If so, may we start with you?

Installing the WB68 (page 2)
2. Mount the WB68 in a protected environment where it is shielded from rain and other water (sprinklers, etc.).

:)

#3 OFFLINE   Mertzen

Mertzen

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,682 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2006

Posted 17 September 2008 - 08:41 AM

That's a WB68, right? If so, may we start with you?

Installing the WB68 (page 2)
2. Mount the WB68 in a protected environment where it is shielded from rain and other water (sprinklers, etc.).

:)


:lol: :lol: Now I wish I had take pictures of every WB68 that lays flat on a roof, no drip loops or lines running straight into the switch.

I accept what you're saying but here in NYC it's near impossible to mount the switches indoor.
No longer doing DBS work, but missing every moment of it.

#4 OFFLINE   paulman182

paulman182

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,836 posts
Joined: Aug 04, 2006

Posted 17 September 2008 - 08:43 AM

That's a WB68, right? If so, may we start with you?

Installing the WB68 (page 2)
2. Mount the WB68 in a protected environment where it is shielded from rain and other water (sprinklers, etc.).

:)


Thank you for pointing that out. (It's in the WB68 manual, folks.)

I've mentioned it so many times I've retired from the effort.:)

Equipment includes a buncha stuff that I no longer have interest in detailing


#5 OFFLINE   paulman182

paulman182

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,836 posts
Joined: Aug 04, 2006

Posted 17 September 2008 - 08:44 AM

:lol: :lol: Now I wish I had take pictures of every WB68 that lays flat on a roof, no drip loops or lines running straight into the switch.

I accept what you're saying but here in NYC it's near impossible to mount the switches indoor.


Have you seen any pattern of exposed switches failing?

Equipment includes a buncha stuff that I no longer have interest in detailing


#6 OFFLINE   Mertzen

Mertzen

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,682 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2006

Posted 17 September 2008 - 08:46 AM

Have you seen any pattern of exposed switches failing?

Properly mounted and protected ones rarely do.

Most of the time though it's the connectors that fail long before the switch. I can only remember one 4*4 switch that ever failed since the corrosion had migrated into the switch.
No longer doing DBS work, but missing every moment of it.

#7 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 17 September 2008 - 09:11 AM

If you put some silicone dielectric grease in the plastic caps, or better, replace them with terminating resistor caps (stingers REMOVED!) with dielectric grease, the switch will be darn near water-tight.

I've ran into a few that failed, but the ports were exposed and they were mounted with the connecters vertical.

Great looking job, Mertzen.

#8 OFFLINE   Bill C

Bill C

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 37 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 17 September 2008 - 10:53 AM

Just a small space for the installer here to post pics of their work and most likely face some serious critique no matter how good it all looks or how it will pass a QC.

I'll start off. Note: all the work below the siding in from our good friend the cable guy. :lol:


Neat looking job, however I would recommend weather seals on all connectors.
Also we won't allow our techs to attach to or mount to any vinyl siding(can
void warranty in some instances)...otherwise looking good man.
East Tennessee

#9 OFFLINE   Greyshadow2007

Greyshadow2007

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 246 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2006

Posted 17 September 2008 - 11:20 AM

Just a small space for the installer here to post pics of their work and most likely face some serious critique no matter how good it all looks or how it will pass a QC.

I'll start off. Note: all the work below the siding in from our good friend the cable guy. :lol:


I'm impressed. that's better than almost anything I've seen...
-) They are listening... don't stop complaining... just do it constructively...
-) Be true to yourself and be good to one another... this is a community, not a barroom...
-) Keep the CE alive by participating... giving feedback... giving ideas

-Earl Bonovich

#10 OFFLINE   dkouz

dkouz

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 80 posts
Joined: May 05, 2007

Posted 17 September 2008 - 01:28 PM

That is a nice, un-weather booted, and unnecessary ground block!

The latest from D* does acknowledge that you can ground to the 6x8.

