Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Best 3rd party remote for VIP 722?


  • Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   ljsss

ljsss

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: Jun 04, 2008

Posted 18 September 2008 - 07:53 AM

I just got my Dish 722 installed last Friday. I have an "Integra" A/V receiver (Integra is made by Onkyo). I have tried all of the Onkyo codes in the Dish remote but I still cannot get it to control my volume on my A/V receiver. I thought that I would just deal with it; but after a week of having to always find the other remote to change the volume, I am going to be forced to buy a universal remote that will control all of my stuff on one remote.

What is the best 3rd party universal remote for operating the VIP 722? I have heard of the Logitech Harmony remotes, but I don't know much about them. Is there a better brand than that? Thanks very much for any advice!!

#2 OFFLINE   Todd Nicholson

Todd Nicholson

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 95 posts
Joined: Jan 07, 2007

Posted 18 September 2008 - 07:58 AM

I love my Harmony 550. Lots of features, can be programmed to operate just about anything, backlit keys and screen and a relatively good price. I'm using it with my 722, DVD, receiver, and disc changer.

#3 OFFLINE   leemathre

leemathre

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 211 posts
Joined: Sep 25, 2003

Posted 18 September 2008 - 08:09 AM

I agree, Harmony is a good choice. I am using a Harmony One with four Dish 622's. Works great.
4 Dish ViP 622's; Dish1000+ =110/118.7/119/129; DPP44 X 2; Four DPP Separators

#4 OFFLINE   EXTACAMO

EXTACAMO

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 316 posts
Joined: Apr 06, 2007

Posted 18 September 2008 - 08:11 AM

Harmony :joy: I have an old 659 that works perfectly with my 622.

#5 OFFLINE   rickc

rickc

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 34 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2005

Posted 18 September 2008 - 08:21 AM

Another vote for the Harmony series. We really like ours.
rich..
Navigating the sea of life

#6 OFFLINE   tcatdbs

tcatdbs

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 572 posts
Joined: Jul 10, 2008

Posted 18 September 2008 - 08:52 AM

I have the Harmony 880. Have the 722, Onkyo 606, OPPO 980, and 50PX600U, all work flawlessly. Allows a sequence of button pushes to be programmed into one button, very handy. All your programming is stored online in case something ever gets screwed up.

#7 OFFLINE   ljsss

ljsss

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: Jun 04, 2008

Posted 18 September 2008 - 08:57 AM

It looks like Amazon has a pretty good deal on the 880. Is that better, or should I go with the 670 (that Logitech says is made "specifically" for TIVOs and DVRs)?

Also, I am assuming that these expensive remotes will hold macros (one button to turn on TV, Dish, & A/V Receiver), correct?

Thanks again for the replys!

#8 OFFLINE   ljsss

ljsss

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: Jun 04, 2008

Posted 18 September 2008 - 08:59 AM

TCATDBS,

I was typing my reply while you posted your answer. Looks like you have answered my question about the macros. Thanks!

#9 OFFLINE   Lostinspace

Lostinspace

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 60 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2007

Posted 18 September 2008 - 09:23 AM

Just picked up a Harmony 620, which is basically a 670 but in black, for $50 at Costco after the coupon in this months coupon book. A single button (watch TV) turns on the 722, an Onkyo 504 and a Panasonic plasma. It took a bit longer than the "30 minutes" Logitech claimed for setup, but it works well for the price.

#10 OFFLINE   faiello

faiello

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 55 posts
Joined: Mar 17, 2003

Posted 18 September 2008 - 09:38 AM

I'm using the Harmony 880 works great

#11 OFFLINE   ljsss

ljsss

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: Jun 04, 2008

Posted 18 September 2008 - 09:45 AM

Is the 880 better than the 670? I know the number is higher; but Logitech says that the 670 is specifically for DVRs.

#12 OFFLINE   Lostinspace

Lostinspace

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 60 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2007

Posted 18 September 2008 - 10:13 AM

You can compare the two with this link from Logitech:

http://www.logitech....roducts=372,377

A bit different key layout, the 880 has rechargeable batteries, with a color display, and $100 more.

#13 OFFLINE   nick58

nick58

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 23 posts
Joined: Mar 12, 2007

Posted 18 September 2008 - 10:37 AM

I recently purchased the Harmony One. Works great. Controls my ViP722, Pioneer A/V receiver, upconverting DVD player and Pioneer plasma flawlessly.
Biggest problem was getting the wife to keep the remote pointed at the equipment long enough for everything to change.

#14 OFFLINE   girdnerg

girdnerg

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 95 posts
Joined: May 17, 2007

Posted 18 September 2008 - 10:44 AM

Is the 880 better than the 670? I know the number is higher; but Logitech says that the 670 is specifically for DVRs.


All of the harmony remotes work in the same fashion. They are activity based remotes that you program on your computer.

The main differences are the hard button layout and lcd screen, so pick the one that you can live with.
-color or monochrome lcd screen
-touch screen or hard buttons beside the screen
-hard button size and layout
-regular or rechargable battery
-ir or ir/rf

I ended up with the Harmony One.

