Welcome to DBSTalk

Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.

Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Possibly stupid questions from a newbie

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   tyler6521

tyler6521

• Registered
  • 4 posts

Posted 19 September 2008 - 07:59 AM

I am brand new to the world of Satellite TV and I'm feeling a little lost. I just had E* installed this week, but I don't have a lot of confidence that the installer did everything he should have to get the best signal.

I have a 1000.4 dish, a ViP 612 and 222 recievers. For the most part the picture seems fine, but occasionally the picture will fade in and out.

I checked the System Info screen and there are two satellites configured, 72 and 61.5. 72. The status on this screen says error and when I check details, I have multiple signal losses every day. The signal box under 72 is red with a white x through it. 61.5 is green.

If I check the signal strength I am getting between 20 and 30 for both 72 and 61.5on a clear day.

I'm not sure if this is a real problem that I need to call support about or if this all is just normal.

Thanks for any help

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Todd Nicholson

Todd Nicholson

AllStar

• Registered
  • 95 posts

Posted 19 September 2008 - 08:09 AM

Yes, it sounds like your dish is not aligned correctly. You should call and get someone out to realign your dish for better signal strength.

#3 OFFLINE   tyler6521

tyler6521

• Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4 posts

Posted 19 September 2008 - 08:47 AM