Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Dish types


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   cmtar

cmtar

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 590 posts
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 18 September 2008 - 07:42 AM

Just so i can see a picture of it an what it looks like, what dish would i be getting for Columbus Ga?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Ken Green

Ken Green

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,105 posts
Joined: Oct 06, 2005

Posted 18 September 2008 - 09:35 AM

Just so i can see a picture of it an what it looks like, what dish would i be getting for Columbus Ga?

That is more dependent on what programming you will be getting, as opposed to your geographical location.
ViP722 - ViP622² - ViP612 - ViP211 - 510
Slingbox SOLO
Dish 1000+ 110/118/119/129 - HD Locals/118w - DPP44²
EHDD - 750g/500g - Broadband via HomePlug
Sony 51" HDRPTV² - Dell 23" HD LCD - Sharp Aquos 17" HD LCD
OTA - Winegard HD9095P - 55 miles

#3 OFFLINE   cmtar

cmtar

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 590 posts
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 18 September 2008 - 09:53 AM

That is more dependent on what programming you will be getting, as opposed to your geographical location.


im getting the AT200 with Silver HD

#4 OFFLINE   Opusnbill7

Opusnbill7

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 45 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2008

Posted 18 September 2008 - 11:50 AM

I got a 1000.2 for that, but you're further east, so you might get a 1000.4 (if you're on the eastern arc)?

#5 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,851 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 18 September 2008 - 01:43 PM

EKB

#6 OFFLINE   BobaBird

BobaBird

    EKB Editor

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,022 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 18 September 2008 - 04:58 PM

Specifically, http://www.dishuser.org/dishes.php

cmtar, I would expect a Dish 500 for 110/119 and another with just 1 LNB for 61.5, though you may also be able to use a Dish 1000/1000.2. Your area should eventually get the Dish 1000.4 but that requires having only MPEG4 receivers with the new smartcards.
Charles @dishuser - a dynamic employee of Massive Veridian
Visit the EchoStar Knowledge Base
"The other guys charge $9.95/month to use tapeless record" - Dish Network Tech Forum, 8-6-01
"dual" is NOT the same as "Twin" - here's why

#7 OFFLINE   cmtar

cmtar

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 590 posts
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 19 September 2008 - 06:41 AM

Specifically, http://www.dishuser.org/dishes.php

cmtar, I would expect a Dish 500 for 110/119 and another with just 1 LNB for 61.5, though you may also be able to use a Dish 1000/1000.2. Your area should eventually get the Dish 1000.4 but that requires having only MPEG4 receivers with the new smartcards.



What 2 dishes? Is there a way i can req the dish 1000 so i can only have 1 dish, i do not want two dishes on my house

#8 OFFLINE   BobaBird

BobaBird

    EKB Editor

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,022 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 19 September 2008 - 05:45 PM

It would be 2 Dish 500s. Since Dish doesn't yet carry Columbus GA locals at all, you may be able to use a Dish 1000. Two things that may foil that plan are line of sight to 129° (check at http://www.dishpointer.com) and that your locals may be added to a slot other than 110, 119 or 129.
Charles @dishuser - a dynamic employee of Massive Veridian
Visit the EchoStar Knowledge Base
"The other guys charge $9.95/month to use tapeless record" - Dish Network Tech Forum, 8-6-01
"dual" is NOT the same as "Twin" - here's why




Protected By... spam firewall...And...