A really budget remote is the radio shack 15-100. It has an LCD display, setup wizard, custom device labels, the ability to use advanced codes and program complex macros on nearly any button. I think it runs from $15 - $30. I've never owned one, but a lot of folks on avsforum like it.

#15 OFFLINE   lzielen

lzielen

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2007

Posted 18 September 2008 - 10:58 AM

I have a Harmony 670 and love it! Controls dvr, tv, receiver, dvd player, audio switch, xbox 360. Web based programming is very easy and flexible. Allows reassignment of codes to hard keys or soft (ie lcd) keys. One button turns on devices needed for an activity - such as watch tv (DVR, TV, Receiver) or watch DVD (DVD, TV, Receiver) - and sets each device to appropriate input. It is smart enough to switch between activities - ie it knows that the tv is already on. It also tracks which devices are on and turns off appropriate devices when you press the off key. Harmony programmers did an excellent job.

The programming described above applies to all the Harmony remotes.
Lee

HR20-700/HR20-100 /Legacy SD
Wired network to AMD PC XP2 using WMP11
Zinwell WB68
53" Hitachi rear projection/42" LG Plasma
DirecTV since 1996

#16 OFFLINE   Richard King

Richard King

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 21,331 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2002

Posted 18 September 2008 - 11:15 AM

Harmony 880 here. Great remote.
The Pump Don't Work 'cause the Vandals Took the Handles.

#17 OFFLINE   Rob Glasser

Rob Glasser

    Hall Of Fame

  • Super Moderators
  • 3,053 posts
Joined: Feb 22, 2005

Posted 18 September 2008 - 12:20 PM

Like just about everyone else, you can't go wrong with Harmony remotes. I have an 880 for my upstairs receivers and a 670 for my downstairs receivers. Great products.
Rob

DISH Hopper, Hopper w/Sling, & Joey User

#18 OFFLINE   jkane

jkane

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 695 posts
Joined: Oct 12, 2007

Posted 19 September 2008 - 07:05 AM

I have had dozens of remotes over the years. There are a couple really good ones out there. The Harmony is by far the best! I love the web based programming feature it has (they use a USB connection to the remote). The concept of "Watch TV" or "Watch DVD" of "Watch Dish" is so simple, almost anyone can use it. You have to have some savvy to program it, but the web interface is really helpful with that.

The only draw back I have found is the logic becomes too much for it if I want to also be able to turn single devices off. What this means ... is if you have a "old style" remote where each device is controlled by a single button at the top, you can simply push the button followed by the power to turn on and off. However, the great thing about the Harmony, is that it keeps track of what is on and off and powers them on and off for you as you change devices.

This is great for most situations. However, if I want to pause a DVD and then watch a TV show for a while, I can either tell the Harmony to always leave the DVD on, or always turn it off when I leave it. If I leave it on, then I can press play and continue where I left off. If I have it turn it off, then I have to find where I was in the show next time. If I tell Harmony to always leave it on, the the DVD player is ALWAYS on. And if I want to turn it off for since I won't use it for a while, I have to press more buttons to control that single device and power it off.

A Big deal? Not really. The trade off is much more logical and easier use most of the time.

There is a work around too. You can program any button using the web interface. So just add a power toggle for the devices like the DVD player to each function and then you have a single button way to do this. I don't bother, but I know it confuses some other people.
- Jeff
922, 722, 501.

#19 OFFLINE   swissy

swissy

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 75 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2007

Posted 19 September 2008 - 08:04 AM

Since everyone is on the Harmony kick, I'll offer an alternative. I really like my URC-200 (now called the URC-RF20). The MX-350 is a great remote. I would choose this over the new RF-20.

I know everyone likes Harmony, but at least check out the URC line of remotes before you make a decision.

www.remotecentral.com is a great place for reviews and specs.
Peter

#20 OFFLINE   jkane

jkane

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 695 posts
Joined: Oct 12, 2007

Posted 19 September 2008 - 12:49 PM

The MX series would be my second choice. Had one for so long, it was sent in for repairs twice! Kids kept dropping it. The advantage the Harmony has, and why I changed to them after the last drop/break, is the USB programming and web based storage of settings. Made restoring the many customizations much easier. Not sure if MX has one with something better than the JP1 connection now, but at that time it didn't. I really liked my MX-500 though! It had the 3 specific power buttons at the bottom to solve the issue I described above. ;)
- Jeff
922, 722, 501.

#21 OFFLINE   swissy

swissy

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 75 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2007

Posted 19 September 2008 - 02:12 PM

The newest MX-900 can be had for about the same price as a Harmony 890 and it has USB and PC programming capabilities.

The feature I like the most on the URC remotes is the "pause" for making a macro only fire if the button is held down. Perhaps the Harmony has this, but I find that feature invaluable. It makes the WAF much higher because she can see the label and hold down the button and everything switches for her. And I can still switch between components without the macro getting in the way.

