Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Explain Eastern Arc please


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   brant

brant

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 750 posts
Joined: Jul 06, 2008

Posted 17 September 2008 - 09:10 AM

I've read a few posts about the "eastern arc"; apparently this is a different set of sats to aim dishes at on the east coast?

I have dishHD asbolute and lose 129 in light rain or clouds. On a clear day, such as right now, my 129 signal varies from 26-32. From what I gather, the "eastern arc" provides better signal strength; yes? Can my dish be repointed for this purpose?

My dish says "Dish 1000" on the front, and has a DPP triple LNB.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   brant

brant

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 750 posts
Joined: Jul 06, 2008

Posted 17 September 2008 - 09:31 AM

i finally found some info on the internet. looks like the answer is no. so a 1000.4 is required for this?

#3 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 17 September 2008 - 09:43 AM

i finally found some info on the internet. looks like the answer is no. so a 1000.4 is required for this?

TOTAL ANSWER IS NO!!! EA is for new customers only but you can add a second dish in Georgia aimed at 61.5 and replace 129 for much better reception of HDTV.:)

#4 OFFLINE   brant

brant

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 750 posts
Joined: Jul 06, 2008

Posted 17 September 2008 - 09:57 AM

why couldn't i replace my dish w/ a 1000.4 and pick up the sats? At only $90 for the dish, it would be worth doing.

#5 OFFLINE   Richard King

Richard King

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 21,331 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2002

Posted 17 September 2008 - 10:11 AM

The eastern arc requires a different smart card than what you may or may not have in your receiver(s) now. It won't work without the new smartcard, which is why only new customers with new receivers that have the smart card installed will be getting the eastern arc.
The Pump Don't Work 'cause the Vandals Took the Handles.

#6 OFFLINE   brant

brant

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 750 posts
Joined: Jul 06, 2008

Posted 17 September 2008 - 10:12 AM

gotcha.

#7 OFFLINE   Michael P

Michael P

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,933 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2004

Posted 17 September 2008 - 10:54 AM

The other issue is where your Local HD stations are located. For my DMA (Cleveland) the HD locals are on 61.5, so my DMA will be an "eastern arc" area.

Unfortunately there are a lot of western arc (1000.2) dishes in my neighborhood that went up before the HD locals were on line at 61.5. I'm lucky that I already had a 61.5 dish as a former Sky Angel "lifetime" subscription.

If you are on the east coast it's a good bet you'll be in an eastern arc DMA.
An E* subscriber continuously since February 1997.

#8 OFFLINE   tkrandall

tkrandall

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,795 posts
Joined: Oct 03, 2003

Posted 17 September 2008 - 11:03 AM

i finally found some info on the internet. looks like the answer is no. so a 1000.4 is required for this?


Patience. You can get the second dish and point to 61.5 (instead of 129) now. Or you can wait for your market to be launched and get the full EA at that time. All of Georgia will be EA at some point. HD locals availability (or not) not will depend on your market.

#9 OFFLINE   brant

brant

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 750 posts
Joined: Jul 06, 2008

Posted 17 September 2008 - 07:44 PM

no HD locals here; and no mention of them coming anytime soon.


so on this 61.5, I just need one of those cheapo 18" dishes w/ the single LNB?

#10 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,481 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 17 September 2008 - 07:46 PM

Dish 1000 will not work for eastern arc, but a 2 Dish500's would.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#11 OFFLINE   Bill R

Bill R

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,498 posts
Joined: Dec 20, 2002

Posted 18 September 2008 - 06:58 AM

Dish 1000 will not work for eastern arc, but a 2 Dish500's would.


The satellite spacing is not correct for two dish 500s. The slots are 61.5, 72.7, and 77. The dish 500s are designed to get satellites from satellites spaced 9 degrees apart (i.e. 110, 119). The signal will be marginal if you tried to use a dish 500 for 61.5 and 72.2. ONLY a dish 1000.4 or 1000.5 will properly work for the eastern arc or you could use three dishes (one for each slot).
Bill R

#12 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,481 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 18 September 2008 - 07:02 AM

I have seen reports that Dish 500 gets acceptable signal on 72.7 and 61.5 from reputable (longtime) posters.

Slightly under 9 degrees is close enough.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#13 OFFLINE   CorpITGuy

CorpITGuy

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 432 posts
Joined: Apr 11, 2007

Posted 18 September 2008 - 09:37 AM

Does anyone know where I can go to figure out where my locals will be once I get them in HD? My market is currently SD-only for locals.

#14 OFFLINE   BobaBird

BobaBird

    EKB Editor

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,022 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 18 September 2008 - 04:26 PM

brant, see http://www.dishuser.org/easternarc.php

CorpITGuy, see http://www.dishuser.org/hdlocal.php . Hard to predict which slot your market might get added to.
Charles @dishuser - a dynamic employee of Massive Veridian
Visit the EchoStar Knowledge Base
"The other guys charge $9.95/month to use tapeless record" - Dish Network Tech Forum, 8-6-01
"dual" is NOT the same as "Twin" - here's why

#15 OFFLINE   brant

brant

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 750 posts
Joined: Jul 06, 2008

Posted 18 September 2008 - 06:32 PM

thanks for the link:

Reno, NV 2008
Tallahassee, FL
Tucson, AZ 2008


yeh, not even a year listed for my area; i don't expect it anytime soon.

#16 OFFLINE   dewey brunner

dewey brunner

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 66 posts
Joined: May 01, 2006

Posted 19 September 2008 - 11:24 AM

The best thing you can do now, is Put up a dish 500, point at 61.5, disconnect the 129 and connect to the 61.5.
Thats' what I had to do because 129 was horrible. Keep 110 and 119 on your 1000. Make sure you have someone professional to do the aiming on both dishes. Good luck. Dewey in Tampa

#17 OFFLINE   tkrandall

tkrandall

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,795 posts
Joined: Oct 03, 2003

Posted 19 September 2008 - 01:16 PM

My parents have a Dish 500 pointed to 110/119, and a dish 500 with a single LNB pointed to 61.5.

#18 OFFLINE   Nick

Nick

    Keep going - don't give up!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 21,300 posts
  • LocationThe Beautiful Golden Isles of Coastal Georgia
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 19 September 2008 - 06:45 PM

(Location: Georgia) "no HD locals here; and no mention of them coming anytime soon.
so on this 61.5, I just need one of those cheapo 18" dishes w/ the single LNB?"

...and just where in Georgia is "here"?

.


~ 12 Year Anniversary ~
Charter Gold Club Member
DBSTalk Club ~ 21k Club
Top 10 Poster

.


#19 OFFLINE   brant

brant

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 750 posts
Joined: Jul 06, 2008

Posted 19 September 2008 - 07:46 PM

Posted Image

#20 OFFLINE   Nick

Nick

    Keep going - don't give up!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 21,300 posts
  • LocationThe Beautiful Golden Isles of Coastal Georgia
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 19 September 2008 - 07:56 PM

That red dot looks a lot like Lowndes (Val d'osta) or Lanier County, just west of Wayx.

.


~ 12 Year Anniversary ~
Charter Gold Club Member
DBSTalk Club ~ 21k Club
Top 10 Poster

.





Protected By... spam firewall...And...