#11 OFFLINE   Grentz

Grentz

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,916 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2007

Posted 17 September 2008 - 01:40 PM

I don't have anything exciting to show of the setup at my house, most of the excitement you cannot see as it is the crazy wire fishing that I did to get it installed. (my house is not your standard "box" type so there are plenty of odd angled walls and crazy, almost impossible, places to have to run the cables through).

Also I fail QC as I do not have a ground block, the Directv installers never put one in and to add one would be almost impossible (the Dish is on the roof, cable runs in via a vent, goes through the attic which has no pipes and down to the 2nd story where it goes to the receiver).
  • dobok likes this
-Grentz
Subscriber since Oct. 1996
HR21-700, HR22-100, H24-100 (SWM)
~Detailed Setup~

Directv Signal Strength Posting Tool - Excel Ver. Web Ver.

#12 OFFLINE   kornbln

kornbln

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 60 posts
Joined: Aug 03, 2008

Posted 17 September 2008 - 02:43 PM

Posted Image

#13 OFFLINE   krock918316

krock918316

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,499 posts
Joined: Mar 05, 2007

Posted 17 September 2008 - 02:50 PM

Posted Image


I've never seen a mount like that!

#14 OFFLINE   kornbln

kornbln

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 60 posts
Joined: Aug 03, 2008

Posted 17 September 2008 - 02:51 PM

I've never seen a mount like that!


is that good, or bad?

#15 OFFLINE   curt8403

curt8403

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,481 posts
Joined: Dec 27, 2007

Posted 17 September 2008 - 02:53 PM


from what I am seeing that special mount may not have been needed,, you have a nice 2 X 6 right next to it to secure to.
I am no longer connected with Directv or any other satellite provider

#16 OFFLINE   krock918316

krock918316

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,499 posts
Joined: Mar 05, 2007

Posted 17 September 2008 - 03:13 PM

is that good, or bad?


I still haven't decided! My first thought was :eek2:, but the side poles are being used. To me, that just doesn't look very secure. I don't think I would allow it to be installed on my property that way.

#17 OFFLINE   Grentz

Grentz

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,916 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2007

Posted 17 September 2008 - 03:23 PM

It is just fine, that mount is made to be done like that and it should work great.

Its like wall mounts, people fear their strength and think you need these big ones with tons of bolts and such to be secure, in reality even the two bolt models are VERY secure. Load ratings are usually very forgiving and in reality things are much stronger than they look in many cases.

I have a wall mount that attaches via 2 bolts and has a load rating of around 80lbs. I can hang off of it when it is fully extended! (~170lbs)
-Grentz
Subscriber since Oct. 1996
HR21-700, HR22-100, H24-100 (SWM)
~Detailed Setup~

Directv Signal Strength Posting Tool - Excel Ver. Web Ver.

#18 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,734 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 17 September 2008 - 03:28 PM

Two comments:

1. Too small bend radius in drip loops (should be >6" diameter)

2. Doesn't look like the ground is a valid bonding point (thinking in terms of NEC)

#19 OFFLINE   curt8403

curt8403

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,481 posts
Joined: Dec 27, 2007

Posted 17 September 2008 - 03:30 PM

I still haven't decided! My first thought was :eek2:, but the side poles are being used. To me, that just doesn't look very secure. I don't think I would allow it to be installed on my property that way.



I think we know, from a previous post by the poster that that arraignment did not work, it cracked the rafters.

I would have mounted a 2X10 between where the dish is now, and the side of the roof.
put another on the inside and then use lag bolts to secure the dish.
I am no longer connected with Directv or any other satellite provider

#20 OFFLINE   Stealth87

Stealth87

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 123 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 17 September 2008 - 03:32 PM

I'm not an installer by any means but here's my setup. It was done on August 30th.

Posted Image

Posted Image


I just added the Multiswitch last month so I was wondering if your signal strength suffers when adding it plus 2 more receivers? I used to be in the high 80's low 90's but now I'm in the 70's.
D* since February '08

HD-DVR - HR21-700 > Toshiba 42" 42HL167

HD-DVR - HR20-100 > Samsung 26" LN26B460

DVR - R16-500





Protected By... spam firewall...And...