I am a URC fan, but I can see why so many people like the Harmony 880. It is a nice remote.

BTW, I loved the JP1 and the ability to enter hex codes for customizing the remote! However, I must admit, USB is easier for most people.
Peter

#22 OFFLINE   leemathre

leemathre

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 211 posts
Joined: Sep 25, 2003

Posted 21 September 2008 - 10:07 AM

The MX series would be my second choice. Had one for so long, it was sent in for repairs twice! Kids kept dropping it. The advantage the Harmony has, and why I changed to them after the last drop/break, is the USB programming and web based storage of settings. Made restoring the many customizations much easier. Not sure if MX has one with something better than the JP1 connection now, but at that time it didn't. I really liked my MX-500 though! It had the 3 specific power buttons at the bottom to solve the issue I described above. ;)


I think you can solve the issue you describe about your DVD player not remembering the last location when you pause it and switch to a different activity. Logitech, for some reason, defaults to sending an extra stop command to the DVD player when you exit the activity. I have fixed this on at least three different brands of DVD players by changing a setting in the Logitech setup. Login to your account, select activities and on the activity you want to fix, select 'settings". On the settings page, select "change options". The last box on that page is "Stop on Exit" and it defaults to "Send Stop Command". Change that to "Don't Send Stop Command". I do not guarantee that this will work depending upon your brand of DVD, but it is a change that is easy to try and has worked for me. I cannot claim this as my fix, because I found it in the Harmony One support forum on avsforums. Hope it works for you.
4 Dish ViP 622's; Dish1000+ =110/118.7/119/129; DPP44 X 2; Four DPP Separators

#23 OFFLINE   msf676

msf676

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Apr 29, 2007

Posted 23 September 2008 - 12:11 PM

I use the URC R7... $29.99 from Best Buy

#24 OFFLINE   ibglowin

ibglowin

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 1,424 posts
Joined: Sep 10, 2002

Posted 28 October 2008 - 08:02 AM

Hey,

Late to the party here but just picked up a refurbed Harmony 880 from Amazon for $69 with free shipping (Prime) ! Looks brand new. Set up went well but I have a couple of questions for anyone with a Dish 622 or 722 DVR.

I have a 58" Panny Plasma
Onkyo AV Receiver
Toshiba HD-DVD A20
AppleTV
Dish 722

I was flabbergasted by the lack of any sort of hard DVR button on the 880. I got around it by teaching the command and using the + button on the lower left of the 880. I added a DVR button to the menu but could not get it to the top screen in "activities" - Watch TV. You had to hit devices then PVR then it would show up on the menu. I didn't want to have to hit 3 buttons just to get to the DVR button so I used the + button.

Is anyone else doing something different or perhaps more novel/better to get the DVR button programmed in to an easier to find area?

The lack of a hard DVR button is really puzzling for such an advanced remote. Other than that its a pretty darn cool remote. I may finally have the one remote to "rule them all"!

The seamless integration of the Onkyo for audio is perfect. I am all HDMI with 4HDMI in (PS3 as well) and only one HDMI out to the TV.

I need to check out a couple more things like how it handles (or if) the Zone 2 speakers etc but very pleased out of the box! :P
Mike

"I always wanted to be a scientist, and now I are one."

#25 OFFLINE   tcatdbs

tcatdbs

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 572 posts
Joined: Jul 10, 2008

Posted 28 October 2008 - 01:51 PM

I programmed the hard "Menu" button to be the "DVR" button, since it is really a "menu" of your DVR recordings. I added a "VIP722 Setup" button to the #7 upper button as the 722 menu button. You can move any of the programmable buttons to any page and change the order on each page. 880 remote is great.

Hey,

Late to the party here but just picked up a refurbed Harmony 880 from Amazon for $69 with free shipping (Prime) ! Looks brand new. Set up went well but I have a couple of questions for anyone with a Dish 622 or 722 DVR.

I have a 58" Panny Plasma
Onkyo AV Receiver
Toshiba HD-DVD A20
AppleTV
Dish 722

I was flabbergasted by the lack of any sort of hard DVR button on the 880. I got around it by teaching the command and using the + button on the lower left of the 880. I added a DVR button to the menu but could not get it to the top screen in "activities" - Watch TV. You had to hit devices then PVR then it would show up on the menu. I didn't want to have to hit 3 buttons just to get to the DVR button so I used the + button.

Is anyone else doing something different or perhaps more novel/better to get the DVR button programmed in to an easier to find area?

The lack of a hard DVR button is really puzzling for such an advanced remote. Other than that its a pretty darn cool remote. I may finally have the one remote to "rule them all"!

The seamless integration of the Onkyo for audio is perfect. I am all HDMI with 4HDMI in (PS3 as well) and only one HDMI out to the TV.

I need to check out a couple more things like how it handles (or if) the Zone 2 speakers etc but very pleased out of the box! :P






Protected By... spam firewall...And...